travellocal.com Reviews

4.90 Rating 406 Reviews
99 %
of reviewers recommend travellocal.com
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
6 - 12 Hours
Read travellocal.com Reviews

About travellocal.com:

TravelLocal is all about bespoke travel - with a difference.

We help you to create tailor-made holidays your way, with carefully selected local experts based in nearly 50 destinations worldwide. Since 2012 we have scoured the globe to find these expert companies - entrepreneurs and innovators from Argentina to Zanzibar and many countries in between.

They know your destination better than anyone. They use that knowledge to craft unforgettable trips, unique to you, that combine your ideas with their local knowledge and contacts, to bring the world to life.

You get a better, more authentic holiday experience and they get a fairer deal. And for peace of mind, we are members of ABTA and your booking is 100% financially protected.

These are reviews of the TravelLocal website and booking process. For reviews of the trips our customers have taken, please go to the TravelLocal website.

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how travellocal.com made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
travellocal.com 5 star review on 25th June 2020
Marzenna Czubowicz
travellocal.com 5 star review on 25th June 2020
Marzenna Czubowicz
travellocal.com 5 star review on 24th March 2020
Thom and Chris
travellocal.com 5 star review on 10th February 2020
John and Sylvia Cook
travellocal.com 5 star review on 14th November 2016
Rachel
travellocal.com 4 star review on 9th February 2020
Esther Eyre
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
We are happy with the support we received from Travel Local enabling us to book a holiday with a local company in Senegal. As we haven't travelled yet we cannot comment further.
Hi Roy and Lyn, thanks so much for reviewing your experience with us so far. Senegal is a fantastic destination and Abdoulaye and his team are sure to show you a memorable time. Do let us know how it all goes! All the best, the TravelLocal team.
A very effective way of engaging with a local travel agent who was knowledgeable and helpful. Booked now. Let's see how it goes!
Thanks for the review, we're glad it's been a great experience so far! Do let us know how your trip goes, we'd love to hear from you. All the best, the TravelLocal team.
I am not a computer expert and was surprised that Travellocal had a problem with their system which neither their contact abroad nor themselvs could fix. We therfore had to go back to printed communications.
Hi Ian, thanks for leaving this review. Firstly, our apologies that you experienced a technical issue when booking with us. It's a rarity, but as we're constantly developing the system, we do come across the occasional bug (which we quickly try to eradicate!) The Web Development team have worked hard to fix the issue so that it isn't a problem in future - thank you for bringing it to our attention. Secondly, we hope your trip to Sri Lanka goes wonderfully, and that you'll come back and use us again! Do let us know how it all goes. All the best, the TravelLocal team.
I was relieved to find TravelLocal whilst perusing the internet to find a travel operator for my trip to Malawi. This was because TL neatly combines exactly what I was looking for: dealing with a firm in the country, both in terms of local knowledge and supporting local business, but also with the security of booking and paying within this country.

The staff members I have dealt with both in Malawi and at TravelLocal have been excellent and very personable. I look forward to returning from the trip in January to write an even more glowing review of the actual holiday.
Thank you so much for the kind words. Malawi is such an underrated country and we're delighted you've booked to go! You'll soon see the benefits of travelling with local guides, as well as the reassurance of our availability for whatever help you may need. Do come back and let us know how it all goes! All the best, the TravelLocal team.
18th July 2018
I have recently booked a tailormade tour with travel local for the eastern side of China linked by high speed bullet trains. I have travelled in China as a tourist on five previous occasions using different companies and over several months.

So far the organisation has been prompt and has made the alterations to the suggested itinerary to fit my wishes.
What I hope for is a smooth running holiday with the company taking the strain , if there is any.
Their part of our time in China starts mid-way September.
We shall see.
Marie Schallamach
Hi Marie, thank you very much for taking the time to review. So happy you've been pleased so far and we're very keen to continue to impress you with the tour itself. Here's to a fantastic time in China come September! Remember to let us know all about it when you return. All the best, the TravelLocal team.
After a half-century of organising my own travel independently (more than 70 countries so far), I am about to take my first trip organised through Travel Local. I totally buy in to the concept of empowering local enterprises and, so far, everything has gone smoothly. The agent in Costa Rica has gone out of her way to put together a customised itinerary based on my preferences and expectations, and has been a pleasure to deal with. I am much looking forward to my visit.
Hi Darius, we're very happy you've chosen us for your first foray into customised travel! It's sure to be a brilliant trip, and with Mariana you're in good hands. Looking forward to hearing about it. All the best, the TravelLocal team
We have not gone to India yet but so far so good. We knew roughly where we wanted to go and at what time. Travel Local helped us avoid the pitfalls of booking unknown companies off the internet whilst directing some of the monies to local people in India. We changed our itinerary several times to pack as much in as possible. This was never any trouble. Skype is available and we used this to answer face to face questions before booking
Hi Robert, thank you for taking the time to review us, it's much appreciated. Our experts in India are really great and you're sure to have an incredible experience. Be sure to update us on how it went! All the best, the TravelLocal team.
They are quick to answer
Thanks very much for your review. Kind regards, the TravelLocal team.
My trip to Costa Rica was a last minute idea so booking with other companies wasn't going to work as they were either fully booked or not the right dates for us. Travel Local popped up in my searches so I decided to send in the form of what I was looking for and they got back to me ASAP. They proposed an itinerary, and a few tweaks later, I accepted it, booked it and started packing! It was all done within a week and a half, and within budget! Everything went well, on-time and reliably. I have to say, I found a gold nugget of travel options with Travel Local. I would definitely use them again and do recommend it to anyone who does not have to time to figure out the details of a trip and wants transfers organized for them as well as hotel and some activities. Good job Travel Local!
We love this review, Nathalie - thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this brilliant feedback. Costa Rica is a fantastic place and we're pleased (though not surprised!) that you had such a great time. Do think of us when planning your next trip. Kind regards, the TravelLocal team.
So far so good. The local agent we used "Story of India" and especially Nutan the lady we dealt with for our up and coming trip to India was very professional quickly understood our requirements extremely prompt in getting back to us and appears to have put together a fabulous itinerary at a fair price, and I sure the trip will live up to all our expectations.
Hi Chris,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it, and are so pleased that you have had a great experience so far. Nutan definitely knows her stuff! Her and the team are sure to show you a fantastic time in India. If you'd like to see reviews for Story of India from our previous customers, click India, then Story of India on the TravelLocal website. We'd love if you left some comments about your own trip when you return. Have a great holiday! All the best, the TravelLocal team.
Helpful with access issues to site and quick to respond. Great to know that someone that knows the country is in control of it, feels more personal. Really friendly. Love the ease of communicating about the holiday and watching the itinerary take shape.
travellocal.com is rated 4.90 based on 406 reviews