Travel Republic Reviews

1.69 Rating 140 Reviews
16% of reviewers recommend Travel Republic

Write Your review

Tell us how Travel Republic made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
communication channels
Over a week
queries resolved in
"I booked a hotel for June. Then needed to cancel. Phoned and told had to cancel on line and pay £40. There is a tab on their site, saying cancel, this takes you to another page, customer service. You then have to select a topic from a drop down, none for cancel, so selcted need to change booking. I gave a detailed explainstion. Response took a week. Told to select xancel booking. The complaint was then closed. Started again, was told they tried to call, but could not confirm what number they had called. Again closed conversation. Third time, told to go into pay balance and change amount to the cancellation fee. This worked, however, it was the third time of asking and no explaination as to the purpose of the cancel booking tab and no apology. Again the issue was closed so I could mot respond, hence complaining here in the hope others will read my experience. Just wish I had found this page before booking with them. And they deducted a further charge from the payment, which had never been mentioned. Avoid!"
Posted 3 days ago
"We had booked transport in Tenerife return from airport. Worst experience ever! We were collected at 6.20AM and what would be a 40-50min drive to the airport turned into a 2.5 hour drive around various places to collect people, total disregard and lack of organization. Never ever book with them again, holidays or transports"
Posted 4 days ago
"By far the worse holiday company I have ever dealt with, I used this company and I paid them but when I went to an infested and disgusting hotel they did nothing to help me, they told me all other hotels were booked up and they could not move or assist me, I became violently ill eating the food on one night that we couldn’t eat there anymore, we would wake up to find cockroaches walking around our room and for my children’s sake we went to another hotel at our own expense, we lost the money we had paid and only benefited from the flights. After arguing for a year with them they have informed me that they are abta registered but the provider they used and the hotel we went to our not. We have lost thousands of pounds and they have not assisted or reimbursed us a penny! Shocking that this company could do this and get away with it, I would never use them again and strongly recommend that you avoid these con artists and go with a reputable company"
Posted 6 days ago
"I wanted to manage my hotel booking online and amend my stay to one day less. No other changes. I could not do this without sending a message to customer support. The system would not allow me to make changes myself as you can with booking.com etc. Travel republic took four days to respond! Even then the response only indicated that my request was being processed. I phoned customer support to complain about the delay. Customer support apologised and took my details. But it took a further three days to get the booking amendment completed. And then I was charged an amendment fee of £25 despite my amendment being made almost two months before I was due to stay at the hotel. Next time I will use booking.com it’s easier, there is no charge for amendments and you can do it yourself."
Posted 1 week ago
"Well no room at the inn second time around .. will not use you again...travel Republic leave you stranded"
Posted 3 weeks ago
"You will pay 50% more for your bookings!! Avoid Booking EUF/17508990. I was charged £150 more for the hotel and almost £90 more for my car rental all booked through travelrepublic. Hertz rates for a 4x4 was £11 a day for 4 days and I was charged £132 excluding insurance (£60). Hotel rates for my room was £50 a day for 4 days and Travelrepublic charged me £336 for 4 days. Please Book you holiday directly with the airline and car hire company to avoid paying extreme amounts for no reason. No not even to my worst enemy."
Posted 1 month ago
"Fab online booking agent buy no trouble for you to call if in doubt as I was this time didn't book transfer now have a mobile line too used them for 6 yrs so far"
Posted 1 month ago
"Booked a flight only to be called by a very rude lady at Travel Republic hours later telling us the airline had put the price up by £180. No apology for advertising flights at the wrong price or anything ! Needless to say we cancelled and booked elsewhere."
Posted 1 month ago
"Suggest you do not book transfers via Travel Republic. I have booked hotels and flights via travel republic before but never transfers until my last trip. I booked a speedy transfer, paying a premium for this but what should have been a 25 minute transfer was nearly two hours as we were the last of 16 stops. Have complained to Travel Republic but they are disputing what I say."
Posted 2 months ago
"I booked a hotel at least three weeks in advance and even paid in full to fully secure the booking. I had picked the Mercure hotel as I was hoping to use the spa the next day. We arrived at the hotel around 1800 ahead of the 2100 concert we were going to attend. Our excitement was quickly cut short when the hostess informed me our booking did not exist at all and furthermore that they were fully booked understandably it was Christmas party season and Def leppard's home gig in Sheffield. Hotels around were now either fully booked or going for high prices. The stress was escalated by the customer service assistant from travel republic was suggesting it was unlikely we would get out money back !! The Mercure hotel staff were kind enough to call around and find us a hotel but it was in the neighbouring town . It costs us so muchore for a room on the day and even more on taxis as the Venue was now even further from the hotel for the night. I got a refund eventually and what felt like a terrible apology passing blame. I was to receive a call or email with a complain form now several months later nothing . I am warning all my friends and reviewing travel republic . Do not book with them unless you like disappointments . Terrible service . Never again."
Posted 2 months ago
"I booked with them in September 2017, reading all of these poor reviews sounds like nothing has changed. The customer service was so bad I have not be abroad since. When a problem occurs they do not answer the phone or put you on hold until you get fed up waiting."
Posted 2 months ago
"we booked a king suit, paid for a king suit(almost double of normal double room), recieved the confirmation and our voucher by email as king suit, then in hotel they gave us normal double room which was sllf of the price we paid. this was due to IT bug in travelrepublic webdite which they admired. instead they offer to refund the differences between tge price we oaid and wuth normal suit, they offered insulting 150 pounds, but we had paid extra 1000 for tgat room. i am now compaining through my bank to have my money back. avoid"
Posted 3 months ago
"We had a problem with our accommodation on holiday last month but Travel Republic listened to the problem and sorted it out positively and reasonably quickly. Very happy with their service and the outcome."
Posted 3 months ago
"Booked a holiday and while travelling it was cancelled due to their incompetent services. They use a company called Sun Hotels who over booked and cancelled whilst I was on my flight. They have had my money and really don’t give a monkeys even though I was told I would get a full refund. Am utterly disgusted....... what was meant to be relaxing was far from it, the stress caused by this was unforgivable"
Posted 3 months ago
"Booked a hotel through travel republic in march 18 to Sardinia for 20th wedding anniversary. On arrival at hotel was told by receptionist that there had been a flood in the room a plumbing problem, so no available room. We were stranded in Sardinia no where to stay it was high season everywhere was fully booked and we didnt speak Italian and we found that alot of Sardinias could not speak English, It was late evening and ended up having to hire a car to drive to budoni only hotel we could find. Far away from our chosen holiday destination. Then after multiple contacts and complaints to travel republic they said they would investigate and said the hotel had been over booked and they wasnt informed, Then i tried to escalate my complaint to ABTA to find out that Travel Republic had used a third company Hotel Reservation service who are not ABTA protected. Holiday from hell thanks to Travel Republic. Be very careful using this company , HRS has offered me €144 refund , Its a joke this doesnt even cover the car rental cost . Stay Clear of this company unless you want to be stranded in a foreign country"
Posted 3 months ago
"i booked a seaview room but never got it contacted TR on my return and sent them photos of the view .After weeks of emails they informed me that the booking agent WORLDS2MEET said my claim was false and refused to do anything else and closed the case.They never even looked at the photos because its clear that we never had a seaview.ANOTHER CASE OF PROFIT BEFORE PEOPLE"
Posted 4 months ago
"I tried after 3 days of booking to cancel my booking. And they told me I had to pay for the entire holiday and that it was non refundable, that’s rubbish, they are a fraud company. Travel republic are the most stupidest rubbish company to book a holiday. And if you are smart you would steer clear of a company like this."
Posted 4 months ago
"I have booked hotels with Travel Republic for a few years but with problems linked to my last two hotel booking I have moved to another provider. In October this year I booked a hotel in Spain on TR website and paid the full amount by debit card. I did not receive a Hotel Voucher so rang the firm and was told that my selected hotel was not available. I then booked another hotel with TR. Later I was told over the phone that the hotel I had originally booked was available so I returned to my original booking. Again on 2nd November 2018 I booked a hotel on line to Malta and received a Hotel Voucher. On 12 November 2018 I was informed that the Hotel I booked was not available and another hotel was selected for me by TR. That is just a week before my departure on 19.11.18 and 10 days after my receiving a hotel Voucher. I then directly contacted the Hotel and I was told that the hotel had not received a request for a booking under my name although they had a vacancy at that time for my 10 days stay. I then cancelled my booking with TR and have asked for a full refunds. I am going to Malta with another Travel Firm. All this has left me with extra work and much waste of my time with changing hotels, airport transfers, shifting appointments and the rest."
Posted 4 months ago
"Through TR I booked and paid for a suite with sea view room in Lanzarote for my partners birthday, when I arrived at the hotel they advised that the booking made by TR's booking company Gullivers Travel was for a double room even though my booking documents showed a sea view suite. The hotel was fully booked so they couldn't move us, they advised that this had happend several times before. Clearly rooms are being falsely advertised. Travel Republic blamed their booking agent Gullivers Travel and also claimed that GT were not responding to my complaint. TR refunded the difference between a suite and sea view room and offered £100 compensation but the experience put a real dampner on the holiday. It seems TR knowingly do business with companies that falsley advertise, I certainly won't use them again!"
Posted 4 months ago
"AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS. Booked a package holiday to Greece and when got to the hotel were told that the hotel has been overbooked therefore our room was not available. We were absolutely shocked as we have booked this holiday 3 months in advance and also paid for more expensive luxury options for our stay. Called customer support from abroad but received zero help!!! Travel Republic left us all alone and with no accommodation at a very late hour in a foreign country. We also had to find alternative accommodation at premium prices all by ourselves. A few days into our holiday, they told us we will get a refund once we return back to the UK however after following all their complaint policies and procedures, received no refund or compensation (it's been a couple months since we returned). They completely ruined our holiday and caused us ongoing stress since we got back. TRAVEL REPUBLIC ARE THIEVES: they will not only steal your money and not give you what you paid for but will also put you in dangerous situations abroad."
Posted 4 months ago
Travel Republic is rated 1.69 based on 140 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support