Univar Specialty Consumables Reviews

4.63 Rating 1,343 Reviews
91 %
of reviewers recommend Univar Specialty Consumables
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
Greater than 94%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.89 out of 5
Read Univar Specialty Consumables Reviews

About Univar Specialty Consumables:

We are a UK based distributor of high-quality industrial consumables from world-renowned brands. We are exclusive UK distributors of Molykote™ and channel partners for DOW® and 3M™.

Our portfolio spans almost every industry from automotive to painting and decorating and we aim to provide a better solution for our customers.

We build our Services, Solutions and Technical Support around the needs of you, to keep you at the heart of everything we do and every decision we make.

Our journey began in 1880 when we were known as RW Greef. In 2008 we rebranded as Univar Plc and became known as Univar Specialty Consumables.

Since the business started over 130 years ago we had one goal, to give you industry-leading service and technical support and to help you find the right solution. We continue to focus on this every day working with the biggest brands to ensure our staff have the best training on all our products and services. This helps us to give you the right product as quickly as possible.

We expand our product portfolio regularly by listening to customers needs and pain points. Our technical staff stand shoulder to shoulder with some of the biggest names in industrial and automotive manufacturing to better understand processes and product requirements to ensure we are always leading the way with new technologies and trends.

Serious about safety

Something we are very focused on is safety and standards. We have been ISO accredited or British Standard compliant as it was back then since the 1990's. We are proud to say that we have a safety record that spans over a decade without a recordable injury.

Delivering on our promises

We are a trusted partner to some of the biggest names industrial manufacturing who rely on accurate and punctual delivery of products when they need them otherwise it could stop the production line. These partnerships have lasted because we deliver on our promise to deliver your order on time and in full.

Visit Website


01827 255250




USC House, Tame Park, Vanguard

Write Your review

Tell us how Univar Specialty Consumables made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Delivery was ridiculous
Helpful Report
Univar has delivered only two orders to me. The first was delivered by Yodel on a Saturday and all was well. I was so pleased with the items in that order that I immediately repeated the order. Again this order was sent by Yodel. The order was NOT delivered the next day as was promised by Univar when purchasing items above a specified quantum. I watched the Yodel tracking info every hour or so and the parcel did not move from being 'at the local depot' into the 'out for delivery' section all day. Then at about 3:15 in the afternoon, the item again was shown at the local depot but a message said that the driver had tried to deliver at 11:20 am but could not access my home. Of course a driver could not possibly deliver something to my home when he did not have that something in his van. Further, I had received three deliveries from other companies on the same day and all without any problems at all. Frankly, I believe Yodel was being utterly untruthful. My view is that the parcel never made it out of their local depot in the 10 hours or so it sat there before 11:20 am. This does not surprise me given similar experiences with Yodel in the past. So, you may well ask what has this to do with a review of Univar. My response is that Univar is partly to blame because they choose to use Yodel for deliveries. Also, when I contacted Univar to complain about this non-delivery it was made clear by their customer service people that they unfortunately have to deal with many similar complaints about Yodel but the company still uses them. Such a shame, really, that Univar's management seems to ignore the fact that Yodel will lose them business. And it has lost mine now and in the future - I cancelled the second order and asked for a refund to be made so that I can purchase the same items from a company that does not deliver by Yodel. No official response yet from Univar to my cancellation and no refund yet made. I do NOT recommend buying from Univar and award the company only two stars rather than the five it may have been given based on its performance with my first order.
Helpful Report
My items that I purchased were badly damaged due to not being packaged correctly.
Helpful Report
We are sorry to hear that there was an issue with your delivery and can only apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. One of our Customer Service Colleagues has been in touch already and we will also be sending out a FOC replacement liner for the damaged one you received. Assuring you of our best attention always.
On line purchase said order before 2 pm for immediate dispatch so was hoping for next day delivery , but as soon as I had paid get a message of busier than normal so maybe a delay which indeed there was so items arrived on the Tuesday, was hoping for weekend . Very misleading sales tactic , you should be more honest about adverts wont be using you again will go to the shop instead as more reliable Dennis O’shaughnessy
Helpful Report
Good Morning - we are disappointed you feel the delivery times weren't satisfactory, but if you please refer to the delivery information on the website, as below, it explains why you received your delivery which was placed on Friday and delivered on Tuesday rather than the next day. I hope this information clarifies this for you. Orders placed before 2pm Monday to Thursday and 1pm Friday will be delivered next working day. Orders placed after these times will be sent the following working day. The table below is a guide to when you will receive your order based on the day and time you order it. This table relates to standard delivery and standard free delivery. Any premium delivery services or deliveries for certain areas such as the highlands may be different. Friday after 1pm Tuesday by 5:30pm
Didn’t really the job I was hoping for. I was spraying on aluminium and it ended up patchy
Helpful Report
Delivery come quick at good prices however they forgot something off of my order
Helpful Report
No good —what a rip off
Helpful Report
One of our Customer Service team will be in touch this morning to discuss this with you
Far too long for delivery
Helpful Report
Thank you for taking the time to contact us - unfortunately we are experiencing delays from our Suppliers due to the changes around Brexit. We aplologise for any inconvenience this may have caused
Some of the tapes separated on use, the adhesive section from the cover.
Helpful Report
We are disappointed to hear you are not satisfied with the quality of the product - one of our Customer Service Team will be in touch with you this morning to discuss the issue.
I was expecting satin finish as per your description saying anything not gloss would be satin. So very annoying it was gloss. Also the quality of the spray was poor with frequent splutter spots
Helpful Report
Delayed the delivery of the product by more than 2 weeks and it was supposed to be 2-day delivery. They didn't even tell us there would be a delay. Had to call them 3 times to even get some update on the delivery. Not impressed. Will not use them anymore and do not recommend them as providers.
Helpful Report
We are disappointed to hear that our service was not up to our high standards - one of our Customer Service Team will be in touch shortly for further information
Late on delivery broken promise poor customer service
Helpful Report
Order arrived promptly but had been badly packaged and one item was broken and had leaked all over the box. When brought to the attention of the company they were very helpful and said they would look into it. In spite of another email asking for an update and a refund we haven’t received a reply.
Helpful Report
Trowel come bent and offered me 20% cash back on a plastering flexi
Helpful Report
very Very good, polite and responsive on the chat, then it falls to pieces, no contact, delivery schedule changed drastically without notification, took days to process the order.
Helpful Report
Awful service
Helpful Report
Good afternoon, we are disappointed to read that you have received less than expected level of service. We pride ourselves in our level of service and would like to understand why this has happened, therefore one of our Customer Service Team will contact you shortly for details to help us to improve this.
Ordered ZipWall products mid August that we're showing in stock. At the end of August I get a call to say my products are now out of stock and I will need to wait until the end of October for my products. I ordered from Univar because they were showing in stock and out of stock items.
Helpful Report
Thank you for leaving this review, we are disappointed that you have had to wait for certain items. One of our Customer Service Team will be in touch shortly to discuss your order.
I ordered items that where in stock at the time of my order. After 4 days of not receiving my item I rang them to be told the items where both out of stock and would be on the Tuesday delivery and I would receive my goods by Thursday/ Friday at the latest. They do say they will contact you if your item isn’t in stock, I must of been an exception because I didn’t. Anyway from the day of ordering to actual delivery was 12 days
Helpful Report
We are disappointed that you have had to wait this length of time for your delivery. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. I believe one of our Customer Service Team contacted you on 3rd August with an update. Assuring you of our best attention at all times
Not very happy as ordered this on the 3/8/2020 said 3/4days for delivery still haven’t received them. The tracking number they gave me says it on vehicle for delivery on the 4/8/2020 still not here.
Helpful Report
Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you, but I believe one of our Customer Service Team has been in touch and updated you. Assuring you of our best attention at all times
I was sent wrong types of dust extractor bags and when I called to inform that there has been a mistake they agreed to collect the wrong ones and replace it with what I needed. They have collected those bags quickly from me but a week has gone by and I still have received what I was told I would.
Helpful Report
Univar Specialty Consumables is rated 4.63 based on 1,343 reviews