The New School of Art Reviews

4.58 Rating 84 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend The New School of Art
Read The New School of Art Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01273 358881

Write Your review

Tell us how The New School of Art made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
The only reason for the average score rather than very good was the size of the venue. We felt very squashed and this made it most difficult to tackle the larger format as there wasn't room to swing a cat let alone step back to check the progress of the painting.

Everything else was great. The tutor was helpful and facilitated my learning and Jenny was very solicitous and available to help. The venue was central and easy to get to.
Posted 3 years ago
Very good course, I learned a lot. A lot was packed into 2 days. My only criticism was that we had to arrange with the Mall Galleries to leave our canvases to dry as it was awkward to travel home with wet oil paint. If they couldn't accommodate us it would have been a problem. The actual course was very good. I'd take another one sometime
Posted 3 years ago
A very helpful and enjoyable couple of days in the beautiful East Sussex countryside. The Old Dairy Studio was a very comfortable set up in which to work. Louise Balaam was an inspirational and stimulating mentor, such a pleasure to meet her and have her company in the group. A very interesting group of fellow painters on the course, I really enjoyed meeting everyone, I learned something from each of them. Wish we could do it all over again! The experience over the 2 days moved me forward with my work. Thank you to NEAC and best wishes to all, Nancy.
Posted 3 years ago
This was a well organised class with very enthusiastic and supportive teaching from Louise Balaam. The location was very good and the drawing session in St James' park was very good for me. There was a also excellent support from a member of staff at the Mall Galleries. For me, this was a very freeing experience which has brought into focus some of my priorities as an artist. The class has given me a strong platform for how to work from drawings and sketchbooks ideas to make paintings in the studio. Highly recommended!
Posted 3 years ago
The admin wasn't very efficient but the actual course was incredibly useful. Louise Balaam was an inspiring tutor who gave much encouragement. She was very generous in sharing her working methods, pointing towards artists she admired as well as introducing us to new materials and suppliers. The studio was well placed for ready access to rural views and well equipped with a studio easel , table and field easel for each student.
I had a great time and came away with a couple of paintings which took my work in a new direction. The course was everything I had hoped.
The New School of Art 4 star review on 15th September 2016
Posted 3 years ago
Very interesting and supportive tutor. I found the course excellent lots of food for thought and helpful pointers as well as enough time to work independently . The photo is a selection of the experimental work I did on the course
The New School of Art 5 star review on 13th September 2016
Posted 3 years ago
I really enjoyed the two days of painting and I would definitely try another one.
Posted 3 years ago
Louise Balaam's art course was a brilliant two days - I learnt so much and met some interesting people. Would recommend to anyone who wants help loosening up in painting or to be inspired by a talented and established artist.
Posted 3 years ago
Love this place. Had a blast and learnt a lot on all the different courses I attended.

/ Björn Oso Andersson, Sweden
Posted 3 years ago
Tutor attentive and encouraging, giving useful advice and guidance. A happy two days.
Posted 3 years ago
A very enjoyable two days, despite the rain and wind. Well worth it!
Posted 3 years ago
Camilla, as tutor was very welcoming, as was Anna who allowed her house to be used as an art base. Unfortunately the weather was not kind and if we had not been able to use the indoor space it would have been pretty disasterous. However Anna went out of her way to ensure we had all we needed and we were plied with refreshments. Camilla started us off with clear instructions and over the two half days came round regularly to suggest and review our work. This was very helpful.

I think it would have been good to collect us together at the end to discuss our work as a group. I always find that kind of critique helpful, and it also helps to bring the group together. But it was only a short course and I will certainly aim to come again
Posted 3 years ago
Fantastic tutor and great surroundings. I would recommed to anyone intrested in abstract art or who just wants to enjoy a fun and stimulating course.
Posted 3 years ago
Really enjoyed the classes and the teacher was very good and I learnt a lot
Only suggestion is don't think you needed 4 large canvass to paint on as they are so hard to bring in
Half the size would have been ok
Also need to bring cloths
Thanks again great experience
Posted 3 years ago
I took the two day Still Life course with Tony Rothon as I was keen to develop my painting skills and I had little prior knowledge of still life.
Tony was a great tutor who presented the course in a straightforward manner. There were opportunities to discuss merits and problems with each others paintings.
For a two day course it was a great introduction.
Posted 3 years ago
Really inspirational 2 days. I loved the way I was taken out of my comfort zone to experiment with colour and form. Have learnt not to try and finesse my work. Colour choice is key - working on this is my way forward. Thank you Emyr!!
Posted 3 years ago
I enjoyed the 2 day course at The Mall Gallery with Louise Balaan as our tutor. She was very helpful and enthusiastic. She gave us a quick demo of her painting method on day 2 and guidance on working quickly. She showed us her sketch books and stressed the importance of using them and painting en plain air.
The only criticisms I have were lack of soap/ fairy liquid and scorers and sponges to wash our brushes and easels. Also lack of coffee/tea facilities meant that we had to buy drinks at the cafe over the two days, which was quite an added expense.
The New School of Art 4 star review on 15th July 2016
Posted 3 years ago
I have now completed two courses of An Introduction to Art History, and have thoroughly enjoyed them. I have learned a great deal, seen wonderful art work and been involved in lively discussions! I can't wait for the next course in the Autumn!
Posted 4 years ago
I recently finished the Introduction to History of Art course with Alexandra Loske. It was a highly enjoyable and stimulating course which focussed on Alexandra's particular areas of interest/expertise. Every lecture was topnotch and was supported by additional books/materials. All very fascinating. Would like to do more in the future!
Posted 4 years ago
Excellent tuition, central London location (Mall Galleries) easy for travel, good venue.
Posted 4 years ago
The New School of Art is rated 4.58 based on 84 reviews