The Tax Refund Company Reviews

4.46 Rating 777 Reviews
90 %
of reviewers recommend The Tax Refund Company
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Queries Resolved In
2 - 3 Hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Very Easy
Read The Tax Refund Company  Reviews

Write Your review

Tell us how The Tax Refund Company made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Good communication and dealt with my refund fairly quickly, however I was appalled to find 38% of my refund was taken as commission. I was not informed clearly that this much would be taken and 38% seems a huge cut. Most places that take commission will take no more than 20%. For this reason I was very disappointed with the outcome and will probably not use your services again.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Karen, Thanks for leaving us a review :) One thing to consider when looking at fees - whether for your tax return or anything else - is what's actually being done for that charge. In our case, the level of service, number of checks and sheer amount of work we put into recovering your refund is much different than "some other companies" in our sector. With all that hard work, we're so confident we've made a thorough job of it, we offer not one but two guarantees on our work and the service we provide... https://thetaxrefundcompany.co.uk/our-guarantees/ Also, dont forget, HMRC also take VAT as part of our fees - and unlike some companies, we don't hide this fact. Hope that clears it up for you Karen. All the best, Mel The Tax Refund Company
Posted 1 year ago
Efficient but a very hefty 38% cut for filling out some forms.
Posted 1 year ago
A simple process, all the work done for me and a cheque in the post at the end of it. Thank you.
Posted 1 year ago
Well, first of all I surprised received less money what is my actual amount sent by HMRC. I didn't know about the service charge nobody mention it to me apart from the terms and condition!! So I was not happy at all! If I knew, probably did not take your service. You should mention this verbally to the costumer as well!!! It's a lot of money you taken as service charge. I was concentrate the application form to filled but I would have a look the terms and condition as well. What I just don't remember have it. Thanks
Posted 1 year ago
Well the ease of use at the start i found good, but kept on having to email for updates to find they had been waiting for me to send information they had not requested. This is why i believe the process took far longer than it needed to (nearly 6 months).
Posted 1 year ago
I recurved a letter from hmc saying I was owed £597 I received a cheque from you for just over £300 so does that mean you took the rest if so not impressed and won’t use you again I would of been better claiming myself
Posted 1 year ago
It took a while but it was nice to know that I was refunded due to certain questions on the form.
Posted 1 year ago
I was owed £271 and received £168 so happy to get some money back
Posted 1 year ago
Although was happy enough with the refund received I feel the fees for the services were a bit on the high side. Especially having spoken to those who have done it themselves with no issues at all. In future I will be applying for any potential refund myself.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi and thanks for your feedback. We're glad we were able to get you a tax refund! It's like anything in this world, we could cook our own Chinese food for much less than it costs from the takeaway or restaurant. We could service our own car instead of taking it to the garage. We could fit our own kitchens, lay our own carpets, fix our own plumbing, fix our own computers (always start by turning it off and back on again haha!) even build our own house extensions instead of paying someone else to do it. In truth some people do all of these things themselves because they have the right level of expertise (and the time to do it). But they are all easy to get wrong if you don't know what you're doing. There was an article written not that long ago stating that the British Tax legislation was now over 17,000 pages long, clearly it's not an easy read and difficult to make sense of if you don't already understand tax. We see it all the time, clients that have tried themselves and got it wrong, in some instances then ending up paying too much tax (we're bound to say that though aren't we haha! - true though). There are many things we can all do ourselves, but sometimes it's best, and almost always easier, to pay a professional do it for you. Again, congratulations on your refund - and also the fact that you can be confident your tax code is now correct, so you won't be overpaying tax! Kind regards, Mel The Tax Refund Company
Posted 1 year ago
Process was very easy to follow and complete. A little disappointed that apparently HMRC did not receive my signed paperwork and have had to sort that part out myself !!
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Caron, Thanks for the feedback – I can assure you that HMRC did receive all the correct paperwork from us, we have since had confirmation from them and they are correcting their error. This does complicate things slightly, so we will email you directly with a full explanation of what this means and what will happen next. Although this wasn’t our error please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. Mel The Tax Refund Company
Posted 1 year ago
Started so promising Still waiting for my cheque !!! Told to wait 14 days for delivery form 2nd class post On the 9th :(
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Sarah - that's odd! Let me look into that and come back to you with an update shortly... Mel, The Tax Refund Company
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Sarah, Our Customer Payments Team tell me your cheque was posted out to you on 9/7/19, so it should be with you very shortly! If you've not received it in a few days, please feel free to give us a call on 0161 968 7300 and I'll look into it for you. Thanks, Mel The Tax Refund Company
Posted 1 year ago
I got a cheque for £230. Well done
Posted 1 year ago
The Tax Refund Company is rated 4.46 based on 777 reviews