World of Books Reviews

4.68 Rating 2,269 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend World of Books
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
96%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 93%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
3.99 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Read World of Books Reviews

About World of Books:

World Of Books Group is a circular economy, for-profit business that supports charities and protects the planet by enabling more goods to be reused. From a single bag of books we now re-home and recycle over 75 million used books a year. We buy books from charity shops and other sources, or through Ziffit – our App and website. We sell them on our own website and on other platforms – we are the largest volume seller on eBay globally. Our recycling partners turn unwanted books into other useful products – nothing goes to waste. This is supported by our own proprietary software platform which streamlines our processes. We also provide software services to charities and other re-sellers to help them maximise their e-commerce sales. As a recently accredited B Corp (Business For Good), we are growing quickly in the UK and internationally. With nearly 300,000 sq ft of warehouses in Cincinnati (US), West Sussex (UK) and a new state-of-the-art warehouse in Coventry (UK), sales in 2020 will be nearly £80 million.

Our company was founded on an ethos to do good, to help charities and to make a positive impact. We don’t believe that books should only be read once, or have a single owner. We want to share the love of literature by rereading and reusing books. This is why our prices are low and delivery is free - to help millions of used books find new homes in over 190 countries every year.

Visit Website

Phone:

01903 507544

Write Your review

Tell us how World of Books made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I've been using World of Books for years and buy about 5 or 6 books at a time. The books are always in the condition described, delivery is quick and the value for money is excellent. If you're buying a best-selling book for £2.99 and it comes with a bent spine then so what? You're buying it for the story, not to display in the background of a Zoom chat.
Hello, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! World of Books 📚♻💚💿
Appalling service, states to change or cancel.an order to contact them,I do so as needed to change two titles, I was rudely informed changing an order is not possible as shipped automatically just refuse the delivery, they refuse to assist and I was still charged for the books I didn't want included in the order
Hello, Thanks for your review. Sadly there are cases when we can not amend or change orders as they are processed quickly. We do state this in our confirmation emails and our FAQ page How do I cancel my order? We can only cancel an order if it hasn't yet been processed by our picking and packing department. Usually items are processed within a matter of hours, so this limits our ability to cancel an order before this time. You will be able to return the item to us, at your expense, if you no longer require it and we will refund you the value of your item provided it falls within the time period stated on our returns policy. --- You placed the order on 2021-05-01 19:01:14, it was printed picked and packed by 2021-05-02 10:14:05. You sent your email at (Sun, 2 May 2021 at 3:14 PM). The order had already left us by then. Thanks, World of Books
World of books is a good company .But I have had problems .I only have a DVD player but have many time sent a Blue-Ray Disc .Yes they refunded me and put thing wright .But on my last order once again I was sent a Blue-Ray .and this makes 6.If I can tell the difference then surly the staff packing can .
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear this, please can you email customerservice@worldofbooks.com with the subject as REVIEWS along with your order number and we can investigate this further for you. Many thanks, World of Books
I ordered 4 children's books. All saying they were as good as new. The first was obviously very well used as virtually every page was damaged, and worst of all was very dirty. This one I complained about. Not yet had a reply. Later, on further inspection of the other three, they were all damaged in one way or another and certainly cannot be given as gifts as I had hoped. What a waste of my money. Very Shabby company. If they are described as damaged or bits missing I would not have purchased them. Should not be described "As New"
Never received tracking or any proof that my items ever shipped. Now they're refusing to refund. DO NOT PURCHASE FROM THEM
Charged £3.79 for a "very good" condition book. First of all I had to chase it up as it hadn't arrived within a month, then I found a 0.50p sticker stuck to the back of it and to make matters worse I then noticed a few of the pages had mess stuck on the pages. Disgusting granted eveything happening with COVID-19 I've spent a lot on this site and they started off great but have experienced too many problems to continue now
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear this, please can you email customerservice@worldofbooks.com with the subject as REVIEWS along with your order number and we can investigate this further for you. Many thanks, World of Books
Didn’t even seal my parcel with one of my most recent orders that cost over £67 and am currently waiting for them to sort it out as 7 out of the 10 books are missing. In the past I’ve had books delivered that were damp, pages missing and with felt tip writing all over them despite being advertised as in good/ excellent condition. I’ve tried to give the benefit of the doubt and have received replacement books but am fed up of the problems I’ve received in getting what I’ve paid for. Once my current issue has been resolved I will take my business elsewhere and will not recommend to any family and friends. A dissatisfied customer
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear this, please can you email customerservice@worldofbooks.com with the subject as REVIEWS along with your order number and we can investigate this further for you. Many thanks, World of Books
On March 21st I ordered 'States of Mind: ESP and Altered States of Consciousness'. It was described as being in 'very good' condition and cost £5.59 excluding postage. On March 21st I received an email saying the book had been dispatched. The next day I received a further email saying 'I'm afraid that during our quality control checks we found that your item was in very poor condition due to damage occurring whilst in storage at the warehouse. Unfortunately we don't have any more copies of that item in stock at the moment to replace the order with.' The book is not a common one. I looked again on Amazon and saw that only three copies were listed, including one from World of Books priced at £23.50 and described as being in 'good' condition only (I have a screen grab of this). So I've had a frustrating and puzzling experience with World of Books. Why was a book in very good condition being sold at so much less than one in just good condition? Why wasn't I told how the book got damaged? Why wasn't I sent a picture of the damaged copy so that I could choose whether I still wanted it? Why was I told World of Books didn't have another copy when they did? And surely both copies would have been stored in the same place, so why weren't both copies damaged? The two-star rating is for the prompt was my refuned request was processed.
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear this, please can you email customerservice@worldofbooks.com with the subject as REVIEWS along with your order number and we can investigate this further for you. Many thanks, World of Books
I have bought ten books from World of Books in the past couple of months, all rated by them as in very good condition. They were in fact better than that, all at least in excellent condition and two of them clearly have never been opened. So I am thrilled with the condition of the books, and delighted to do my bit to save a tree. The books arrived within three days each time too. Couldn’t ask for better. Thank you.
Hello, thanks for your review. World of Books
4.5 stars. I've been using WoB in the past few months and I'm quite happy with them, especially with the shipping process, not only quick but also they use Royal Mail Tracked, which I deeply appreciate. They also have a great customer service, I just had a problem since one of my parcels is marked as delivered but I haven't received it and Royal mail said to contact them to make a claim. They answerd the next day and will be sending a replacement. I have also tried other websites for secondhand books but definetly will be sticking with WoB.
Hello, thanks for your review. World of Books
I ordered a book, received a receipt for the price based on the original price I had seen. However, my card was charged a higher price without allowing me to accept/reject the new price or cancel the order. Upon contacting their customer service and attaching my receipt, they keep avoiding my question and instead reply me with irrelevant information about their shipping and online shopping system that has nothing to do with my ask. For a very frequent online shopper, I have found this both terrible business ethics and poor customer service, surprising given the positive reviews below... I’m posting publically as I’m tired of not getting a response. And whilst the difference in amount is non-sense to even care about (although still 20% higher than agreed), this has become a matter of principle for me.
Hi everyone. Just thought I would add my 'twopeneth', I have only recently been buying from World of Books, although a friend told me about them years ago. I am so pleased I have started buying from them. Great selection and great prices and very good service. Thanks.
Hello, thanks for your review. World of Books
Have been buying from World of Books for years and they never disappoint. Great prices, a good selection of titles and excellent delivery times, even in the middle of the current pandemic. Warmly recommended.
Hello, thanks for your review. World of Books
First order...two books, only 1 arrived, charged for 2 ! CD ordered, 18.1.21, funds taken, no delivery at 8.2.21 ! This could be the last time I use World of Books !!! A real shame, as up to now have had really good service.
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear this, please can you email customerservice@worldofbooks.com with the subject as REVIEWS along with your order number and we can investigate this further for you. Many thanks, World of Books
HI, just received my order of a filthy book. pages all stuck together with mould and dirt, absolutely disgusting. it went in. bin right away. frightened I could havee caught something from it. very upset and appalled that a book of this condition was passed as good. never buy again.
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear this, please can you email customerservice@worldofbooks.com with the subject as REVIEWS along with your order number and we can investigate this further for you. Many thanks, World of Books
Cheers my spirit that the ethos of this company is as good as it's service. Very difficult to find book arrived the day after I ordered it.
Hello, thank you for your lovely review :) Thanks, World of Books
I love World of Books for quality, good condition used books, excellent bargain prices and fast delivery. What's not to love 🙂👍
Thanks for your review! World of Books
very pleased with my book which arrived in excellent condition and a bargain buy too. Would definitely use World of Books again
Hello, thanks for your review. World of Books
My husband is a reader of certain authors and your service enables him to buy all the books in a series and read them in order. No one pretends they are perfect but recycling with your ethos appeals. He's looking for another series to buy. I have recommended you to others.
Hello, thanks for your review :) World of Books
Book ordered 2 weeks ago and apparently dispatched over 10 days ago. Email query sent 2 days ago. What I have got/seen? Nothing. Nada. Nichts. Ikke noget. Rien.
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear this, please can you email customerservice@worldofbooks.com with the subject as REVIEWS along with your order number and we can investigate this further for you. Many thanks, World of Books
Rubbish , rubbish , rubbish .wouldn't even give it one star if I could . Book disgusting every page covered in felt tip pen , should never be sold should be in the bin . It's absolutely disgusting .
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear this, please can you email customerservice@worldofbooks.com with the subject as REVIEWS along with your order number and we can investigate this further for you. Many thanks, World of Books
World of Books is rated 4.68 based on 2,269 reviews