Economy Energy Reviews

1.10 Rating 163 Reviews
2% of reviewers recommend Economy Energy

Write Your review

Tell us how Economy Energy made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
communication channels
Over a week
queries resolved in
customer service
Returns & Refunds
Difficult
refunds process
"I switched from economy energy on the 4 October 18 with £524 credit on my account. They then took direct debits out on the 15/10/18, which were immediately cancelled. Contacted them on 4/11/18 to be told that my refund had been sent to the finance team and would receive an email 3 days before being credited with monies owed. Still awaiting the email. Started the complaints process on 9/12/18 to be told it was with the finance team and the complaint was closed. Will now complain to the ombudsmen. Don't touch them with a barge pole and if you are unfortunate enough to be with them and have credit on the account cancel your direct debits and run it down before leaving."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Are you Economy Energy? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"Very very very bad customer service. Liars"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I decided to change supplier but forgot to cancel my DD. More money was collected as well as from my new supplier. When I did cancel my DD I was sent a bill for almost £500 pounds. Can’t get through to customer service to resolve. Very poor company to deal with."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Can I just say if anyone is waiting for a refund from the company like I was for several months just go straight to the omnibusmon service online and submit your claim and evidence, the company won't even submit there evidence they will just refund you straight away. I started the claim around 05.12.2018 and have looked in my bank today and economy energy have refunded me in full."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Another unhappy former customer. Left Economy Energy in early September with account in credit. I’ve requested a refund, made many phone calls and sent several emails but I’m still waiting. They started off saying the refund would be 4 weeks, then 8, now they just say they don’t know. I’ve made a formal complaint but they haven’t responded to that either. I couldn’t give them a low enough recommendation."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Quite simply the worst possible levels of customer service I have ever been unfortunate to endure. I chose this provider mainly due to them being able to match my existing dual fuel deal which was ending with Scottish Power, plus they have their customer service centre here in the North East. When I moved house they could not supply me with gas at my new address, so I moved back to Scottish. Four and a half months after submitting my final meter reads, and closing my account, I am still receiving demands for £4.50 owed on my gas account, even though I am still £53 in credit on my electricity account. Dozens of phone calls and assurances from different staff members later and I am no further forwards, so I contacted their Director of Sales and Customer Services and still no response. To sum up, I am owed approximately £49, and these clowns are potentially damaging my credit rating, chasing me for less than £5. I would never consider dealing with this awful, incompetent collection of amateurs again."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"this is the 3rd time I have had to leave a bad review on economy energy. still trying to get my refund since the 25 September been given all sorts of promises but never any refund, it seems now they have run out of excuses and don't reply to my emails, if you read this kara will now reply and let me know what is going on with my refund."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Despite my contract with EE finishing in October 18 they still took money in November from my bank then their Credit Control demanded to know why I had cancelled the direct debit. When they finally made up my final bill I discovered that I have almost £700 owing to me. Why did they increase my monthly d/d when they knew we were in credit. Despite chasing them many times for my money all I ever get from them is a load of jargon and unanswered questions and sarcastic comments like “have a nice day”. Do not get involved with this company."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"These reviews are like a scratched/broken record but it would appear that I have got off lightly in regards to my experience, albeit still waiting for a refund of £150 for nearly 3 months. If I hadn't paid my bill in this time I would be sitting here with a candle, hoping my laptop juice doesn't run out! Went to the Ombudsman website and noticed need to lodge a formal complaint giving EE 28 days to rectify first. Tried navigating my way around the website and seemed to always end up back in the same place - probably me. Good luck to all and good riddance to EE!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Same story as everyone else. Still waiting on refund after several months. Have also been helping themselves via direct debits. Absolutely ABYSMAL- WORST provider ever. Guess I'II be onto the ombudsman soon."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Oh dear, having read the review above - I have that sinking feeling. We terminated with them on 23rd November having overpaid by about £300. No reply to email, so spoke to CS today - saying up to 8 weeks for final bill and statement. God knows if we will get a refund. I'll have to take this up with the Ombudsman. Is this company going bust?"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I left them in late October and my refund has still not been processed. They also informed me that it will be done once the final bill is processed (which they do) and I will not be refunded automatically and need to write to them again! I wonder how many customers forget to claim their refund in this way? All the companies I have switched from in the past have refunded me automatically in a reasonable time. Finally, they even billed me in November after I had already switched in October!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Why don’t all of us ripped off by this conniving deceitful company get together and make one massive court claim against the EE crooks! Would give zero stars if possible. Left EE when my tariff expired end Oct 2018 and despite emails promising me my money back (£184) still no money or even a date for it being repaid.For the small amount it costs to take this to the Small Claims Court, I am about to submit the last of the paperwork to get my money back, plus interest, plus damages for the damage the stress (I suffer from an anxiety and depression disorder) this has caused. They also had the bloody cheek to take more money from my bank and then complained when I cancelled the Direct Debit. I have warned them that I only have patience enough to last for the Xmas/New Year fortnight before 1) Small Claims Court, then 2) When they still don’t pay the High Court Sheriffs (you’ll have seen themon tv in “The Sheriffs are Coming” and “Can’t Pay? We’ll take it away!” They are like bulldogs- they do NOT give up! ) will be asked to take the matter further by confronting them-cost £70 which I will get back in addition to what EE already owe. All of those of us ripped off and fobbed off by EE should join together and make a massive claim against this charlatan company and do so before they decide to wind up the company or declare themselves bankrupt and thus are a) able to get away with not paying a penny and b) are allowed to set up another energy company in a different name"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I left economy energy early October and my final bills were calculated and they owe me over £300, I was advised that it could take up to a maximum of 28 days to be refunded, we are now in December and I have contacted them several times but just keep getting fobbed off about the new system they have in process, they can not give me any idea as to when I will get my money back. I have even emailed there complaints team and was told the same thing and my complaint was closed down again with no idea as to when I will receive my money back. I have now taken this to the omnibusmon to investigate as I feel i am getting no where and feel I will never see my £300+ again. Please avoid this company and cancel any direct debits as soon as you leave the company."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I officially left Economy Energy on the 8th of October. I spoke to them several times and was assured that no more money would be taken out of my account. On the 1st of November -59 pounds was taken from my account. Without going into too much detail, - i have literally spent hours speaking to Economy Energy regarding my refund, to no avail. they owe me over 200 pounds in total and have totally messed me around. I have been told contrdictory information, lied to, fobbed off and treated with absolutely no regard. I have wasted so much time trying to get the money i am owed. It is coming up to Christmas and I am 200 pounds down. I can't describe the upset and stress I have had dealing with this company. I have dealt with many energy companies in the past and I have never in my life had any issues with them. This is an absolute joke. I have never complained before, however the way i have been dealt with and the fact that they are avoiding refunding my money is just a complete joke. Anyone who signs up with them is only going to be faced with an ongoing nightmare. AVOID AT ALL COSTS"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Appalling, trust me, just cancel your direct debits now and sort the rest out later to save yourself some money. I looked into the financials of the directors and it does not look genuine."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"This is easily the worst company Inhace ever had the misfortune to deal with! DO NOT touch them with a barge pole! Despite moving to another supplier over 8 months ago and closing my Economy Energy account, Imwas bombarded with further exorbitant bills and threatened with legal action if I didn’t pay. I finally, after 2/3 months of extreme anxiety over these threats, I managed to speak to a senior manager, Emma Banister, who promised that I would receive £40 compensation for the worry and trouble they had caused. This was over a month ago, and I still haven’t received the money into my bank account. I have tried calling several times, but have had to wait over 20 mins without getting through, and I am still awaiting a reply to my email."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"This is the worst company I have ever dealt with. They do not enter meter readings when supplied same day they are requested. Cancelled my account 26 September 2018, and after several requests got a final statement late October. Now December, after several emails, web chats and phone calls, am still awaiting refund they owe me, almost 3 months after closing my account. They do not answer emails, take forever to answer phone, and pass you to endless departments ending up with someone who can't help! Would definitely NOT recommend. Avoid at all costs."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"This is the worst utility provider we have ever dealt with. They lure customers in with favourable rates but in the time that we have been with Economy Energy they have increased our monthly direct debit by 53% without reason. Even worse, after they increased our monthly payment they also took over £300 from our account without warning or reason. Since September 2018, we have been been in a constant battle to have our account updated with the correct usage and meter readings as they are incompetent at doing their job. We have been informed that we have over £900 in credit on our account which they are dragging the feet in returning. It is our money! It's ok from them to steal from their customers, but they are infuriatingly slow at refunding customers money. The complaints team submitted a request for refund over a month ago and still we have not had an update. We have switched providers since and after ringing yet again yesterday, we have been informed that our final bill will not be issued for another 6-8 weeks and only then will our refund be considered. This is fraud and theft! They are incompetent, unhelpful and atrocious at customer service. We will keep fighting this with legal help and have submitted a case to the Ombusman."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Like others waiting for a refund made worse when they have admitted making a mistake on the final bill by charging too much but still no refund forthcoming "it's on a spreadsheet but can't give a date" shameful obviously staff have been told what to say to customers due a refund what type of people would continue to work for this unethical company despite obviously knowing what is going on. I will take legal action. Luckily paid 'final bill with credit card so asking for them to investigate & refund me as well. Quick to take money dishonest when asked to return what is due."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Economy Energy is rated 1.10 based on 163 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support