Universal Tyre & Autocentre Reviews

4.90 Rating 1,344 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend Universal Tyre & Autocentre
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver
on-time delivery
100%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour

Write Your review

Tell us how Universal Tyre & Autocentre made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Don’t deal with Thurrock they claim to put food wipers on your car but the put the cheapest of cheap that don’t even last 6 month this company is worse than Keillor fit
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Rubbish, just upset with their service, never again...
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I called into the Croydon branch to have a puncture repaired to the rear wheel of my motorcycle, when I checked the completed repair I saw that there was still a massive hole in the tyre? I have had enough tyre repairs to know that the rubber stem from the mushroom plug should be cut flush with the surface of the tyre so future tyre wear is even, what has happened is the rubber stem of the plug was just pulled off or stretched and cut causing it to be too short. I raised the matter with John at the desk who was utterly disinterested and said Naw it's ok Mate...! Disappointing as I bought a set of tyres from them, I will not be going back.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Good afternoon,

We apologise if you were not happy with the service you received on this occasion and would be more than happy to rectify this for you.
Posted 2 months ago
On the web site you say you are open till 17.30 just tried to call but says you are now closed 😦☹️And sat at work with a flat tyre unable to get home 😒
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We are open Monday-Friday 08.00-17. 30 and Saturday from 08.30-12.00, our phone lines automatically switch into night mode outside of these hours. This is not controlled by the branches.
We apologise that on this occasion you couldn’t get through.
Posted 2 months ago
I have an unusual tyre size and many garages don’t stock it. Staines branch said that they could order it in for the next day and that I would then get the call to book it in for fitting. After no phone call I then called to check and they’ve not been able to get my tyre in. Did not bother their time to let me know and now I’ve waisted another couple of days whilst having to drive with a temporary tyre. There’s no excuse for such bad service
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Did have good service at the dealer BUT the web site still shows all details for site that they closed 4 years ago. Having then tried to help them by pointing this out on their comments site they still do not have any interest as nothing has been head from them.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Poor service to replace rear bike tyre 2 hours
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I took my car in for a service and mot, mileage 17454 on 18th July 2018, after checking with universal all works complete, they rang me back after a few minutes saying they had notice that there was a screw in my rear tyre and it needed replacing, I gave them the go ahead, and allowed a further 30mins for the to change the tyre on attending the Plaistow centre my car was ready but the MOT was not I had to return after an hour to collect it. Today July 21st my car warning light came on requesting that the oil needed to be changed, the mileage at this time was 17478, I checked the engine oil and it was found to be thick and very black unlike new oil that should be l light and viscus, I checked universal FAQ's for servicing and both major and interim services state "drain oil" what does this mean? is the dirty oil put back in the engine?!, As of Monday Next I will be contacting Universal for an explanation regarding the above
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Had wheel alignment done,wheels were straight but steering wheel was'nt.arranged the same day to come back following weekend to have it corrected but was rudely refused by some shaved headed guy,think he was a supervisor or something.i had to pay for wheel alignment again at a different garage so that i could get my steering wheel centred.wasted my money
3 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Ordered two tyres at Greenwich on Wednesday, received a call from Greenwich on Thursday to say that the tyres had been delivered, I arranged for the tyres to be fitted on the Saturday, (today), after my car had been on the ramp for half an hour I was told that they had lost one of the tyres. I was offered a few options to resolve but none were satisfactory as the vehicle was booked in for an MOT elsewhere, the MOT being the reason I wanted the tyres. Went to KwikFit who ordered me a couple of tyres for delivery the same day.
Helpful Report
(Greenwich) - Posted 2 years ago
Good evening,
We’re very sorry that we did not deliver the level of service on this occasion that we strive to supply to all our customers
Posted 2 years ago
This is not the first time, but it happened with me 3 times - I had no other options as I stay close by Universal tyres in Staines. They do their job somehow, but are very careless - they just break other parts while repairing and will not even let us know. Will never ever recommend anyone - also the prices are dam expensive. If you don't believe me, try it yourself.
4 Helpful Report
(Staines) - Posted 2 years ago
expensive, not professional service
3 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good evening,

We are very sorry that you feel you did not receive value for money, could you please provide some further details of your experience so we can investigate.
My email address is simon@UNIVERSAL-TYRES.CO.UK.
Regards
Simon
Posted 3 years ago
paid well over the odds for continental sport contact 5 tyre - fitting was fine, price was extortionate!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good afternoon,
We are sorry to hear you are not satisfied could you please let me know which of our branches you visited so we can investigate this issue, simon@universal-tyres.co.uk
Simon
Posted 3 years ago
Went to dartford today had my motorbike tyre repaired and I fount several deep scratches all over my wheel bloke said it was not them but they weren't there before so I wouldn't bother useing them as they are not doing nothing about it
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good afternoon Chris,
I believe you have been contacted by Paul & Rob who are now rectifying this issue. We would like to apologise fr the inconvenience again.
Simon
Posted 3 years ago
Very poor costumer service at Tottenham branch and use abusive language towards the customer I'm very disappointed by your colleagues behaviour
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We are very sorry to hear this, are you able to provide some further detail so we can speak to the staff member concerned. My contact number is 01322 421980.
Regards
Simon Wright
Posted 3 years ago
4 year old tyres fitted to my van 2 ripped off within 8 weeks They won't accept there faulty Very unsafe company and will never use them again
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good afternoon,
We are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction and would like to discuss this with you, could you please let me have a contact number?
Posted 4 years ago
Greenwich branch - Used them in past with no problem. I was very happy with service. But after my last visit will not use them anymore and definitely will not recommend to no one. Popped in to balance 4 wheels. Guy from behind counter came out to check tyres. First was he said that all 4 tyres are no good , inner tread gone on all tyres and I need new tyres. Then he asked if the car was lowered. When I said yes, he said that thats why all tyres need replacement and it all fault of poor lowering. Tried to explain that its nothing wrong with lowering springs and car just had 4 wheel alignment which came out perfect but all I heard was lots of rubbish. Went somewhere else ( another well known branch ) and job done. So if you believe in everything what so called fitters are saying and want to spend more money than you supposed to pop in to see those cowboys. Otherwise dont bother and find yourself some other decent place
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Universal Tyre & Autocentre is rated 4.90 based on 1,344 reviews