The English Sofa Company Reviews

3.82 Rating 17 Reviews
71% of reviewers recommend The English Sofa Company

Phone:
0161 736 5733

Location:
Ford Lane, Manchester United Kingdom

Category:
Business & Office

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

How would you rate The English Sofa Company ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"Simple ordering. 8 weeks delivery quoted but arrived in 4. Delivered and assembled with no hassle and delighted with the product. Delighted."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Great sofa, and lovely customer service from the staff.."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Steven Oldham
Verified Reviewer
"Last March we took delivery of a £2050 sofa-bed it looked great. Unfortunately over the next 2 months we noticed it was getting uncomfortable, no amount of plumping the cushions could restore the softness, the cushions have gone completely flat to the point where it feels like you are sitting on a hard chair. We brought the problem to The English Sofa Company's attention thinking that it may be a fault that could be rectified. We were told that we should plump regularly in order to restore the loft. This was not something the salesman mentioned. Had he said that, I don't think we would have brought the Sofa. I don't believe a sofa should require daily maintainace especially one that costs £2000! We explained that we do plump the cushions only to be told that we should expect the GRADUAL loss of loft over time. In terms of a sofa I think Gradual would mean 9 years not 9 months! They offered replacement fillers at a reduced cost but conceded that they would also flatten. Having spent a lot of money already I considered this offer to be throwing good money after bad. To add to the cushion issue we now notice that one of the feet has lost all of its varnish. It was implied that this would be because of a vacuum hitting it. This being impossible as it it too far under the sofa. My feeling is that, the wood of the foot is completely unprepared so the the varnish will inevitably flake. In fairness a new foot has been offered but it does show the level of quality you get from this company. The customer service I have received has been disappointing and frustrating. At no point has anyone said sorry that I'm unhappy with their product or sought a solution that makes the customer happy. All emails have been curt, patronising and blaming, and all designed to deflect any fault with the product itself. I have now asked for my money back only to be told that there is a 14 day return policy! So in short, the quality of the English Sofa Company's furniture's is very poor. The costumer service you get is basically 'we've got your money now stop complaining and go away. The returns policy is worse that you'd expect from a corner shop! If you are looking for a Park bench then look no further. if you are looking for a comfortable sofa fit for 10 years AVOID!!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Taylor Blain
Verified Reviewer
"Very good customer service, help suggest fabric and leather swatches which arrived in the post a few days later. Kept me informed and up to date with my order with emails. Very knowledgeable staff! My sofa arrived in 6 weeks which was the estimated time frame."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Elliot Seddon
Verified Reviewer
"Quality product and service, over the moon with my purchase and would highly recommend them."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"Great experience Great Sofa and Accurate delivery time"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"It took ages to choose as there were so many colour options, but we got there in the end and we are so delighted with the end result."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"Absolutely lovely so many people have asked me where I bought my chairs from as they have expressed a wish to looking into buying some themselves. I would give it 5 stars any day Mrs hansen"
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"Very helpful sales staff to the delivery all was done in a most professional manner and to the time scale stated. Would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone and will definitely be our first port of call when we next need furniture."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone and will definitely be our first port of call when we next need furniture."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Excellent workmanship, was ready and delivered on time ,looks stunning love it Would highly recommend The English Sofa Company"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Just purchased a storage stool, it's only a small addition but felt compelled to review. We purchased our first sofa from The English Sofa Company 13 years ago. We ended up moving and renting the house theee years later but sadly the sofas had to stay behind as they didn't fit our new space. We treated ourselves to new ones tho ! Chesterfields this time and they have been commented on them endless times. We have never had a problem, they look great and are excellent value. Unfortunately our first sofas left in our rental got damaged in a property leak so as part of an insurance claim we replaced them. We again went back to The English Sofa Company, but as for our rental we actually bought two sofas from their clearance section. I was told the clearance is a mix of ex display, returns, cancelled orders etc, we needed them quickly so actually couldn't wait for new ones even if we wanted too. After three sets of sofas over 13 years we added a small stool in a contrasting fabric, we did try and get it to match the sofas but as original sofas were now 10 years old we were told they would unlikely match. Rather than have a nearly colour, we went for a contrast and it looks great. We've recommend this company to all our friends and family, I know of at least three that went in and ordered from them and will be recommending they review also as what I've read on here seems the opposite of my experience."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Marilyn Eliott
Unverified Reviewer
"I bought two beds from their sister company last summer and was delighted. This year we decided it was time to redecorate the lounge and our new sofas arrived this week to finish the job. Great sofas, nice people, and lovely to see the furniture being made in the factory. took about 8 or 9 weeks but that's what they told us it would be so we were ok with it."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Our sofa arrived in a damaged state. There was a 2 cm cut on the inner side of one of the arms. The deliverers assured us that there would be no problem in replacing the damaged arm. So we signed off the delivery. Really wished we hadn't. The English Sofa has been evasive and unwilling to rectify the damage. We have been fobbed off time and time again. So now we've given up and we are left with a rather expensive, damaged sofa. Buyer beware, The English Sofa Company don't care!"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Toni Quigley
Verified Reviewer
"I ordered a stock item expecting delivery within a couple of weeks had no communication from the company so rang and was informed that the item was being wrapped and the carriers would be in touch to arrange delivery this never happened so I rang again and was told for a second time it was being wrapped and collected for delivery at that stage after repeated emails not being responded to and calls and wrong information being given I cancelled my order and requested a full refund which I am now having to chase also"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"How The English Sofa Company can make some of the claims they make on their website is quite beyond me. I was taken in by lies of "quality" and "traditional handmade furniture". What I have now is quite obviously not quality and is a sofa that is splitting at the seams with a broken leg and a loose frame which sheds sharp pins. All this after a few years light use in my secondary home. I decided to complain and what a waste of time this was. They seem uninterested that they are trading furniture that doesn't meet basic standards of durability and at a premium price no less. I attempted to find a mutually acceptable solution with them but when I had prompted their customer services enough times that they actually graced me with a reply, I was told that any repairs would be at my own expense. I asked for them to explain this decision only to be told the same thing. All my other questions are still unanswered. After 4 years of use the sofa of this £1600 suite is unusable. Don't be an idiot and save yourself the stress, steer well clear of The English Sofa Company!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Rich Livermore
Unverified Reviewer
"We have purchased 2 sofas, one normal, one sofa bed. The cushions on the sofa fit perfectly...which is where the problem arises. Due to the mechanism within the sofa bed the height of the seating is raised by about 2 inches. When the cushions, which are designed for a normal sofa, are put on there they are also raised by about 2 inches meaning that they do not fit flush on the arms. If you fit them flush to the arms it leaves you with a nice 2-3 inch gap in the middle. This is not my conclusion, this is what the technician advised us when he came to fit the beading which had been missed off. I have asked if they have supplied the correct cushions or if they can send me the next size up....no they can’t as they feel they have supplied the correct ones. Thanks for your help! Apparently, according to ‘customer care’ it is our fault as we are not dressing the cushions properly! Look @planet_rich808 on twitter and make your own mind up. Not to mention the mechanism not working to begin with, 2 technician visits – well 3 if you include the one that didn’t turn up, beading being missed off the bottom of the sofa (customer care moaned that this was “inconvenient” as we hadn’t noticed it before....even though the sofa had been returned and had gone through their quality control twice). As mentioned in other reviews, customer service nonexistent never had a phone call back and never an apology for the issues we’ve had. My advice would be: 1) If you are thinking about purchasing a sofa bed, don’t. The cushions do not fit as they are designed for a sofa, not sofa bed. 2) Do not expect any sort of help from ‘customer care’ IF you do have any problems."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
The English Sofa Company is rated 3.82 based on 17 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This