"Well.. What a lovely weekend we have just had at Waveney River Centre. It poured with rain all weekend but mattered not a jot! Fabulous site with attentive friendly staff in a stunning location. Thanks we will be back xx"
"Enjoyed our stay here very much. Although it was tricky to find it’s a beautiful location and setting with lots of facilities. The food was top notch and couldn’t complain whatsoever. We were just surprised at the early check out time and the tv in the bedroom had trouble with signal on a few channels but nothing that tainted our stay."
"Fantastic time, just chilled out after Xmas. Extremely friendly staff, lodge immaculately clean,food second to none. We have even spoilt ourselves with a massage every week, absolute heaven!! We would love to come back for summer sun. Thank you"
"We arrived late on Friday eve, very disappointed that hot tub was situated in car park space. Something that was misleading in pics. In pics overlooking beautiful landscape.
The lodge itself was beautiful, warm amd cosy. Had a few issues with no hot water to bath, and shower the doors kept falling off its hinges. Did report, but we had to leave on the Sunday, a day earlier than expected.
The grounds were beautiful. The swimming pool was lovely. Jacuzzi wasn't working bit didn't affect us.
The restaurant we found was very expensive. But food was lovely.
Overall, lovely stay, but disappointed about the false advertising re-hot tub."
"Nice rooms in a beautiful location. Pub/restaurant nothing special but probably good for kids/young families and staff were friendly. Checkout at 10am seems unusually early but they did begrudgingly gave us an extra half hour upon request. Would be nice if pool were open a little later than 5pm and if the TV had better signal also. All in all a pleasant stay though"
Thanks for the review, Scott. Unfortunately, because the pool is unattended by any lifeguard, and is only monitored via cameras by reception, it can't stay open after reception closes. We're pleased that you had a nice time overall :)
"We booked a 3 night break for birthday. We went go karting and played golf. Lodge was lovely, however on our last day we were unable to use the hot tub we called out of hours number for engineer who was unable to help so was quite disappointed"
"After travelling 3 hours was shocked to have to deal with the most rude awkward person insisting that despite pre paying when i booked she was not going to let me know what pitch to set up at until i walked the length of the site back to the waiting area to get a credit card for a deposit in case i made any noise, it was only my request for a full refund and then her saying it wasn't possible that she eventually called for a manager who saw sense.
I have never before had to deal with anyone other than a very a pleasant person on arrival at any site and would suggest you look at the negative feel this person gives your centre.
On a positive note we ate at the Pub and the food was great!"
Hi John, we're sorry that you had this experience regarding check-in. We aim to do better, so we have taken this on board. On the other hand, we're glad you enjoyed the food in the pub, and hope that you had a nice stay overall. Thanks!
"Lovely location and pleasant helpful staff. We found the lodge less good then expected based on information, seemed more run down than we thought it would be.
It was heated well but the shower was difficult to set right, was too cold or hot with very small turns of the knob and then fluctuated in temperature.
One bed was sagging, requiring to go sleep in another.
All in all we would not mind staying here again but it would not be a no brainer first choice to come back, even though the rest of the experience was pleasurable.
It did feel welcoming that there was bread, some butter and milk cups available when we arrived."
Hi, I'm sorry to hear that our lodge was not quite up to the standard you should expect. We will work to rectify these problems, and hope that if you do decide to stay with us again, that you find it to be a much better experience. Thank you :)
"The pitch was perfect, disappointed with facilities. Shower/toilet was closed near to us. When used the shower further down the park it was cold n only one working. Didn’t feel a personal touch...we arrived late therefore didn’t receive everything we should’ve done, no one checked we were happy. The staff and food at the Waveney inn were lovely!! Dan and the other members of staff were very accommodating and attentive. Food was fabulous!"
"Lovely location but accommodation was starting to show signs of aging (wallpaper peeling off) and the beds were uncomfortable. We did complain about one single bed which had quite a slope but the best that was offered was to turn it over which didn’t really solve the issue. The reception staff were a little unfriendly and difficult to get any information out of. We had a lodge and hot tub was fantastic as was the play park."
"The toilet / shower facilities are starting to look tired. The site does not have the appeal it used to: rubbish in hedges, waste bin area untidy, ground maintenance not up to the very high standard it used to be. Pitch 1 was very uneven, looks plastic matting showing above gravel.
We have been coming to WRC for well over 10 years and this is the worst we've seen the site looking. Appreciate its at the end of a long season, but this has never prevented the site looking very appealing. The one positive was the menu at the Inn has improved as has the quality of the food."
"Rooms were clean and comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful, couldn’t do enough for us. Was expecting a traditional country pub with an open fire but but felt more like a cafe. Food in general was good. Breakfast very nice."
"The inside was modern and seemed clean enough, lots of cobwebs though and the carpet left bare feet black with dirt. The outside of the lodge needed some TLC as it seemed a bit tired and grubby. Most were very nice, but some of the staff were extremely rude and ignorant. The facilities there seemed very good and we enjoyed hiring a boat for the day."
"This was our first Lodge/ hot tub short break - a surprise getaway for my husband from me for our wedding anniversary - I don’t think the accommodation can be classed as luxury as it was tired and in need of freshening up which I believe is happening now - the sofa had a large rip in the back, the tub chair looked as though it had been repaired a few times and was looking a bit shabby, the dining table had scorch marks on it and the table mats need to go in the bin. The hot tub cover was ripped and there was a used ‘band aid’ plaster stuck on the railings at the back of the hot tub. The TV in the lounge did not get a good signal on the first night but after reporting it to reception the next morning it was quickly sorted. When I reported the damage to the sofa and chair. Reception and housekeeping said they were aware and that’s when I learned that after our stay the lodge was getting a makeover - I felt disappointed staying there. Hot tub was lovely and bed comfy with lovely bed linen. We arranged a slightly later checkout due to my husband’s medication and we were very grateful for that. I would come back but next time would expect luxury to mean luxury."
"Fabulous lodge and nice weekend break away. Spoilt by have to pay for any usable WiFi (so 2010 experience) and TV signal rubbish - could not watch TV!!!
With the site being off-grid for mobile network due to an idyllic rural setting, WiFi (at more than 500kbs) should be freely available throughout the site - you will lose business for the sake of a few pounds. It’s not the money - it is a 2018 experience principle for me.
I would not recommend on the basis of you charging for WiFi!!!"
"we had a good holiday thank you, but i fill it could have been a bit better if there was more for the children to do .
and your staff were a bit more informative the shop was very poorly stocked even down to sweets with two children i was only able to buy one tube of smarty's all week"
"A very clean well run place but not for me. Quite difficult to find and reach. Narrow country lane approach where it could be a problem if you meet another vehicle. Took our motorhome. No buses near. It’s 2 miles to a bus stop. Taxis expensive around £20. Nice pub on site serving good selection of food. Not much else if youre not into boats or have children."
"Really liked the setting, pub food was great, generally lodge was lovely, but unfortunately weekend was ruined by swarms of European Hornets we tried to use hot tub but couldn’t as this disturbed them and we got stung which was pretty nasty...and had them in lodge too, staff didn’t seem to acknowledge there was a problem& didn’t seem to be bothered..Reason we booked was because there was a hot tub and we couldn’t use it!! Disappointing weekend 😞"
"This is our 5th visit and the first time we have come away disappointed with our stay. We booked leam lodge after reading it was new for 2017. Having stayed in 4 other lodges previously we was disappointed with the dated decor and what felt like a lot smaller living area. We assumed with it being new and prime location on the marsh it would have the same layout and decoration as Marsh view and riverside.
We also found the hot tub to be over 40 degrees and at times to hot to use despite trying to turn it down. The swimming pool area was dirty and the and the water was very foggy. We also witnessed on two occasions people leaning on the fencing between the Car park and park and nearly taking a nasty full as all the fencing was unstable and leaning over. The pub area was always clean however the old 2p machines could do with an update and the battered old sofe really needs to be removed. We love Waveney river centre and for our family it's out happy place but we did come away for the first time ever feeling disappointed. We also had friends with us who hadn't been before and after listening to us rate the place so highly was a let down that their first experience wasn't as great as ours had been in the past."
"Small scruffy pitches, for a large pitch I would expect to be able to park the car next to the caravan and not Infront obstructing the view.
The unsupervised pool was constantly overtaken by kids bombing in, making it unusable for anyone else.
The games room that's advertised was out of order for our 2 week stay.
We were disappointed with having to pay £10 everytime to access the 90 something miles of riverbank walks you say are easily accessible.
Showers need mops, especially with people using them for toilet and walking in dirt."
When a review is marked
it means Reviews.io has the additional trust signal necessary to ensure that the review is genuine. Customers reading the reviews can then use this information to help them decide which reviews are more relevant and steer them in their purchasing decisions.
If a review does not have the
label next to it, we do not have the additional information from the customer/company to verify that the review was written from the privileged user position.
Even though some reviews do not carry the
badge, it does not mean that the reviewer has no experience with the company - it just means that we could not confirm a specific purchase.
badge offers one more way to help gauge the quality and relevance of a company review.
How can I make my review "Verified"?
If we are unable to automatically verify you as a
you can email supporting documents to
so we can investigate and mark your review as
We prefer an invoice, delivery note or receipt.
When a review is marked
it means Reviews.io has NOT had the trust signals necessary to ensure that the review is genuine. Customers reading the reviews can then use this information to help them decide which reviews are more relevant and steer them in their purchasing decisions.
How can I make my review "Verified"?
If we are unable to automatically verify you as a
you can enter your email address below and we'll be in touch to verify your review.