Economy Energy Reviews

1.10 Rating 163 Reviews
2% of reviewers recommend Economy Energy

Write Your review

Tell us how Economy Energy made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
communication channels
Over a week
queries resolved in
customer service
Returns & Refunds
Difficult
refunds process
"Don’t deserve even 1 star...no time for you or any concerns/queries. Put prices up by 30% in first month. I switched supplier on 3rd Oct and had to request my finals bills, request that I’d like a refund of credit, query a new gas bill (even though we’ve switched) originally they stated a backlog on refunds and now state no timescale for refunds. Internet search will show you lots of disgruntled customers. AVOID THIS COMPANY!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Are you Economy Energy? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"I changed to this company some months ago as it came back with the best deal, after a few months they decided to put up their prices to virtually match the big 6, so on reflect i changed again and now I cannot get my overpayments returned, and they are totally ignorant when I email the complaints department, the only reply I get is the standard reply, we will get back to you within 24 hours. They do by asking my full name and address when they have my account number in the email. I return my address to them - then it’s nothing. I have even told them they are breaking the law by holding my money after 14 days. They just do not care other than lining their pockets and going more money from the interest from the banks. I was warned about these but chose to ignore as I got a good deal. TOTALLY IGNORANT COMPANY I will put this on as many places as possible"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Changed supplier from EE, got a final bill on electricity asking me to pay £11.36. They chased for this payment, I asked where the gas final bill was. "oh that's in credit"of £54. 18. Would I like to pay the £11.36 and wait for my refund of £54.18? Then I suggested just refund the difference... ... One month later, please let me know when I can expect... We are putting your account into review to ensure the bills are correct... I call BS. They are trying to play hard ball and to punish for wanting a refund in time for Christmas when was due this from September."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"IF YOU ARE THINKING OF MOVING TO ECONOMY ENERGY, DO NOT DO IT. My experience is exactly the same as the last few complaints. I closed my account at the end of September and am still waiting for a refund of £273. A month ago they said it would be paid in 28 days. I spoke to them today and they said I am in the new improved and quicker refund system but they can't tell me when I will get my money! I asked to speak to a manager and they refused, I asked to speak to the accounts department and they said they don't have a phone!! I have requested a full copy of my account but that will take 30 days!!!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"The worse energy supplier I have ever been with. In only 12 months I was with Economy Energy I had to ring them 7 times!!! They first messed up my bills and I couldn't get them to correct these. Then I decided to leave (surprise, surprise) and since August I'm still wating for my refund. Called them in October and was told it should take 4 weeks, called them again today and was told the money will be with me as soon as possible??? What that even means??? Customer service staff have no clue and give contradicting information. I just laughed in the end. Avoid at all costs unless you don't mind ringing them every freaking month."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Still waiting for refundafter Leaving ago 2 months.shocking company.took out two payments when started.left September 24 .still waiting refund 26 th November and told it could be a couple of weeks.avoid this company"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"This company has down right lied to me on several occasions regarding my £200 refund, from you will get it in 10 days time to their favorite you will get it in up to 28 days spanning back from August, I used money saving experts resolver so I have a record of all correspondence and I urge you to do the same."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"They owe me £380 since September and I can’t get them to refund my money despite 5 calls Lots of similar reviews Terrible company avoid at all costs"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I wouldn’t even give this company one star if I had the option. Turned my gas off for 4 days for no reason, emailed 2 complaints (because couldn’t get through by phone!) waited for 9 months for an apology & some compensation. Then received a letter with my new special rate to then be told I wasn’t entitled & the letter I received was a misprint?! Unbelievable. DO NOT go with this energy supplier!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Do not use this company. Been waiting weeks for them to refund me £240.00. All they keep saying is that it is being processed. Truly horrible company to deal with"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I leave this company in august and still no get refund, need wait and wait, and nobody can't tell how long. no possible speak with manager - nothing - like a mafia - hold many and no access or speed up process...."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Avoid them at all costs they will not refund your money when you switch supplier"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I took a 12 month dual fuel contract with Economy Energy. From start to finish they have been one of THE most useless organisations I have come across. They have failed to act upon the perfectly good direct debit mandates that they had, despite having confirmed that these were in place. When I chased for them to debit me they said they would but then did nothing. Meanwhile after 6 months of this their debt collection department was threatening debt recovery and even though the so called "customer service" department and "Senior Complaints Manager" told me these threats should not have been made, they then said that they might not be able to stop further threats being made, even though they acknowledged that I was not in the wrong!. At about the 5th attempt and after around 8 months Economy Energy managed to start taking payments for Gas but failed to do anything for the Electricity account! They apologised for their very poor service when I complained and on 2 separate occasions offered small refunds by way of apology - they then failed to pay these which I had to chase. When trying to move to another supplier at the end of the contract the so called "live help" gave me conflicting information (the same person contradicting themselves), confirmed the wrong contract end date and then told me to ignore any formal contract letters sent out at the start of the contract as they "were wrong". In the end I made a formal complaint to the Energy Ombudsman who found the service of Economy Energy to be appalling. My experience of Economy Energy is of an organisation that has zero operational efficiency, no concept of customer service, separate departments that work independently of each other with no idea of what is happening and a live "help" facility that seems to make it up as they go. My advice is that even if they are offering reasonable tariffs, avoid them like the plague unless you want to waste many hours dealing with their errors!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Left two months ago. Despite it saying it on their website that you may have to wait up to 14 days for a refund almost 50 days later I’m still waiting. I’ve emailed to complain. I have chatted to customer support online. I have spoken with customer support. Some have been helpful. Most have been very unhelpful. But I’m still waiting. It’s incredible. If customers took this long to pay what they owed the company would be taking action. Do not use them"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"a morning rant. if anyone is thinking of using economy energy my advice would be don't i find them to be shambolic. at the end of contract they don't prepare a final bill until you chase them, then they tell you it takes 6 weeks for that to happen, then they say they will post you a bill and you have to ring again to request a refund. all designed to hang on to your money as long as possible. this is a joke and most energy companies do it, they have you banks details and should refund your credit within a few days of receiving a final meter reading. Manage"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I was approached in my local town to swap to Economy energy with all the promises of saving me money! I have had nothing but hassle from the very start....after the first year they put me on the highest tariff without notification, they took two separate direct debits for gas and electric but somehow managed to put all the money on Electric then they were failing to take the direct debit for electricity and even though I made regular phone calls and had many promises of return calls....they failed on every level! They said I owed over a £1000 in electricity but this was a mistake and they claimed it was because of a wrong final reading given by my previous supplier. They gave me a credit of £1000 but then took it away again without telling me and when I realised I called them and they said that they had made a mistake. Further down the line I discovered I owed them a huge Gas bill and when I investigated it was because they had moved me to their highest tariff and my gas was now double of the previous year.....I have given them one star just to write this review but they deserve zero! I have been in the same house for 12 years and I have never dealt with such a poorly run company. Because they were failing to take direct debits and moved my tariff to the most expensive without notification they contacted me to say I owed them over £800 and could I clear the debt! I was furious....for months I had been telling them they were failing to collect this money but they did nothing! I ended up paying £100 off the balance but told them that they should wipe off the money they had failed to collect and for all the times I had spent on the phone trying to get them to sort it out.....they wouldn't write that off!! I have now just moved supplier and it's a little more expensive but I have used them before and they are professional in every way. I will never consider Economy energy ever again as an option for cheap energy and wouldn't recommend them to anybody!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I left this company several months ago after they advised they were raising my prices, despite my having signed up to a fixed price plan with them. So evidently not honouring their own plan. After I left them they continued to charge me twice each month, even months after having left them and being in credit they continued to take money from my bank account. No bills were forthcoming ever, and I received some bills only after requesting them 5 times. After I left I started to receive threatening letters from their collections department accusing me of non payment, despite them continuing to take direct debit payments from me, and despite my being substantially in credit. I was promised on several occasions these letters would stop but they did not. Furthermore Economy Energy now owe me over £300 due to them overcharging me every month. Despite multiple requests for this to be repaid to me it has not been forthcoming, even after contacting the ceo and complaints dept several times, trying to speak to them on the phone (waited 25 minutes to be hung up on) and live chat (20 minutes wait to get a response at times). I do not appreciate a company who cannot stick to the fixed prices promised, continue to take money from their customers who have left, send collections letters, and fail to repay what is owed. I can see plenty of other customers are having similar issues which is of great concern to me. Overall very unhappy with their service and suspect will need to take the matter further, I think ofgem should be investigating."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Having switched supplier when Economyenergy couldn't even come close to offering a competitive tariff, I am having great difficulty in getting a refund of £351-98 outstanding credit when my contract ended on 10/10/18. This includes a direct debit taken on 23/10/18, almost two weeks AFTER my contract ended, and even though my account was in credit. I was told by them that a refund would have to wait until my final bill was generated, which wouldn't be until 3rd December. This seems ludicrous as my last electricity statement was on 25/10/18, and there is no justifiable reason for it not to cover the end of my contract. It is just a crude excuse for Economyenergy to hang on to MY money for as long as it can."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I have been waiting 4 months for them to refund an overcharge of £290 on my gas account, due to them ignoring the actual meter readings I sent and using inaccurate estimates"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"The company is cynical in its business practices. If you leave with a credit balance, they make you apply for your money rather than automatically returning it to you. And you have to wait weeks. I left on 5 September and am still waiting for the £408 they owe me. They say they approved the refund 3 weeks ago but haven't paid it due to 'backlogs'. They will not say when I can expect it. I'm now pursuing the return of my money through the Ombudsman."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Economy Energy is rated 1.10 based on 163 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support