Whsmith Reviews

3.38 Rating 39 Reviews
56% of reviewers recommend Whsmith
439 Review Views (past 24 hours)
05AM - 7AM
23 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
20 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
98 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
41 Review Views
1PM - 3PM
42 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
42 Review Views
5PM - 7PM
80 Review Views
7PM - 9PM
37 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
20 Review Views
11PM - 1AM
17 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
0 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
19 Review Views
05AM
5AM
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Postal Service, Own Driver
delivery methods
Customer Service
Email
communication channels

How would you rate Whsmith ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"SLOW Delivery still waiting Bought a pair of markers on line. because the price was more than reasonable , if you go to their stores cost nearly double ( RIDICULOUS ) is near a week and still no sign of been dispatched. walked to the shop ask if can help .. and the lady behind counter very stressed told me. nothing we can do, nothing we can do.. typical of bad customer service of WHSmith - This is Bridgwater Branch - never again for this company"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Are you Whsmith? No one is perfect. Reply to this negative review and show your potential customers that you value the feedback Whsmith receives and that when things do go wrong you do your best to put things right. Reply Now

Get instant access to your Reviews Dashboard.

Your email address needs to be a business email matching http://whsmith.co.uk.

;
"I ordered a book (in stock) online on 01/07. I received an email saying it had been dispatched to store for collection on 04/07. 10 days later it was still not in store and having chased this over email it was apparently now in store. I picked up the book on 17/07, to then receive the email to say my book was in-store AFTER I had already collected it. Appallingly slow service. How can it take a delivery lorry 13 days to go from a depot to a main City Centre store. When I emailed Customer Services to chase the order, not a single word of acknowledgement or apology. Can't fault the staff in-store (even they acknowledged there have been many cases of very very slow online (in stock) orders being delivered to store)."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Slow delivery, poor communication, censored review. No wonder WHSmiths is on the skids!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I have just been offered 1.03 Euros to the pound, when an independent currency shop close by was offering 1.10 for the same amount. I was buying £200 of Euros, which amounts to a difference of 14 Euros."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Some good offers on, however the prices are too high compared to the Works or Waterstones."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Cheaper online prices compared to in-store. Option to deliver order to store."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Not enough staff around to help you when you need it, plus they are a little bit too pricey"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Really good bookstore ,good selection of books and fast ordering service."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Awful shop. The goods are poorly layout out, the prices are shockingly high and there seems to be far too few staff so you end up waiting for an excessive time. I can only assume the premium sites at stations and airports are very profitable as the High Street stores seem a disaster."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Excellent service"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"dont bother paying £4.49 for first class delivery, when in hurry to get order... after 3 months still not even despatched. my order total was £60 and order missing worth £30, asked for first class delivery charge dropped - answer: but part of order was despatched withis 3 days (1st class - £2 card - having a laugh) so you are not getting refund. last order or shopping i done with whsmith, will never return again."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"Check out their clearance range on line. Great books at incredibly cheap prices. .free delivery too."
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"The books took a very long time to arrive, near 2 weeks,One was okay but the other was greatly overpriced at£26 for a small paperback, publish date 1999 that was sloppy in format,I would have thought £6 max was nearer the right price.The problem was trying to contact whsmith to return the book.After sending them an email explaining and sending the book back i heard nothing from whsmith at all.After a week i emailed them again with no response at all,2 more emails and 2 phone calls and another week later i finally got to speak to a young lady who said they had not managed to read all the emails due to sales pressure....that is after a week and a half.She did not have the book nor know why it had not been marked as returned either.She did refund though on the book in question...over 2 and a half weeks after i requested it.Customer service was dreadful,but I did get refunded eventually."
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"Always very quick at dispatching orders, and collecting books from instore."
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"Very expensive company who have not yet learnt that you need to compete."
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"Great offer on stamp stock books, collected from my local shop, no bother at all"
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"Initially couldn't pay for order online. Customer service was only open Mon to Fri 9 to 5 despite website being open 24/7 so couldn't finalise order. Was told to reorder on different device using different search engine another day wasted. Eventually ordered but took 4 days to arrive not 2/3 days as promised. Pretty awful definitely won't use website again. Local shop is ok though."
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"Lovely staff (Bedford store) great selection with in store delivery available"
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"Purchased 2 really good books for one of my Grandsons Christmas present on WW1 & WW2 he wants to be a history teacher and can't read enough."
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"good choice of greetings cards and helpful staff."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Whsmith is rated 3.38 based on 39 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This