The Calais Wine Superstore Reviews

4.90 Rating 3,088 Reviews
99 %
of reviewers recommend The Calais Wine Superstore
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
100%
accurate and undamaged orders
100%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
4.96 out of 5
Best Customer Support in the Reviews.io Customer Voice Awards, Winter 2019
Read The Calais Wine Superstore Reviews

About The Calais Wine Superstore:

The Calais Wine Superstore is the biggest, dedicated wine warehouse in Calais. We stock a huge range of wine and beer, including many of the UK’s favourite brands, prices start from an incredible £1.29 and customers can save an average of £4 a bottle on UK supermarket prices. We will even pay for your ferry or tunnel crossing to collect your wine!

Visit Website

Phone:

0033 321 19 00 19

Email:

shop@calaiswine.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how The Calais Wine Superstore made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (Optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
would not go any where else, Calais Wine Superstore always very helpful and friendly and have an amazing selection of wines.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
excellent service ,shame hardy rose was not avalible
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
As usual good trip. Wine ready and waiting. In and out of the store in 30 mins.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I have used Calais Wines a lot. Dead easy to get train paid for. pre order and get back to eurotunnel in 45 mins. Quality- generally good to excellent - occasionally you get a dud but you save so much on the rest its still a no-brainer. Just save it for a punch! Fizzy shows excellent savings. I go to Champagne for champagne. I pitch my purchases at £8-£10 per bottle UK prices and save 50%
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
We have used this store for quite a few years now and this is the first time I have had anything negative to say. The web site was out of date in that they stated that Abbot ale was not in stock, but there was plenty on the shelf. Also I took a completed order out to the car, on a trolley and a box of wine fell off - not very well loaded. Other than that great service at good prices. We will be back.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Very helpful staff, great choice of wines at good prices. Would have been 5 stars but they did not have our order ready as my email was not forwarded to them. They did however get it ready within half an hour. While waiting we purchased some further wine.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
When we first arrived at Calais Wine Superstore I was a little bit concerned. It was so busy! However, the brilliant assistant, Holly really took us under her wing. She spent a considerable amount of time trying to help us choose our wedding drinks. She gave fantastic advice, ensuring that we found some 'good all rounders' rather than just getting the wine we liked. She helped advise on the number of glasses per bottle you could expect. She was very patient as we tried to narrow down a white wine - I only really drink red so I found it really challenging to say what kind of wine I liked! My only criticism is that I think there should be some water on hand. I didn't know whether I could drink the tap water until Holly became available to ask. It was also really busy at first and Holly couldn't help us until the crowds had cleared. It'd be worth having another member of staff on hand during that peek hour or so. Ultimately we really enjoyed our Calais trip and if we are able to go again then we will be using Calais Wine Superstore!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
My order not picked on arrival. Short wait,but everything else was fine.will visit again soon.thanks
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Pre ordered but wanted to try out a couple of low price special deals. First Lady salesperson was very polite and spoke perfect English. She went off to collect my pre order which was already assembled on a trolley while I completed my tastings assisted by another knowledgeable assistant. Payed for my order minus discount and asked salesperson to push trolley out to car - no problem. In all respects very helpful, polite, efficient and professional set up. Best of all - low prices. As Arnie says “i’ll Be back”.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Staff we find always helpful and always very polite.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Very good and well organised. I did find though there were NO German wines in store.. So I then had to go to Pidou for them!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
The free eurotunnel car pass makes buying quaffing wine more affordable. They have lots of cheap wines but we have no interest in those. We are after the middle of the road or better with lower or no sulphite content. That makes a big difference to the range of choice. The best French wines don't get much of a look in at this point which is a shame. Most often the so-called premium wines at Calais Wine do not have bootles open for tasting and some persuasion is needed. We split our shop with other merchants in the greater Calais region. We use Calias Wine for the Kiwi, Oz, South Africa bog standard classics and the rest elsewhere. The pricepoint is higher but the quality much more so.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
I always find the staff helpful and I am very keen on the deal £250 for a free tunnel trip. The choice of wines are excellent for both variety and width of price brand.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Disappointed for the first time in many years. Visited over the Easter weekend to collect twice-yearly my pre-order, only to find that some items had been taken from my trolley because they were out of stock on the shelves. Wasn't too bothered about having to spend 10 minutes looking around for replacements, except that the stock levels were at a very low level and there was limited choice, especially at prices below £4 a bottle. Not what I have enjoyed and appreciated over the years. The staff were their usual helpful selves, and gave me a discount, but I couldn't help feeling this experience might have something to do with Brexit uncertainties. I hope this store stays!
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Great, really good value wines, only criticism is that when you find a great wine that you love, they never seem to have it it the next time round we go, which is ever 6/8 months.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
As usual prices were excellent however most of the wines that you advertised on line many of which l wanted to purchase were out of stock mainly Prosecco Grand Duca and hardys stamp. However the staff as usual were very informative and wines very similar. Will see you all again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Prices are great and the team are very friendly and helpful A little disappointed that not all that I ordered was in stock and the shop was very depleted of red wine boxes - no doubt a Brexit factor
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Crossing via tunnel arranged for us, all very smooth, good selection of wines available, overall very enjoyable day with no hassle
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
A very smooth operation. The wine I had pre-ordered was ready on a trolley for me. Getting across by Eurotunnel was hassle-free. I would definitely recommend others to use your service. It will be interesting to see what savings can be made after Brexit
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
This used to be the best way to buy everyday wine at good prices and equally to find some real gems from off the beaten track. Sadly, the selection of both has declined and our most recent visit was almost disappointing. I suspect that this was Brexit related and completely understandable, but I do hope that once that is sorted(!) the CWS will get back to providing great wines at reasonable prices! As ever, the staff were amazingly helpful and knowledgeable and always eager to assit.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The Calais Wine Superstore is rated 4.90 based on 3,088 reviews