Primrose Reviews

1.28 Rating 567 Reviews
6 %
of reviewers recommend Primrose
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 11%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 46%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.05 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Primrose made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
I spent over £300 on a water feature and had money collected from account. Shortly afterwards I receive an email asking me to provide BAC authorisation code available from my bank before they could deliver order. Alternatively I was invited to pay again via paypal and theyd refund money originally paid! Bank says money has been paid to Primrose and they should never ask for BAC code and it is not policy for bank to provide one. Tried contacting but despite being 1st in queue never got through. Emailed and had automated response saying 5 day wait. Then I read reviews and am now worried that my money has been stolen and ill never see the item. Will pass details to Trading Standards and initiate reclaim via card provider.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, This code is requested when the website initiates a fraud check. I apologise for any problems experienced. - Meredyth
Posted 7 months ago
Instigated complaint via my payment method, refund issued by them (not Primrose) after investigation. As others have indicated, Primrose is a totally unreliable company. In my case, plants did not arrive after I received notification they had been sent to courier. Not so. Interesting reading on Companies House re turnover of directors!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, I apologise for the experience you have had with us. - Meredyth
Posted 7 months ago
My experience mirrors that of others on your website. I placed an order for plants on the 15th May and received an email 2 days later advising that my order had been despatched. Here we are on the 26th May and I have received nothing apart from 3 packets of seeds which arrived 2 to 3 days after their email. This leaves outstanding a total of 7 plants which have cost me well over £90. I am of course kicking myself for not having checked Primrose out online before placing my order. It is the first time that I have ever failed to do so for a new online supplier. I guess I allowed myself to be fooled by their strong position in Google's search engine rankings. Also I felt quite relaxed about placing an order with an online garden supplies company, having had good experiences with J.Parkers and Crocus (who were especially good). Had I taken the trouble to check them out properly online before placing my order, I would not have touched them with a barge pole. Think my best course of action is to cancel and demand my money back. I cannot see the plants surviving a 9-day transit and I suspect that they will be of very poor quality anyway if the reviews on this website are anything to go by.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear about your experience. As I have advised directly the plants have not been dispatched and are not with the courier. I will continue to assist via our email. I apologise for any confusion caused. - Meredyth
Posted 8 months ago
Order arrived and the condition of the plants is appalling. This is all down to the lack of care before packaging. Petunias all long stems, dead leaves, dead flowers or stems where the flower was prior to packaging. Absolutely disgusting, waste of money.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, I truly apologise for your items arriving in this manner. I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this for you. - Meredyth
Posted 8 months ago
Order my plants on Saturday 15/5/21. Still waiting for order even though said 3 /7 days. Have sent email twice heard Nothing. Really bad company will never deal with them again. Just had op so thought this would be easy option now going to have to struggle to the garden centre. Would never recommend or use again. Order 5782251
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear about the wait as our delivery windows are in working days they would not include weekends or bank holidays. I have looked into the order and can see it is currently out for delivery today. - Meredyth
Posted 8 months ago
I placed my order no. 5759919 on 2nd May with a delivery promised within 7 working days. Needless to say I have not received my plants yet. I spoke to an adviser and was told stock was a problem but the order would be with me within 7 days. Looking at the DX website they haven’t yet received an order for me so that’s not going to happen. What a company!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, I have contacted you directly to provide an update on this order. I apologise for any inconvenience caused. - Meredyth
Posted 8 months ago
promised delivery date has passed so if still no plants by Friday i will request a palpal refund
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, I have looked into your order and can see it is out for delivery today with DX. I have emailed you to confirm this directly. - Meredyth
Posted 8 months ago
Appalling delivery, ordered plants on 1st May and was told they had been despatched on the 10th May. Today (24th May) the first of three packs of plug plants finally arrived - but it's safe to say I don't hold out much hope of them all surviving. Shame on you Primrose, other similar companies have continually delivered in good time and with high quality product
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, I am very sorry to hear that they are not in good condition. I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this with you. I apologise for the disappointment caused. - Meredyth
Posted 8 months ago
Paid for plants that didn’t arrive. Promised a refund. Not received . Have gone to PayPal resolution to see if they can get me my money back. Will never buy anything from this company again.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear about your experience with us. I have looked into the order and can see my colleague is currently looking into this for you. - Meredyth
Posted 8 months ago
When I read the reviews here, I was concerned that I would be one of many who had a bad experience. But in all honesty, I had a pretty good experience with Primrose, apart from one issue. They mistakenly sent me an entire unit of 72 solar lights rather than the one box of 6 I ordered. It took a little while for them to get back to me when I raised a ticket, but once they did, they quickly arranged a courier to come and collect the surplus boxes. I also ordered a selection of plug plants, all of which arrived in perfect health. I've planted them all out and they're all thriving.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the experience and that our team were able to assist and resolve this with you. - Meredyth
Posted 8 months ago
Ordered some pepper plants in early may and as of yesterday 21st may 2021 had heard nothing. sent an email asking when dispatch may be and received automated response back This infomed me they were extremeley busy and it may take a while to get a reply back. it also said dont send more emails as i may lose my place in their email queue!!! Received package today which seemed rather small so my husband videoed me opening it. Omg there was a brown paper bag with 2 peppers that were ok but small. Second had 3 manky dead peppers in it oviously being shaken about by the postman. Tried to ring them and had to press 2 for the customer service. This line is dead and cut me off. Rang again on the press 1 button and a man answered. I asked for an email adress to send a video of what i received and he put the phone down on me!!!¬ Buy from this company at you perill!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, I am very sorry to hear about your plants. I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this with you. - Meredyth
Posted 8 months ago
Absolute garbage what they sent. Packed plant is a water absorbing paper bag. Inside of box wet and space between plants on another variety was way too big, allowing the plants to fly around inside, breaking up and killing 2 of the 3 plants inside. May be able to salvage the 3rd. Rang them up as I wanted an email address to send the photos / videos took. The customer service advisor hung up on me. Within 10 seconds, so yeah, not impressed. No I was not ranting. Wont be ordering again
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this with you. I apologise for any inconvenience caused. - Meredyth
Posted 8 months ago
Plants did not arrive. I allowed extra time beyond published estimate before making several unsuccessful attempts to contact Primrose by email and telephone. Courier (DX) did not receive goods according to tracking information. Dispute now raised via PayPal for refund.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, I am very sorry to hear about your experience. I have looked into the order and can see that my colleague is currently assisting to resolve this with you. - Meredyth
Posted 8 months ago
Shame I have to leave ONE star - would rather zero. Took my money, no delivery nearly a month later. Contacted many times, empty promises. Cannot speak to a manager, rude staff. Hides comments on social media so people don't see how inept they are. Do not use this company. Would be shocked if my demanded refund actually arrives!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, I have looked into this order and can see that my colleague requested the full refund for you. I apologise for any inconvenience caused. - Meredyth
Posted 8 months ago
I'm not being mean here, just totally honest. We ordered 5 planter troughs for a special occasion, well within time. We ordered the plants the day after and they arrived within 6 days. After 13 days however the planters have still not arrived. The special occasion was TODAY, it could have been so much prettier. The £760 spend is now pretty much wasted. I have just spent 39 minutes waiting on the line to be told that they would look into the matter and get back to me. One star is truly a high rating for Primrose.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, I have looked into your order and located your email within the inbox to assist. I apologise for any disappointment caused. - Meredyth
Posted 8 months ago
Sadly description of sun sail poles failed to mention they are very heavy and hard to get in place. Also only part of the order arrived and you cant get through on phones
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, I have contacted you directly to request further information so I can assist and resolve this for you. I apologise for the delay. - Meredyth
Posted 8 months ago
If you have a spare 49 minutes to wait on hold to chase an order you've already paid for then buy from them. Never again!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, I have contacted you directly via email to request further information so I can continue to assist and resolve this with you. - Meredyth
Posted 8 months ago
I ordered my plants on 30th april Site said 3 to 7 day delivery, On 13th day i tried to cancel order As no delivery had been made, I was told it was to late to cancel, but they would refund my postage And was told i should receive my plants by friday 14th or latest today monday 17th, still no delivery, I contacted the courier service who told me they had not received my order, so i contacted primrose again, once again i have tried to cancel my order as they can not deliver on time, Would not order anything from primrose ever again
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, I am very sorry to hear about the experience you have had with us. I have looked into the order and can see that my colleague has cancelled and refunded this for you. I truly apologise for the inconvenience caused. - Meredyth
Posted 8 months ago
Hi I recieved my miricle gro compost but I have not recieved my petunia bedding plants I have sent 2 email messages to you and you have not replied I have been locked of my account
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, I have checked into this order and can see it has now been delivered. I have contacted you via email to confirm this. I apologise for any inconvenience caused. - Meredyth
Posted 8 months ago
I wish I had read these reviews before ordering! (However please read added review at ending!). I received my order (unlike many others), but the tree was virtually dead! I called (on line 1 for sales, line 2 is permanently closed!) on the day of delivery, and was told yo email with photos. I duly did this and a ticket was raised which says "being processed". One week later, I have heard nothing. I have added a further message to the ticket with no effect. I phone the sales line today, where the employee told me they had no access to information and could not help me in any way, but all returns were being dealt with and to use the website. The website does not recognise my original customer number and I now suspect that I will not see £58 again!! I have to give credit where it is due. I was contacted by Primrose shortly after leaving this review (probably because of it!) and they have given me a full refund with no expectation to send the damaged plant back. The money was returned swiftly, and it's just a shame I had to go through this process to make it happen!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, I have looked into this order and can see that a refund has been requested. I apologise for any inconvenience caused by this experience. - Meredyth
Posted 8 months ago
Primrose is rated 1.28 based on 567 reviews