Thomson Holidays Reviews

2.41 Rating 41 Reviews
34% of reviewers recommend Thomson Holidays

How would you rate Thomson Holidays?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need a working email address to verify that your review is genuine.

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

41 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
Graham Lodge
0/10 ! For 30 days since booking a holiday with Tui I have tried (on their Suggestion) to amend and upgrade my holiday on my personal Tui online account. Tui give prices for all options next to the 'apply button'. Every time I chose the options my holiday is increased by the wrong amount by over £200 ! For 30 days I have had hours of telephone conversations with 'customer' service & managers. At the end of every conversation they can't/won't explain why this happens and tell me someone will be in touch to do this within 72 hours (this never happens). I have send numerous emails and occasionally receive a reply long after 72 hours which bares no resemblance to my compliant. I have screen shots and a video of clicking the prices given and the wrong amount applied to the final total. I have told Tui and they won't explain why they do this. All the information I have has now been sent to Trading Standards and Abta who are advising me. I have used First Choice, Thomson now Tui for years and have never be treaded so badly. I will update or remove this review if Tui finally resolve my the issues as I think this only fair.

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about Thomson Holidays in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
Graham Lodge
Verified Reviewer
"0/10 ! For 30 days since booking a holiday with Tui I have tried (on their Suggestion) to amend and upgrade my holiday on my personal Tui online account. Tui give prices for all options next to the 'apply button'. Every time I chose the options my holiday is increased by the wrong amount by over £200 ! For 30 days I have had hours of telephone conversations with 'customer' service & managers. At the end of every conversation they can't/won't explain why this happens and tell me someone will be in touch to do this within 72 hours (this never happens). I have send numerous emails and occasionally receive a reply long after 72 hours which bares no resemblance to my compliant. I have screen shots and a video of clicking the prices given and the wrong amount applied to the final total. I have told Tui and they won't explain why they do this. All the information I have has now been sent to Trading Standards and Abta who are advising me. I have used First Choice, Thomson now Tui for years and have never be treaded so badly. I will update or remove this review if Tui finally resolve my the issues as I think this only fair."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Andrew P KIRK
Unverified Reviewer
"Nothing short of CRIMINAL. Prohibited from boarding the plane, May 05 2009, this due to the criminals actions of then B.loody A.bominable A.irport Now Heathrow Airport Holidings, (inclusive of Southampton, Glasgow and Aberdeen and their conspirators, Strathclydes Cuntstabularies P.lebian and /or P.erjuring C.onstasfools. this because of my t-shirt which stated same adding www.GatewayToHell.net/ whilst simultaneously disseminating www.DLRM & www.NMRM, leaflets to an overwhelming majority of receptive, grateful repcipients. Then arrested outwith their shop Elgin for demonstrating about same, hauled before the Sheriff (of 'Nottingham') at Absurdistan Law Courts. This for having the temerity to demonstrate about as such outwith Aberdeens/Dyce Airport where upon during the recess, I did same outwith the courts of 'justice, prior to being acquitted, by Sheriff TIERNEY, (as reported 04 11 09, in the Express) but as is ever the case for innocents, denied justice as no compensation was forthcoming, for wasted, time, trouble & expense, by both Thomson HELLidays nor The State Police Lord Justice SEDLEY had earlier said, at the High Court of Appeal, London, 23 07 1999, "Freedom to speak in-offensively was not worth having." As cited in The Times Law Reports, 28 07 1999. But as judge TAYLOR said, 28 09 1999, at Teesside Crown Court, "People are entitled to express an opinion in this country." This as cited in The Evening Gazette, 28 & 29 09 17. But all this was lost on the aforementioned halfwits. "There is no justice in this world, in or out of court." Clarence DARROW attorney at law. "Some actions can never be hidden by a smokescreen, for they advertise their stupidity & iniquity in (blue) neon light." said, toxicologists, Prof Pietro CROCE, former Vivisector, author of Vivisection or Science: testing drugs & safeguarding health. "Where the environment is stupid, prejudiced or cruel, it is of merit to be out harmony with it." Bertrand RUSSEL Mathematician, MP & Philosopher. "Better to be trampled out by the asses hooves than be the thing of which asses minds approve." John MORESFIELD. Like vivisectors, politicians & The Law, both Procurator Fools & The C.riminals P.ersecution 'S.ervice' they Thomson HELLidays, are getting away with murder. Is this why Thomson Holidays, re-branded as TUI, BAA as Heathrow Airport Holdings, Strathclyde Police as Police Scotland? Didn't they know, you can't make a silk purse out of a pigs ear (and that un-like their arresting officers of the law, State Prosecutors, Glasgow & Aberdeen, Airports Staff, Thomsons Representatives, and most of their passengers, pigs are highly sensitive & intelligent creatures as are the none human primates, by those at Heathrow Airport Holidings Vivisectors_politicians_and_the_law_are_murderers@hotmail.com, The_law_is_worse_than_criminal_and_a_law_unto_itself@outlook.com,"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"My brother booked a holiday for the four of us with Thompson Holidays. My baggage was damaged and I filled out relevant forms at the airport. We booked with Thompson but they used Volotea flights. Thompson refused to replace luggage and said it was the airline responsibility. Airline would not replace as they said we did not have the correct confirmation number which we were unable to get from Thompson. Every time I wrote to Thompson they replied to my brother as he was the lead passenger which was most annoying. Why didn't they deal with me. I sent all baggage labels and boarding passes to both Thompson and Volotea but that was not enough. The holiday was booked through Thompson so surely they are liable. I will. Not be booking with them again. Also our pick up coach only just allowed enough time for us to get to the airport on our return and we almost missed our return flight."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We didn't like our hotel in Kos and when we complained about the issues I felt the Thompson rep at the hotel only listened to our issues but nothing was actually done. I was asked to sign a waver form on the last day of our holiday but refused. On our return I complained to Thompsons directly which was a complete waste of time. Thompson took months to respond after an initial email. Their response was incorrect but when I sent another email explaining their findings were incorrectly Thompsons had even more time to reply and when they did it was the same response as before. I will never book another holiday with Thompsons or First Choice (TU) I don't like the way the conduct themselves or handle complaints however it feels good to know I will never recommend them or they will get another penny of my money."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"You subcontracted my flight. My luggage was damaged beyond repair, the subcontracted company wont answer my correspondence. I was your customer I hold you responsible. Yuor statement its not our fault or responsibilty is not acceptable, in future I'll use an alternative tour operator. I am 5 times a year TUI customer. You have lost my business!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Karen in the barry store was amazing with me and my boyfreind. As this was my first holiday alone without family but karen was very helpful and surportive finding us the best deal"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"The worst customer service I have ever experienced. I have booked many holidays over the years with Thomson and have never really had cause to contact their customer services after a holiday. After returning from our last trip to Sensatori Tenerife, we were advised in resort by the Thomson representative to claim our money back for having to change our room due to excessive amounts of mould in our room all over the pictures, walls and A/C vents. The hotel was insistent that 440 euros were paid to move to a room that was mould free and I was told by the Thomson resort rep that they could only contribute half in resort and I'd have to pay and claim the other 220 euros back when we got home. After corresponding with Thomson over the past two months, I keep on getting the same reply each time saying that they are NOT prepared to pay. After paying £7000 for this holiday, I can only say that I am disgusted by their customer service and complete lack honesty from their representative. I have been lied to and can guarantee that we will NEVER book another holiday with Thomson (TUI) ever again. SHAME ON YOU TUI"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
BRIAN MITCHESON
Unverified Reviewer
"Can not get a answer after almost 6 months why my price increased, contacted pre-travel no help at all can not answer, sent all e.mail copies to David Burling CEO no reply so sent him a e.mail still no reply, sent FriedrichJoussen a e.mail STIIL no reply, ASKED CARES@THOMSON A E.MAIL say can not help. WHY CAN NO BODY AT THOMSONS GIVE MY A ANSWER BRIAN MITCHESON"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Both our excusion trips booked through thompson were disasterous... one was sold as the wrong trip (we were told we would be hiking through rainforests and up volcanoes etc instead we sat on a coach for 7 hours touring different towns!!) And the second trip was a whale watching tour that was terribly dangerous due to rough seas (the crew even said the trip should have been cancelled) we didnt see any whales, dolphins etc just everyone sat down throwing up the whole trip!!! Out of 30 on the trip only 2 people were not sick! The glass bottom section stank of fuel and one lady hit her head on the entrance as she was being chucked around by the rough waves as it was impossible to stand let alone walk. Customer service is none existant as we were refused our money back and were not een given a sorry or an explanation!!!!!! Disgusting company we will not be booking again!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"A corporation that has got too big and does not care about customers. Haven't bothered to deal with the following at all: We booked an excursion on the advice of rep Amy to a nighttime festival in Positano that had a firework display. It was heavily endorsed as the excursion to do with Amy saying that she wanted to go on it herself. We were told we were very lucky to have been there that particular week and should definitely go on the trip. We paid for a family of 4 £220. However the problems included: - the advert told us it was an open top boat called the Blitz. What turned up to take us was a ferry. - We stood around on the dock for an hour with nowhere to sit, before we could get on having been transferred far too early. - The ferry was cramped. There was indoor seating but the windows were too dirty to see out of and there were many elderly on the boat. - the outside standing areas were noisy, dirty, smelly and cramped. - the crew were under the influence of alcohol and brazenly drinking in front of us. - the toilet facilities were disgusting, no toilet paper or soap provided. - We arrived at the harbour of Positano one hour before the firework display and left standing on the boat. - the display lasted 10 minutes. - there was no commentary to explain what the festival was about. - the return trip was 45 minutes yet we'd been kept on this ferry for 3 1/2 hours unnecessarily. - we learned that there had been fireworks in Sorrento that night as well which we cold have watched for free. This makes the excursion seem even more of a ruse to just make money out of us. On return Amy (who did not join the trip and instead had chosen to watch them from her flat in Sorrento!) admitted that we had been missold a product. Despite this excursion being run for the first time there was no Thomson presence on it, nor it would seem had anyone thoroughly looked into the planning and execution of this trip beforehand. There was a lot of confusion when we got back to shore about which bus we should go on. We were moved from one bus to another and then back again! The excursion was a massive let down for our family. We work hard and save hard in the year in order to be able to enjoy our holiday. Normally we are happy with the service Thomson provide. This was one of two excursions we bought from you. I know that there is considerable mark up on excursions when we buy from you. I know for example that the other tour we bought from you at a total of £360 could have been purchased at £200 directly in the town of Sorrento. But I accept that in return for higher price comes the the promise of a good trip. In this instance it has not proved to be. The timing of the excursion also put it at the centre of our week in more ways than one. Because of the cost and late hour of the trip we decided on the day of it to have a quiet day at the pool, followed by another one the day after. The impact therefore on our holiday was more than just financial but took a chunk from our week long holiday. We also had no more money to pay for other excursions having spent what we had saved. I am concerned that when we first raised this issue (as did many others) with Amy, she kept saying that it was not Thomson's responsibility. Furthermore, when we visited your office in Sorrento to express this concern, my wife was put on the phone to talk to someone called Kate. When my wife explained that we were put on the ferry and we knew we should have had the Blitz, at first, Kate denied there being another boat, it was only when we said we had taken a picture of the poster advertising it that she admitted that there should have been an open air boat, that they had sold too many tickets due to the interest in the trip and they had changed the boat at the last minute. It is concerning that you are working with dishonest operators. Also, why were tickets continued to be sold by Thompson, when knowing that the people could not be properly accommodated? Clearly the only concern here was to make money and not great family memories. Thomson's name was on this, it was in your literature and we would like you to take responsibility for it. Therefore I am asking for a full refund not to just cover the cost of the evening but because of the upset caused during the one week of the year we can afford to go abroad"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"We booked an excursion on the advice of rep Amy to a nighttime festival in Positano that had a firework display. It was heavily endorsed as the excursion to do with Amy saying that she wanted to go on it herself. We were told we were very lucky to have been there that particular week and should definitely go on the trip. We paid for a family of 4 £220. However the problems included: - the advert told us it was an open top boat called the Blitz. What turned up to take us was a ferry. - We stood around on the dock for an hour with nowhere to sit, before we could get on having been transferred far too early. - The ferry was cramped. There was indoor seating but the windows were too dirty to see out of and there were many elderly on the boat. - the outside standing areas were noisy, dirty, smelly and cramped. - the crew were under the influence of alcohol and brazenly drinking in front of us. - the toilet facilities were disgusting, no toilet paper or soap provided. - We arrived at the harbour of Positano one hour before the firework display and left standing on the boat. - the display lasted 10 minutes. - there was no commentary to explain what the festival was about. - the return trip was 45 minutes yet we'd been kept on this ferry for 3 1/2 hours unnecessarily. - we learned that there had been fireworks in Sorrento that night as well which we cold have watched for free. This makes the excursion seem even more of a ruse to just make money out of us. On return Amy (who did not join the trip and instead had chosen to watch them from her flat in Sorrento!) admitted that we had been missold a product. Despite this excursion being run for the first time there was no Thomson presence on it, nor it would seem had anyone thoroughly looked into the planning and execution of this trip beforehand. There was a lot of confusion when we got back to shore about which bus we should go on. We were moved from one bus to another and then back again! The excursion was a massive let down for our family. We work hard and save hard in the year in order to be able to enjoy our holiday. Normally we are happy with the service Thomson provide. This was one of two excursions we bought from you. I know that there is considerable mark up on excursions when we buy from you. I know for example that the other tour we bought from you at a total of £360 could have been purchased at £200 directly in the town of Sorrento. But I accept that in return for higher price comes the the promise of a good trip. In this instance it has not proved to be. The timing of the excursion also put it at the centre of our week in more ways than one. Because of the cost and late hour of the trip we decided on the day of it to have a quiet day at the pool, followed by another one the day after. The impact therefore on our holiday was more than just financial but took a chunk from our week long holiday. We also had no more money to pay for other excursions having spent what we had saved. I am concerned that when we first raised this issue (as did many others) with Amy, she kept saying that it was not Thomson's responsibility. Furthermore, when we visited your office in Sorrento to express this concern, my wife was put on the phone to talk to someone called Kate. When my wife explained that we were put on the ferry and we knew we should have had the Blitz, at first, Kate denied there being another boat, it was only when we said we had taken a picture of the poster advertising it that she admitted that there should have been an open air boat, that they had sold too many tickets due to the interest in the trip and they had changed the boat at the last minute. It is concerning that you are working with dishonest operators. Also, why were tickets continued to be sold by Thompson, when knowing that the people could not be properly accommodated? Clearly the only concern here was to make money and not great family memories. Thomson's name was on this, it was in your literature and we would like you to take responsibility for it. Therefore I am asking for a full refund not to just cover the cost of the evening but because of the upset caused during the one week of the year we can afford to go abroad"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Thomson have dismissed this claim completely. How else do you explain having nothing to say about chartering a trip that I took my children on led by drunken crew? Below is the original complaint: We booked an excursion on the advice of rep Amy to a nighttime festival in Positano that had a firework display. It was heavily endorsed as the excursion to do with Amy saying that she wanted to go on it herself. We were told we were very lucky to have been there that particular week and should definitely go on the trip. We paid for a family of 4 £220. However the problems included: - the advert told us it was an open top boat called the Blitz. What turned up to take us was a ferry. - We stood around on the dock for an hour with nowhere to sit, before we could get on having been transferred far too early. - The ferry was cramped. There was indoor seating but the windows were too dirty to see out of and there were many elderly on the boat. - the outside standing areas were noisy, dirty, smelly and cramped. - the crew were under the influence of alcohol and brazenly drinking in front of us. - the toilet facilities were disgusting, no toilet paper or soap provided. - We arrived at the harbour of Positano one hour before the firework display and left standing on the boat. - the display lasted 10 minutes. - there was no commentary to explain what the festival was about. - the return trip was 45 minutes yet we'd been kept on this ferry for 3 1/2 hours unnecessarily. - we learned that there had been fireworks in Sorrento that night as well which we cold have watched for free. This makes the excursion seem even more of a ruse to just make money out of us. On return Amy (who did not join the trip and instead had chosen to watch them from her flat in Sorrento!) admitted that we had been missold a product. Despite this excursion being run for the first time there was no Thomson presence on it, nor it would seem had anyone thoroughly looked into the planning and execution of this trip beforehand. There was a lot of confusion when we got back to shore about which bus we should go on. We were moved from one bus to another and then back again! The excursion was a massive let down for our family. We work hard and save hard in the year in order to be able to enjoy our holiday. Normally we are happy with the service Thomson provide. This was one of two excursions we bought from you. I know that there is considerable mark up on excursions when we buy from you. I know for example that the other tour we bought from you at a total of £360 could have been purchased at £200 directly in the town of Sorrento. But I accept that in return for higher price comes the the promise of a good trip. In this instance it has not proved to be. The timing of the excursion also put it at the centre of our week in more ways than one. Because of the cost and late hour of the trip we decided on the day of it to have a quiet day at the pool, followed by another one the day after. The impact therefore on our holiday was more than just financial but took a chunk from our week long holiday. We also had no more money to pay for other excursions having spent what we had saved. I am concerned that when we first raised this issue (as did many others) with Amy, she kept saying that it was not Thomson's responsibility. Furthermore, when we visited your office in Sorrento to express this concern, my wife was put on the phone to talk to someone called Kate. When my wife explained that we were put on the ferry and we knew we should have had the Blitz, at first, Kate denied there being another boat, it was only when we said we had taken a picture of the poster advertising it that she admitted that there should have been an open air boat, that they had sold too many tickets due to the interest in the trip and they had changed the boat at the last minute. It is concerning that you are working with dishonest operators. Also, why were tickets continued to be sold by Thompson, when knowing that the people could not be properly accommodated? Clearly the only concern here was to make money and not great family memories. Thomson's name was on this, it was in your literature and we would like you to take responsibility for it. Therefore I am asking for a full refund not to just cover the cost of the evening but because of the upset caused during the one week of the year we can afford to go abroad"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Avoid disabled partner forced on a coach as no special assistance taxi at airport to take her to airport reps not interested or of any help just wanted people on coach and away no one to speak to when got home just round and round in circles worst. Example of service ever"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Worst customer service I have ever experienced.Two hours on hold to sort out a problem with our booking only to be told that only the lead passenger can do anything.The lead passenger was with me when we first phoned up at 5.50pm.Unfortunately by 8pm he had gone to work.Absolute joke of a company.Couldn't even arrange a call back like most other companies do.Last ever holiday we will book with Thomson.Should have looked at the other appalling reviews for them first!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Josie Palmer
Verified Reviewer
"We booked a villa in Arenal Den Castell called Villa Garbo. Flight and car hire was great but when we arrived at the villa it was filthy and smelt very musty. The pool had not been cleaned because there was scum on the surface of the water. The maid turned up to change the towels 5 days into the holiday but not clean, two showers leaked so we had to use hand towels to clean up water hence we had to use bath towel for 5 days and as you can imagine they were filthy and pool man never came at all to clean the pool. We tried to call the Thomson rep Glynne but unable to contact him. We have been using Thomson shop for many years but this villa was very utterly disgusting. Having a dead rat in the garden didn't help either. Sorry thomson but you failed to achieve a thumbs up this time. Definately do not recommend this villa."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Feel safe with everything"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Hurricane Irma closed down Florida which is understandable. It's a natural disaster. I called Thomson on Thursday the 7th September to confirm they where still flying to Florida as other airlines had followed suit and cancelled their flights. We left Norwich and drove to London Gatwick. Arrived and checked in vehicle and room at the Sofitel. Got showered for Dinner. 15 mins before table 2 of 4 txts where sent. Your flight for 10:50 am to Orlando has been cancelled. I then received a call it was Thomson. No alternative not even a week later. No hotel for us or flights. Not very helpful. More than £300 out of pocket with hotel, parking and fuel. It's taken 3 weeks to recieve a full refund. The manger gave me the card machine for a refund and asked me to confirm the amount and enter my pin. She then discovered she had put it through as a transaction!!! Never again. Should have stuck with Virgin Holidays. I guess it's a lesson learnt. All 're booked with Virgin Holidays as they fly all year round. Not when it just suits there profits. Thomson is changing to Tui . I'm not surprised."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Latoya Gayle
"The website was user friendly (which is key), not too much information required so was easy to complete. The best part was that I was provided with a decision straight away, they even do an eligibility check before hand so that you will know if you will be excepted. Simply Perfect!"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Florida flight cancelled, wouldn't offer flights for remainder of holiday duration saying they only offer 7 or 14 day duration even though their web site had flights !! When checking flight status it said on time when it turns out they cancelled it the night before (8 hours previously) but had not chaged the web page hence wasted trip to Gatwick from Oxford. Just to top it off after requesting our money back for additional seat allocation were told no refunds for flight extras !! To end this good old Virgin Atlantic came to the rescue."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Lisa Threadgold
Verified Reviewer
"We booked our dream wedding and honeymoon in Colchester's Thomson branch back in May 2016. We got married on 8th August 2017 and during that 15 months we received the most appalling service. The first error made was that they booked the wrong day for our wedding ceremony stating that the venue we wanted in Malcesine, Malcesine castle, was unavailable on that date. After we were informed of this my then fiancé contacted the town hall and made his own enquiry, only to be told that our date was available?! When we complained they told us that the date was unavailable because we had made enquiries already for that date. I find this impossible to believe as we only contacted the town hall AFTER Thomson informed us that our date was unavailable. They blatantly just booked the wrong date but wouldn't admit it. When we tried to get our deposit back as this was a red flag to us so early on in our wedding planning, they refused and said that they would book the correct date for us. I had a really bad feeling after this and unfortunately that gut feeling was to be proved right over the next 15 months. There were a catalogue of errors, miscommunications and lack of advice you would not expect when planning a wedding, all of which were topped off 3 days before our wedding day whilst we were in resort when 2 of our wedding party were booked into the wrong hotel and resort! Seven of our wedding party were booked into the Capri hotel in Malcesine, whilst two were booked into the Capri in Bardolino an hour and 15 minutes away. They used the same booking reference as our other guests, who all booked in the same Colchester branch and were in our hotel, so quite clearly a mistake. Mistakes happen, and it was upsetting but more devastating to us this close to our wedding was Thomson's refusal to put this mistake wrong! They refused to swap our two guests into a hotel nearer to us, at the very least in Malcesine would have been acceptable. But instead due to the Colchester branch of Thomson refusing to take responsibility, we had to plead with a Thomson rep in our hotel to help us. The best she could do with her limited budget was offer our guests one night in a hotel in Malcesine. They still had 6 days of their holiday remaining. So in the end with no guarantee from Thomson that they would book and pay for accommodation in Malcesine, our two guests had to pay for two nights and we paid for two nights. It was the most upsetting and traumatic two days I have ever spent on holiday, let alone the fact it was three days before our wedding and we were having multiple meetings and phone conversations with our rep. My two guests are still fighting with Thomson to get the four days accommodation costs back and at this time of writing they have only agreed to pay for two nights! Thomsons and Thomson Lakes and Mountains did their best to ruin our dream wedding and honeymoon with their incompetence and refusal to put their errors right. Yet it was still our guests fault apparently?! There were so many admissions and errors with our actual wedding day, a lot of which was to do with their non existent communication and poor attention to detail. Just some of the omissions included; not informing us we could write our own wedding vows, not informing us we could have a personal reading as part of the wedding service, not telling us that we could have a playlist of music whilst guests awaited my arrival (half an hour wait). There is also a sailboat available for hire by wedding parties which we would have loved to have hired for after our ceremony but instead we were only offered a 'party' type boat which was not as appropriate for a wedding. When I informed Thomson Lakes and Mountains of this they stated that they did not have a contact for this sailboat but could make enquiries if asked. My argument is that I do not know Malcesine, so we did not even know this sailboat existed so how would we know to ask for its availability? Obviously by the time we were aware of its existence it was already booked up, but I am sure it would have been available 15 months earlier when we first booked our champagne boat reception. We also asked about suitable restaurants for our reception which had a lakeside location and were offered two venues which required 30 guests for exclusive use. We only had 21 persons in total which would have cost us a total additional cost of £810 for meals that would not even be eaten. They thought this was our most suitable option?! Due to this I was forced to book my own reception and chose a lakeside restaurant which allowed us exclusive use for 21 guests and I identified this using trip advisor. The whole experience has left me in a grief like state, grieving for the wedding and honeymoon we should have had and paid for. I do wonder what we actually paid Thomson for with regard to the wedding as we did a lot of the organisational stuff ourselves as they were so bad. I have sent a complaint letter and to date I have received a response from Thomson Lakes and Mountains admitting no responsibility but offering us 2 x £50 vouchers to put towards a future holiday with them. Are they for real?! As if I would ever holiday with them ever again. They have passed the buck in relation to nearly all the issues I raised and I am now awaiting a response to my complaint from Thomson, but due to their lack of care to date I do not hold much hope that they will do right by us. This is by no means a full list of our grievances but hopefully gives you a flavour of the poor service and disgraceful way we have been treated. I would advise anyone contemplating booking a wedding or holiday with Thomson to steer clear and use either a wedding planner in the resort they are wishing to get married in or another reputable firm, which is not Thomson! They just do not care! Also I believe they are rebranding and will be calling themselves TUI in the near future so steer clear of them too! A blatant attempt to shake their evident poor customer service on social media searches as I have since found out that we are clearly not alone in the poor service we have received. I feel like it's my duty to warn other unsuspecting brides and grooms to be, as I would hate anyone to go through the heartache we have. For the money we have paid you would expect an excellent level of service but our experience has been like something out of a nightmare. I just want people to be very careful and pay their hard earned money to a company that cares."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Thomson Holidays is rated 2.41 based on 41 reviews