Timpson Reviews

2.42 Rating 24 Reviews
33% of reviewers recommend Timpson
740 Review Views (past 24 hours)
7PM - 9PM
94 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
36 Review Views
11PM - 1AM
20 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
39 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
38 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
41 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
61 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
36 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
37 Review Views
1PM - 3PM
35 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
77 Review Views
5PM - 7PM
226 Review Views
1 New Reviews Written
7PM
7PM
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Timpson made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Live Chat
communication channels
"Timpsons in Morrisons Basingstoke avoid avoid avoid. Took my wedding dress in yesterday to be ironed ready for my wedding day bear in mind my wedding dress hasn’t been worn apart from trying it on kept in storage since it was purchased. Got a call saying there was blue dye on the dress and drink stains. I went to have a look at the dress they have ruined my wedding dress the blue dye is in the shape of an iron print but they deny it has come from their iron or ironing board and the drinks stains must of been on there before I handed the dress over. Luckily I took pics of the dress before handing it over and all I got in reply from the manager is well you wouldn’t see the stains or dye on the pictures as it’s not noticeable. Well it is visible cos I have bloody blue dye stain on my unworn made to measure wedding dress !!!!! Brought dress home with me won’t let them take dress away for testing or dry cleaning as I have no faith in my wedding dress coming back to me before my big day or in 1 piece. Now I have to find a dry cleaner who can hopefully fix my wedding dress in time for my wedding, 1 very angry and unhappy customer and bride to be."
Helpful Report
Posted 38 minutes ago
Are you Timpson? No one is perfect. Reply to this negative review and show your potential customers that you value the feedback Timpson receives and that when things do go wrong, you do your best to put things right. Reply Free
"I would give 0 stars if I could! Absolutely disgusting company. Engraved a watch for my Fathers 60th Birthday and damaged it in the process. A brand new Skyhawk Citizen watch that they gouged twice trying to repair it after they damaged it initially. Admitted liability but now they know how much they need to spend to replace they are trying to fob me off with a cheque that will not cover the replacement! Having to continue now with legal action against them to get my Fathers 60th Birthday present replaced, which was actually in October, 3 months to get to this point! Very poor show Timpsons, will never use these cowboys again and suggest others not to either!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
"Refused to cut my car key fob because I bought it online. They would happily charge me £50 + for them to supply and program though!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
"Pour service .always care only for money and never for customers Everything is overpriced Such a bad service They don't worth a penny"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"My wife took her expensive Skagen watch into Timpsons Tesco Fulbourn Cambs for a new battery to be fitted, they charged her £9.45 and guaranteed the battery for 1 year. big deal as all batteries last for over a year. BUT THERE WAS ANOTHER PROBLEM. The little knob that moves the hands would not pull out, the Timpsons employee mentioned this when he handed the watch back to her. I then took the watch back and the same guy was still there, he told me that all he did was to replace the battery, and the winder was seized before he worked on it. That was rubbish as it was working OK just that the battery had failed. The operative took the back off, took out winder, blew dust out with a puffer, and assembled it again, the winder then worked. Operative said there was a piece of dirt in it!! Poor workmanship, and expensive. If you want a battery replaced go to a proper jeweler or watch repairer. Won't be using Timpsons again."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"I've very happy with my experience at this branch thanks to the exemplary service I received from Dean Fisher. He was attentive, and accommodated my many questions. He managed to source the correct batteries to fit my Hawke IR 4-16x50mm AO Rifle scope, despite it not having standard fittings in the battery compartment. I've not shopped with Timpson before, but I will definitely return to this branch in future. Thank you very much!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Went in to the Reading branch with two watches that needed new batteries, one ladies watch one gents. I asked how much the batteries would be and the price was £4.95 for the ladies and £53 (YES £53!) for the gents one! I said I'd have to think about it. So I went to an independent jewellers in Caversham who charged £8.50 for doing the two watches. AND just to show that Timpson are con artists, both the watches have the same type of battery! So the moral of the story is go to your local jewellers for watch batteries."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I had the battery on my fossil watch replaced in April 2017. I paid for a long lifetime guarantee and a card was issued to me reflecting this. Last month my watch stopped working so I took it back to Timpsons , the same store in Ealing Broadway , to replace the battery. The person at the counter looked at my card and said he could not help me as the card that was issued to me states it was a Pulsar watch that I had initially brought in. I tried explaining that I don't own a Pulsar, in fact no one in my family owns a Pulsar watch. I am wondering if this is a deliberate scam used by Timpsons to save them money. I will not be going back there again .. customers please beware , check what is written on the card before you leave the store. A total rip off."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I have had two really negative experiences with the Dunstable branch of this store. I went into this store to ask if they could cut a security key for me to give to my son. The security key code card had faded and the numbers were not all discernible but the man in this branch said it was not needed and that it would cost £25 to cut. I asked him how often the keys worked - in other words, were they ever cut incorrectly. He looked at me quizzically and said no. Very few customers he said had to return to the store due to mistakes. As far as I was concerned the cost of getting this key cut was expensive so I wanted it done correctly. My son used the key on three occasions and on the fourth occasion - last week - the key got stuck in the door. This happened at about 8pm. I was frantic thinking that I was going to have to call out a locksmith to pay for a new lock. Eventually after about 20 minutes of tugging using pliers it came out bent. The next day I phoned the same store to tell the man what had happened and he was very defensive and said that my son must have damaged the key for it not to have worked on the fourth occasion. My son is not a child. He is a grown man and every other key he has works perfectly fine. I took the flawed key to another Timpson store which was a store and not a portakabin. Two of the staff there thoroughly examined the key and showed me that the key had not been cut correctly. They outlined the flaws to me and told me to return to the Dunstable branch and show them what they had shown me. I went back to the portakabin store yesterday and there was a different man. He was also combative and tried to say that the key must have been damaged by my son even after I showed him the cutting flaws which had been pointed out to me. He also said to me "The key is bent". I responded "I already told you the key was bent from the minutes spent trying to pull it out of the door with pliers". He then asked for my receipt to issue a refund. When I gave him the receipt he asked for a second receipt to prove I had bought a key. The receipt I had given him was the only receipt given to me which had the words "Timpson on and the price - £25". He then asked why I had paid £25 for the key when it was £20. I simply could not believe it. He had a Timpson receipt in front of him and rather than query why I had been overcharged - fraudulently it seems - he queried why I had paid £25 (as if I was in control of determining what the price should be). Then when i presented my credit card - he said "That wasn't the credit card you used to buy the key". My jaw fell. It was clearly the same credit card. He simply had not read the last four numbers properly. One problem after another after another. Firstly the store said they had a no quibble return policy if something is faulty. No they do not - they blame the customer for their shoddy workmanship and want to battle you in order not to provide a refund. Then they overcharge you for the key and then query why you were charged £5 more as if you forced the shop worker to charge you more! This shop also cut a security key which I now understand that are not permitted to do without with the key code or proof of tenancy. Then they query the very receipt that they have given you. I will never use this store again. Never!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"The high street robbers Timpson tried to pull our pants down over the price of some keys. Luckily I found Replacement Keys online and had the keys sent the very next working day. Key prices are much much cheaper than Timpson. Well worth visiting replacementkeys.co.uk for all your keys !"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Polite, helpful, knowledgeable and efficient. Shoe repairs ready to the timescale agreed. Prices competitive."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Nice chap in the shop but the soles on my shoes were just poorly done. Started to peel off after one day. I noticed that the surfaces had not been crazed to aid purchase and the glue had been thinly applied and was just tacky. A two minute job cost £23. I returned and the shoes were re-done but I have little faith in the long term. In the future I will find an independent cobbler or do it myself. Typical of standards in the UK as large store chains move in."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I left a full job to work for these jokers Where I worked was a busy store in Telford did everything apart from car key cutting enjoyed going to work there the people who I worked with were lovely the manager at the sainsburys telford who i worked with Rob is a credit to the company the area managers(Adam, Daz ) for the Shropshire area are stuck up and power hungry they do not give you any appraisal they have no compassion for anyone or no empathy considering Timpsons is ment to take you in like your part of the family if you have them to dont bother joining timpsons... The things they expect you to learn in the time frame of one month is unrealistic they give you a booklet for things you should know by each week yet when your getting tested your getting tested for the the hole section... I was told I would be give 4 days to re tested if I failed my contract would be terminated and I was told the publicly everyone could hear I got over half right in the test but because I got 3 questions wrong the test was stopped even tho I said to carry on I passed everything in the practical the area manager expect me to do the ordering of stock as a trainee as on the day of my test we did not have the write colour solo in for the type of shoe and he was like" iv know for so long and I havent bothered to have it ordered" that was and I said" it will do" meaning to show that I can do the practical and he put down in his notes "I am flipping stuff off" the other area manager was no help either they stick together and back each other up they at like bullies in a play ground shocking they should be watched... Also the admin paid me extra by mistake and was threatening court action even tho they was the ones not doing there job right Other than the poor management it was good pay is anit rubbish but training you get fuel paid up front and lunch"
3 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Shocking service, took a sofa cover to be cleaned as red wine was spilt on it, they said with confidence it could be removed went to collect 3 days later asked if it was successful they guy serving us said well if there’s no ticket on there to say it’s been unsuccessful it will be fine, got home had a look at the sofa cover it looked terrible, went back and they didn’t over a refund, I was just basically told it is what it is and they tried, he told me to go get some vanish stain remover! Terrible company will never use them again,"
3 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"went to Timpson outside sainsbury's in Farlington near Portsmouth. they cut a couple of keys and I bought a couple of keyrings. they were super helpful and efficient. many thanks."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Ruined my Ted Baker Jacket. Broken zip, scrubbed out fabric and lost button. They did an 'independent report' and they take no responsibility, blaming Ted Baker. Cost me £12.50 to destroy a £200 jacket!"
3 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Second time this has happened (If it dont fit bring it back) other shops manage to make it fit first time why cant Timpsons. Then you do take it back and they ask for your receipt (you dont need a receipt if you can prove purchase and as retailers they should know that."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"By giving me a spare key for my car and assisting me with putting my mind at ease"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Timpsons at Sainsbury's orbital great service -had my daughters iPhone screen fitted in 45 minutes - friendly reliable service by the young man who served me 😊"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Very quick battery change in both watch and car keys"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Timpson is rated 2.42 based on 24 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support