Waveney River Centre Reviews

4.34 Rating 827 Reviews
87% of reviewers recommend Waveney River Centre
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
98%
on-time delivery
Customer Service
Live Chat, Email, Telephone
communication channels
Under an hour
queries resolved in
customer service
5
Jenny Andrews
"Beautiful location with excellent lodges and facilities"
Posted 3 months ago
5
K M Glencross
"Love this place, I had an unfortunate accident on my way into the park and hit the kerb and completely destroyed one side of my motor mover, luckily they had a great team of engineers who took the time to put things right the reception staff where super to. After putting our caravan right and going the extra mile to help us we went on to have a great holiday, it was an amazing place and we had a superb holiday there, free swimming pool, free games room an amazing pub and a shop on site, my only problem was there is no cash machine there. That aside it’s got amazing views and a great park for kids and lots of great walks and lots of stuff for everyone and all ages. Thank for making our holiday a great one."
Posted 3 months ago
David Grace
"Well.. What a lovely weekend we have just had at Waveney River Centre. It poured with rain all weekend but mattered not a jot! Fabulous site with attentive friendly staff in a stunning location. Thanks we will be back xx"
Posted 4 months ago
Featured Review
This review is set as featured by the company.
"Fantastic time, just chilled out after Xmas. Extremely friendly staff, lodge immaculately clean,food second to none. We have even spoilt ourselves with a massage every week, absolute heaven!! We would love to come back for summer sun. Thank you"
Posted 4 months ago
Thanks so much for a great review! We're glad you had such a nice time, and look forward to seeing you again!
Posted 4 months ago
"Rooms are large, comfortable and well equipped but it is in the middle of nowhere and The Waveney Inn is more like a Transport Cafe than a pub - very basic . Breakfast was good though"
Posted 1 day ago
"The Centre needs a little updating if you are hiring a boat there is no shop to buy provisions as the focus is not on boating holidays more on the Hotel and lodges, The management and staff though are fantastic they really care about looking after their visitors and it shows in their excellent service nothing is to much trouble for them, I hope they are appreciated by management and their salary' reflect it. However from our experience at the Waveney Inn the same cannot be said about their staff, and the manager I would suggest he should look for an alternative career. Maybe something part time that doesn't stretch his abilities ,like a paper round. I would like to give a special thank you to Lisa she doesn't monkey around😂and Kelly. Also a special mention to Brian who dealt with my medical emergency when the staff and cooks at the Waveney Inn refused to prepare a snack for me.When as a diabetic I was going hypoglycemic. They don't serve snacks after 5.00pm the rules were more important than my health. Remember poor staff are a result of poor management ☹️ Would I recommend the Centre ,yes would I return yes."
Posted 1 week ago
"Beautiful location and facilities were ok. Was disappointed that we couldn't check in until 4pm on day of arrival. Pub wasn't serving food and Swimming pool was closed on day of arrival. Hot tub was cleaned when we arrived which meant it couldn't be used until 6pm. Was surprised when we saw that we had to check out by 9.30am when the check in start time is normally 4pm. Lodge was nice but furniture looked tired. Was disappointed when we looked to hire bikes but was told that this was no longer available. This could have been removed from the brochure. The Waveney River Centre has the opportunity to offer a stunning UK holiday if it was a bit more customer focused."
Posted 1 week ago
"Extremely disappointed that the pool was out of order on the day of our arrival particularly as that was the main reason for selecting the venue for a one night break with a view to relaxing after a busy period culminating with our daughter's wedding on the previous Saturday. We had only looked at venues with a pool and chose this one as it said we could use the pool if we arrived before our check in time etc."
Posted 1 week ago
"People were using under water cameras and video cameras in the swimming pool. I found this to be highly inappropriate and it completely ruined the experience as the people in question were filing everyone and also under the water. The Waveney Inn said on its website it opens at 8am for breakfast on Sunday and it was still not open at 8.30am so we gave up. The yurt was very nice but upon lighting the log burner it filled with smoke as there was a hole in the flue at the base due to rusting"
Posted 2 weeks ago
"We were a bit spoilt last time in that we were the first people to stay in Hales lodge last year. This year it was a bit tatty with a hole in the wall, broken toilet seat, Broken bath plug chain etc. Little easy fixed things. You have to wonder wether the cleaning staff are reporting these things to management. There did not appear to be any oversight of the crew by a supervisor. Both the dishwasher and the washing machine were broken and did not work properly. There seems to be repeated calls for electric kettles to replace the stove top kettle which took an age to boil and burnt your hand due to an over heated handle. Hats off to the maintenance men though who responded when we reported issues. They came immediately. The hot tub did not smell pleasant and had scum round the edge but we were assured it was fresh water. As we have a hot tub at home, I was not convinced. Would be good to have a maintenance sheet so you could see when some one last checked the water / chlorine. Again, we reported this and the response was immediate. The site itself was fantastic as were all of the staff we had dealings with. A lot of these things had been commented on in the guest book which is why you have to wonder wether there is any connection between the cleaners and management. Nothing that couldn’t be sorted quickly and with proper supervision."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Very comfortable lodge. Comfortable seating to relax outside would have been nice. Quite a late check-in and very early check-out of 9:30am with a reminder email to leave promptly sent at 1am the day before. Friendly hard working staff in Waveney Inn but too few of them. Time slots allocated for pool and no life guard. Employ more cleaners, bar and pool staff. Not good enough."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Touring caravan area needs a refresh"
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Sofas need replacing,couldn’t get off them without help. Windows needed cleaning inside properly very smeared .needs general tidy up in garden fronts of our lodge out of control bushes. Pub food amazing,staff all polite and helpful. Disappointing couldn’t buy a newspaper on site."
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Pitches 1 & 2 on Kingfisher are so poorly maintained that they are Dangerous. Pub, food and staff are great. Toilets and shower facilities are very clean."
Posted 1 month ago
"Expected more for the price, basic pitch, toilet and shower nice but need some TLC. £15 for ferry to cross river when staying on site is too much."
Posted 1 month ago
"Beautiful setting, quiet and peaceful. Pod was as expected. Blind for door was broken (could wind down but not up had to do it by hand) Spa in pool wasn't working. Waveney inn, plenty of seating, meals were tasty, although a little over priced by a couple of pounds) Food not served until 6pm (this is understandable but could let visitors know on arrival) Shower block was good, hot and well kept. (Sanitary bins could be placed near the toilet as they were near the door)."
Posted 1 month ago
"Outside area and play area are very nice. There are enough toilets and showers but the state of them us very disappointing. You can smell mould, most of the hair dryers are broken, including some hand dryers. Lockers and changing facilities in the pool building are also a hygiene threat, smells damp with mould and dirt everywhere."
Posted 1 month ago
"The setting is beautiful and lovely and quiet with great views but sadly we felt that the facilities let it down. The pool was in need of a facelift and we unfortunately had a few problems in our lodge. The dishwasher broke, then the hot tub and the front door. These were all fixed quickly and the staff were great but it was an inconvenience on our holiday and annoying when it was one thing after another! We paid extra for the hot tub and it had a leak! After it was filled up again the jets didn’t work very well and it wasn’t all that warm either. Also we were annoyed when we arrived as we had been told beforehand that online shops weren’t allowed onsite so I did a click and collect which my husband drove an hour to collect when we had arrived. Whilst he was out a sainsbury delivery pulled up outside our lodge and delivered to the lodge opposite! Very annoying for us and 22 miles of petrol to Lowestoft to collect our shoping when instead we could have had it delivered and my husband start enjoying his holiday. I’m sad to say we wouldn’t recommend it as we have done with other places we have stayed. Sorry."
Posted 1 month ago
"The accommodation (Carlton) was lovely. The only criticism is with regard to the pub. We used the pub twice (both in the evening and we had made a booking on both occasions). The first time (Tuesday) we had to wait 40 minutes for our food. The second time (Thursday) we had to queue on arrival to find out our table number. We had to queue again to place our order and then we had to wait 1 hour for our food. It was clear to us that there were not enough staff on duty nor enough chefs in the kitchen. We enjoyed both meals when we eventually received them."
Posted 1 month ago
"Lodge not very clean. Musty smell in one of the twin bedrooms. Only one bedside lamp working because the lead was not long enough to reach the plug socket. The en-suite toilet would keep flushing unless the lid was lifted every time. The hot tub only bubbled twice over the four nights. The swimming pool was poorly maintained as half of the lockers were out of order, only one family changing area, the jacuzzi was not working and to cap it all, the bench seat in the male changing room collapsed whilst our youngest boy was sitting on it! On a positive note, the site was family friendly and quiet. Lots of local wildlife and the pub served reasonable food."
Posted 2 months ago
"Disappointed on arrival as accomodation was very late in availability, the bottle of wine was hardly compensation. Ever thought of a staggered access time? Checked out evening before as 9.30 am departure too demanding with young children to get ready Lodge "HALES" was exceptional although hot tube did not seem to be serviced during our stay Are the visitor reviews ever read? It seemed that a high percentage referenced there not being an electric kettle. It was painful boiling water using the leaky kettle provided, fifteen minutes plus to boil on the gas hob! Shower water temperature variable, I think due to poor water feed balance.......? However, overall an acceptable experience."
Posted 2 months ago
"Not the best pitch area. The large hexagon plastic ground cover is exposed in many areas of the site this was very difficult for children to walk on and I had to carry my dog in and out of the awning and he is not small.Although not busy I would feel it rather crowded if it was. Pool good, showers need attention but kept clean."
Posted 2 months ago
"Nice site but not for us will not be returning. The pitches where ok but the plastic grid underneath the gravel was very exposed in places and there was some litter around the pitches. Lovely views, it’s a shame you can’t walk further along the river from the site. Didn’t like that children were allowed to play football outside the yurts. I don’t think ball games should be allowed that close to where people are staying."
Posted 2 months ago
"The lodge was quite run down and a bit dirty in places. Area was quiet"
Posted 2 months ago
Waveney River Centre is rated 4.34 based on 827 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support