Waveney River Centre Reviews

4.32 Rating 1,022 Reviews
86% of reviewers recommend Waveney River Centre
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
on-time delivery
99%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
4.62 out of 5
"Lovely lodge very spacious. Great location. Waveney Inn food superb. We will be returning. Thank you."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Lovely lodge as always, kids safe. Shame shop stocks less"
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Absolutely brilliant day and night . Staff were really friendly and informative. Will definitely do this again . Thank you"
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Had a great time at Waveney. The staff were all super helpful, the site was clean and tidy, everything in good working order. Thank you!"
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Stayed in the glamping pods for 3 nights at the beginning of August. The mats in the pod were comfy but we ended up sleeping on the single benches as were concerned about the weight limit for the top bunk. All the staff on the site were really friendly, and the meals in the Waveney Inn were lovely, and it was great having a swimming pool on site. The only negatives were that there isn’t enough toilets/showers to meet demand. 12 for the entire site including campers, boats, caravans etc. Often queues. The area in front of the pods needs to be separated from the park by small bushes/ flowerbeds so that the children don’t play football in the directly outside of the pod area were you are trying to have a BBQ or relax. Signs don’t stop this and children not staying in the pods were playing football, and flying down the hill on there bikes which was very dangerous with small children playing on the park."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"The room was nice, view not as nice as expected. Was very upset whilst sitting outside at the bar in the afternoon. Large group of people, very very drunk. Language was disgusting and extremely loud, one man even dropped his shorts to expose himself to his friends. At no time were they asked to moderate their behaviour despite being full of customers, many with young children. Felt uncomfortable and intimidated. I like to see people having fun but this wasn’t fun for anyone, I was really surprised they were allowed to stay there. Would not return because of this."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"The pub/ restaurant is has too much lighting so therefore gives it a cafetière feel. It felt grubby in restaurant we do feel the standards have slipped since the initial improvements under the current ownership. The room was clean but the toilet brush needed to be replaced.. We will say that the staff were all very polite & helpful."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Enjoyed it the first time and enjoyed again.would recommend it to all"
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Lovely location by the river, with first class facilities including good swimming pool. Only criticism, pitches were far too close together bearing in mind some of the huge tents."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Suits all."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Beautiful clean and tidy site! On a riverside location which we used to launch paddle boards and canoes!Nice toilet and shower facilities and washroom to clean up your dishes etc! Nice sized pool! Bar and food prices ok and we all had food ! A group of 9 and the food was lovely!could do with some extra taps around the site! But it’s only 2 minutes walk to showers , drinking water etc so no complaints at all! And all the staff were very helpful and friendly"
Posted 2 weeks ago
"The lodge was in excellent condition, clean and well stocked. We hired a lodge with a hot tub which was in clean condition. The site itself was lovely and peaceful. We had a really enjoyable weekend. Great value for money."
Posted 3 weeks ago
"We stayed in one of the ground floor hotel rooms, Starboard, and it was very well appointed. The one way glass in the windows was a little disconcerting and we were never 100% certain we couldn’t be seen by passersby. The food in the hotel was fine although the menu had no non-cooked meals. One evening we requested a side salad with coleslaw on the same plate. Disappointingly, it was served on a very warm plate. Despite 3 real ale pumps, no “proper” beer was available for the first two evenings. Overall a 4.5/5 experience."
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Great facilities, beautiful setting"
Posted 3 weeks ago
"all professional, resort looks a little tired"
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Set in a picturesque area with extremely friendly staff and excellent amenities. My son and I have spent a very relaxing and rewarding week here."
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Had a very enjoyable stay in the Waveney Inn. Room although small and without a view was immaculate and very comfortable with lovely en-suite shower room and big fluffy towels. We ate several times there and food was excellent."
Posted 3 weeks ago
"The River centre itself is very good with good amenities and clean and tidy grounds and facilities. The onsite indoor swimming pool was a great way to cool off in the heat, be warned, you cannot just turn up and swim but have to pre-book your 1 hour slot. I found this very easy and sensible as it stopped the pool becoming over crowded. The on site restaurant is perfectly adequate and serves great tasting and good value breakfast, lunches and dinners. The restaurant is also dog friendly and has a small games area to keep the kids occupied. The centre hires small day cruisers and kayaks etc. which was great fun and again, very reasonably priced. The day cruiser took some getting used to to moor up but became fairly competent by the end of the day. We cruised up and down the broads and eventually made our way back via Oulton Broad which has a large marina and guest moorings just outside the Wheery Hotel (cost £10 but you then receive £5 off any main meal). Accommodation on site was a mixture of campers, yurts and small individual chalet/cabins. We however were in the Farm House just across the road from the centre. We travelled as 2 families (4 adults and 6 kids and a dog between us), there was plenty of room to accommodate us but felt the Farm House itself seemed very tired and could maybe benefit from a bit of TLC. The Farm House did benefit from a hot tub however this had been placed upon the foundations where the previous conservatory had once been, meaning that it was located less than a meter outside the garden patio doors, and the wooden access step was even closer still! This resulted in a few bruised shins from kids and adults alike when trying to navigate past! In my opinion the hot tub should of been located in a much more suitable location slightly further from the house. The rest of the garden was laid to lawn with a small patio area to the side. One of the biggest issues was lack of any outside shelter. The patio tables did not even have a parasol meaning that during the midday sun, with no breeze it was unbearable. I suggest that some out door shaded areas are required including maybe a veranda over the hot tub. If you plan a BBQ, there is none supplied and we relied upon a disposal BBQ from the supermarket placed on the patio. Normally i would expect a bbq area with a brick or metal stand to support a disposal bbq. The lawn itself was ok but had a lot of prickly weeds throughout which our 3 year old twins unfortunately found out. I tried by best to go around removing as many as possible to ensure no more little feet got hurt. Inside the Farm House was quite poorly stocked and if i am honest very dusty on arrival. The bathrooms and kitchen were clean but there was not enough cups and glasses etc to cater for the 10 people that the property can accommodate. Even the dinning table only could only seat 6? Beds were comfortable but the rooms were unbearably hot. We removed all duvets and slept with sheets only but even this wasn't enough and i was forced to go to the supermarket and purchase some tower fans to keep us cool. Note we did have all the windows open on the first night but then found upstairs in particular was swarmed with hundreds of flies and midges etc. It would be nice if fans were supplied as standard and that doors and windows had fly screens fitted. As i have found in most rentals, the kitchen knives here are soo blunt that they are practically useless, also the kitchen bin was tiny and with 10 people staying, the small bin was continuously filling up. Please just put in a decent size bin! The dishwasher was totally rubbish and actually made everything worse than when it started. We put pans in the bottom rack and cups and bowls in the top and after the wash cycle anything on the top rack was backed with reminisce from the pans. Back to the old ways of washing and drying by hand. I suggest a new dishwasher is required. Do not take this review as wholly negative as we did have a great time and the kids thoroughly enjoyed themselves, i just feel that had the few minor issues above not been present then it would of made it far more pleasant stay and guaranteed our return. For me, the lack of any out door shade or shelter was un-necessary and a bit of an oversight. We would love to return but only when some of the issues above have been resolved."
Posted 3 weeks ago
"The accommodation was excellent until the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night and we were stood outside for half an hour. If it had been a real fire we could have perished and no one would have known as no Member of staff turned up until one of the guests found the sign on the pillar and rang the mobile number. There was no sign of the fire brigade even though the alarm was sounding the whole time."
Posted 3 weeks ago
"A very well planned out park. Had a great stay."
Posted 3 weeks ago
Waveney River Centre is rated 4.32 based on 1,022 reviews