The Private Plate Co. Reviews

4.94 Rating 13,217 Reviews
99 %
of reviewers recommend The Private Plate Co.
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
99%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.93 out of 5
Read The Private Plate Co. Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01639 888833

Email:

info@the-ppc.co.uk

Location:

P.O.Box 200

Sent driving license of with log book got log book back but no driving license
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Very happy with number plate and service, But on web site it says not to ring office because Your so Busy, and to allow up to 4 to 6 weeks And that you will be in touch for the payment Via email and text I received neither eventually I did ring office and was told it had been ready for ages And you were waiting for a reply from my text which I never received, I feel this could been Done a lot sooner but overall very happy Love my new number
The Private Plate Co. 3 star review on 9th July 2019
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Nice plates,,
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Applied on Friday got my plates on the 5th June not yet got log book partner ordered his plates same day as mine got his log book but no plates. When he e-mailed was told he hadn’t paid for plates even though it shows on his bank statement that he has paid. Bit confusing
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Adwen. You ordered AD11 WEN and we completed the transfer of the registration within 3 days and posted the acrylic plates to you. The new V5 arrives within a few weeks of the completion. You also ordered K33 KCA and we arranged the transfer onto this car as well. You didnt order the acrylic plates for this particular registration so we have not posted them to you sorry. Again the V5 arrives within a few weeks of completion
Posted 2 years ago
HI. You have since called and ordered and paid for a set of Euro plates that will be delivered tomorrow.
Posted 2 years ago
Great service all paperwork sorted out efficiently didn’t receive first lot of plates but after an apologetic email a new set of plates was sent straight away I would definitely recommend this company
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
They were really quick in sending the plates. I have never changed a reg plate before and I had no idea of the process involved. I got the plates and a confusing email saying once I had sent the relevant documents I would need to wait to get my paperwork before I could change them. Then I got an email on a Thursday afternoon with a certificate saying I had 3 days to change them. I had a friend who owns a garage sort them for me as they needed drilling. I don't feel like the whole process was explained properly although I am happy with my plates and everything turned out fine in the end.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
No idea why our service returned a 3 star rating. The customer only had to call for clarification. 3 days start to finish.
Posted 2 years ago
Good,easy to use but lacks information that once emailed twice about it but got no reply and am actually still awaiting a reply nearly 3 weeks on
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Bought the registration I wanted with no problems. I also paid £50 for number plates and paper work sorting because it would “save me the hassle of dealing with the messy paperwork”The number plates went in the bin because they had the previous reg number in miniature on them under the new number. Also I have found out if I had just asked for the certificate to be posted out to me I could have changed it myself online and used the new number straight away at no cost. Waste of £50.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
After you have place the order online, you then have to call them up saying you want the transfer to be dealt with even tho you select it online. They then Send you a email asking to send them your log book via special delivery with a note of the plate you have bought and a copy of your licence. You won't be able to pay for the transfer until they do it for you. You will then get a call a few days later asking to pay for the transfer fee over the phone. After payment has been given they then will send out your new log book. The guys on the phone come across really passive aggressive aswel which was wierd.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We are completely baffled by this review. The customer, Mr Shah Islam, ordered X17 REX online on 1st October on finance. We asked if he wanted us to arrange the paperwork same day. Documents arrived from him on the 4th October. We called asking if the address details were correct as it did not match the order details we had on file. He confirmed the address was OK and paid the transfer fee. 30 minutes later it was completed on his car and we emailed confirmation. We can't understand where the passive aggression was ???
Posted 3 years ago
Acceptable for plate
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Very well service and the staff are lovely. I received my plate within a day and the process was really quickly
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I don't normally write reviews however having been pestered for a review 5 times I thought I would press the keys into action. PPC did what they said they would do without fail and are obviously very good at what they do. However when making my choices as to the design of my new plate I purposefully left off the section for a LOGO because I didn't want one, imagine my surprise when my new plates arrived with the PPC Logo and their Post Code. Would have got a five if it hadn't ben for this bit of stupidity.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi John. Thanks for your review. We always expect 5 stars in honesty because we always do what we say we will do. With regards to your 3star review, I need to explain that the law states that you must have identifiers on the actual plates. Without them, you are breaking the law. As our company is called The Private Plate Company, we have gone to great lengths to get DVLA to allow us to abbreviate the company name to the-ppc so as not to appear as advertising. Here are the list of rules as set out by DVLA which you can find on line. By clicking the link at the end of the reply. The British Standard for number plates The British Standard sets out the characteristics of the number plate. This includes visibility, strength and reflectivity. To meet the British Standard, each number plate must be permanently and legibly marked with the following information: • the British Standard number (currently BS AU 145d) • the name, trademark or other way of identifying the manufacturer or supplier • the name and postcode of the supplying outlet. https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/724689/vehilce-registration-numbers-and_number-plates-inf104.pdf
Posted 3 years ago
Good service but if I had an issue I felt I couldn’t call because you made it clear that I would be wasting time.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Unbelievable !!! On the car in 4 days.
Posted 3 years ago
The procedure was not thoroughly explained, but the customer service was good.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Purchased N23 MYK on the 14th June and completed on the car on 20th June. Everything seemed to go perfectly smoothly.
Posted 3 years ago
The service and transfer was fast thank you but I am not happy with the look of my plate at all. I have payed extra for 3D plate number but the plate is not 3D, it is only printed in 3D font. I was not aware of that otherwise I would not pay extra. My request was 3D plate number not 3D font. Could you please review this and let me know if this can be changed?
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi. The plates were sent to you a week ago exactly as you ordered. I think you are mistaking 3D letters with Gel plates which we do not supply but are double the price of the ones you ordered.
Posted 3 years ago
You sent my v5 really quick but havnt recieved my plates, I have sent 2 emails and no reply!! not happy at all
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Aidan. I can find no record of your emails to us however when you placed the order there was an option to order acrylic number plates but you dint choose that option. We never pressurise customers to order options from us as they may prefer to get them elsewhere. If you require them, we can arrange them for £20 plus VAT for a pair which is £9 cheaper than Halfords. You are welcome to call us on 01639 888833.
Posted 3 years ago
Happy with the plate and service. However the pricing needs to be more clearer.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Little concerned that the revised MOT certificate has not arrived
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Stephen, We don't ask for an MoT when you send your documents as we are unable to arrange a replacement MoT certificate. We arrange for a change to the MoT record with the DVLA so that your details are up to date. An MoT certificate is really a thing of the past just like a tax disc. All records relating to car and now held on the .gov website as shown here. https://vehicleenquiry.service.gov.uk/ConfirmVehicle
Posted 3 years ago
Okkkkkkkkkkkkk
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Slight delay with this application as the customer didn't post the documents by recorded delivery as suggested which resulted in a 2 day delay.
Posted 3 years ago
Was very fast
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
The Private Plate Co. is rated 4.94 based on 13,217 reviews