Cleveland Containers Reviews

4.66 Rating 1,339 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend Cleveland Containers
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
Greater than 94%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 91%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.81 out of 5
Read Cleveland Containers Reviews

About Cleveland Containers:

Based in Middlesbrough, we’re one the UK’s leading suppliers of shipping containers, with models for sale or hire in all sizes to fit your needs: from 6 ft to 45 ft, in both new and used models, whichever suits your budget.

Visit Website


0330 005 5666

Write Your review

Tell us how Cleveland Containers made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Cleveland Containers 5 star review on 26th July 2021
Cleveland Containers 5 star review on 26th July 2021
Graham Robertson
Cleveland Containers 5 star review on 28th June 2021
Frank Jennings
Cleveland Containers 5 star review on 28th June 2021
Ian Smith
Cleveland Containers 5 star review on 26th April 2021
Hilena Archibald
Cleveland Containers 5 star review on 13th April 2021
Cleveland Containers 5 star review on 23rd March 2021
Marc Carr
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Delivery delayed and not informed about approx. delivery dates we chased up on a few occasions and only when it became critical that the old container needed to be moved that it was sorted. Old container still on site at Westlands to be scrapped.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hi Stephen, We apologise for the communication issues you have experienced, and that you felt strongly enough to leave us a negative review. This is not the experience we want our customers to have and are disappointed that this is the case. Unfortunately, the container you ordered - the 10ft - was part of a large group that was delayed coming into our stock, which was why you were sadly waiting for a number of weeks. The 30ft container that was to be removed from your site was collected on the 23rd of June. We are aware that there is an additional container on a second site that you wish to be collected, and this is being processed now for imminent action. We’re sorry that your experience has ended with you leaving us a negative review, we hope that this hasn’t deterred you from ordering from us again. Kind regards, Cleveland Containers
Posted 3 weeks ago
Delivery of container was a 4 to 6 week wait so i was delighted that within 2 weeks the container was ready for delivery. I was informed that the container was going to be delivered on Friday 4th of June so i gave up one of my days holiday to be in the school to accept the delivery. It got to 5pm on that Friday and the container did not arrive. What a waste of a days holiday for me. It did however arrive the following Monday at a convenient time to suite me. Well done on that.
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Mike,   We’re sorry that you had a bad experience with us as we pride ourselves on our customer service and don’t want to let our customers down. In order to deliver our containers, we work with a number of third-party hauliers who transport the units around the country. Here at Cleveland Containers, we work as hard as we can to ensure all aspects of the sale and delivery of our containers run as smoothly as possible, however some issues can often arise that we cannot control. Unfortunately, despite the best efforts of our operations team, your container was unable to be delivered by the haulier on this day and it was rescheduled for the next working day. We were also very disappointed with the outcome and share your frustrations. We’re sorry that your experience has ended with you leaving us a negative review, we hope that this hasn’t deterred you from ordering from us again.   Kind regards, Cleveland Containers
Posted 1 month ago
Ordered 30ft containers re-sprayed. Paint work was very shoddy, appear to have been no prep done before painting so the new paint was already starting to come off when the unit was delivered
Posted 2 months ago
Unfortunatly I was sold a container that was not in stock, this wasn't realised until midday on the delivery date. The standard 40ft used container they did have was offered to me instead with delivery promised that very afternoon. Regretably it did not arrive! After several calls to your office the very kind Sarah managed to find me a container to the spec I had originally ordered (40ft used hi cube) which was delivered promptly from Avonmouth through Titan Containers the following week (I wish i had approcced them in the first instance). It appears Titan containers have several different grades when it comes to used containers and Im not sure how they compare to your own promise of wind and water tight, the rubber seals on the left hand door are have come away and certainly dont look like they would keep out rain.
Posted 3 months ago
Conflicting delivery dates given
Posted 3 months ago
Due to pre-explained space constraints, delivery was agreed for afternoon of 1.4.21. It unexpectedly arrived on site @ 8.00am. On next order - need to have 3 units delivered over 3 drops in order to fit in with Production schedules, but despite chasing for 2 weeks, haven't had any acknowledgement or confirmation.
Posted 3 months ago
Poor communication
Posted 6 months ago
I have ordered a brand new container from yourselves. Upon arrival it is obvious although the container is manufactured within the last year. it has clearly been used by others. Cement dust and cement splashes all over the floor and walls inside and out,.
Posted 10 months ago
Damaged wall Container in wrong place
Posted 11 months ago
Dealing with them was fine, cabin seems to be okay, transport was awful, we were given three dates all were missed. I have seen other similar comments about transport so hopefully they can get this sorted out with the haulage firm as they giving CC bad reiews
Posted 11 months ago
Hi Edward, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We would like to apologise for the delay during delivery, in the first instance there was some miscommunication our end. Though we would also like to remind you that we do deliver up until 6pm and you were not willing to wait until then for delivery of your container, which is why the second delivery attempt was unsuccessful, with the third delivery attempt being first thing this morning which went fine. The percentage of reviews with a poor delivery experience is considerably low, so we will take a look to find out if there is a correlation between these reviews and the hauliers used and proceed from there. We are pleased to hear that you otherwise had a good experience dealing with us directly.
Posted 11 months ago
Sale of goods was fast and as expected. However delivery was poor. Booking slot confirmed for an AM delivery. 12:00 no sight of delivery. The first enquiry was promised a call back did not receive a call back(possible wrong number?) Second enquiry was told the driver was delayed at first delivery. Would have expected a call to inform of late delivery. eventually told delivery would arrive by 15:00. Delivery finally arrived ar 1520. Lack of communication with late delivery is the reason for the poor rating. Other aspects all good.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, very disappointed with the condition of the containers, the doors on one dont close properly and both are badly battered . We also requested that the two you delivered were to be the same colour which also didn't happen.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Dave, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Could you please send us pictures of the containers on site to showing as much detail as possible. As you purchased "used” shipping containers, they will not as aesthetically pleasing as new (one trip) shipping containers as they have been used on ships for 8-12 years. However, they are still weatherproof, which is why they're priced considerably lower than our new (one trip) shipping containers. We cannot guarantee that our used containers are going to be the exact same colour which is discussed at quotation stage with our Sales Managers, used containers can lighten in the sun, be weathered, or be newer/older than others. If you would like shipping containers that are the exact same colour, we would recommend buying new (one trip) shipping containers over used units. Although we understand that it is frustrating that you have not received what you would have liked, after discussing with the Sales Manager who sold you the units, we believe that you were made aware of the condition of a used shipping container prior to purchase. This is the first communication we have had from yourself regarding the doors not closing properly. We would like to discuss this with you further to see what the issue is with the doors, to see if we can provide any help to resolve this issue. Thanks, CC
Posted 1 year ago
Various e-mails sent and messages left for Richard no one responding asked for pictures of unit once it was painted no one replied.very poor communication
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Deoné, I am sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with the service you have received. Upon speaking to Richard, I can see he responded to your emails mostly on the same day, except for one instance where we were waiting for an update from our depot, which have been running with less staff due to the current circumstances. We would like to apologise for the delay, as we pride ourselves in the service we give and hope you will give us another chance in future! Thanks, CC
Posted 1 year ago
Container timescale quoted was unrealistic and it was eventually delivered several weeks too late
Posted 1 year ago
We asked for a quotation for a container which includes a lock box and a padlock. We gave Cleveland the order because they came back with the best price. The container turned up a few days later without the lock box and padlock. We were then informed that the lock box and padlock would be an extra cost !! Nick
Posted 1 year ago
Paid for the container on Friday then told on Monday it was sold over the weekend, told no containers were available. Waited over a month. Company tried to deliver a 10ft cut and shut from a 20ft instead of the original 10ft (Which I paid a premium for) Unit was supposed to be delivered in the morning, it never arrived. received phone call to say it would be delivered at 17:15 (site Closes at 16:30) Told if we didn't open the site we would be charged an additional £350. I paid staff to work over and keep the site open, we were then informed by the haulage firm that it would not be delivered until the following morning at 07:00 (no extra Charge). The area is residential so we agreed 08:00. The container arrived at 07:00 we had to make the driver wait until 08:00 courtesy for the neighbours. You make your own mind up
Posted 1 year ago
The delivery driver made a hole in the roof of one of our containers by accidentally slamming the crane arm into it. We didn’t realise until a week later after we started painting it and noticed the hole in the roof. It was about the size if an egg!
Posted 1 year ago
Let down on delivery and the container received not as described
Posted 1 year ago
Initial contact was very good & very quick to send out an invoice then slow to answer emails regarding delivery. I also paid for a site visit before ordering at extra cost of £120 plus vat to make sure our site would be fine for delivery of a 30ft container. Final delivery over 1 month later has also been followed by a further invoice for an extra hour unloading time. Will go elsewhere in future.
Posted 2 years ago
No review had been done regarding entering school premises.40ft + lorry arrived unable to turn into entrance which is big enough for single lorries,fire engine etc.Driver said he did not realise it was a school clearly had school address. Charged double delivery on something that was out of our contrpl.
Posted 2 years ago
Cleveland Containers is rated 4.66 based on 1,339 reviews