The Car Buying Group Reviews

4.00 Rating 20 Reviews
75 %
of reviewers recommend The Car Buying Group
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone

Write Your review

Tell us how The Car Buying Group made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
I had terrible experience with this company after telling them that the clutch had gone on my car ,they tried to say they knew nothing about it and basically called me a liar Why would I tell someone the car was working when they would find out when they picked it up that this wasn’t the case ?shocking customer service .I even had someone ring up 2 days later offering a higher price
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Set themselves up as being so much more honest than other on line purchasers. Do not be fooled they have no more integrity !
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I was incredibly nervous about selling my car via The Car Buying Group as I had never sold a vehicle that way before. I was quoted a price much higher than any other car buying company which attracted me to the company. From my first phone call with Abi Emms at The Car Buying Group the process was explained and everything seemed very straightforward. She was a pleasure to have her as my contact and she was very patient and answered all my questions fully and in detail. Even after I requested a delay to the collection of the car by a week, The Car Buying Group were very receptive and had no problems at all. I was quite concerned about them making payments to the finance company and to myself for the balance but having gone through the process my concerns were unfounded as everything was communicated well and I received proof of both payments before my vehicle was driven away. Thanks to Abi Emms and the team at The Car Buying Group for a fabulous service. I would not hesitate to use them again and I would highly recommend them to anyone looking to sell their car.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Booked an appointment to sell my 83 year old Mothers car with this company via the motorway app for a pickup between 9am annd 1pm. Travelled early to Mums to avoid traffic to await the pickup. Waited all morning and no one arrived. Phoned to find out why and the diver eventually called about 20 minutes later to say that he didn't know I had a morning pickup (a lie according to the company) and said he could be there between 5pm and 6pm but I said I would need to leave by 4pm and called the company back again who advised that he would be there by 5pm. Ay 4.20pm I called again and was told he was 20 minutes away (rubbish). At 6pm, still no driver and another phone call to be told that the driver had gone home......!!!!!!! Reluctantly booked another pickup for 2 days later which went ok but my Mum had to do it without me. Would never use this company again!
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
I had heard such bad things about car buying companies that I expected something to go wrong at some point, but in fact the whole process was faultless. The offer through Motorway was lower than some others, but I had a nice phone chat about the car with Danny, he offered a price that was fair and promised that they wouldn't knock the price down on collection day. True enough, their representative came this morning, and even though she found a fault that I had forgotten about when discussing the car with Danny, there was no discussion about dropping the offer. The money came straight into my bank account and off she drove. Excellent.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
These cheeky pigs offered me 200 for my car, i sold it on eBay a week later for 1000. Don't let these people con you.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
I had had two negative dealings with competitor company's- both of which had poor communication which led to increased stress for me. I was therefore very nervous when the car buying group contacted me via the Motorway group site. They offered a fair price - above some of the competitors, matched others but did not reduce it on collection like others apparently do - a bit lower than if I sold privately but this is to be expected and, to be honest, worth it. They were very professional all the way through and I honestly felt 'looked after'. Nathan Liversedge went 'above and beyond' to ensure that my stressful times came to a swift end. I would highly recommend and would go to this company without hesitation again. In my experience they acted ethically and honestly - and they ask for honesty from the seller so don't be tempted to hide something and hope they won't notice. They paid the agreed price without fuss, the collecting driver was courteous and everyone was very informative at every stage. The money was paid into my account before the driver took the car. If I could give 6 stars I would - and I never thought I'd say that about this type of site! A big thank you to Nathan and the team.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I had to sell the car to get some capitol and The Car Buying Group made a reasonable offer. They don't charge any hidden fees and the money is in your account within minutes of it being processed - just amazing. And they didn't even knock me down when examining the car, as long as you give a truthful account !
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Danny was professional and courteous, the offer was provided via the phone the agreement made and the agreed sum was in my bank before my car was driven away. The price quoted was the price paid - no extra's for immediate payment etc. Would highly recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
very straightforward process from start to finish. Unlike some of the other companies who offer this kind of service, they will not try to knock money off their original online quotation if you have given them an accurate description of your vehicle.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
They made an offer which was almost three time that of webuyanycar.com then increased it further when I didn't accept .They turned up when they said they would ( I even chose a Saturday) The funds were paid into my account with no cribbing ,arguing or haggling almost immediately , then the driver took the ca away. The whole thing took about 20 minutes ! Very pleased with this service.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Pleasantly surprised by an efficient, friendly and stress-free sale and collection. I was more than nervous when I started the process of selling my beloved car as reviews of other car sale companies left me feeling like a seal in a sea of sharks. Do not be afraid to trust this group as long as you are realistic about the achievable price. Prompt communications verifying sale and collection and driver arrived 2 days later early in the morning, informing me of his arrival and filling out all the paperwork and waiting whilst payment went through - 5 star service. Thank you Luke and Alex.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
A promise isn’t a promise. I’m afraid I have had a very bad experience with the Car Buying Group. I received an offer for my car agreed over the phone and confirmed via email, then when I accepted the offer I was phoned and told the offer had been reduced by £1000.00. Darren phoned me and said there had been an error and the offer me £1000.00 less. I pointed out that the acceptance from their website, which I had in front of me, has a promise that ‘we promise to pay the price we quote ‘ but I was told their terms and conditions allowed them to refuse or change the price. There was a well practiced patter but their promise isn’t a promise at all. Darren did say he was the General Manager of the Group so this attitude comes from the top of the organisation. Very disappointed that these tactics are used.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I recently closed a deal with The Car Buying Group to buy my Mercedes 250 CLA. They were efficient, excellent communications from start to FREE collection and transfer of the previously agreed price within half an hour. Top class with no problems
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I found The Car Buying Group from being the highest quote through the comparison site Motorway.co.uk. They were friendly and straight forward. There were no hidden costs or charges and they paid what they'd quoted (within about ten minutes), despite my car being rather shabby. I asked if they could collect the car the next day before my tax needed renewing, and they obliged. They were very easy to get hold of on the phone when I wanted to ask a question, and the subcontractor who collected the vehicle kept me up to date on ETA. A very good stress-free service.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I received a quote to purchase my vehicle online, after a very small amount of negotiation thecarbuyinggroup agreed to pay what I’d asked for and organised the collection the following day. The car was appraised by the driver, mileage and documents checked and the money immediately transferred into my account. There was no haggling over the price agreed on the phone and they even gave me an extra £50 for waiting in past the agreed pick up time. All in all a fantastic experience that I’ll be using again when I next upgrade. 5 star!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Brilliant service. Everyone was super helpful and polite. I was kept informed through the whole process and got a decent price for my car. The key is to be honest with your description when you initially contact them. Would definitely recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Genuine people offered a fair price on our car with no hidden fees. Collected it and put the cash in our account instantly. Reliable and really nice to deal with not at all pushy like some car buying companies
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I was a bit nervous selling a car to a company I had never heard of before. But Lee Armstrong from the car buying group kept me calm through the whole process. I have to see this was an excellent service they did everything they said the would. The gave me a price and they stuck to it. No hidden costs and no 100 pound reduction per tiny stone chip because you actually used your car, like some companies. These guys are the best forget We Buy Any Car, forget EvansHalshaw. Use The Car Buying Group. Great experience. Thanks Lee.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
This is the best car buying company I have tried using. The other two gave me a valuation then reduced it by £1,000. The Car Buying Group gave me an uninflated quote on the phone - which was higher than the final offer from the other two companies, and on collection date, they looked at the car, noted some scuffs and scratches etc (which has not been discussed by phone) but did not reduce the valuation any further. They paid out the agreed amount without any fuss. I would recommend them over We buy any car.com
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The Car Buying Group is rated 4.00 based on 20 reviews