The Fish Society Reviews

4.81 Rating 3,288 Reviews
96% of reviewers recommend The Fish Society
Visit Website

Phone:
01428 687768

Email:
team@thefishsociety.co.uk

Location:
Unit 1Coopers Place

Are you a business owner?
Click Here

Write Your review

Tell us how The Fish Society made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Courier
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
99%
accurate and undamaged orders
Greater than 88%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone
"Perfectly delivered, delicious thick fillets."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thanks Andrea, it's good to hear that you are happy!
Posted 2 weeks ago
"AS always the order was absolutely perfect. The Matjes herrings in particular were superb."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thank you Dennis and for being a loyal customer too!
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Brilliant service. Rescued a themed dinner party at the last minute when another fish vendor failed to deliver in time."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Fabulous, thanks David and we hope your dinner party was a success!
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Although I had issues with ordering on the website, the quality of the fish is really great and the service is impeccable. Great firm and products. Thank you."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Sorry to hear that you had problems ordering Caroline, we are working very hard to get all glitches fixed. Thanks for the great Review!
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Excellent"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thanks Madeleine!
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Excellent organic salmon which cooked beautifully and tasted wonderful. I will be back for more. We haven’t tried the haddock yet but it looks good."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thank you for letting us know Elizabeth, we love to hear that you are happy. We also hope you enjoy the haddock!
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Delivered what I wanted when I wanted at a fair price"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to let us know David!
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Great fish and quick service"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thank you for letting us know!
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Hopefully, a glitch. But an expensive one."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Great shopping experience. The fish was delivered promptly and it was fresh and of extremely high quality. Will shop again"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thanks Matteo, we love to hear that you are happy with your shopping experience and we look forward to hearing from you again!
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Quick delivery and received a pre delivery phone call from the company ensuring I was happy with the order."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a Review Robert, we hope you enjoy your fish!
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Its ok so far , not fair to comment to much as I haven't tried that much yet"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave a few words Paul, we look forward to sending more fish your way!
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Perfect."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
You're welcome Tina, thanks for being a customer.
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Quick delivery and received a courtesy call from one of their polite and helpful staff, Brilliant!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much!!!
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Firstly we were sent wrong fish which was useless to us. . Our order was sent to somebody else, and their order to us. My wife’s birthday party has to postponed to a weekday. Another problem is that we received personal details of the other person, including their phone and I assume they received mine. Not really good data protection. Secondly when we received replacement order it turned out the big 1kg tuna loin sashimi grade has been frozen last March and it was greyish and definitely not suitable for sashimi and not at this price:( You simply can’t sell sashimi grade fish that has been frozen for so long. Salmon blocks were replaced with smaller packages. Our first order was much better, this one quite opposite. On the plus note salmon was very good quality."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hello Tomasz

I am sorry about the mixup caused by two address labels being wrongly applied. I can assure you this expensive error happens very rarely.

I also need to apologise over the tuna. Your comments feed into our ongoing debate here about how best to keep tuna sashimi customers happy.

The essential problem is that tuna meat naturally begins to lose its red colour immediately after death and even if frozen quickly, this becomes noticeable within weeks unless either
1) the fish is kept at -60C
2) it has been chemically treated.

Solution 1 requires expensive equipment which we have considered but haven't got there yet. Solution 2 is generally considered dubious and we have spurned it so far.

In place of these approaches, we try very hard to keep our tuna at the red end of the spectrum by keeping stocks low and replenishing often. However, with the best will in the world, some brown tuna will slip through. I just inspected our stock of tuna loins to see if there were any others as old as yours. Currently all stock is very recent.

Brown tuna is less attractive than red but the divergence in taste is much less pronounced. However, many consumers eat with their eyes and must be satisfied.So I have today been speaking to a supplier of the chemically treated tuna served in many sushi bars and we will probably start stocking this product soon.

I have put £25 of points on your account which you can claim against a future order by using the blue slider at checkout stage 3.

There are a couple of links below which you might find interesting.
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Excellent quality and exactly as promised."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thanks for letting us know Colin!
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Really impressed order arrived when you said it would fish was lovely and I will hope to use you again"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thanks Susan, we hope to hear from you again!
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Recieved my most recent order in good time and s arranged. I've only used some o the white crab meat and a little of the brown. I've bought quite a bit from the fish society in the last few years and have always been very happy with the service I received and with the fish I've tried. I'll be ordering agin in the future"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thanks Herbie and for being a loyal customer too!
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Really pleased .Thank you"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
You're welcome Mircea, thank you for leaving us a Review too.
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Efficient, professional and courteous. All essential to having a successful business that makes one want to do more business with them and The Fish Society has them all."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your praise Peter, we do work very hard to ensure that we meet these standards and it's great to hear that you're impressed!
Posted 3 weeks ago
The Fish Society is rated 4.81 based on 3,288 reviews