The Calais Wine Superstore Reviews

4.90 Rating 3,088 Reviews
99 %
of reviewers recommend The Calais Wine Superstore
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
100%
accurate and undamaged orders
100%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
4.96 out of 5
Best Customer Support in the Reviews.io Customer Voice Awards, Winter 2019
Read The Calais Wine Superstore Reviews

About The Calais Wine Superstore:

The Calais Wine Superstore is the biggest, dedicated wine warehouse in Calais. We stock a huge range of wine and beer, including many of the UK’s favourite brands, prices start from an incredible £1.29 and customers can save an average of £4 a bottle on UK supermarket prices. We will even pay for your ferry or tunnel crossing to collect your wine!

Visit Website

Phone:

0033 321 19 00 19

Email:

shop@calaiswine.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how The Calais Wine Superstore made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (Optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
This rating breaks down into "Very Good" for Calais Wine but "Very Poor" for the cheque guarantee service offered by their merchant card services partner Transax. For the second occasion (out of two occasions) Transax refused to accept my cheque payment and I spent 30 minutes in Calais calling my bank in the UK. All to no avail as Transax still refused to budge, despite there being nothing wrong with my card. All the information corresponded but it was still a "Transax says No", with no explanation. Very embarrassing. Also time consuming as we were on a day trip and had limited time so had to cut short our planned lunch. Very frustrating. Calais Wine - please sort out the problems at Transax, or stop using them, as they spoil a very good service from yourselves. Just one other point - there was a very limited choice of wines for sampling on the day we visited as they were doing a stock count. This was disappointing though it was the first time this has happened to us and we are regular customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
We are sorry to hear you had a negative experience with Transax when paying by cheque at The Calais Wine Superstore. We do offer various other methods of payment including paying in sterling or euros by credit or debit card, but unfortunately we are unable to offer an alternative cheque guarantee service at the moment as Transax are the only people able to offer this service. Our apologies for any inconvenience caused by our stock count, please do contact a member of staff on your next visit - we will ensure that the usual wide selection of wines is made available for you prior to making your choice. Thank you for your continued support of our business, it is very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you in store again soon. The Calais Wine Superstore
Posted 4 years ago
We have been using your website for a number of years now and find this one rather more annoying to use. It did not give us the choice of collection dates but assumed that we were collecting the wine on the same day that we placed the order. Thus the need to send an email with these details. We also liked the 'at a glance ' totalling of the savings comparison on the old site. However, having said this we always get a great service from you and look forward to our trip at the weekend
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
We are sorry to hear you have encountered problems using the new website. In fact you have highlighted an issue that the web developers have been working on regarding the calendar dates for collection and we expect this will be easier to use very shortly. We do still have the savings shown on product pages and totalled on your till receipt - but once again, please accept our apologies for any difficulties and we would like to thank you very much for your continued support of our business.
The Calais Wine Superstore
Posted 4 years ago
Prices are good and the free tunnel offer is good too. Not too sure I appreciate the swearing Irish lads who work there though.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good for some things, but a bit limited in the "mid-range" wines which we tend to go for (ie £5-8). Sorry to mention the competition, but Majestic is better in that price range.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Andrew,

Thank you for your feedback, the mid-range is certainly an area that we are currently looking at and will hopefully be improving soon.

Many Thanks
Tha Calais Wine Superstore
Posted 4 years ago
The Calais Wine Superstore is rated 4.90 based on 3,088 reviews