4.9 Rating 435 Reviews
99 %
of reviewers recommend
Based on 435 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
6 - 12 Hours
Read Reviews


TravelLocal is all about bespoke travel - with a difference.

We help you to create tailor-made holidays your way, with carefully selected local experts based in nearly 50 destinations worldwide. Since 2012 we have scoured the globe to find these expert companies - entrepreneurs and innovators from Argentina to Zanzibar and many countries in between.

They know your destination better than anyone. They use that knowledge to craft unforgettable trips, unique to you, that combine your ideas with their local knowledge and contacts, to bring the world to life.

You get a better, more authentic holiday experience and they get a fairer deal. And for peace of mind, we are members of ABTA and your booking is 100% financially protected.

These are reviews of the TravelLocal website and booking process. For reviews of the trips our customers have taken, please go to the TravelLocal website.

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order. 5 star review on 25th June 2020
Marzenna Czubowicz 5 star review on 25th June 2020
Marzenna Czubowicz 5 star review on 24th March 2020
Thom And Chris 5 star review on 10th February 2020
John And Sylvia Cook 4 star review on 9th February 2020
Esther Eyre 5 star review on 14th November 2016
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Had spent ages planning and booking a mega-trip to the Seychelles, South Africa and Abu Dhabi. TravelLocal had painstakingly put together the 12-day South African leg which included two safaris. Then Covid struck. We were happy to put the trip off for a year, until this April. But struggling through our third lockdown, April looked increasingly unlikely. So we asked for another extension, until October. Then the South African variance of the virus reared its ugly head and we were told the vaccine roll-out against that would not begin until the autumn. Again grounded. We were very reluctant to pull the plug on the holiday but decided to ask for our money back. TravelLocal did a wonderful job and we received a full refund. Have travelled with the company several times before and only have the strongest praise for its services. Sincerely hope TravelLocal will soon be back to normal and flourishing.
Helpful Report
Hi Sue, thank you for this lovely review! It's a shame that this latest trip to South Africa with us could not happen due to the travel restrictions, but we're glad that you were happy with the service given the difficult situation. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when we can all travel once more. All the best, the TravelLocal team
Sad we couldn't travel due to pandemic. The original booking process was exceptionally good. We have received a full refund but hope to complete our trip in 2022. Many thanks.
Helpful Report
Hi Claire, many thanks indeed for this lovely review! It is a huge shame that your trip could not go ahead this year, but we'd love to hear from you again to rearrange for 2022. All the best, the TravelLocal team.
My wife and I had booked a three week holiday in Costa Rica for December 2020, but was subsequently cancelled due to Covid. Exceptionally disappointed as Mariana had put together a great itinerary for us, after we had changed several locations. The team at Travellocal in all honesty are superb, providing us with a choice to cancel everything or suspend the holiday for up to two years. They act in a very professional manner to ensure goodwill replaces the uncertainties of today. I wish Travellocal the very best wishes to be able to continue in the future, and look forward to our trip in December with them.
Helpful Report
Hi Mark, Thank you for your review! While we are sorry that you did not get to travel to Costa Rica as planned, we are pleased to hear that you were happy with the way our partner in Costa Rica helped to plan the trip. Soon enough, travel will resume and we look forward to helping you rearrange this special trip! Best wishes TravelLocal team
I booked with Emily Downes for a Tour of Oman in March 2020. Unfortunately for me Oman was closed due to Covid While I was in transit to Dubai! Oh well. an expensive lunch with a friend there so all was Not Lost! The subsequent dozen or so fits and starts with Airlines and of course the Killer Covid intervention in our travel lives, has caused dozens of reschedules with Emily and Travel Local Omani personnel and yet their patience never waned and their continued upbeat professionalism buoyed my spirits even though the net result has been cancellation. As people they are fantastic and as Custom Organizers they are outstanding as well. I am a well traveled solo for now 40 years... I recommend them hugely.
Helpful Report
Hi Gary, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this kind review. It is such a shame that your postponed trip to Oman could not take place in the end, but we'll be ready to rearrange it again for you when the time is right. All the best, the TravelLocal team
We booked our holiday to Jordan with Travel Local and the service we received was excellent. They gave us confidence that our adventure was in good hands. Then Covid-19 struck and we cannot praise Travel Local highly enough on their service. Twice we agreed to delay our dates of travel from March 2020 to March 2021. However this month it became obvious that we would not be able to travel in March/April this year and we asked what our options would be regarding a refund. Travel Local immediately gave us the option of a further delay or a full refund. We opted for the full refund and within 10days the money was in our bank account. We cannot thank Travel Local enough for the excellent service and we will have no hesitation in booking our adventures with them in future.
Helpful Report
Hi Robert, many thanks for this lovely review - it's great to hear that our customers are happy despite this challenging time. We'll look forward to hearing from you once the time is right to rebook your trip to Jordan, and indeed other future adventures! All the best, the TravelLocal team.
Very efficient and accommodating in creating a tailored itinerary Unfortunately could not travel due to lockdown. After postponing a few times had to cancel the trip. I received excellent service and communication throughout. Would highly recommend and will definitely rebook with them once things to back to normal
Helpful Report
Hi Marco, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It's such a shame your postponed trip could not go ahead in the end, but we're glad to hear that you found the holiday planning, booking, and subsequently cancellation, service to be good - we will get you on that holiday at some point in the future, I'm sure! In the meantime, take care, and we'll look forward to hearing from you to rebook in due course. All the best, the TravelLocal team.
Mariana put together a fantastic itinerary for me for 2 weeks in Costa Rica December 2019. I really couldnt fault it for content and value. So I had decided to go back again in December 2020 to see more. Once again Mariana listened to my requirements, made suggestions and adjusted my itineraray to perfection. I was so excited to go but unfortunately Covid has now prevented that. All the staff at Travel Local have been so helpful throughout with prompt and accurate answers to my queries. They have very kindly and promptly refunded my money and I will be keeping an eye on things so that I can re-book with them as soon as possible. Thanks to all of you. Stuart
Helpful Report
Hi Stuart, thank you for this lovely review! We know Mariana and the team out in Costa Rica were so excited about your return trip and will be ready to rebook it for you once travel restrictions are lifted. We look forward to helping you with many future travels - do stay in touch! All the best, the TravelLocal team.
The staff at Travel Local have been fantastic. Very helpful when we were planning our holiday, making special arrangements and adjusting the itinerary for us. Then, when COVID-19 hit the globe they have kept in touch with us and made the cancellation process very easy.
Helpful Report
Hi Angela, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this kind review. Do stay in touch and we'll look forward to rebooking your trip as travel opens up again! All the best, the TravelLocal team.
Travel local helped me plan a fantastic tailor made holiday to Costa Rica, they listened to what we liked and planned a fantastic package. Who would have thought that Covid would change everything and we have now had to cancel for our trip this February. I was a bit nervous after hearing stories about other companies but Travel Local have been so proactive and there has been no quibbles. Once we are able to travel again I will re book with this company.
Helpful Report
Hi Carole, many thanks for this kind review. It's great to hear that you felt reassured by the way we've handled bookings affected by the pandemic. It is such a shame that your trip to Costa Rica was not able to go ahead, but we'll look forward to hearing from you to rebook once the time is right. All the best, the TravelLocal team.
From the very beginning TravelLocal made us feel confident about travelling long haul. We received expert advice from the agent in Costa Rica who showed patience and flexibility when creating our individual tour. The attention to detail and care taken were much appreciated. Sadly we have not travelled. Due to Covid restrictions, 2 trips have now been scheduled and cancelled in the last year. When it came to cancellation for the second time we decided to ask for a refund. This has been given fully and swiftly with all options carefully explained. I have no hesitation in recommending TravelLocal for the quality of booking, creating and administrating a holiday created with knowledge and care for both customers and local workers. I have no doubt that we shall return to seek out that trip when this Covid crisis is over.
Helpful Report
Hello, many thanks indeed for your kind review. We're sorry that your trip to Costa Rica hasn't been able to go ahead yet, but we'll certainly be here to help again when the time is right to rebook. It's great to hear that you agree with us that our way of doing things creates the best possible experience for both travellers and local communities in our network of destinations. All the best, the TravelLocal team
For years we have been loyal Audley customers, but we have also always liked companies who disrupt normal business models. Enter stage left Travel Local. There is nothing quite like it. To deal with local partners with local knowledge has been a real breath of fresh air but still with an excellent UK crew to support and iron out the few niggles that invariably arise. We are well travelled and incredibly clear on what we want and the types of accommodation and experiences we want to encounter. We also always want to travel, eat and live as close as possible to a authentic and local experience as possible, while still retaining good eco credentials. Travel Local and their local partners seem to just “get us” which is amazing. Sadly our February trip to Costa Rica can not go ahead due to current COVID restrictions- a trip we postponed from last year. Rather than postpone again we have no option on this occasion to cancel the trip. This has been handled swiftly and effortlessly by their phenomenal customer experience team. We are impressed We will be going away again when things settle..... We will be booking with Travel Local!
Helpful Report
Hi Gary, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! We're really pleased you find our business model and ethos so aligned with your travel preferences and style. I know our local partners in Costa Rica enjoyed putting your itinerary together and so we'll look forward to rebooking this for you when the time is right. All the best, the TravelLocal team
We found TravelLocal in 2016 when we were looking (online from Australia) for someone to organise a trip for two around the Caucasus. If I tell you we have since used them for a variety of trips, China ( March 2019) and Morocco (January 2020) for the two of us, Cuba with our daughter and son-in-law (February 2020) and a truly memorable month in June 2018 when we returned to the Caucasus with a group of 11 dfriends - I’m sure you will appreciate just how highly we regard them. In each and every one of those trips we experienced the very best service we could have hoped for, with every consideration for what we asked for, all delivered within our budget and with wonderful attention to detail and special requests. June 2020 was to have taken us back to the Caucasus, 12 friends together for another month - we had every expectation of another truly great trip, but it was not to be. We initially planned a postponement - same time frame, samesesssssss itinerary, June 2021 - and then 2022! but as the months wore on it became obvious there could be no certainty in this actually happening and, with great reluctance, we decided we had no option but to cancel. The response from TravelLocal could not have been bettered. Within days of that decision being made, our cancellation and the full return of our deposits was confirmed. We were advised of the date the refund would be processed, and it landed in our bank on that day. Knowing how incredibly difficult this last year has been for the travel industry worldwide, and the difficulties so many companies have had in dealing with millions of unhappy travellers, I can only say I have found TravelLocal’s response to have been exemplary, but then - from all the things we have done together in the past (and hope to do in the future) I had no doubt that this would be so.
Helpful Report
Hi Lesley and Julian, thank you so much for this glowing review! We love hearing from you to help with all your adventures around the world. It's a shame that the latest group trip to Georgia cannot go ahead but we'll look forward to rearranging it for you when the time is right. It's a real pleasure working with our loyal repeat customers like yourselves. All the best, the TravelLocal team
Travel local arranged my trip in 2019 to Costa Rica. We were looked after from designing the itinerary based on our needs and the team in CRs expertise. We were called from UK office before we left to check that we were happy with everything. They even met us when we arrived and presented a bag of goodies to use. I have never had that service, it was wonderful. They knew their country so well from a tourism perspective. The trip surpassed our expectations. We booked a trip to Namibia this Autumn which again was designed well within our plan of what/ when best to see the areas and animals, the team understand it so well as they are local. Unfortunately we have had to postpone until next year but TL booked everything again speedily so that we are ready to go next Autumn. We declined the repayment of our deposit as we really want to go and to keep tourism healthy. Kind regards Caroline
Helpful Report
Hi Caroline, thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled that you had such a fabulous time in Costa Rica thanks for our amazing local experts out there, and it's great that you already have Namibia booked in for next year. Your willingness to postpone instead of cancelling indeed does help all those who work in travel and is much appreciated. All the best, the TravelLocal team
Hi. This Kendall. Travel local is amazing. They worked with me constantly and prepared a fantastic trip to Jordan - it had to be canceled due to co-vid but they have rebooked me for April 2021. They always responded to questions , worked to make it work for me. They are prompt , courteous and so competent I encourage anyone to use them. Kendall natvig
Helpful Report
Hi Kendall, thank you so much for such a glowing review! We're really pleased you've enjoyed your holiday planning experience with us, even with having to postpone your trip. It will be worth the wait! All the best, the TravelLocal team
Unfortunately due to Covid we have had to cancel our trip scheduled for 1st October. Not able to comment on the trip. However they have kept us informed all along and we will certainly hope to rebook if and when "normal" returns.
Helpful Report
Hi Angela, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review - we're looking forward to hearing from you in order to rebook your cancelled trip whenever you are ready. All the best, the TravelLocal team
We had a holiday booked to Indonesia with Travel Local in July 2020, a wonderful itinerary across Bali and Komodo. We had great input in getting the itinerary just right, so it was very disappointing to have to cancel it. Travel local helpfully delayed the balance payment date to see if conditions might change, but when it became clear we had to cancel, they were very understanding and our money was refunded without any delay or questions. We were very impressed at all stages and will definitely be using them again for a trip in 2021, fingers crossed.
Helpful Report
Hi Helen Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review - it is much appreciated. We are pleased that you were happy with the service from our team but sorry that you were not able to travel as planned. We hope that you will be able to get to Bali and Komodo soon! We will be very happy to help in the future. All the best TravelLocal team
Unfortunately due to Covid 19 our dream holiday to Bhutan had to be cancelled. We were devastated as we had spent a lot of time researching and planning the trip with Travel locals help and it was to celebrate my wife and my 50th Birthday. Unlike other travel companies we had holidays booked with in 2020 Travel Local refunded us our money immediately and were so helpful. We will 100% be visiting Bhutan in the future and we will 100% book with Travel Local and No one else. Cant speak highly enough of this travel company and its staff
Helpful Report
Hi Sean Thank you very much for your review. It is such a shame that you were not able to visit Bhutan as planned for your wife's and your 50th Birthday. We hope that you will be able to travel soon as it really is a wonderful country. We are glad that you were happy with our handling of your cancellation and hope to help you with your travels in the future! All the best TravelLocal team
TravelLocal organised my 10 day trip to Uzbekistan for March 2020, which unfortunately had to be cancelled. Beforehand, the company was very good tailoring the trip to my requirements and then, when the borders closed, Olga in Tashkent was quick to communicate the changing situation with me. I also received a promptly paid full refund. Thank you. I’ll definitely be using TravelLocal again.
Helpful Report
Thank you for your review! While we are sorry that you did not get to travel as planned, we are pleased to hear that you were happy with the way our partner in Tashkent handled your cancellation. We hope you can travel with us soon! Best wishes TravelLocal team
"The travel company you want to work with if a crisis hits"". I used Travellocal for planning 2 holidays. First in Costa Rica in 2019 (painless, amazing, knowledgeable) and second in South Africa in April 2020. Of course COVID hit in April and Travellocal handled this with great care, professionalism and amazing customer service. We received a 100% refund...honestly unheard during this crisis! They were so professional and trustworthy... unbelievable!! I am now considering our 2021 holiday and my only destination will be Travellocal to book this.
Helpful Report
Hi Bill, thank you very much for this lovely review and your repeat custom. The team in South Africa can't wait to rearrange your trip in due course, but at least for now you have some fabulous memories of Costa Rica! All the best, the TravelLocal team
Excellent service from TravelLocal throughout, and would not hesitate to use their service and guidance again. We are 3 adults, with intention to travel round Peru, culminating in the Inca Trail. TravelLocal’s advisor in Peru (Chaska Tours) listened to our requirements of what we did, and did not, want, and put an itinerary together which suited us exactly, and selected accommodation which we were very pleased with and good value. Our communication to TravelLocal was always replied to quickly and helpfully. Highly recommend
Helpful Report
Hi Irene, many thanks indeed for this lovely review! It is a huge shame that your trip could not go ahead this year, but we'd love to hear from you again to rearrange in due course. All the best, the TravelLocal team. is rated 4.91 based on 435 reviews