Stainless Steel Exhaust, MX5 Parts Single Exit, MX5 Mk1 Reviews

4.79 Rating 172 Reviews
Read MX5parts Reviews

Another major bargain from mx5parts! Superb quality, 100% polished Stainless Steel, single exit exhaust for the Mk1. Made exclusively by us, for us, this great exhaust has 57mm main pipework and a 90mm dual sleeve exit pipe.Tested and confirmed BHP Gain of 4 - 5!  (Also increased torque)Supplied complete with all gaskets and fixing bolts. Fits Mk1 1989>1996 (upto chassis number JMZ...308212) having either the 370 or 440mm cat (please check!). Looks like it should be £300.00 worth. Five year warranty! 

Visit Product Page

Phone:

02392 644588

Email:

sales@mx5parts.co.uk

Location:

1 Orion Court, 5 Rodney Road,,

Simon Rees-jones
>
Next day delivery - even on a 4pm order - well done. Quality part, easy fit and accurate. BUT - it is noisier than anticipated - the previous review said the same - so has the design changed? VERY boomy at 3-4000 and I suspect will induce headaches. Also I think power actually reduced at lower revs, crackling and popping on overun and gear changes. I will be checking the timing and maybe advance it .
Helpful Report
Posted 13 years ago
Dale Michelsohn
>
After using this exhaust pipe for a while now, I wish I had bought a different type. Its so noisy. I thought I could live with the noise but it takes all the fun out of motoring and everyone stops and looks as I pass. It actually causes me to have tinittus. I think I will have to replace it. Pity as it is well made and was easy to fit.
Helpful Report
Posted 13 years ago
Kevin Hall
>
Early days yet but so far I'm very pleased with this. I chckened out on fitting it myself but the chap who did the work seemed impressed with the fit. Perfect alignment with bumper aperture and the emerging tail pipe is just on the right side of subltle bling. Lovely deep wuffly sound now at tickover and nice rasp beyond 3000. Crusing at 70 with hood up you're definitely aware of a deep note from behind but quite tolerable. Hood down should be more fun but it seems to have rained since fittment so that'll have to wait for another day!
Helpful Report
Posted 13 years ago
Paul Stocks
>
Fitted this along with the silenced de-cat pipe and a 4-2-1 stainless Manifold all at the same time. The result was amazing. Different car altogether. Acceleration is faster and the raspy exhale reminded me of rally cars when i was a kid in the 70's. The Manifold came from a different source than MX5Parts but the quality of the exhaust and Cat bypass were apparent in the note and vibrant performance gained in the new set up. The build quality is great. The sound is great. I can only recommend this product.I run a custom air induction unit also which may add a certain something. Even so I would say buy one of these anyway. Even if your old exhaust is fine!.
Helpful Report
Posted 13 years ago
Peter Vintner
>
Delivery took 5 working days (7 days including the weekend) - that's 2 days to get from Portsmouth to Verona, and 3 days plus the weekend to do the last 150 kilometres! Something about Italy? Anyway I am more than pleased with the new exhaust pipe.It was fairly easy to install and sounds great. Like others the biggest problem was removing the cat nuts and studs - one nut and stud came off together after putting up a good fight, which wasn't so bad, and the other stud sheered (in spite of lots of WD40) leaving just about enough thread for a new nut. It's definitely noisier on tick-over and much more so when accelerating through 3000 revs. But it's the right kind of noise! Very nice.
Helpful Report
Posted 13 years ago
Peter Fellows
>
Ordered Monday lunchtime, arrived at the garage Tuesday! First class service. The mechanic said that it went straight on with no problems whatsoever. Noise is lovely, deeper than before but with the added "raspiness" described by other reviewers. A pity that exhausts go under the car because it looks gorgeous too. Well done MX5Parts.
Helpful Report
Posted 13 years ago
Ollie Powell
>
Love It! Just fitted it, my friendly garage had a space on the ramps so done it FOC, his words "never seen such a good after-market fit" I love it reasonable quite & deep until 3000 revs...thats when all hell breaks lose and she opens up to a slightly raspy LOUD note. Fitted with de-cat. Well made, excellent value. Next will be down pipe & 4-2-1 header Me thinks...Cheers guys
Helpful Report
Posted 13 years ago
Frederick Davie
>
The exhaust note is alone worth £100! Fitting was reasonably easy with the big job being removing the cat. The rearmost bolts were immovable so all of the cat bolts were undone using that 'super spanner' - yes, my trusty angle-grinder! The stud stubs were drilled out of the cat and replaced with a set of M10 bolts. Having finished that it was a simple matter to lay the system up to the car and secure it.It now sounds like a sports mobile not a moped! My only gripe? The very next week 5 had the system on offer! Oh well, story of my life! ....... JD
Helpful Report
Posted 13 years ago