The New School of Art Reviews

4.58 Rating 84 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend The New School of Art
Read The New School of Art Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01273 358881

Write Your review

Tell us how The New School of Art made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
The New School of Art 5 star review on 6th July 2017
Joy
The New School of Art 5 star review on 13th March 2017
Abigail
The New School of Art 5 star review on 12th December 2016
Francesca
The New School of Art 5 star review on 27th October 2016
Genevieve
The New School of Art 5 star review on 13th September 2016
Alison
The New School of Art 4 star review on 31st January 2017
David
The New School of Art 4 star review on 15th September 2016
Christine
1
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Julian Le Bas is an excellent and stimulating tutor, and very encouraging of our efforts to paint the beautiful landscape from the gardens of the Griffin Inn, Fletching. The group was supportive and the two course lunch was very pleasant, with a good choice of menus. Sadly though, the weather was grim and it poured with rain from lunchtime to the end of the class, and there was insufficient shelter to cover us, so we were unable to continue painting, and our canvases and art materials were sodden by end of day (and so were we). Julian did a brilliant demonstration as we huddled under an awning but really the class should have been postponed to a later date as the weather forecast had clearly predicted heavy rain. Some people had travelled a long distance to attend the class and only had half a day's painting. Perhaps a credit could be given to everyone as recompense for a disappointing experience which could be put towards another class with Julian, who did his best to make the most of a very wet day! However, I would certainly recommend Julian for his teaching and immense knowledge and experience, and hope he offers another master class in the autumn.
Posted 3 years ago
The tutor was good, helpful and I learnt a few things, however, due to a forecast of heavy rain the workshop should have been cancelled. There was a little shelter but would not have accommodated us all to paint. The start of the workshop was delayed by half an hour as we were waiting for two people which was disappointing and I feel the demo could have been done then whilst we waited as it was dry and decent weather but infact this didn't take place until nearly the end when it was chucking it down with rain. The lunch was very good at the pub and the setting was lovely. The critique at the end was useful.
Posted 3 years ago
The only reason for the average score rather than very good was the size of the venue. We felt very squashed and this made it most difficult to tackle the larger format as there wasn't room to swing a cat let alone step back to check the progress of the painting.

Everything else was great. The tutor was helpful and facilitated my learning and Jenny was very solicitous and available to help. The venue was central and easy to get to.
Posted 4 years ago
I thought the tutor would concentrate on portraiture, the course was advertised as a portraiture course. But it was really a life painting class, with lovely clothed models and Atul coming round, gently making suggestions. There was no crit at the end and altogether I was really disappointed. I learned nothing new. I felt I had wasted my money.
Posted 4 years ago
The New School of Art is rated 4.58 based on 84 reviews