Economy Energy Reviews

1.10 Rating 163 Reviews
2% of reviewers recommend Economy Energy

Write Your review

Tell us how Economy Energy made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
communication channels
Over a week
queries resolved in
customer service
Returns & Refunds
Difficult
refunds process
"I left Economy Energy three months ago. My balance was £310.34 in credit. I chased them various time, they said it should be in my account in 28 days. After 28 days I called again, they said transfer to my new supplier hasn't been done so i need to wait. I called my new supplier to speed up the process, they said it is Economy Energy who needs to do the transaction. I called back, they said they will look into it and get back to me. After 2 weeks wait and 3 phone call they said my transfer is done and I will receive a final statement and my refund in 28 days (that's the 2nd 28 days wait) I received my statement in two weeks and as I stated above my account is £310.34 in credit. I called within 28 days, they said "there is a back log in their refund department and shouldn't except it before 12th November, if you don't receive it by than call back" Today 13th I contacted them again, the answer I get is "there is a back log with the refund department and they cannot give me a date or any phone number of refund department to contact" Simply I cannot get my money back and don't know whether they will ever pay me e and there is no one to contact! The amount of time I spent on the phone is over 3 hours for "the money they owe me!" When it comes to pay back, it is a closed door to your face! I will get my money back one way or another but one thing for certain, I will not let them get away with this. Please do stay away from them"
Posted 4 months ago
Are you Economy Energy? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"Terrible - do not use."
Posted 4 months ago
"Absolutely the worst supplier. Before starting the transfer process to another supplier I requested a refund of part of my credit balance as I had a high level of credit versus what my final bill would be. When transferring from them they continued to take direct debits after they ceased to supply my utilities. I therefore cancelled d/d at bank and phoned up to enquire about return of my total credit balance. This was between 3-4 weeks after they ceased supplying. I was told that they won’t produce my final bill till after 6-8 weeks. When pointing out the additional d/d taken after they ceased to supply the agent acknowledged that they were taken in error. I therefore asked that they return those d/d under the d/d guarantee scheme. They refused! I asked to speak to a manager and eventually was passed to floor supervisor. Who basically told me that the managers were too busy to speak to me but suggested I lodged a complaint. I agreed that that maybe the best way forward, he told me I would hear within 5 days from the complaints team. He then was transferring me back to the agent for her to take my complaint. I was left on hold for over before I ended the call, this all took 43mins. I therefore contacted my bank to get reversal of the d/d that Economy Energy admitted to taking in error, which my bank handled with great professionalism and did do such a contrast to Economy Energy! I then called back Economy energy as I felt I should ensure a complaint was logged. I was told it was on the system and would here back within 5 days. 15 days on and not heard anything. Called Economy Energy again today to ask for return of credit, being fobbed off with final bills within 6 to 8 weeks we are about 6 weeks since they stopped supplying. I pointed out that they have on line bills using my transfer readings. The response is that as the actual transfer date took place 3 days later they need to charge me the 3 days standing charge plus anything that I used in the 3 days. I pointed out as my new supplier was billing me since the transfer reading it is only the standing charge for 3 days that needs calculated. Why does it take so long to do this. I also pointed out that I had not got a response from my complaint. The agent kept speaking over me and so O asked her to let me speak. She came out with a well rehearsed rant and said we are going round circles and she is not prepared to speak to me and hung up on me. This is the rudest company I have ever had to deal with and it is obvious that they are struggling, the whole demeanour of their agents is that of being on the defensive as it’s obvious that they are constantly dealing with an overwhelming amount of complaints. It is shocking that they don’t understand the meaning of the Direct Debit Guarantee Scheme and refuse to transfer you to anyone that could process the return of a wrongly taken direct debit. It is also shocking that they are quoting the timescale to refund credit balances as between 6-8 weeks which is in fact the guideline time to take to the ombudsman if you still haven’t received your refund after requesting it. Avoid Economy Energy like the plague, anything you save from the moving to them is lost by the phone calls and time spent dealing with them let alone getting your credit balance back."
Posted 4 months ago
"Left when prices went sky high, they then took a gas direct debit nearly 3 weeks after leaving them ,they owe me approximately £140 ,6 weeks after leaving them still no refund ,when contacted them told no time line due to a large backlog, please beware far to many people are saying exactly the thing , it cant just be coincidence"
Posted 4 months ago
"I have had the worst possible experience with this company when trying to leave them. They simply refuse to refund me my credits on my Gas/Elec. I have over £100.00 credit since Aug 18 and as of today, 12.11.18, they still refuse to refund me. If I didn't pay my bill one month what would you have done to me? Yet you hold onto my money since Aug and refuse to refund? criminal!! Their Complaints department ignore all my emails, you know who you are, Kayty Robertson!!!! (complaint ref 1368231). Why do you keep ignoring me???? I had have to log this with the energy ombudsman. Hopefully, I will get a load of compensation out of this. TO ALL: PLEASE BE AWARE SIGNING UP WITH THIS COMPANY!!!"
Posted 4 months ago
"Like many other customer that left Economy Energy i cannot get them to return the money that they owe my. Its scandalous the way they treat people with such contempt. Please take heed of these reviews and do not consider joining these thieves"
Posted 4 months ago
"Absolute thieves. I have been chasing since Aug 15th Owed nearly £1000. Told the same old stories. Just reading a script to fob me off. Will I ever get it back...its not looking likely. 😡😡😡😡😡"
Posted 4 months ago
"Looking at the number of people owed money, and looking at the last publicly available statutory accounts filed at Companies House, I feel that this company may be insolvent and unable to lay its debts as they fall due. Could a spokesperson for the company please confirm whether the company is trading while insolvent?"
Posted 4 months ago
"Appalling from day 1, overcharging on electric (4.5x my usage - £193 a month!!!) undercharging on gas. Might get a statement in two weeks of maybe 4 months but never consistent. Contact centre team fail to follow up on actions like generating statements and offsetting credit on one account to the other. 2 months to get final bill and still awaiting refund even though I was told it was arranged. Followed their customer complaint procedure in September and still waiting to hear back... now they won’t speak to me because of complaint with Ofgem they see that as “not being willing to speak to them anymore”! Left them in September because of the poor service all round!!! Avoid at all costs!!!"
Posted 4 months ago
"Again, as many of your reviews are saying- they are refusing to pay me back almost £900 credit from my account after switching to another supplier. This has been ongoing for almost 8 weeks now. I went live with my new company on the 17th September 2018. They only generated the final gas bill on the 30th October, the electricity bill was generated on the 01/10/18. I am a pensioner on the at risk register with a chronic illness. I have written two emails requesting my money back from them - I have live chatted with them requesting it back - I’ve phoned them!!! They just kept saying it can take up to six weeks and when that stage past - they have now said 6-8 weeks!!! That 8th week is this week on the 8th November! It is criminal they they can just hold on to peoples money like this. If you go to the Ombudsman- they haven’t got the ability to fine the company - so the company can literally just use this as a further excuse to withhold your money for even longer! I’m going to the national news papers instead and going to post on every review site that I can! This might create enough bad press for them to accelerate giving good paying people their money back. I’m disgusted by my treatment - I would advise that NO ONE should bother switching to them, even if they are the cheapest. I will keep finding other review sites and posting on them to warn others not to go with them! Disgraceful treatment. They’ll probably pay lip service to this review to make it look like its all been a very bad mistake by saying “please contact us via live chat so we can sort this out, sorry for any inconvenience this has caused” - as they did when I posted on trust pilot - it was signed by (Kara). It’s probably an automated response set up to counter bad reviews and make people think that they’ll sort things out asap! They will not. When they reply to my email and give me my money back I’ll stop giving them bad reviews."
Posted 4 months ago
"They refuse to return my credit monies after switching to another supplier 3 1/2 month ago. If you deal with this company ensure that your account is NEVER in credit."
Posted 4 months ago
"I switched away from Economy Energy on the 24/07/18 with a credit on the account. There is no dispute over the amount of credit, they just refuse to return this money to me and we are now 3 1/2 month down the line. I have chased them up via email and have had an excuse, also via email, on each occasion. I did advise them in one email that there is 'no reason why this payment should be delayed unless it is corporate policy to deliberately do so' and they did not reject this so therefore it must be true and of course it is possible to transfer money very quickly and easily these days. If you wish to deal with this Company make sure your account is NEVER in credit with them."
Posted 4 months ago
"After a year with Economy Energy we decided to leave due to the new deals being offered. We are in credit to the tune of 500 pounds but getting it refunded is proving very difficult. We were advised that it would take 6-8 weeks to generate final bill and then a further 28 days to refund the money. After arguing with the Customer Services and the manager that this was not satisfactory we submitted a formal complaint. Eleven days later we has not heard anything in relation to the complaint but our online account showed our final bills so we rang to request the money. The gas refund was requested but we were told we were owed more back for the electric than showed so would have to request a new bill. We were told this would show on our account by the following Monday but it never arrived. After giving them a few extra days we contacted them tonight to be told it could take a further 6-8 weeks for the bill, the officer then refused to let us speak to a manager. When we asked about our complaint we were told it had been closed as the issue was resolved, in whose eyes!!!!certainly not ours and was closed without any correspondence with ourselves. Have been promised email after email to confirm details but they never arrive. The firm is an absolute joke who have no idea what customer service is. God know when we can expect our refund but am prepared to continue to fight them all the way on this, the money is ours not theirs yet they can hang onto it as long as they like. NOT BLOODY LIKELY, THEY ARE THIEVES"
Posted 4 months ago
"A Update on 02 November do not use this company got a phone call from amy after putting a bad comment about them she got a manager to a fast track payment 5 to 10 days no payment and two more weeks later nothing rung them.today same story can not let you know when you will get your money these will always lie to you .think if your reading this you are no one to them new customers be warned they will do what they want no regards to you New customers do not go with them they are same price as big 6 company go with them it take months to get you money back if you in credit 100s they will keep it for months other companies give it back to you within 14 days"
Posted 4 months ago
"I moved into a new property paying the previous tenants debt, I was asked for proof of my tenency agreement which I sent I was then told my money will go in my bank within 21 days as it been processed, today is 21 days Still no refund , I was then advised that they've processed the payment again for £23 which is Much less than they owe me? and will also be sent out in a paypoint voucher, so there thieves and liars do NOT use this company"
Posted 4 months ago
"I have switched away and am owed nearly £200 in overpaid direct debits. They even took a further direct debit the day my contract ended. Despite 3 requests I still havent had a refund 7 weeks later. Do NO USE this company."
Posted 4 months ago
"So we have been customers for a while. I checked our account and we are in credit about £500 for gas and £500 for electric when i asked for it back i was told they wanted to hold on to 4 x my direct debit!!! WHAT? My direct debit is clearly to much. It is my money and you have paid me no interest for the period you have held it. When demanding it all back i was told no guarantees get back to you in 28 days! I have always overpaid and you now refuse to return my money. This is theft. Avoid these con artists."
Posted 4 months ago
"After monitoring my pre payment meter I was horrified that there was debt appearing on my electric meter even when I hadn’t used the emergency credit, contacted economy energy and they just give me a code to go to the local pay point for the sum of £15, I am still checking my machine on a daily basis to see where my credit goes."
Posted 4 months ago
"O NOT TOUCH WITH A BARGE POLE.......... I had been happy with Economy Energy until my tariff was up. They sent a new tariff offer through which i rang to accept to be told it was not available. I was therefore forced to leave due increases in bills for the future. I gave mtr rdgs to old and new supplier i the same day. EE continued to take DD from my bank despite me being in credit balance between my gas/elec. they raised bills but did not use my mtr readings, so still waiting for final bills.. how long before i get my money back who knows. asked to speak to supervisor and refused by customer service agent as i was no longer a customer....... AVOID"
Posted 4 months ago
"Were cheap but oh deary me not cheerful in the slightest. And now, not even cheap, just very, very poor. After a successful ombudsman conclusion to some abysmal communication issues, including moving us to an online only account and not emailing bills, we foolishly decided to stay with them. Their representative moved us onto a good tariff. A few months later we get a bill showing us that we were not moved to this tariff but the considerably more expensive evergreen. Hello, Mrs ombudsman here we go again. Their complaints team seem to have one role, obfuscation. Please offgen close these cowboys down."
Posted 4 months ago
Economy Energy is rated 1.10 based on 163 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support