Virgin Media Reviews

Virgin Media have a Customer Happiness Grade of C. Customers are happy with their prices, customer service and refunds but are unhappy with their delivery. Full Insights

1.25 Rating 241 Reviews
5% of reviewers recommend Virgin Media
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Courier, Own Driver
delivery methods
Customer Service
Email, Telephone
communication channels

How would you rate Virgin Media ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"Customer service, cancelled deals, cancelled Virgin to Virgin free calls, cancelled called waiting, Rubbish reception since migration from EE nothing positive can be said and I have been a customer for years, not for much longer"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 hours ago
"Do not join Virgin Media! They are rude, unhelpful and their service is unreliable. We have not had broadband for 11 days now and there is no resolution in sight. We try to get updates on when it will be up and running and they just say they're a major fault with the cable in the area and their engineers are working on it. It's ridiculous. They do not offer us any compensation for the inconvenience or for the fact that we have been forced to buy extra data on our mobiles which is expeditiously expensive. No broadband means no TV on Demand do we are paying for half a TV service too. Unless we complain that do not even attempt to refund you for three days with out service even though there aware of the fact they're charging you for a service you're not receiving. Many of our home's appliances run off wifi, our home alarm, sump pump alarm, doorr bell you name a few. It's not on! We are trapped with Virgin in a contract for 12 months. We are continuously having problems with their services. They even have an automated voice message when you call their phone line apologising for the fault in your area - more lies as sometimes there isn't a fault, sometimes they've just over charged us or put fees on which we are told would not be applied. I hate to think how many customers get ripped off because they do not have time to go through their bill and just trust trust that they're being charged correctly. Please choose another company. One that values their customers and one that provides a service and doesn't just charge for it even when it's down half the time."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 hours ago
"it's been 5th call to get in touch with human on customer service, Rude person attended kind of talking nasty behind. I want to cancel but it is becoming impossible to speak or make any contact with them. Bills were not same as per contract either. TV is not at all good unless you want to spend £100 plus monthly. Broadband was good most of the time for our usage And it wasnt super good to wow you. Last 12 months I had no land phone active to make or revive call And still paying, Overall terrible virgin experience to continue And cancelling is most difficult because you can't find anyone nor you can get call back."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
"To many problems to go into My advise Just don’t use them"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
"Virgin deprive paying customers of services we pay for. Whilst increasing prices & decreasing value for TV packages over my 13years as a customer of BB,TV & phone , DEPRIVING customer of TV for over a month & phones for a week per year just about takes the biscuit! Further to this, the engineer bear no callback accountability & Virgin as a company are ridiculously complacent . Experienced and qualified engineer s should be available at 24h & it's Virgins responsibility to hire enough of them to do so."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
"What a shambolic company. On top of all the hidden fees, the lies and deceit fed to you by their staff (not to mention their horrific incompetence and appalling communication skills), virgin media is, without a doubt, one of the worst companies I have ever had the displeasure of interacting with. Let us not forget their ridiculous waiting times to send out an engineer to even set up the hub in the first place. Once they can be bothered to do so, the temperamental, unreliable nature of the service makes you wonder why you even bothered. I understand that it is often the case that virgin media is the only broadband choice (sadly including my new area). But given a half-decent alternative, I strongly advise you avoid Virgin."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Several times over the last 12 months I have lost broadband service. Once in December I was off line for a total of 14 days. Over the last 4 weeks I have had no service for 16 days. Customer services have been appalling. Appointments made by engineers have not been honoured. I finally lost patience and after a heated 60 minutes on the phone, 45 of which I was on hold, I cancelled the subscription and now have an alternative provider. Virgin Media is an absolute disgrace."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Since the recent changes in the channel list (UKTV channels have been removed and replaced by other channels), there is nothing worth watching anymore. Lots of channels of no interest, lots of channels several times in the list - enough to completely go off TV and definitely too expensive for what it's worth! We'll downgrade to a basic package asap (even though, based on numerous other reviews, getting in touch with their customer service seems to be a nightmare) and then look for another provider!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"I tried to arrange installation for months. I signed a contract in May, and in early June I was told that it would take 6-8 weeks to organise the install as the council needed to provide consent for the works. My postcode is listed on their website as being in a VM area, and fibre cables run down my road. Engineers attended and spray painted green markings on the side of the road and pavement to show the 1m distance the cable would need to be routed. I was informed that there was a budget for these works and the access point to be created on the boundary wall of the property, and that it was just a matter of time. Having not heard anything for 8 weeks I called VM to ask for an update, and I was told that the install and contract had been cancelled as it was too expensive for VM to proceed with the required works and that a note had been put on the file to say I’d been informed. I hadn’t been - not by email, text or phone call - and I still wouldn’t know if I hadn’t called. I paid £300 to the freeholder for the wayleave approval which was completely unnecessary and I cannot reclaim. I would have thought it sensible for the budget for the works to be approved before the wayleave was submitted and signed, but clearly this isn’t the case. I’ve therefore wasted four months and £300 to try to organise a service that could never be provided to me in the first place, despite VM assuring me otherwise. I’ve never been so wildly misled by a company, and I’m furious that I’ve thrown away £300 for no reason whatsoever."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Bad customer service. Poor knowledge Miss Roxy .waiting time is too long 50minutes"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Excellent customer service good. TV service and broadband reception picture with v6 box excellent why do everyone run them down keep it up Virgin media Gareth Neath"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Absolutely horrible customer service 20 min waiting and pay / speakers have terrible akcent. Worse ever"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Virgin are the worst company ive ever dealt with. All staff members saying different things each time i phone. Keep taking too much money out of my bank. On hold for over 40 mins each time i phone. Cut off twice. Service down every other day!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Good broadband speed but so bad customer service."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Disgusting what they have done with taking off the ten channels. Also the customer service is terrible. They do not listen to you and basically read out a script to you like robots. They are rude and don't give you the chance to speak and just talk over you. Left them for sky and will never go back after being with them for 20years."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"I have virgin media 100mb player bundle for 2 weeks now. Since then I had many problems with it, I had to get the ethernet cable they gave us replaced for the TV and the broadband also keeps cutting out every 20 - 60 mins or so for a few seconds at a time, this is really frustrating when watching videos, playing games etc. Although the customer service wasnt terrible as the calls were quick and straight to the point. (I am getting an engineer out for broadband issues)"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Cables in front garden. Not underground.losing channels. Wish I never left sky."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"took 10 days to come to fix a broadband issue which they were saying it was at the exchange , I kept saying techs had been out to the box in the street to fix neighbours , they said no its at the exchange ,virgin media turned up 3 men all in separate van , (crazy) as only one man done any work. the main supervisor full of excuses .had the cheek to offer a voucher for 50 pounds to recommend a friend , why on earth would I do that , completely insensitive to the issue . given no compensation , no opology nothing . very poor service indeed"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"VM are truly shocking! There seems to be a policy of deliberately cutting off a customer’s call when the going gets tough for them. They fail to call back when they say they will. They sent me an email saying they have not been able to contact me, yet when I prepared an e mail letter and sent it back to them on the same address, an automated e mail said that I cannot contact them that way! My two SIM changeovers resulted in no incoming services for several days on one number and promises to get it fixed were not met and the letters issued with the SIMs had wrong instructions on them."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"very bad customer service, told will get a phone back and nothing, no one looking into my case, told something by something and something completely different by someone else and even been hanged up upon after holding for ages"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Virgin Media is rated 1.25 based on 241 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This