Variety Cruises Reviews

131 Reviews

Variety Cruises (formerly known as Zeus Casual Cruises) is the world’s largest small ships cruise company and has been offering boutique yacht cruise experiences since 1968. With a fleet of 11 fully-owned vessels accommodating up to 72 guests on the largest vessel, our Motor Yachts and Motor Sailers operate cruise programs taking guests in the heart of the destination, visiting well known destinations and more unique and unheard ports of call in a private, convivial and relaxed environment. Variety Cruises operates scheduled week long cruises in Greece, the Adriatic Sea, Cuba, Costa Rica & the Panama Canal, the Seychelles, the Canary Islands, Cape Verde, and NEW for 2017: Cruises in Iceland , and Cruises in Spain & Portugal.

Variety Cruises experiential itineraries embrace each destination by allowing guests ample leisure time in each port to discover the local nightlife, culinary traditions and culture. Our yachts dock right in the heart of the destination and offer multiple swim stops right off the vessels in secluded bays, always combining the world's most famous destinations with the off-the-beaten track locales inaccessible to large cruise ships. Fine locally-flavored cuisine, an ever-growing number of exciting itineraries blending well known ports of call with off-the-beaten track locales, and personalized service are just a few of the things that have made Variety Cruises the choice for the fast-growing number of travelers looking for distinctive small ship cruise experiences.

Visit Website

Phone:
+30 210 6919191

Email:
club@varietycruises.com

Location:
214-216 Syngrou Avenue

Are you a business owner? Click here to learn about Reviews.co.uk business solutions.
Alex G
Overall Rating
Unverified Reviewer


Greek Islands cruise on Harmony V.
First of all it is not a yacht and not a luxury one, it is just a worn out boat with drab interiors, grey looking linen and towels to match.
Accomodation is very basic, the food is average to put it politely.
They employ staff from third world countries, who do not know anything about the wine and food they serve.
When it comes to drinks from the bar they charge extra for soda water that is added to your spirits...what planet did they come from?
For the first two days they were changing our itenerary every few hours, so eventually we did not go to Crete, but went to some smaller island. They kept blaming the weather ahead.
To cut the long story short, the best time we had it was on the land, not on the boat.
We have met a few couples from France and Italy and they were of the same opinion about this cruise.
I think that it is grossly overpriced for what is on offer and we are very disappointed.

Posted 1 year ago
Vassia
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

excellent week in the Seychelles on Pegasus, food was delicious! I will be back!
Posted 1 year ago
Mindy&Michael
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Our trip to Greece aboard the Pan Orama II was filled with sights we had only read about in history books. While the weather was less than spectacular in early March, the crowds at the temples and ruins were very minimal, in fact we often were the only visitors which made for a much more pleasant visit. I would highly recommend going on the early season trips for this reason. What made our visits even better were the very knowledgable cruise director and even more knowledgeable tour guide. The ships crew was awesome and a special hats-off to the chef, who never disappointed us with any of the meals. Even a slight mishap with the ship was handled quickly and it did not interupt our itinerary. I would look forward to another adventure with Variety Cruises.
Posted 1 year ago
Kathryn
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

The staff and crew of the S/V Panorama was dedicated to serving the passengers. All were eager to insure that we were comfortable and well taken care of. While smaller in size the ship was huge in hospitality and cleaniness. The captain and crew also ensured our comfort as best they could in light of the weather and high seas.
Posted 1 year ago
Charles&Elouise
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

The Pan Orama was well maintained and staffed by a marvelous, helpful, friendly crew. This was our first small craft cruise. We had expected it to be more casual than larger ones, but in this case all the fine touches were present and carried out in a very easy going, professional manner. We cruised through a storm that made life difficult for all, but one would never know the crew had any difficulties. They were top notch!!

We hope to take another Variety Cruise in the future.
Posted 1 year ago
Jim&Susan
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

We were on Motor Sailer Panorama II

Our Greek trip was excellent and we are planning on returning in the future. As it turned out, even though the weather did have an impact on our trip, this was a great time to visit Greece. At nearly everywhere we went the crowds were down and we were able to enjoy the visit without being mobbed by others.

There were several very positive features. Probably first and foremost was the presence of our guide, Ms. Alexiou. Her knowledge and enthusiasm was infectious and really made the visits come alive. The food and service was also noteworthy and the staff is to be complimented.

I would recommend in the future that you provide your guides and your passengers with the remote radio devices that I think are called whisperers’. As I said, our guide was superb, but we were tethered to her in order to hear her explanations. It would have greatly enhanced the experience if we could look at one display while she explained another. Plus, when there was a crowd of any sorts (and there were a number of school groups that in themselves are extra noisy), it made it difficult to hear what was being said.

We enjoyed our cruise.

Jim and Sue Culley
Posted 1 year ago
Mary
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

We were on Pegasus and thought it was terrific. The crew couldn't have been more helpful and the food was fantastic.
Posted 1 year ago
Dennis
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

My wife Linda and I enjoyed our trip to Cuba with Variety Cruises very much. The crew, ship and guide were excellent. It was one of the best trips we have ever been on around the world. I have highly recommended this adventure to a number of folks since returning to VA.
Posted 1 year ago
Steve A
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Panama, the Panama Canal and Costa Rica (Colon to Herradura). The Voyager.
The best excursion was with the Embera tribe.
Loved everything except being separated at diner from the Odyssey tour people. That was very strange and unfortunate not to be able to get to know them also. The diner seating was maintained at almost every meal even though their tables were not "reserved" at breakfast & lunch.
Least interesting town, Portobello (Panama).
Great cruise, great crew!
Posted 1 year ago
Emily V
Overall Rating
Unverified Reviewer

Our recent cruise with Variety Cruises was a seven night cruise experience around the Peloponese focused mainly on the historical and archaelogical sites of the area. Our tour leader was excellent, and our cruise coordinator also. Meals were full board and delicious and we were lucky that the weather conditions allowed us to have lunch and sometimes dinner too in the alfresco dining area of the upper deck, which provided unobstructed views of the ports of call where our ship, the Panorama II was docked. Excellent staff and service, we will be back! Thank you everyone!
Posted 1 year ago
Emily V
Overall Rating
Unverified Reviewer

Our recent cruise with Variety Cruises was a seven night cruise experience around the Peloponese focused mainly on the historical and archaelogical sites of the area. Our tour leader was excellent, and our cruise coordinator also. Meals were full board and delicious and we were lucky that the weather conditions allowed us to have lunch and sometimes dinner too in the alfresco dining area of the upper deck, which provided unobstructed views of the ports of call where our ship, the Panorama II was docked. Excellent staff and service, we will be back! Thank you everyone!
Posted 1 year ago
Philippa
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Cruise: Costa Rica and Panama Canal cruise on Variety Voyager. We were delighted to be upgraded from a P category cabin to the Owner's Suite. This was our second cruise on the Variety Voyager and we enjoyed every minute. All the staff were very friendly and efficient, the excursions were well planned, and Elliott was a superb guide. His knowledge of the wildlife and plants was extensive and he was very patient in responding to questions. The food on board was delicious and varied. The captain was very good in keeping passengers informed throughout the cruise, and the bridge was very accessible. All in all as wonderful week, and we look forward very much to being on the Voyager again in October.
Posted 1 year ago
Barbara
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Our February 2015 Costa Rica / Panama cruise on Variety Voyager was fabulous. The boat was quite new, and the crew, service and food couldn't have been better. The on-board internet connection was very slow, but we were warned in advance of purchasing it. The land excursions were well planned and included great tours of wildlife preserves with knowledgeable guides able to point out many animals I would never have spotted on my own. The snorkeling at Granito de Oro was some of the best I've experienced outside of the Great Barrier Reef, although shorter than I would have liked. We also had a fun zip-lining experience that was quite extensive. The passage through the Panama Canal was an experience to remember. Due to rough seas we had to skip a planned visit to the San Blas Islands on the final day, but the crew was able to arrange a similar land excursion a the last minute.
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Barbara,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent Yacht Cruise Experience in Costa Rica and the Panama.
It with such great pleasure to read that your week on board the M/Y Variety Voyager has been so enjoyable, the food excellent and the crew so attentive.
We also thank you for your comments on the duration of the swim stop in Granito de Oro which we will take into consideration for next year's season starting December 2015.

We thank you for choosing the M/Y Variety Voyager and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on board one of our ships very soon.

With best regards,
The Variety Cruises Team
Posted 2 years ago
Marvin
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Everything was great! The meals, shore excursions and accommodations. The crew was very professional and the Captain was very accessible and interesting. We would gladly travel on this ship again.
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Marvin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent Yacht Cruise Experience in Costa Rica and the Panama on the M/Y Variety Voyager.

It with such great pleasure to hear that your cruise experience overall was great, the crew attentive and that your conversations with Captain Andreas Sifniotis were enjoyable.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on board one of our ships very soon, in any of the many Variety Cruises cruise destinations.

With best regards,
The Variety Cruises Team
Posted 2 years ago
Marc A
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

We went thru the panama canal. We thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations, the food and most of all the mega yacht experience! Each and every mber of the crew were helpful and congenial. It was refreshing to have the captain so available and informative. We were on an odyssey tour so I cannot comment on the variety shore excursions
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Marc and Joan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent Yacht Cruise Experience in Costa Rica and the Panama on the M/Y Variety Voyager.

It with such great pleasure to hear that your on board experience and the food was very enjoyable overall, the crew attentive and friendly and that your conversations with Captain Andreas Sifniotis was enjoyable and interesting.

We thank you for choosing the M/Y Variety Voyager for your cruise experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on board one of our ships very soon.

With best regards,
The Variety Cruises Team
Posted 2 years ago
Jo
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

The voyage on Variety Voyager to Costa Rica and Panama was a delightful experience.Really comfortable ship ,attentive crew, good food and a lovely varied programme of excursions and places to visit, enhanced by the knowledge of the on board wildlife expert.We throughly enjoyed the experience and also the company of likeminded fellow passengers. We hope to sail with you again in the future.
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Bill and Jo,

It with such great pleasure to hear that your cruise experience on board the Variety Voyager and ashore was a delightful experience to remember. It is especially wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the company of fellow passengers; the Variety Cruises concept has always been to connect likeminded travellers from all over the world, providing intimate life-enriching cruise experiences with the means of a small ship.

We thank you for choosing the M/Y Variety Voyager for your cruise experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on board one of our ships very soon.

With best regards,
The Variety Cruises Team
Posted 2 years ago
Nicholas
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Cuba was not our first Variety and won't be our last cruise with Variety. We are not likely to get another cruise where we were a passenger list of eight. A party having cancelled. This did not mean any of the crew took less time nor attention to our needs whether personal or trips. No less selection of anything. They kept to the normal schedule. So well done crew and Variety for choosing them!!
Posted 2 years ago
Duane
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Costa Rica-Panama Canal cruise exceeded expectations. The accommodations were more than adequate. The crew's attention to detail and camaraderie were exemplary. The food was excellent. Good job!
Posted 2 years ago
Colin-Rosemary
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Fantastic! From the moment we arrived on board until we left. The crew from the Captain to the cabin girls were all excellent with smiling faces and lovely personalities, very caring and attentive - and good at their various tasks too! We had a wonderful week with you and, after last year's disappointment in Croatia (not Variety, we know) you went right up to the top of our list again.

Thanks very much to everyone.

Colin & Rosemary

PS Still didn't quite match the Cyclades cruise.
Posted 2 years ago
Wayne
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

My wife and I traveled on the Variety Voyager from Herradura, Costa Rica, through the Panama Canal. We had great fun. Our cabin was clean and comfortable and our cabin stewardess was very attentive. The bathroom and shower were more spacious than found on the typical small ship. The captain and officers were very friendly and generally eager to answer questions, and they were always professional while on duty. The dining room staff members were very friendly, polite, sometimes appropriately playful with the guests, and attentive to every request we made of them. The service was really exceptional. The tour coordinator worked very hard to ensure all guests were having fun. The quality of the meals was top-tier. The snorkeling was fantastic and everyone enjoyed the beach barbeques. Our trip with Variety Cruises was one of the best small ship experiences we've had to date. Variety has earned our repeat business.
Posted 2 years ago
Variety Cruises is rated 4.87 based on 131 reviews