Silver Fern Holidays Reviews

4.94 Rating 18 Reviews
100% of reviewers recommend Silver Fern Holidays

How would you rate Silver Fern Holidays?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need a working email address to verify that your review is genuine.

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

5
Brenda Stanley
Brenda Stanley
Verified Buyer
"If it were possible to award six stars to Silver Fern I would. I and my friend had a wonderful holiday due to all the staff’s in-depth knowledge of the country but particularly due to Laura’s extremely efficient planning and provision of information. Our special requests were all taken into account with professionalism and good humour. Contact during the holiday was very reassuring and made us feel our hands were being held along the way. Full marks all round. We will be recommending Silver Fern to any friends thinking of a holiday in New Zealand."
Report
Posted 9 months ago
4
Alan Bell
"They were responsive to my requirements and helpful throughout the process and whilst on holiday."
Report
Posted 10 months ago
Alistair Johnstone
Alistair Johnstone
Verified Buyer
"In all stages of our booking, Silver Fern have looked after us with professionalism, efficiency and good humour. Laura (Ling) has been exceptional in every way from tailoring our requirements and offering helpful tips and insights to what to expect. Everything was handled from beginning to end in a calm and helpful manner, including contact whilst in New Zealand and post trip follow-up. We have already recommended Silver Fern to friends."
Report
Posted 10 months ago
Chris And Jan
Verified Buyer
"Friends recommended Silver Fern to us, and we, in turn, would not hesitate in recommending Silver Fern to anyone who wants a tailor-made, hassle free dream of an experience in New Zealand and Singapore. John's knowledge of New Zealand is incredible and his recommendations about bases, accommodation, excursions and fun activities were all spot-on for us - and for our budget. We covered both islands, taking in 10 areas, and the well-planned, detailed itinerary, which included driving times, accurate directions and precise arrangements for car hire, internal flights and transfers, ran like clockwork. Nothing was too much trouble for Silver Fern - even when circumstances dictated that we had to cancel everything and rebook it all later. We have fantastic 60th birthday trip memories of our stay in New Zealand and Singapore. Every bit of it was special! Thank you, Silver Fern! We will be back soon, asking you to organise another trip for us!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hi Chris and Jan,
Thanks for your positive comments.
As you well know John can talk anyone’s ear off about New Zealand, and it’s great that we had ideas of budget and interests from you before we started preparing your route.
Looking forward to booking your next trip!
Laura
Posted 1 week ago
Visit Website
Barry And Sue
Verified Buyer
"Very patient, helpful and friendly advise to our questions (Laura Ling), ultimately leading to a perfect holiday both in itinerary, booking and organisation. Thank you!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Barry and Sue,

Thanks very much for leaving us your feedback; so pleased that you celebrated Christmas Kiwi-style!

Happy to help you plan your perfect trip to New Zealand!

All the best for 2018,
Laura
Posted 1 month ago
ANN And DAVE Walters
Verified Reviewer
"Thank you John and Laura for listening to our long wish list regarding our New Zealand holiday. 1st Nov to 30 Nov 2017 The holiday was excellent and in most parts exceeded our expectations. The variety of B&B,s Guest Houses,Home Stay,and Hotels was excellent. We were blessed with superb weather throughout which made our visit more enjoyable. There are so many memories of different sights and experiences we now have, Bay of Islands,Hole in the Rock,Hobbiton,Rotorua Thermal Park,Napier,Wellington and that only North Island. Kayaking on Abel Tasman Sea,Numerous Glaciers all accessed on foot,Superb Forest Walks,Countless Glacial Lakes and eye watering views,Wildlife experiences from Bird Life to Stunning sea life,and much much more on South Island In all over 4300km travelled and 1000,s of photos taken. Only a couple of minor gripes,Our Farm Stay is now not a working farm,Budget Car Rental offices were greatly understaffed and we and many others queued for considerable time to obtain hire cars. Automatic cars are not the best suited for motoring New Zealands roads.For a safer more enjoyable drive request a manual car"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Ann and Dave
Thanks for leaving us such useful feedback; we enjoyed incorporating as many of your requests as possible into your New Zealand itinerary!
We will ensure that future visitors to the home stay are aware that it is no longer a working farm, and we have also passed your comments on to Budget Car Rental.
It does sound like you were very lucky with the weather, which must have made for some great photos; our colleagues in the New Zealand office in Hamilton have been making us jealous with tales of their Christmas by the beach!
With best wishes for 2018,
Laura
Posted 1 month ago
What other countries are you interested in visiting? Spain (Andalucia), Alaska
"John and Laura had lots of patience with us and lots of suggestions when putting together the itinerary to ensure that it suited what we wanted to do. We also had the option to book trips in advance. They recommended a three night stay at one location, partway through the holiday, which turned out to be much appreciated as it gave us time to relax and recharge. We had a mixture of hotels and B&Bs; all of which were excellent. The B&B hosts were good sources of advice and inspiration for things to do, be it sightseeing, walking, nature or adventure sports and assisted us in making bookings for further trips. Everything went to plan and all in all a successful trip, which achieved everything we could have hoped for."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thanks for your great feedback Robert and Marie.
Hope you’re warming up by now and over the jetlag.
We’re glad you had a good time with Wally the Weka – as discussed, I’ve been in touch with Suzie and Caroline since your return, and it sounds like they’ve a wonderful Christmas in the wilderness planned!
Merry Christmas!
Laura
Posted 2 months ago
Susan Hills And Archie Haines
Verified Buyer
What other countries are you interested in visiting? NZ again
"Magnificent holiday in New Zealand.Efficiently organised with good customer service in the UK. Nice mixture of accommodation,particularly enjoyed B & B giving good social contact with advice re sights,restaurants.The booked excursions/trips functioned faultlessly and were very enjoyable.A busy travel schedule still gave time to go for 2-3 hr walks and other trips. Good local tourist information in most towns complemented the supplied comprehensive travel pack. Thank You"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Susan and Archie
It’s great to hear what a wonderful time you had on your New Zealand holiday, and thank you for your praise for our team.
We’re glad that the range of accommodations suited and that you found time to hike some of the beautiful landscapes in between sightseeing.
We look forward to booking your return trip!
Laura
Posted 2 months ago
Alistair And Debra
Verified Buyer
"We wanted to go to New Zealand for the holiday of a lifetime but didn't really know what elements to include to achieve that ambition. After reading reviews and then speaking to Silver Fern we felt that we were able to get as much as we could with the itinerary they proposed. Every aspect of the plans put in place were delivered like clockwork as we enjoyed a 5 week holiday in the land of the long white cloud!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Alistair and Debra,
Thank you so much for leaving us a five star review.
We enjoyed working with you to ensure you got the most out of New Zealand within your timeframe and we’re so pleased to have created a trip of a lifetime for you.
Thank you again for travelling with us.
Laura
Posted 2 months ago
What other countries are you interested in visiting? South Africa, Australia
"It was well planned and covered many beautiful locations. We had hire cars, caught buses, trains and boats and all the connections worked smoothly. New Zealand is such a gorgeous country with so much to offer, you drive for one hour and the countryside changes completely. Also loved seeing whales, dolphins, penguins, fur seals and sea lions all in their natural habitats. Have never been away for five weeks before and was unsure about spending so long away but the time flew by."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Dear Mr and Mrs Boot,
Thank you so much for your kind comments.
It was a real pleasure organising your itinerary, and great to hear that you enjoyed the many different modes of transport! We do like to mix things up here at Silver Fern.
We agree New Zealand is absolutely stunning, it is impossible to get bored of the scenery; we were happy to help you decide where to visit.
We hope to see you again soon!
Laura
Posted 2 months ago
What other countries are you interested in visiting? England, Germany, Switzerland
"Dear John, I want to thank you and your entire team for a wonderful trip to the South Island of New Zealand. Everything went together without a single hitch – shuttles appeared on time, connections worked, the overall plan was wonderful – it was all just great! We enjoyed meeting a few of your clients along the way, and had to smile about the expectation that we were British because we had booked through you. Highlights were: spectacular hiking in Abel Tasman, Fox Glacier, Rob Roy glacier, Fjordlands, and the cruise on Milford Sound. And we particularly enjoyed: Caroline and Susie in Wanaka, and the layout of their accommodation which allowed very enjoyable socializing with other guests; Guide Jeff of Trips & Tramps in Te Anau, who did a super job and was so organized and knowledgeable about the area; Forsee Fly Fishing in Wanaka (another Jeff – he is an American expat) enabled “one of the best fishing days of my life!” according to Jim; The breakfast at Chalet Queenstown, wow! We loved New Zealand and would go back in a minute. I hope we have another chance to do so, and we would definitely ask you to make our travel plan. We would be happy to recommend your company to any fellow Americans looking for travel assistance in New Zealand. Jim and I sincerely appreciate your work on our arrangements and THANK YOU for making it all possible! Ann & Jim"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Gill Barker
Verified Buyer
"The personal and efficient service provided by Laura made us feel well supported and confident. Our holiday went exactly to plan and the trips and excursions suggested were excellent. The communication by email between Laura and myself was efficient, speedy and friendly; it couldn't have been better. All our requests and needs were met!"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Phil Jones
Verified Buyer
"A massive thank you to John and his staff for a fantastic holiday in New Zealand. The accommodation was varied, as requested, and of excellent quality. The planning was meticulous which resulted in a stress free holiday. We have already passed on the details of Silver fern Holidays to our neighbours. Phil and Diana"
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"Holiday trip was so well organised for us. the documentation was brilliant. All bookings were made. Locations of the accommodation were great. Great choices made. Excellent advice before the trip. The service was super from the team. we felt special. Thanks so much, Brigitte and Neal"
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Brenda Stanley
Verified Buyer
"If it were possible to award six stars to Silver Fern I would. I and my friend had a wonderful holiday due to all the staff’s in-depth knowledge of the country but particularly due to Laura’s extremely efficient planning and provision of information. Our special requests were all taken into account with professionalism and good humour. Contact during the holiday was very reassuring and made us feel our hands were being held along the way. Full marks all round. We will be recommending Silver Fern to any friends thinking of a holiday in New Zealand."
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"They were responsive to my requirements and helpful throughout the process and whilst on holiday."
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
What other countries are you interested in visiting? Return to Singapore (stopover was too short). South Africa.
"In all stages of our booking, Silver Fern have looked after us with professionalism, efficiency and good humour. Laura (Ling) has been exceptional in every way from tailoring our requirements and offering helpful tips and insights to what to expect. Everything was handled from beginning to end in a calm and helpful manner, including contact whilst in New Zealand and post trip follow-up. We have already recommended Silver Fern to friends."
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
What other countries are you interested in visiting? South Pacific islands
"Patient and very helpful with our request"
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
What other countries are you interested in visiting?
"I could not mention all the highlights because there were so many. It really was a fantastic trip. We did not have any of those “I wish we’d made time to do that instead” moments, which is real testament to your expert local knowledge and your understanding of what we wanted to do. THANK YOU!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
What other countries are you interested in visiting?
"The quiet confidence and professionalism shown us by Laura gave us the necessary impetus to book with Silver Fern."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
What other countries are you interested in visiting? Costa rica
"The whole holiday was excellently organised from our first contact with Silver Fern until the very end of our holiday. Everything had been worked out to the very last detail and the accompanying travel documents were easy to follow and understand. Nothing had been left to chance. All accommodation was of a very good standard and the holiday was very excellent value for the experience we both had. Laura who planned our holiday was very helpful and managed to sort out all our preferences. A great holiday, well done. Have recommended Silver Fern to our friends"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Silver Fern Holidays is rated 4.94 based on 18 reviews