The New School of Art Reviews

4.58 Rating 84 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend The New School of Art
Read The New School of Art Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01273 358881

Write Your review

Tell us how The New School of Art made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
A perfect weekend with a delightful model (not wearing a lot of make up or facial adornments which was good). Ilaria is my favourite tutor.
Posted 3 years ago
A wonderful experience with the two day workshop at the New School of Art in London. A warm and sensitive host, the room full of light and atmosphere, and beautiful people. Martin Yeoman was an inspiring instructor and dedicated enough time to each of us individually. It is very easy to get there from the Canning Town station (the lovely way there is a plus).
Posted 3 years ago
Regarding the Master Class (11-12 March) the support, feedback and guidance from the artist, Ilaria, was very good indeed. We all benefitted from the relevance and nature of the critique to our efforts. The studio was well lit, warm and is a fine setting in which to work. Overall, this was a very good experience.
Posted 3 years ago
A good location, near the tube. A good room with lots of light - it would have been useful to have something to cover just the bottom half of the windows to prevent people seeing the model from outside. Well organised; Elle made me feel welcome and supplied tea/coffee/biscuits - much appreciated. Good equipment (easel, table) and decent toilet facilities nearby. I was grateful to be able to park at the venue on the Sunday, so I could get away promptly. The lunch venue was good, and the slow service actually gave us more time to relax and get to know each other. I was pleased that it was a small group, as it meant we each got more time with Martin one-to-one.
Posted 3 years ago
Had a fantastic and productive time on the Martin Yeoman, painting the figure weekend course. Great tutors, friendly hosts and fab locations, and everytime I go I meet a bunch of lovely new friends. I cannot recommend The New School of Art enough. Keep up the great work and Thank you.
The New School of Art 5 star review on 13th March 2017
Posted 3 years ago
l had a wonderful time in Elise's abstract painting course. Time spent in the gallery was very rewarding and I discovered a lot about looking and understanding paintings. I will definitely go up there and draw again. The painting day was brilliant and everybody produced interesting work. It was lovely to have a new way in to painting. I would loved to have had a second day painting.
Linda
Posted 3 years ago
The course I recently completed at Paddock Studio with Jane Lewis was very good indeed. She is an inspiring teacher and gives really useful feedback to help you to improve your own work.
Posted 3 years ago
The course was excellent - plenty of experimentation with the right amount of structure. Small group of lovely people made it a great weekend.
Jane Lewis was a very generous Tutor, I have come away with lots of exciting ideas and techniques to work into my own practice.
I would definitely sign up for another course with her. Her work is mouthwatering!
Posted 3 years ago
Fantastic 2 days. Nick is a great tutor, so knowledgeable and supportive. The slides shows were inspiring & the exercises challenging and exciting. Lovely environment too. I would highly recommend this course & I feel this experience will make a big difference to my painting going forwards.
Posted 3 years ago
The New School of Art offers a fantastic range of courses. I have learnt so much from the ones I have attendend. The tutors I have met have been encouraging and inspiring. I am looking forward to coming to more courses this year!
Posted 3 years ago
Always delighted to do courses there and I always learn something new.
Posted 3 years ago
The venue is ideal for a small group of students and we all really benefitted from the high level of attention the tutor, Robert Dukes, was able to give us. The view is a real inspiration too. It is an excellent space for more specialised courses targetting advanced students, and short courses of this level are hard to come by in London.
My only concern relates to the lack of a breakout space for lunch and tea-breaks - I didn't feel great on the last day and it was only much later I realised it was because it was too chilly to go outside for lunch so I had been inhaling paint and (admittedly low odour) solvent for a good seven hours three days in a row. It would be fine in Summer, just not so easy in December if, like me, you are asthmatic. It wouldn't stop me returning if the course was as good as this one, but I would probably not sign up for a 5 day course.
Posted 3 years ago
Louise Balaam was an excellent workshop leader and certainly helped me to see things in a different way. The school was in brand new premises. It has great views and is in an interesting area. Coffee, tea and biscuits were provided.
Posted 3 years ago
A really rewarding couple of days spent in a wonderful environment with Louise, an inspirational tutor, and a very nice group of students! Louise got me much closer to where I want to be - painting with more freedom and stepping over my boundaries. The studio is lovely; the work intense but enjoyable; and the trip over from the O2 on the tiny ferry was the icing on the cake. I left feeling invigorated. More please! Perhaps three days next time?
The New School of Art 5 star review on 12th December 2016
Posted 3 years ago
Attended "Painting dynamically with Acrylics" run by artist Anne Magill, in Lewes.
Have held this artist in the highest esteem for the last 25+ years, Anne was helpful, supportive and informative, even bringing along some of her own inspiring work, which I couldn't help drool over!!
Great instruction without it being too much. The venue and model (Naomi) were great along with a friendly cohesive atmosphere with the other attendees. Would definitely attend another course with intention of strengthening my own professional practise and have to say gave me a bit of a refresh button and a lot to think about in terms of pushing my own work.
Posted 3 years ago
Just finished a two day course with Ann Magill at Paddock Studios. I enjoyed the course very much and feel I did actually learn something (which I couldn't say for some I've been on). Ann is such a good teacher, very generous with her knowledge and encouragement. A good little group and a splendid model. This is a course I would recommend to anyone. And what makes it even better is that it's in Lewes.
Posted 3 years ago
The 3 day Portrait Painting Masterclass with Andrew James has been the best art course I've ever been on and a truly amazing experience! Andrew is a brilliant teacher and the atmosphere at the School is very welcoming and supportive.
Posted 3 years ago
Andrew James was a wonderful inspiring tutor - very diligent in making sure he spent time with each person. I feel I have learnt a huge amount during the weekend and hope that my work will reflect what I have learnt. Thank you.
Posted 3 years ago
Andrew James is as gifted a teacher as he is a portrait painter. Our 3 day masterclass in Lewes was inspiring and really helpful.
Posted 3 years ago
I attended a 2 day course with the acclaimed artist Louise Baalam at The Dairy Studios , Lewes.

Louise is a great teacher, She has the ability to teach a person without them knowing it. Very clever. I am going to book the December one with her I hope it still has places on it.

I was very pleased with my progress and would like to have another session to cement things into my airy fairy brain!!!!

I would have liked another day I think so a three day course would suit me fine, also the second day I am always quite tired, and so don't achieve a lot p.m. so a third day would be better for me.

great welcome with proper coffee and lovely biscuits really good. I loved the crit. V.v. Useful. Lovely to see everyone's work and how proud we all were of our own work.

The studio is great, having your own workspace and tables etc v. Good. good facilities, all fine.

A big plus for maybe older people was the fact that you didn't have to walk a long way with easels etc etc before you could paint outside. I have a bad back, and have friends who are a bit dodgy with backs and feet etc., you could just step outside the studio or walk to the edge of the field.and get a good view.

TO spoil us completely maybe a few lightweight tables to take out and put our palette on would be a dream!!!!!

I loved the little Jack Russell he was sweet.

ALl in all great time

THank you very much

Caroline Curtis
Posted 3 years ago
The New School of Art is rated 4.58 based on 84 reviews