World of Books Reviews

4.68 Rating 2,269 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend World of Books
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
96%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 93%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
3.99 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Read World of Books Reviews

About World of Books:

World Of Books Group is a circular economy, for-profit business that supports charities and protects the planet by enabling more goods to be reused. From a single bag of books we now re-home and recycle over 75 million used books a year. We buy books from charity shops and other sources, or through Ziffit – our App and website. We sell them on our own website and on other platforms – we are the largest volume seller on eBay globally. Our recycling partners turn unwanted books into other useful products – nothing goes to waste. This is supported by our own proprietary software platform which streamlines our processes. We also provide software services to charities and other re-sellers to help them maximise their e-commerce sales. As a recently accredited B Corp (Business For Good), we are growing quickly in the UK and internationally. With nearly 300,000 sq ft of warehouses in Cincinnati (US), West Sussex (UK) and a new state-of-the-art warehouse in Coventry (UK), sales in 2020 will be nearly £80 million.

Our company was founded on an ethos to do good, to help charities and to make a positive impact. We don’t believe that books should only be read once, or have a single owner. We want to share the love of literature by rereading and reusing books. This is why our prices are low and delivery is free - to help millions of used books find new homes in over 190 countries every year.

Visit Website

Phone:

01903 507544

Write Your review

Tell us how World of Books made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Appalling service, states to change or cancel.an order to contact them,I do so as needed to change two titles, I was rudely informed changing an order is not possible as shipped automatically just refuse the delivery, they refuse to assist and I was still charged for the books I didn't want included in the order
Hello, Thanks for your review. Sadly there are cases when we can not amend or change orders as they are processed quickly. We do state this in our confirmation emails and our FAQ page How do I cancel my order? We can only cancel an order if it hasn't yet been processed by our picking and packing department. Usually items are processed within a matter of hours, so this limits our ability to cancel an order before this time. You will be able to return the item to us, at your expense, if you no longer require it and we will refund you the value of your item provided it falls within the time period stated on our returns policy. --- You placed the order on 2021-05-01 19:01:14, it was printed picked and packed by 2021-05-02 10:14:05. You sent your email at (Sun, 2 May 2021 at 3:14 PM). The order had already left us by then. Thanks, World of Books
I ordered 4 children's books. All saying they were as good as new. The first was obviously very well used as virtually every page was damaged, and worst of all was very dirty. This one I complained about. Not yet had a reply. Later, on further inspection of the other three, they were all damaged in one way or another and certainly cannot be given as gifts as I had hoped. What a waste of my money. Very Shabby company. If they are described as damaged or bits missing I would not have purchased them. Should not be described "As New"
Never received tracking or any proof that my items ever shipped. Now they're refusing to refund. DO NOT PURCHASE FROM THEM
Charged £3.79 for a "very good" condition book. First of all I had to chase it up as it hadn't arrived within a month, then I found a 0.50p sticker stuck to the back of it and to make matters worse I then noticed a few of the pages had mess stuck on the pages. Disgusting granted eveything happening with COVID-19 I've spent a lot on this site and they started off great but have experienced too many problems to continue now
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear this, please can you email customerservice@worldofbooks.com with the subject as REVIEWS along with your order number and we can investigate this further for you. Many thanks, World of Books
Didn’t even seal my parcel with one of my most recent orders that cost over £67 and am currently waiting for them to sort it out as 7 out of the 10 books are missing. In the past I’ve had books delivered that were damp, pages missing and with felt tip writing all over them despite being advertised as in good/ excellent condition. I’ve tried to give the benefit of the doubt and have received replacement books but am fed up of the problems I’ve received in getting what I’ve paid for. Once my current issue has been resolved I will take my business elsewhere and will not recommend to any family and friends. A dissatisfied customer
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear this, please can you email customerservice@worldofbooks.com with the subject as REVIEWS along with your order number and we can investigate this further for you. Many thanks, World of Books
I ordered a book, received a receipt for the price based on the original price I had seen. However, my card was charged a higher price without allowing me to accept/reject the new price or cancel the order. Upon contacting their customer service and attaching my receipt, they keep avoiding my question and instead reply me with irrelevant information about their shipping and online shopping system that has nothing to do with my ask. For a very frequent online shopper, I have found this both terrible business ethics and poor customer service, surprising given the positive reviews below... I’m posting publically as I’m tired of not getting a response. And whilst the difference in amount is non-sense to even care about (although still 20% higher than agreed), this has become a matter of principle for me.
First order...two books, only 1 arrived, charged for 2 ! CD ordered, 18.1.21, funds taken, no delivery at 8.2.21 ! This could be the last time I use World of Books !!! A real shame, as up to now have had really good service.
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear this, please can you email customerservice@worldofbooks.com with the subject as REVIEWS along with your order number and we can investigate this further for you. Many thanks, World of Books
HI, just received my order of a filthy book. pages all stuck together with mould and dirt, absolutely disgusting. it went in. bin right away. frightened I could havee caught something from it. very upset and appalled that a book of this condition was passed as good. never buy again.
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear this, please can you email customerservice@worldofbooks.com with the subject as REVIEWS along with your order number and we can investigate this further for you. Many thanks, World of Books
Book ordered 2 weeks ago and apparently dispatched over 10 days ago. Email query sent 2 days ago. What I have got/seen? Nothing. Nada. Nichts. Ikke noget. Rien.
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear this, please can you email customerservice@worldofbooks.com with the subject as REVIEWS along with your order number and we can investigate this further for you. Many thanks, World of Books
Rubbish , rubbish , rubbish .wouldn't even give it one star if I could . Book disgusting every page covered in felt tip pen , should never be sold should be in the bin . It's absolutely disgusting .
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear this, please can you email customerservice@worldofbooks.com with the subject as REVIEWS along with your order number and we can investigate this further for you. Many thanks, World of Books
Never received my books and all my emails have been ignored. Don't bother ordering from them. Absolutely useless!
Hello, we can see that our team dealt with your request on the 12th for you. Thanks, World of Books
I have ordered three times from World of Books, through Amazon, and on each occasion the book was riddled with highlighting and pen annotation when the listing specifically said there would be none. I can only conclude that this is a dishonest company, 'trying it on' with unsuspecting buyers.
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear this, please can you email customerservice@worldofbooks.com with the subject as REVIEWS along with your order number and we can investigate this further for you. Many thanks, World of Books
Book was advertised as in ‘good condition’. This is misleading as it smells of damp and the side pages have the beginnings of mould growth. Wish I had read the reviews on here before placing my order. Very disappointed and won’t be using the Company again. I have contacted their Customer Service Team today via email and will post a further review explaining how they have responded/dealt with matter.
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear this, please can you email customerservice@worldofbooks.com with the subject as REVIEWS along with your order number and we can investigate this further for you. Many thanks, World of Books
Second time a book from World of Books has been advertised as very good condition, but has been very far from it. This one arrived with sticky brown stuff on the front cover. Last time I buy from them.
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear this, please can you email customerservice@worldofbooks.com with the subject as REVIEWS along with your order number and we can investigate this further for you. Many thanks, World of Books
Ordered a 2-volume dictionary. Quite pricey. They only sent volume 1. No phone number to chase. Now I have to waste time trying to get volume 2. Really, really poor.
DO NOT TRUST!!!Likely scamming customers for nominal profits at a time. This business is as inefficient as it gets. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. I made the online order for a couple of books. I got quick automated responses after making the purchase. I wait for the order. It doesn’t arrive on time, so I attempted to do a shipping query to customer service. After emailing, and using the proper channels to contact customer service, I received a very lackadaisical response. The response was different then the first set of emails I received. It was plain text and indicated that the books I purchased where not available and that I needed to select different books at equal value. The verbiage was a bit odd and made me feel like I made an error attempting to purchase from this business. This made no sense, as I received email saying these books were on the way 12 days before that. There was an order number and again that response was automated, fancy, so at the time I felt like the purchase was legit. In my confusion, I explained the situation again and simply asking for a refund, if they sold me books they didn’t have. Still waiting for a response, a package, a refund or anything that makes this purchase worth it. DO NOT WASTE TIME OR MONEY WITH WORLD OF BOOKS
Warning about this company Do not buy from this company!! They are refusing to send my order because the book (Caroline flack storm in a c cup ) which I bought for £2.99 is now selling for a lot more. Absolutely disgusting behaviour!! Now will not honour my purchase . Shameful
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear this, please can you email customerservice@worldofbooks.com with the subject as REVIEWS along with your order number and we can investigate this further for you. Many thanks, World of Books
Appalling service! World of Books sent out 2 books described as Very Good which were water damaged and had mould on them. They agreed to send out replacements and they too were not as described with discoloration to the cover, worn/torn edges and severely broken spine. They do not appear to have quality control measures in place so do not use this company if you want quality second hand books.
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear this, please can you email customerservice@worldofbooks.com with the subject as REVIEWS along with your order number and we can investigate this further for you. Many thanks, World of Books
Sold me a book that was not as described, and refused to pay for return postage when I asked to return it. Item description stated that the book was "not marred by notes", but it did have some writing in it. I wanted to return due to this with the intention of getting another copy. They refused to pay return postage even though they were the ones at fault. As I bought it from them through Amazon's Marketplace, I am currently in the process of trying to get Amazon to step in. I'm sure they are great if all goes right, but it is how they deal with things when they go wrong that really defines a company, and on that basis this company has completely failed. I certainly won't be using them again.
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear this, please can you email customerservice@worldofbooks.com with the subject as REVIEWS along with your order number and we can investigate this further for you. Many thanks, World of Books
I had a terrible experience with World of Books. I ordered a CD. What arrived was an empty CD case. This CD was supposedly in excellent condition - but there's no way anyone even opened the case to check if the CD was there! My first complaint was met with a boilerplate response which made it clear no one had even read what I wrote. My second complaint generated another boilerplate response, but at least I got my money back. I won't be ordering from this company again.
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear this, please can you email customerservice@worldofbooks.com with the subject as REVIEWS along with your order number and we can investigate this further for you. Many thanks, World of Books
World of Books is rated 4.68 based on 2,269 reviews