Which? Mortgage Advisers Reviews

4.24 Rating 302 Reviews
79% of reviewers recommend Which? Mortgage Advisers

About Which? Mortgage Advisers: We search thousands of mortgages to find the one that is right for you.

Visit Website

Phone:
0800 197 8036

Email:
mortgages@whichmortgages.co.uk

Location:
First FloorOne Castlepark Tower Hill

Category:
Business & Office

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Which? Mortgage Advisers made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Own Driver
delivery methods
Customer Service
Email, Telephone
communication channels
"Was wrongly advised and delayed by inexperienced broker which caused a delay and made me lose money as fix rate switched to variable after 2 months of delays and getting nowhere. Managers took over finally and where very deflective of the loses as if nothing had happened and totally inconsiderate of the fact that I am losing money everyday cause of it. Even after assigning of senior broker process was not as smooth or taking the urgency it needed. They demanded their fees, now even the completion fee by totally ignoring the fact that they caused me a direct loos that is more than their fees, without ever acknowledging the loss caused or offering to waive any of the fees."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Visit Website
"So far, pretty slow. Feeling a little dubious given there are a number of other reviews that mention the process being delayed by using Which. Hoping for an improvement and some progress!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"We only proceeded as far as getting a mortgage in principle with Which?. We were surprised that they didn't have a secure system to send personal information which could be used in ID theft. As they also receive commission from any lender, we decided to go with a fee-free mortgage adviser with a secure process, as it felt unnecessary to spend £500 to apply for a mortgage that other companies complete fee-free ( we are aware that they are also receiving commission)"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"After receiving fantastic level of service with Which? 2 years ago we made the decision to pay the fee and take the hassle away from a remortgage. After a great level of service from the initial contact we are now left feeling very disappointed and like we could have saved the money and gone direct to a lender. A long story but there has been several communication downfalls which eventually resulted in a Which? advisor agreeing matters without our authority. What should have been an easy hassle free experience has created a huge amount of time and stress. We are now in the situation that Which? have developed sloping shoulders and told us to take it up with the Financial Ombudsman if we are not happy rather than address our concerns direct."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Which? positions itself as a dependable solution for the self-employed. Everything went smoothly until the lender failed to comprehend my tax return and ruled out a chunk of my earnings (erroneously, as HMRC agreed). Then they simply sat back and repeated the demands, saying their hands were tied. Eventually I had to intervene directly to secure the mortgage. Without my effort we would not now have the money to do our extension. I was left wondering why I had even bothered with an adviser. I should have devoted more time and effort myself, because they were proved to be worthless. Identifying the right deal should not be where their job begins and ends if they purport to offer a full service. I suggest the staff all go self-employed and see what it's like. They'd soon be running damning reviews of their own."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Had the feel of a training college for mortgage advisers before they go out and work in the real world, luckily after they messed up I went to a professional who got the mortgage arranged without any problems. One example of the lack of experience of these advisers was to apply for 350,000 mortgage rather than 349,500 which makes algorithms much happier. Wouldn't recommend on any level made a difficult experience much worse."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Although the administration from Which was okay, they failed to inform us of some vital legislation at the beginning of the process. Which if we had known at the time we could have possibly avoided extra costs incurred as a result. I would have expected better legal knowledge and complaints handling. Even after I expressed dissatisfaction they did not take responsibility or offer any concessions. Overall I'm a bit disappointed."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Every step of the way I had to constantly email to get going with my mortgage. Once it changed advisor, it was even worse as my questions had to be forwarded to the previous advisor for a reply which sometimes never came despite my emailing a few times (last one still unanswered). I felt going through Which was more stressful than if I had gone through the bank myself (and the fees I paid you basically amounted to the difference in interest I would have paid). One of my friends recommended you as he discussed his mortgage at length with one of your brokers who was very efficient and helpful. I didn't feel the same. I doubt I would use Which again when I need to remortgage."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Not a positive experience. Which managed to secure a reasonable mortgage deal for me but there was a catalogue of errors and mistakes along the way which just added to the already stressful experience of buying my first home. £500 for service of that standard is a joke. And Which are supposed to be specialists in consumer advice and customer service? Need to take a look at their own services before assessing others. Will not be recommending this service to friends & family"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Hello "Which" Sorry, I feel you have let me down. Several days ago, I wrote to you under the "Contact Us" label to advise that, at age 84, I am no longer concerned with the items you cover and requesting details of how I could terminate my Standing Order and Direct Debit with you. To date, silence! c.n.c.29@outlook.com"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"Very concerned that some so-called best buys are rated very poorly by actual users. On several occasions, I have bought things on the basis of their being a Which? Best Buy, only to find either they didn't work at all (Humax set top boxes), or were very poor/unreliable. This prompts me to question the value for money of my subscription"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"Poor is a bit harsh but reviews tend to be a bit light & not as comprehensive as they SHOULD be & include items tested too long ago to be relevant or or indeed some too often. Comparisons are not like for like par example: how can you sensibly equate products reviewed as long ago as 2009 with ones tested 5 or more year later. By 5 years they are irrelevant - but they do! Also one gets the feeling that reviewers have favourite makes that get tested more often than others and that treat the whole thing a bit too light heartedly. Add to that that newsletter links and links on the website often don't work, it's all a bit much. So, as they say, how does this make out. Well, other members (yes more than one) I know have given up on Which? because they 'could no longer rely on what they say'. And I know how they feel. Come on Which? get serious and meaningful again."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"Well the magazine looks like a good idea when you have suffered at the hands of rogue companies and bad customer service. but to be honest it was unpleasant with three of their staff. i spoke to a lawyer, who, being well aware I am recovering from mental health problems proceded to speak down to me in a very patronising way, and while his advice was right his attitude was very unpleasant and I felt like saying that he should speak to clients with a bit more respect instead of talking down to them. so I decided to cancel my subscription also due to financial difficulties, and the first woman simply pushed and pushed me to keep my subscription open, I ended up hanging up so I didnt lose my temper. I called back to speak to someone else who appologised but then proceded to push and push and offer more and tell me of other magazines available. It was very off putting to have their services pushed on you when you explained you are already unhappy with service received and in bad financial status. very off putting and it seems even those fighting for the consumers do not have decent customer services either. Very dissapointing and dismaying."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"I have already done one for you but anyway, the big problem that the mortgage was searched with the wrong value on the house. I told the adviser a number if times that I had no idea of the value, but to improvements we had made to the house, that we purchased it before the crash etc. I asked a few times should we get it valued but he did some searches and gave us a price. so the mortgage was applied for on these figures, then came back that the house was over valued, if at this point we have cancelled we would have lost the fees we have already paid. so we have ended up with a deal that its not what we really wanted. and due to these complications it was me that had to chase up with the lender to get something sorted, the whole process took nearly 5 months and was pretty stressful."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"For a straight forward remorgage of £25K on a property valued at £140K with no existing mortgage , no chain, and no adverse credit on either applicant the case should have taken no more than between 3 or at the outside 6 weeks to complete. The case took over four months despite regular prompting from my husband who is a qualified IFA and who has years of experience in placing mortgages ."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Which? Mortgage Advisers is rated 4.24 based on 302 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support