BrightHouse Reviews

1.75 Rating 12 Reviews
17 %
of reviewers recommend BrightHouse

Write Your review

Tell us how BrightHouse made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Horrible customer service ..not helpful talk argument I think that company will close soon because most worst experiences I heard not just me
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
fed up with bright house and there BS i went into lewisham store on 6/11/2019 to buy a cooker the women took my info went threw the crdit check past it then i had to pay £6 as a frist payment i was told id get my cooker tuesday so i had a gas cooker which the hobs was working but no oven or gill.i got rid of the cooker as i was getting a new one i paid a gas company to unstall and take away my cooker. friday i went in the store to make another payment this time £15.99 then monday came i got a call saying i wont be getting my cooker on tuesday as more credit checks need doing. right now i have no cooker in my flat and im also on pip and dwp esa my head is a mess right now as i cannot cook anything and still dont know whats going on about this cooker . why make somebody make payments sign contracts if the credit check isnt done its wrong that ive been treated like this im now left with no cooker in my place yesterday i had to spend money eating takeaway il have to do the same again for the rest of this week as ive still not heard anything from bright house its made me feel very depressed and i dont know what to do DONT MAKE PEOPLE SIGN CONTRACTS AND MAKE PAYMENTS IF THE ITEM ISNT COMING OR GETTING THE ITEM
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
East ham branch worst ever....I'm quite disappointed with this company, I went on holiday for one week and when I come I found about 4 cards from brigthouse they had attended my home seeking payment, I called them and made my final payment because was only two weeks left on my agreement I wasn't really worried. I arrived in a Sunday and on the follow Monday I made a phone call and cleared my balance in full so they closed my account this was Monday morning around 9.30am, when was around 11.30am someone from brigthouse house come and knocked my door I was in my room couldn't hear the bell for my surprise they left one of their souvenir card demanding payment, I was surprised I could believe that happened but I kept my cool and ignored that paper as I had made payment in the morning maybe they had no time to update my account, bearing in mind the lady from the call center confirmed that my account was closed and the account was updated. The follow day Tuesday for my surprise someone from brigthouse knock my door and he said he come to collect the payment I was so upset because this is unbelievable how is that possible he had not received updated in his system. The amount of pressure they put when you don't pay on time is insane and after you close your account they still keep putting pressure on us. Unbelievable unprofessional and outrageous behaviour for a company of this magnitude, if you need someone to run this show please I believe I can do better that those who are in charge, please use common sense.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Torquay Branch is a complete waste of time and effort, two members of the staff there and Donna in particular are clueless idiots and mess you around after the agreement and credit check went through and was told that my TV would be delivered on Monday and then being told by Donna that my application for the TV has been cancelled. Hasn't stated a reason and I asked her to explain why and she didn't answer. Was in the shop for nearly 2hrs when I wanted to take finance out on the TV.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Terrible customer service"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Constantly ringing multiple times when I told them I would ring when I had finished work but still kept sending msg after msg and ringing I paid as agreed so why all the calls and even had a visit from the store really bad customer service they want to know everything about your financial situation when it hadn't changed was just busy working so couldn't call to make a payment but I did as soon as I was able to but they still harass you it's a joke!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Claire at brighthouse bramley was very helpful today she listened to my concerns and helped me alot. Thankyou claire from
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Ive been a customer of brighthouse for about 10 years now. Never had any probs with them. Rarely late on payments but when i have been the staff in my local shop will ring me to let me know and ask when i can come in and pay. Usualy they dont add on the late payment fee if i can get in and pay within a week. I bought a new bed from them. It was faulty when they delivered it but as they didnt have anymore instock and dint know when they could replace it they left the new bed at my place till they could replace it and knocked a few weeks payments off it as a sorry. Bought a TV from them and pixels started to die within 6 months. They took it back to repair it. Still waiting for them to return the TV So dont know if they have repaired it or going to replace it with a brand new TV as the agrement says if they cant repair it within a set amount of days they will give me a brand new TV as its a new for old policy. Most case the stuff they sell is cheaper than other shops but with the extras and interest added on it will cost a bit more. In some cases even with the interest added some of their stuff is still cheaper than paying cash in other shops. IE a phillips food processor i got from them several years ago £125 with all the attachments. on amazon the same model was £300 with no attachements plus £100 for each attachement. Even with interest added the total cost was still only £200. A samsung 3D TV i got from them with interest was only £1400. Curry's was £1700 cash. The trick with brighthouse is never be late on payments and were possible pay more a week than the agreement so u pay less interest. Im usualy a few months ahead on payments so i end up paying less than i would if i just paid the minimum amount each week, .. IE my current TV i got on a 12 month agrement and im only 3 payments short of paying it off 4 months early so a lot less interest to pay plus all the other stuff like insurance and brigthouse cover for repairs. The faster u pay it off the less u end up paying. Customer service can be a bit hit and miss depending on the staff in the shop. Some r better than others. My local shop has very good customer service and very freindly staff. Always get asked if i want a cup of tea or coffee if i have to wait to make a payment if they r busy doing a new contract with other customers. Yes i did have problems a few years ago with bad staff and bad manager but when they sacked the manager and got in new freindly staff things improved a lot. Another local shop that has now closed down had bad staff and not very freindly. So the experiance u have will depend on how good the staff is at ur local shop. The owners of brighthouse listened to the complaints about them and fixed it by getting rid of the bad managers and staff and got in better staff. Reduced interest payments and made a lot of their products cheaper and now have a price match garuntee where they compare their prices with argos. They also give lower interest rates for customers who have been with them for a long time. So the interest u pay is based on how long u have been a customer for. New customers might pay 99% interest but older customers can pay about 49% interest which is what i pay. So if u stay a loyal customer long enough and keep up with payments ur interest rate will drop. The loyalty scheme recently started when a new CEO took over the comapany. They used to have a lot of bad reviews But they have been improving a lot over the years. But think most of the bad reviews were from customers who got behind on payments or just stopped paying and had the debt collectors come round to get the goods back that had not been paid for. The high interest rates is due to people not paying for what they bought and the cost of the losses get added to other customers. Most cases they will deliver the items u bought within 7 days. But sometimes they might be out of stock and have to wait a bit longer. But they will usualy check and see if the item is in stock before they do the agreement with u. With the bed i got from them it was out of stock so went on the waiting list. When it was in stock they rang me to let me know so i could go in and do the agreement. It was faulty when deliverd but they ran out of stock again so had to wait a few months for a replacement. When they deliver they not only bring the item in and put it in the room u want it in they will assemble it and check everything is ok before they leave and take the packaging away with them. Unlike other companies who just drop the items u bought on the doorstep and leave it upto the customer to get them inside and asemble. Thats how brighthouse knew the bed was faulty cause they asembled it and found the fault and made a note of it and let the shop know a replacement was needed as it couldnt be fixed. U can pay cash on all the items they sell or have it on installments if u cant afford cash. U might be surprised that some items r cheaper than other shops or online shops. Ive bought a few items from them for cash rather than payments as they were cheaper than anywhere else i looked. Ive never returned anything i bought from them so not sure how good they r on that. But i have upgraded some items i got from them which was easy. IE a TV i had that was still on payments i upgraded to a better TV. Just had to go in the shop do a new agreement and they took the old TV away when they delivered the new TV. They used to replace faulty items with a like for like system where if they couldnt repair an item they would replace it with another item of the same age and specifcations. IE a PC i had from them packed up and couldnt be repaird so they gave me another PC returned to the shop by another customer after they refurbished it. But now they do old for new replacments so if something goes wrong u will get a brand new item instead.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I have never missed a payment ever and have been with bright house for over 8 years. I have recently asked for a loan as you have started to implement them . Prior to my last payment I received a letter saying I was late for a payment. NEVER and it was a mistake made by store. I work full time and had to remind the store several times that payments will be made on the last working day of the month. Yet again I have been in today to see what is happening as I wanted the loan for my holiday and yet again even though the manager of the store said she would ring me NOT happened
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Brighthouse is a joke with no refund policy only in exceptional circumstances and they decide what is exceptional there furniture is cheap rubbish made as cheap as possible to make a profit I bought a bed from them with in 10 months it broke they bogged the fit and will not pay me back every penny so far Dont touch unless you want to lose ur money
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Terrible customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Absolutely Shocking. We ordered a sofa on the website on the Saturday and requested it to be delivered on a Friday 2 weeks later as this was the only dates they could offer. I received a call from the service centre on the Monday who said that they could make the delivery the coming Friday which was ideal for us. My wife managed to get her last days holiday at short notice for the Friday and we arranged for our old sofa to be taken away Thursday night. By 2pm on the Friday the delivery still hadn't arrived so my wife called the Crawley store to get an ETA. They told her that the delivery has been cancelled and moved to Tuesday the following week. NOBODY HAD CONTACTED US WITH THIS INFORMATION. We contacted the store again and explained that we could not take Tuesday off work and that was not acceptable. To make things worse my wife is registered disabled and she has nowhere to sit down except from a dinning chair until Tuesday. They contacted the service centre and told us that there is nothing that they could do for us as they don't deliver at the weekends. They told me to contact Customer Complaints and they will be able to resolve the matter. I logged the complaint with Customer Complaints and they told me that there is nothing they can do and I need to get the store to arrange something. To be honest I wish I had never ordered the thing now.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
BrightHouse is rated 1.75 based on 12 reviews