Economy Energy Reviews

1.10 Rating 162 Reviews
2 %
of reviewers recommend Economy Energy

Write Your review

Tell us how Economy Energy made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Awful company to deal with, avoid. Left four months ago. After leaving, they kept charging via direct debit! So I had to call up and get a refund. Then, a few months pass and they start calling me to clear a balance equivalent to three months payments. Despite me never having missed a dd payment. I pay this (begrudgingly) and then a week later they start calling me AGAIN for a new balance they have invented. Four months after I left! I have never received such poor service and inflated bills! Never again
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
An absolutely awful service. Hours spent on the phone without being able to speak to anyone. No answer from multiple emails. Any attempt to switch away from them refused. I moved into my new home three months ago and only now received a letter to the 'new occupier' (I filled in the application to move in and created an account within the first week of my tenancy). Today I got a bill for £305 for the period of 1 month for gas (in the middle of the summer with 30 degrees Celsius outside?????!!!!) - That gas better be from Venus... Still trying to contact them. If there is an Economy Energy representative somewhere out there (do you have a customer service department? - seems you do not) please contact me.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
This company were so inept I cancelled my contract as soon as I could and moved to another supplier although they were cheaper. I paid by direct debit but they kept sending me prepayment cards, they said they couldn't read the smart meters but then could, I couldn't see any bills on my account they were all blank, they kept sending me blank PDFs of bills by email to pay. I constantly asked for a final bill which wasn't blank and one finally came in the post 3 months after leaving, I paid the final bill a week after it arrived by cheque having given up trying to pay over the phone, which was cleared and paid in full, I then get a phone call and letter for from a debt collection agency about an unpaid account with them for a strange amount not even relating to my account, I finally manage to get through to Economy energy' who tell me my account has been paid in full and closed, absolutely disgusting! If I had been an elderly customer this could have really frightened me, my advice stay away from this company, cheapest isn't always best, it will cost you more in the long run, in time and phone calls. I'm awaiting a response and apology probably won't get either!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Really bad customer service, i am on a pre payed meter and was only with them for 2 weeks as there customer service is really bad, i then recieved a bill to which i emailed them saying how do i owe money when i am pay as you go, the repky was i owe nothing, bit i am still recieving messages and emails so i tang up and spoke to someone who said i owe nothing, they havr now passed me onto a debt collector so now i am having to fight again to say i owe nothing, my advice is to STAY AWAY as the harrasment is really bad and ao stressful, if this is not sorted i am going to seek legal advice
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Switched to them in June 2018. They billed me twice (with no warning or explanation). I called and was on hold for ages so they told me to leave a message and they'd call back. They haven't. I'm sitting here on hold again, 40 minutes and counting and I've also heard from my previous supplier that they were never told about the switch and have carried on billing me too. Wish I'd never heard of them. AVOID.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Shocking. Do NOT use. Awful customer service, liars and complete fraudsters. Stay WELL AWAY from. I'm leaving
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Non existent Customer Service, gave up after 40 mins on hold. I received a letter today stating my gas/electric charges are going up from 10 weeks ago, that's me receiving a letter on 14 June 18 saying my charges are going up on 31 March 18, can't wait to get shot of this company, beware!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Worst customer service ever. Got a bill for £680 that no one seems able to explain to me, even though they adjust my payments monthly. Requested a technician to come and have a look to the meter reader and appliances (conveniently only available on the day the payment is due), booked it for the only date available and doesn't even show up! When I try to call and check what's happening, after 40' waiting, after a brief explanation - which they don't even let me finish - they transfer my call to an independent service that has nothing to do with the company and I'm forced to end the call. Twice. They not clear at all when giving you information or explaining your bill.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
bad customer service, never use them
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I pay regularly by Direct Debit but now find I oue them £791.00 on my gas bill! I leave them to adjust my payments. As a pensioner, how could they allow this situation to arise?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
TERRIBLE COMPANY!!!! I have been chasing a final bill from them for 2 months. One member of staff says i am due back £50 and another member of staff says i am due back £8!! My account clearly states £50 due back from meter readings provided but they will not give it to me. No one replies from the complaints department, no one calls you back. So frustrating....WORST utility provider i have ever dealt with.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
do not have any idea, could not understand operators, avoided giving information.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Had loads of trouble getting top up cards, then ended up with 4 electric cards and no gas card. After two and a half hours of phone calls and repetitive address corrections, they finally got it right and I recieved my cards about 3 months after signing up to them.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Had loads of trouble getting top up cards, then ended up with 4 electric cards and no gas card. After two and a half hours of phone calls and repetitive address corrections, they finally got it right and I recieved my cards about 3 months after signing up to them.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Andrew Hill customer Service
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
dont use this company.worst energy company ever had.problems from day one with them.absolute nightmare.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Avoid this company like the plague. I was with them for 2 weeks and it was absolute torture. They took payment out of my account without warning. Apparently they sent me numerous texts about different things - I never received any of them! Customer service is a total joke, one time I phoned there was such loud music on in the background I couldn't hear what was being said to me. The three separate people I spoke to were all seriously rude and gave completely different answers to the others. Was promised phonecalls back on three separate occasions but never had even one. Even though I am in a wheelchair and my electricity meter is in the basement of the shop I live next to I was informed that Economy Electric 'do not do readings for anybody, regardless of disability'. That was after asking me INCREDIBLY personal health questions for approx 20 minutes. They are obviously incapable of understanding that wheelchairs + stairs are not a great mixture. They didn't bother to ask for readings, gave my old energy company made up readings so I received a letter about a £400 debt! Turns out that my old company actually owed me nearly £200, luckily it was sorted out in a day. The only time that I spoke to anyone decent was the day I finally gave up and informed them that I was moving to a different company. I am still receiving phone calls from them asking for readings. Their prices may be attractive but it doesn't make up for their total incompetence, rudeness and ignorance!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
worst company ever used.from day one of switch.takes ages to get through on the phone.dont reply to e mails.terrible customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
They took a direct debit after I cancelled my contract (Before it had started). Tried to ring on many occasions and was left on the phone for 10 minutes each time with no answer. Wrote twice and got no reply, even though they say they will reply within 10 days. They then rang to say they would refund my money within 10 days and to be fair they did, months after taking it originally. Do not touch at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I've been with them for months, always paid my bills. Move home and so ended contract but they had an 'admin error' and took 2 lots of payments from my account. The last 4 weeks have been my constant chasing them to pay me back, with empty promises of payment. Last contact was with Ateek a sales person and Nick a sales team manager, both promised the return of my money but still they have not returned a penny.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Economy Energy is rated 1.10 based on 162 reviews