Waveney River Centre Reviews

4.32 Rating 1,163 Reviews
85% of reviewers recommend Waveney River Centre
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
on-time delivery
99%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
4.65 out of 5
5
Jenny Andrews
"Beautiful location with excellent lodges and facilities"
Report
Posted 7 months ago
5
K M Glencross
"Love this place, I had an unfortunate accident on my way into the park and hit the kerb and completely destroyed one side of my motor mover, luckily they had a great team of engineers who took the time to put things right the reception staff where super to. After putting our caravan right and going the extra mile to help us we went on to have a great holiday, it was an amazing place and we had a superb holiday there, free swimming pool, free games room an amazing pub and a shop on site, my only problem was there is no cash machine there. That aside it’s got amazing views and a great park for kids and lots of great walks and lots of stuff for everyone and all ages. Thank for making our holiday a great one."
Report
Posted 7 months ago
David Grace
"Well.. What a lovely weekend we have just had at Waveney River Centre. It poured with rain all weekend but mattered not a jot! Fabulous site with attentive friendly staff in a stunning location. Thanks we will be back xx"
Report
Posted 8 months ago
Featured Review
This review is set as featured by the company.
"Fantastic time, just chilled out after Xmas. Extremely friendly staff, lodge immaculately clean,food second to none. We have even spoilt ourselves with a massage every week, absolute heaven!! We would love to come back for summer sun. Thank you"
Posted 9 months ago
Thanks so much for a great review! We're glad you had such a nice time, and look forward to seeing you again!
Posted 8 months ago
"After staying in Marshview before we were very disappointed in Chedgrave. The dishwasher was full of dirty dishes. One of the sofas was ripped in several places. We thought the overall standard of accommodation had totally dropped since our last stay. Even the outside of the lodge could of done with tidying up. Getting to the hot tub was a pain as there is a gap of shingle between the end of the verandah and the hot tub. It would be ok if it was not raining but taking shoes out with you meant they got wet sitting there. I'm sorry that I have left this review but feel that our experience of our earlier stay has been clouded by this time. We actually left on the Sunday as we didn't feel like we wanted to stay another night. We even found our breakfast experience at the waveney inn was a let down. The breakfast came out quickly but was lukewarm, bacon overcooked and mushrooms cooked so much they had just shrivelled up. After this meal we actually drove to a Macdonald's for our dinner."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
"Book in lodge needs to be updated it states there is a walk in medical centre and when we went to find it was told by staff at the A & E at the district hospital it has been closed for few years. When arrived we were told check out was 9.30am yet the conformation I received said 10am Lodge was clean and comfortable and peaceful with lovely views."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Information in green book in lodge needs to be updated especial!y the details of how to get medical hospital treatment as the walk in centre is closed. Therefore required to find district hospital A & E. Reported it to reception. Also letter I received for conformation stated check out time was 10am but told by reception 9.30am. Lodge was warm and comfortable with a lovely view."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Nice lodge but been in better - Waveney Inn food was shocking all frozen veg and chips and puff pastry was short crust 4 people over £80.00 Disgraceful - took out day boat for half a day - water pump did not work so couldn't make a cup of tea or coffee and Rev Counter didn't work so we had no idea what speed we were doing and no one told us how to tie up so couldn't stop anywhere another waste if £85.00 !"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"We stayed for a week at the Farmhouse. There were many things that needed attention e g broken blinds, paint work, downstairs shower not working properly, kitchen tap leaking, bathroom sink taps and plug holes dirty, the surround to the hot tub green and slimy, an outside drain was open and dirty are just a few. The beds were comfortable with good quality sheets plenty of towels and the hot tub itself was very well maintained.The staff were helpful and cheerful. Overall the property felt a bit tired and in need of refurbishment and updating. In our opinion it is not a five star experience. We will be pleased to give any further details if you contact us."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Lodge was lovely and spacious. However, one of the beds was broken, 2 shower trays were completely split and there were bulbs out in the lounge. Maintenance were called and they had a go at the bed but said it was the best they could do and did nothing about the bulbs. It is disappointing that you can't have the keys till after 4 pm but you have to leave at 9:30am, and believe me the team are waiting in the wings ready for you to leave. We did go to the onsite bar for breakfast on the last morning. The tables were greasy, no breakfast menus on the tables and the curtains were hanging off. All in all a bit tired looking. The breakfast menu was also very limited so we left and had something on the way home."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"We stayed in a three bedroom lodge - Hadiscoe - with hot tub. The lodge hot tub and accommodation facilities were of very high standard. The lodges themselves are backed together quite densely on the site. We found this created a lack of privacy which detracted significantly from the stay as it meant the hot tub area and associated veranda were overlooked and the noise from neighbours was quote intrusive so not quite the idyllic peaceful stay we were expecting; it did not help that we were "flashed" at one point by a neighbour as we walked back to out Lodge. We did report the incident."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Ideally situated alongside the river Waveney at the end of quite lanes ideal for walking, cycling, fishing or just chilling."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Staff excellent, showers dirty dated. Pitches awful dirty dusty. Noisy at times."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"This was our third stay at the Waveney Hotel The room was comfortable but we thought it is very `penny pinching` to not have toiletries in the room although it is stated in both your literature & on the web site that complementary toiletries are offered The service at breakfast was not g And when we asked how long we would have to wait we were told that due to a system malfunction the order had not been placed although customers who arrived after us were served. All in all very poor service and it is obvious that more staff are required ."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Room was excellent, pool dirty especially water. Service in pub poor not informative and breakfast selection was very poor in comparison to similar places we have stayed. Would not come back"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We recently stayed at the Waveney River Centre and I can't say we were enthralled by our stay. The location of the park is lovely and in a really idyllic part of Norfolk. The accommodation is adequate and the addition of a hot tub and a super king-size bed a nice touch. There are some other nice touches to the lodge as well like the roll top Bath and the walk in shower. Unfortunately there are some of the finer details missing. There was a lack of cooking untesils and equipment. We had to buy some bigger glasses and baking trays as there wasn't any. On arrival we had 2 saucepans, these were both ruined. A quick phonecall to reception and this was rectified so that's a plus. The cleanliness of the lodge wasnt great. There was cobwebs in most rooms, popcorn down the back of the sofa cushions and bits of a razor behind one of the sinks in the bathroom. There was other bits that my wife noticed too that just pointed towards a lack of general cleanliness smeary mirrors etc. There appeared to be a problem with the water in our lodge as the water kept running yellow in the bathroom. It rectified itself if you left the tap running but this is something that definitely needs looking at. We were also at the end of the park, they are due to start phase 4 of the park soon. Currently this is a dumping ground for old mattresses, fridges etc it has been fenced off but you still know its there so not the most ideal neighbour. Also at the end there is a large nest of small wasp like insects, again not ideal. The accommodation was very warm, I know there's not much you can do about this but some fans or air con would be nice. A few of the days we were there a local farmer had done some muck spreading which created a awful stench not your fault I know but our choices were sweat out with all the windows and doors shut or suffer the stench and the constant attack of mosquitoes. On our last day at the park (Thursday) we went to use the pool at around 1600 like we had most days only to be told that we couldn't use the pool as it had been booked. I understand that in the off peak season you need to make extra revenue but there was no information that we were aware of that said when swimming lessons were on and also as paying customers don't expect to be told we can't use the facilities. Also the changing facilities in the pool are lacking. One family changing room between a whole camp is poor, the changing table for babies is knee height, not fun when your 6ft 5in and your 7 month old baby has just discovered the joy of rolling and wiggling. Also the light in the room is constantly flickering, probably not ideal if your epileptic. Unfortunately the above slightly put a dampener on our holiday and we won't be coming back in the future."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"The standard of the lodge was very poor I reported all my complaints with photo evidence which I got told it's the end of the season and what's when you will do all the repairs which did not help me or solve the problem."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Lovely place to stay but I was not impressed with the poor quality of the motorhome hard standing pitches. Plastic sticking up. Lots of tripping hazards on the pitch."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Accommodation was nice and well presented, but felt that staff at reception well not particularly welcoming. We arrived just before check in time but had to wait around for 20mins till 1pm to get keys, yet the accommodation was ready and waiting. I felt this was perhaps all a bit unnecessary and have never experienced this at other holiday companies."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"No complaints of accommodation, reasonably well equipped, but a check-out time of 9.30 is far too early, especially when you have two small children to get up and ready, half an hour earlier than anywhere else we have visited. Not really ideal for children anyway, the pool is good, but otherwise the facilities e.g outside playground on a slope and uninspiring, nowhere for them to ride bikes or play ball etc. Also a bit isolated, half hour’s drive to get anywhere, so while a good resort for adults as certainly very peaceful, would not particularly recommend it for families."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"All the staff were lovely, the food at Waveney inn, was not the best and really expensive for what it was, we ate there on the first night , we didn't go back for a full meal. It was a bit disappointing that someone had set up camp in the anglers corner, so my husband and son couldn't go fishing there. We hired a cruiser for the day, the weather was lovely, so that was nice."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We were very happy with the facilities in general and had a good holiday. However we were rather disappointed with our plot, moorhen 1. Although we had paid the same amount as the other people in the same row as us. Our plot backed onto the bins, the boat club car park (which was used late into the night), was rather muddy, and had no shade. We felt we should have had a discounted rate for this plot as it was inferior to the others in its price bracket. Our sleep and enjoyment were impaired by the plot location."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Was told on arrival we had to fit caravan, awning and car on our pitch. Our pitch was heron which was a caravan pitch 8.5m x 6.5m. Pitch was only big enough for caravan and awning and we would have to put car in car park and pay £5 per night parking so didn’t bother putting awning up. Even the bigger kingfisher pitches, you would not be able to get caravan, car and awning on! Yet the tent pitches right next to the water we’re huge! Went to toilets early one morning and was welcomed by excrement all over the floor and toilet! Absolutely disgusting!!!! I appreciate its school holidays and the staff cannot be on hand 24/7 but I’m assuming it’s children, where we’re the parents. Have to say I’m afraid we won’t be returning."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Overall the Lodges were well equipped. The cleaning in Fritton could have been more thorough, light fittings and lamps had cobwebs in them. The cooker hood did not work but I have reported that. My son and his wife were in Earsham Lodge which was lovely but they did not use the balcony or hot tub much due to the awful smell from the sewage processing plant above them. It was very unpleasant and can be smelt from the road above. I could say more but don't want to be too negative, we did enjoy the locations and walks. One final point which was very disappointing. You feature on your website that you have a wheelchair for hire which we wanted for our 90 year old mother. Staff were unaware and unsuccessful in locating it."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Waveney River Centre is rated 4.32 based on 1,163 reviews