Universal Tyre & Autocentre Reviews

4.89 Rating 1,420 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend Universal Tyre & Autocentre
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
On-time Delivery
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.83 out of 5

Write Your review

Tell us how Universal Tyre & Autocentre made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
My vehicle is Mitsubishi Colt. For brake pads, disc, and drum changing they agreed for (60 + vat 12) = 72£. I requested them to change the drum alone. They gave the same bill amount of 72£. I asked them, they said "for an hour the labor cost is charged. What would happen if I asked to change everything? & Why they agree for an amount before works start? It seems the Universal Tyres is untrustable. Getting fear to leave the vehicle for full service. I humbly request your company to not do this for the people who believes and came to you. If a single customer gets hurts like this then there is no point in doing this business.
Posted 2 months ago
Although we have not used this company, we certainly won’t be in future after one of their drivers almost drove us off the road. He was swerving in between lanes, driving erratically, right up behind us and impatiently smacking the side of his vehicle whilst making offensive hand gestures towards us. For a motor vehicle company, he should learn that is not acceptable and does not put this company is a good light. We will now never be using this company or recommending it if this is the kind of people the employ.
Posted 2 months ago
web site states 'drive in/drive out service' for motorcycles. When you phone to book....... they don't do 'drive in/drive out service' for motorcycles.
Posted 4 months ago
Friendly guys, but no knowledge of motorbike tyres, I picked up a puncture and was told it couldn't be repaired as it was a z rated tyre and against regulations to have it repaired, so after paying nearly £200.00 to have my michelin road 5 tyre changed I then find out that the road 5 is a w rated tyre, michelin dont even do a z tayed one, and michelin recomend that the road 5 can be repaired twice, not a very happy customer, I'm close to saying I was blatantly ripped off, but I give the benefit of the doubt and just so they haven't got a clue when it comes to bike tyres
Posted 8 months ago
Don’t deal with Thurrock they claim to put food wipers on your car but the put the cheapest of cheap that don’t even last 6 month this company is worse than Keillor fit
Posted 11 months ago
Rubbish, just upset with their service, never again...
Posted 11 months ago
I called into the Croydon branch to have a puncture repaired to the rear wheel of my motorcycle, when I checked the completed repair I saw that there was still a massive hole in the tyre? I have had enough tyre repairs to know that the rubber stem from the mushroom plug should be cut flush with the surface of the tyre so future tyre wear is even, what has happened is the rubber stem of the plug was just pulled off or stretched and cut causing it to be too short. I raised the matter with John at the desk who was utterly disinterested and said Naw it's ok Mate...! Disappointing as I bought a set of tyres from them, I will not be going back.
Posted 1 year ago
Good afternoon,

We apologise if you were not happy with the service you received on this occasion and would be more than happy to rectify this for you.
Posted 1 year ago
On the web site you say you are open till 17.30 just tried to call but says you are now closed 😦☹️And sat at work with a flat tyre unable to get home 😒
Posted 1 year ago
We are open Monday-Friday 08.00-17. 30 and Saturday from 08.30-12.00, our phone lines automatically switch into night mode outside of these hours. This is not controlled by the branches.
We apologise that on this occasion you couldn’t get through.
Posted 1 year ago
I have an unusual tyre size and many garages don’t stock it. Staines branch said that they could order it in for the next day and that I would then get the call to book it in for fitting. After no phone call I then called to check and they’ve not been able to get my tyre in. Did not bother their time to let me know and now I’ve waisted another couple of days whilst having to drive with a temporary tyre. There’s no excuse for such bad service
Posted 1 year ago
Did have good service at the dealer BUT the web site still shows all details for site that they closed 4 years ago.
Having then tried to help them by pointing this out on their comments site they still do not have any interest as nothing has been head from them.
Posted 1 year ago
Poor service to replace rear bike tyre 2 hours
Posted 2 years ago
I took my car in for a service and mot, mileage 17454 on 18th July 2018, after checking with universal all works complete, they rang me back after a few minutes saying they had notice that there was a screw in my rear tyre and it needed replacing, I gave them the go ahead, and allowed a further 30mins for the to change the tyre on attending the Plaistow centre my car was ready but the MOT was not I had to return after an hour to collect it. Today July 21st my car warning light came on requesting that the oil needed to be changed, the mileage at this time was 17478, I checked the engine oil and it was found to be thick and very black unlike new oil that should be l light and viscus, I checked universal FAQ's for servicing and both major and interim services state "drain oil" what does this mean? is the dirty oil put back in the engine?!, As of Monday Next I will be contacting Universal for an explanation regarding the above
Posted 2 years ago
Had wheel alignment done,wheels were straight but steering wheel was'nt.arranged the same day to come back following weekend to have it corrected but was rudely refused by some shaved headed guy,think he was a supervisor or something.i had to pay for wheel alignment again at a different garage so that i could get my steering wheel centred.wasted my money
Posted 2 years ago
Ordered two tyres at Greenwich on Wednesday, received a call from Greenwich on Thursday to say that the tyres had been delivered, I arranged for the tyres to be fitted on the Saturday, (today), after my car had been on the ramp for half an hour I was told that they had lost one of the tyres. I was offered a few options to resolve but none were satisfactory as the vehicle was booked in for an MOT elsewhere, the MOT being the reason I wanted the tyres. Went to KwikFit who ordered me a couple of tyres for delivery the same day.
(Greenwich) - Posted 2 years ago
Good evening,
We’re very sorry that we did not deliver the level of service on this occasion that we strive to supply to all our customers
Posted 2 years ago
This is not the first time, but it happened with me 3 times - I had no other options as I stay close by Universal tyres in Staines.
They do their job somehow, but are very careless - they just break other parts while repairing and will not even let us know.
Will never ever recommend anyone - also the prices are dam expensive.
If you don't believe me, try it yourself.
(Staines) - Posted 3 years ago
expensive, not professional service
Posted 3 years ago
Good evening,

We are very sorry that you feel you did not receive value for money, could you please provide some further details of your experience so we can investigate.
My email address is simon@UNIVERSAL-TYRES.CO.UK.
Regards
Simon
Posted 3 years ago
paid well over the odds for continental sport contact 5 tyre - fitting was fine, price was extortionate!
Posted 4 years ago
Good afternoon,
We are sorry to hear you are not satisfied could you please let me know which of our branches you visited so we can investigate this issue, simon@universal-tyres.co.uk
Simon
Posted 4 years ago
Went to dartford today had my motorbike tyre repaired and I fount several deep scratches all over my wheel bloke said it was not them but they weren't there before so I wouldn't bother useing them as they are not doing nothing about it
Posted 4 years ago
Good afternoon Chris,
I believe you have been contacted by Paul & Rob who are now rectifying this issue. We would like to apologise fr the inconvenience again.
Simon
Posted 4 years ago
Very poor costumer service at Tottenham branch and use abusive language towards the customer I'm very disappointed by your colleagues behaviour
Posted 4 years ago
We are very sorry to hear this, are you able to provide some further detail so we can speak to the staff member concerned. My contact number is 01322 421980.
Regards
Simon Wright
Posted 4 years ago
4 year old tyres fitted to my van
2 ripped off within 8 weeks
They won't accept there faulty

Very unsafe company and will never use them again
Posted 5 years ago
Good afternoon,
We are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction and would like to discuss this with you, could you please let me have a contact number?
Posted 5 years ago
Universal Tyre & Autocentre is rated 4.89 based on 1,420 reviews