Primrose Reviews

1.27 Rating 560 Reviews
6 %
of reviewers recommend Primrose
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 11%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 46%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.05 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Primrose made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
We just got a refund of £600 on garden furniture we ordered 6 weeks ago. They were blaming couriers then suppliers, which meant our order wasn't even on the way. After a serious amount of posting on fb we got our refund but its unacceptable i had to go to such efforts. With all these complaints I think we all should be contacting BBC watchdog 😉
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, I apologise for the experience you have had. I have looked into it and can see it has been returned by the courier so that we could refund it for you. - Meredyth
Posted 4 months ago
Plug plants arrived very late and in poor condition - snapped stems, browned leaves etc. Sent “ticket” asking for refund. No response. Tried ringing - choice 2 dead as with other reviews. So bad - is the company still in business? Please don’t buy from them - extremely poor.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, I have looked into this order and can see that my colleague has requested a full refund for you. I apologise for any disappointment caused. - Meredyth
Posted 4 months ago
If l could have had the option of zero stars l would! Appauling customer care! They take your money straight away and basically that’s the only thing that they do promptly, l ordered nearly £200 worth of products/produce from them on 30th April promising 3 to 10 days delivery, hmmm after 10 days l received a bag of compost (damaged) l also ordered 60 plug plants and a pack of lobelia (buy 1 get one free) what did arrive nearly a month later was 45 plug plants most were dead the rest were in such bad condition they haven’t survived, the lobelia(s) didn’t arrive at all, obviously l complained and they said they were going to send me the whole order again saying it would be with me in 3 to 5 days, that was 10 days ago, yes you guessed it, no order has arrived, the chat option now is ‘conveniently’ down so l can’t even contact them, I’m furious, does anyone have any ideas what l should do next? I feel like exposing them to the media, they are selling dead stock and that’s if you eventually get it!!! Disgusting company, AVOID AVOID AVOID!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear about the experience you have had. I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this with you. - Meredyth
Posted 4 months ago
I recently bought six packs of plug plants. They arrived totally dried out and rotten.... as if they had been packed and left for a week before shipping. I potted them on in my greenhouse immediately but only one of the packs has survived. I contacted customer support but still haven’t had a reply. I will never buy anything from Primrose ever again. One star is too many!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, I have looked into this and can see I have contacted you directly to request further information so I can assist. I apologise for any inconvenience caused. - Meredyth
Posted 4 months ago
Still waiting for a response to complaint I sent following receipt of plants which were rotting and mouldy. They had been put in plastic and had sweated. Some were just dead sticks. They clearly had been plugs for far too long and had appeared to have flowered which I guess was under stress.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear that they arrived damaged. I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this with you. - Meredyth
Posted 4 months ago
Order 5757268 The above order for begonias ie perishable seasonal plants was made on 1st May 2021. The begonias were allegedly sent on 10th May 2021. This now seems unlikely as a result of their non- appearance to date. On 25th May I emailed Primrose's customer services noting my concern as follows: "This item has not arrived yet. The begonias are perishable and will almost certainly not have survived. Please send another consignment as soon as possible by a more reliable courier." Other than an acknowledgement I received no substantive reply. If Primrose actually did send these begonias it is inconceivable they would have survived such a long period. An apology will not cover the situation. The acute problem is that as the season is now more advanced there are probably now no alternative sources that I can find for these plants. So a refund is no use either. Primrose require to be held to the contract and make urgent arrangements for another batch of identical white begonias to be sent by return. But what has happened? No response to my emails other than an acknowledgement + a suggestion that I phone (just voicemail) or chat to their webpage (equally fruitless). They appear still to be taking orders. Had they replied and explained their obvious problems I should not be so greatly dissatisfied.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this with you. I apologise for any inconvenience caused. - Meredyth
Posted 4 months ago
Ordered on 8th May, payment taken immediately. No plants yet, no response from repeated emails, phone line a joke as no customer services on Friday, Saturday or Sunday Order ref: 5770741. After reading these reviews I am deeply concerned about the quality of plants should they ever arrive
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, I have looked into this order and can see that my colleague is currently assisting with this for you. I apologise for the delay. - Meredyth
Posted 4 months ago
Bad quality plants. Ordered from them and the quality of plants were so bad. Nothing like the picture they show on the website. Some were rotten and with mould and shoved into plastic wallets which is completely different to website packaging. After calling so many times and waiting nearly an hour to get on the phone to someone have asked for a refund as they did not arrive when I wanted them to and the plants are now useless and may not even survive because they have been sitting with the courier for days. I had placed my order on 8th May and since nothing arrived for a long time I started enquiring . Although website says 3-7 days delivery I gave them the benefit of the doubt and waited for 15 days before my first phone call to them. When I put the order number to track it got the message it had been dispatched. Only to be told by customer service that that’s a standard message that goes out and my plants are not yet dispatched. At this point I was really fed up and disgusted and asked to cancel the order and refund me. Then to my surprise the plants appear the next day in a bad condition. When I called again I was told I should have got an email saying that the plants were going to arrive bit a dispatch note. Well nothing of that sort came to me nor a text or email. I have asked for a refund because now I have to go personally to another nursery and buy my plants which is a complete waste of time. I spent so much time looking online and since website should a healthy plant and good packaging I decided to order from Primrose. Never again will I order. Plants are poor quality and just need to go in the bin.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, I have looked into this order and can see that it has been resolved by my colleague. I apologise for this experience. - Meredyth
Posted 4 months ago
I spent over £300 on a water feature and had money collected from account. Shortly afterwards I receive an email asking me to provide BAC authorisation code available from my bank before they could deliver order. Alternatively I was invited to pay again via paypal and theyd refund money originally paid! Bank says money has been paid to Primrose and they should never ask for BAC code and it is not policy for bank to provide one. Tried contacting but despite being 1st in queue never got through. Emailed and had automated response saying 5 day wait. Then I read reviews and am now worried that my money has been stolen and ill never see the item. Will pass details to Trading Standards and initiate reclaim via card provider.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, This code is requested when the website initiates a fraud check. I apologise for any problems experienced. - Meredyth
Posted 4 months ago
Instigated complaint via my payment method, refund issued by them (not Primrose) after investigation. As others have indicated, Primrose is a totally unreliable company. In my case, plants did not arrive after I received notification they had been sent to courier. Not so. Interesting reading on Companies House re turnover of directors!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, I apologise for the experience you have had with us. - Meredyth
Posted 4 months ago
My experience mirrors that of others on your website. I placed an order for plants on the 15th May and received an email 2 days later advising that my order had been despatched. Here we are on the 26th May and I have received nothing apart from 3 packets of seeds which arrived 2 to 3 days after their email. This leaves outstanding a total of 7 plants which have cost me well over £90. I am of course kicking myself for not having checked Primrose out online before placing my order. It is the first time that I have ever failed to do so for a new online supplier. I guess I allowed myself to be fooled by their strong position in Google's search engine rankings. Also I felt quite relaxed about placing an order with an online garden supplies company, having had good experiences with J.Parkers and Crocus (who were especially good). Had I taken the trouble to check them out properly online before placing my order, I would not have touched them with a barge pole. Think my best course of action is to cancel and demand my money back. I cannot see the plants surviving a 9-day transit and I suspect that they will be of very poor quality anyway if the reviews on this website are anything to go by.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear about your experience. As I have advised directly the plants have not been dispatched and are not with the courier. I will continue to assist via our email. I apologise for any confusion caused. - Meredyth
Posted 4 months ago
Order arrived and the condition of the plants is appalling. This is all down to the lack of care before packaging. Petunias all long stems, dead leaves, dead flowers or stems where the flower was prior to packaging. Absolutely disgusting, waste of money.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, I truly apologise for your items arriving in this manner. I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this for you. - Meredyth
Posted 4 months ago
Order my plants on Saturday 15/5/21. Still waiting for order even though said 3 /7 days. Have sent email twice heard Nothing. Really bad company will never deal with them again. Just had op so thought this would be easy option now going to have to struggle to the garden centre. Would never recommend or use again. Order 5782251
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear about the wait as our delivery windows are in working days they would not include weekends or bank holidays. I have looked into the order and can see it is currently out for delivery today. - Meredyth
Posted 4 months ago
I placed my order no. 5759919 on 2nd May with a delivery promised within 7 working days. Needless to say I have not received my plants yet. I spoke to an adviser and was told stock was a problem but the order would be with me within 7 days. Looking at the DX website they haven’t yet received an order for me so that’s not going to happen. What a company!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, I have contacted you directly to provide an update on this order. I apologise for any inconvenience caused. - Meredyth
Posted 4 months ago
promised delivery date has passed so if still no plants by Friday i will request a palpal refund
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, I have looked into your order and can see it is out for delivery today with DX. I have emailed you to confirm this directly. - Meredyth
Posted 4 months ago
Appalling delivery, ordered plants on 1st May and was told they had been despatched on the 10th May. Today (24th May) the first of three packs of plug plants finally arrived - but it's safe to say I don't hold out much hope of them all surviving. Shame on you Primrose, other similar companies have continually delivered in good time and with high quality product
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, I am very sorry to hear that they are not in good condition. I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this with you. I apologise for the disappointment caused. - Meredyth
Posted 4 months ago
Paid for plants that didn’t arrive. Promised a refund. Not received . Have gone to PayPal resolution to see if they can get me my money back. Will never buy anything from this company again.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear about your experience with us. I have looked into the order and can see my colleague is currently looking into this for you. - Meredyth
Posted 4 months ago
Ordered some pepper plants in early may and as of yesterday 21st may 2021 had heard nothing. sent an email asking when dispatch may be and received automated response back This infomed me they were extremeley busy and it may take a while to get a reply back. it also said dont send more emails as i may lose my place in their email queue!!! Received package today which seemed rather small so my husband videoed me opening it. Omg there was a brown paper bag with 2 peppers that were ok but small. Second had 3 manky dead peppers in it oviously being shaken about by the postman. Tried to ring them and had to press 2 for the customer service. This line is dead and cut me off. Rang again on the press 1 button and a man answered. I asked for an email adress to send a video of what i received and he put the phone down on me!!!¬ Buy from this company at you perill!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, I am very sorry to hear about your plants. I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this with you. - Meredyth
Posted 4 months ago
Absolute garbage what they sent. Packed plant is a water absorbing paper bag. Inside of box wet and space between plants on another variety was way too big, allowing the plants to fly around inside, breaking up and killing 2 of the 3 plants inside. May be able to salvage the 3rd. Rang them up as I wanted an email address to send the photos / videos took. The customer service advisor hung up on me. Within 10 seconds, so yeah, not impressed. No I was not ranting. Wont be ordering again
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, I have contacted you directly to assist and resolve this with you. I apologise for any inconvenience caused. - Meredyth
Posted 4 months ago
Plants did not arrive. I allowed extra time beyond published estimate before making several unsuccessful attempts to contact Primrose by email and telephone. Courier (DX) did not receive goods according to tracking information. Dispute now raised via PayPal for refund.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, I am very sorry to hear about your experience. I have looked into the order and can see that my colleague is currently assisting to resolve this with you. - Meredyth
Posted 4 months ago
Primrose is rated 1.27 based on 560 reviews