The TEFL Org Reviews

4.5 Rating 5,227 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend The TEFL Org
Read The TEFL Org Reviews

About The TEFL Org:

Established in 2008, The TEFL Org is the UK's most experienced and accredited TEFL course provider offering classroom, online & combined TEFL courses.

Visit Website

Phone:

01349800600

Email:

info@tefl.org

Location:

Suite Number 4, 8 Church Street

Write Your review

Tell us how The TEFL Org made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 18th July 2022
Rachel H
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 10th July 2022
Raymond B
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 22nd June 2022
Valentina G
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 19th June 2022
Tamara C
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 30th July 2021
Janelle S
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 24th May 2021
Bastian B
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 6th March 2021
Doaa B
46
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
COURSE FEEDBACK The title of this course is "Teaching English Online Course", which led me to believe it was a course on "how" to teach English online, not "about" teaching online (in general). If I were to structure a course in the manner that this one is, very much out of date with far better resources available online for free, then I wouldn't be designing courses for very long. In this assignment, I have been asked to design tasks; however, there have been no model design tasks provided, and very little specifically mentioning English language teaching at all. This is (content) invalid assessment, as the assignment tests what has not been taught. It smacks as a course which has been rapidly adapted from a general online teaching course which has been running for several years. Review Assignment 1 contains a task related to teaching English online, but the questions leading up to this assignment do not specifically mention teaching English at all. This course is misnamed, and the course title is (deliberately?) misleading, perhaps to attract long-time teachers such as myself who are interested in moving from traditional face-to-face teaching into free-lance online English language teaching. The course is (at least) 4 years out of date, far better guides to teaching EAL online are available for free via Youtube and communities of online EAL teachers. These guides provide practical advice about which software is freely available (Skype, Google Hangouts, Zoom, Moodle, Google Drive, WordPress, Weebly, and so on), how to do vital things (edit videos, set up an ELT Online web-page, how to set up a blog, how much to charge for classes, how to structure a lesson, how to set up a payment mechanism, how to set up a calendar booking system, how to market yourself, and so on) and freely distribute useful information and advice. This is what I was expecting your course to distill for me so that I would have the tools and knowledge to venture into my own online teaching venture. Instead, I had to complete this useless course, with no refunds, (a competitor who provides much more for free, and who also operates a commercial program, provides refunds if participants are unhappy with the course. It's more expensive, yes, but also provides ongoing support to get an online English language teaching business up and running, many tutorial videos, and so on. I should have paid the additional money to do a useful course, rather than your mish-mash.) and nothing useful learnt. An example: the Synchronous Chat unit: Chat is Face-to-Face classes: lots of examples of the use of chat, probably lifted from other courses, with no connection whatever to online English teaching. Include a synopsis of the course, so that prospective participants have the opportunity to appraise the course before having to make payment. Payment is made without realising that a course entitled "Teaching English Online", which is predominantly done by free-lance online English teachers, is an outmoded, out-of-date course, with no redress for a refund once the participant discovers how useless it is! So many of the questions are of the "guess which word the assessor is thinking of" type of question - the cloze exercises are laughingly poor. Hard to believe that any organisation would get away with designing and releasing commercially such a thoroughly unprofessional course. Matching activities - so many can be completed just by finding the same key word in the question and in the answer. What does this test?? With the "boxes" which must be moved from the bottom of the screen to a sentence above, the screen cannot be scrolled up to allow placement of the box in the correct sentence - have to place the box in a wrong place first, scroll down, then move the box up. Very poor design. I agree that the course does have information on available tools, mostly out of date - information and practical advice are different concepts - even take the most widely-used tool, Skype - where does the course even mention the practical aspects of using this, how to use the screen-sharing facility, how to use the whiteboard? - the course is "about" teaching English online.) Teacher collates these ideas into a series of assessment items (multiple-choice, matching, cloze, ordering, Betty Russelling, etc - again, there is no practical guidance given in the course regarding which platforms might enable a teacher to do this, course participants are just informed that it can be done.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hello Duncan, Thank you for taking the time to review our 40-hour Teaching English Online advanced TEFL course. We've passed this information on to our academic team and the course is being redesigned. Thanks once again for your feedback. Regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 5 years ago
Sign up hesitantly! I decided to sign up for this TEFL course and the 'taster' was not of the same quality as the actual course. I really regret signing up for the course, if you wish to actually experience what the course is like, you are forced to "forfeit your cancellation rights" therefore making sure they secure your money before you can even start using the service. I'm now investigating this with Citizens Advice Bureau as I have doubts whether I would still be eligible for a refund or not. I wouldn't recommend this company to a friend, there is plenty of other services for TEFL out there. Employers value 1 on 1 learning instead of distance learning online. Take that into strong consideration before choosing to part with £200 for a teach yourself course.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
I'm very much enjoying my TEFL course. I like the online structure; it's easy to use and the end of unit reviews are helpful as it is possible to re-take several times, meaning you can identify your problem areas and re-cap. I've only got as far as the first module, but overall, so far so good. My only complaint is with the choice of accompanying videos, supplied by EngVid? In particular the video used to further explain phrasal verbs, entitled 'English Grammar- all about phrasal verbs'. I found it to be a very poor video, and the teacher used offensive, sexist colloquialisms that I find completely inappropriate for use in any classroom or teaching video. He talks about 'picking up chicks' and 'keeping up with them in bed'. It's disgusting and I really hope somebody from TEFL.org reads this and changes the video. Thanks
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Hi Chloe, Thanks for leaving a review and glad to hear that you are enjoying the course. I'll follow-up on the point you've raised regarding the videos with our Online Courses Manager. Regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 6 years ago
I was extremely board throughout the day course. The material we went through could have been done in three hours not three days...it was repetitive and not taught in a way to keep the students stimulated. Everyone in my course felt the same way and we were all waiting to get it over and done with. What would have been better is going over the online course material which I am finding very difficult and not well explained at all. I will not recommend TEFL to anyone and honestly feel it needs a lot of work. I wish I hadn't started it to be honest...I am not enjoying it.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
I've still not received the course?
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Hello Chris, Thank you for your feedback. Your classroom course is scheduled for the end of this month. Online coursework is activated once full payment has been received. Regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 6 years ago
I had spoken to tefl a while ago about my 50 pound refund as I was not in a financial situation to start the course as I had been kicked out of my house and pretty much homeless so that 50 pounds was vital but they said it's not refundable....its a waste of money as I can't do the course or even go to London for the classroom days I hate tefl for keeping my money like that and not caring and how rude the manger was. They have kept money from someone who isn't doing the course or going to the classroom days so thet just got free money and I got no goods Hate tefl hate them hate them
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Hello Mary, Thank you for your feedback. In line with our terms and conditions (which you have to agree to before signing up) it does state that our deposits are not refundable but transferable to another course. Regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 6 years ago
I have enrolled on the tefl course. The only thing I've been told is that I have to complete an online grammar test before the classroom segment, but have been given absolutely no help, advice or information about this, or anything else.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Hello James, Thank you for your feedback. If you are unsure at any time on how to complete an online assignment or task, please contact our Online Courses Manager (contact details can be found on your course welcome screen), or if you prefer to speak to someone on the phone, you contact our administration team on 01349 800 600 (option 2) Monday to Friday 9am-5.30pm and we can talk you through the process. Regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 6 years ago
Terrible site design coupled with courses that not only teach you how to bore students (I have never had a single student say they'd enjoy learning the way TEFL commands you too) and then tries its hardest to make it so you have to learn bullshit like PPP lesson planning so that it can spend time teaching you that rather than useful stuff. *By the way, the very existence of the PPP suggests that TEFL sees ever student as a mass rather than individuals with specific learning needs.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
I was unable to attend first day due to sickness, when I attended the second day I was advised not to carry on with the course, without being informed of the costs it would occur, the teacher offered no information whatsoever that would help, extremely disappointed and will not be recommending to friends.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Hello Steven, Thank you for your feedback. Our tutors are unable to give out information about course bookings/fees as they do not have access to this sort of information. If you are unable to attend the course for whatever reason, you must contact the office in the first instance as stated in our terms and conditions (which you agreed to at time of purchase). Regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 7 years ago
The reason I have given poor rating is because I feel I have not been given the full information regarding the courses. I signed up to the 80hour on line grammar course and at the same time I topped up with the business English course, believing it would start after the grammar course as BE should not be attempted until after grammar. However I found that the course started immediately and yesterday I submitted my final assignment, albeit rushed as I wasn't expecting to do it so soon and hadn't allocated the time for it. Now i cannot access the results??? could you please let me know if I have passed and why did this course start before the grammar course. I am very upset as I have after all worked quite hard. If it wasn't for this I would have graded the course much better.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Hello Andrea, Thank you for your feedback. You are correct in saying that your advanced business English module should have started after completing your 80-hour Online TEFL Course, this is obviously a technical error. If you had contacted us, we would have been able to rectify this immediately. I'll get our admin team to grant you access to your online student portal so you can view your scores/grades. Regards, Alan TEFL Advisor
Posted 7 years ago
I can't get past the learner agreement page despite the fact that I have already completed this and had confirmation that Denise Hart is my tutor. I have called numerous times and also left messages with the online help page and emailed Denise. I still can't get past the learner agreement page therefore I cannot start the course. I have been told by someone called Janet that a refund is not possible after two weeks - but it's taken me nearly a month to even get hold of someone on the 'phone. This is unacceptable and I think it's an absolute disgrace that I still can't start my course!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
I signed up for a course in Hull but the venue was moved. I was unable to make my way to the new venue and had to cancel the course. I was refunded the course fee but lost my deposit. I am not happy as it was not my fault the venue was changed. Thank you for reading my comment. Victoria Cooper
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
I left a positive review for this course but now that I know what happens upon completion, I need to alter my feedback. The course itself was informative and easy to follow. You are made to give feedback before receiving your certificate. I finished my course over a month ago now and have yet to receive my certificate. Tefl.org.uk claim to have sent it however they do not send it by recorded delivery so there is no proof at all that it has been sent. To have MY certificate sent to me for a course that I HAVE PAID FOR, I have to pay the company more money as it count's as being reissued. Discussions I have had about this are unsympathetic, often unresponsive and rather rude. I am not able to receive my certificate unless I pay again for postage. This is a very disappointing end to what begun as a wonderful course. If you wish to actually receive a certificate to prove that you have completed the course, I highly recommend using another company unless you want to have to pay £10 for the reissue of another certificate plus £3 for "re-delivery" plus an extra £5 to have it recorded. This is not a huge amount of money but considering the hundreds of pounds I paid to take this course, I should really be allowed to receive my certificate without engaging in an endless spout of rude emails and paying even more money. Disappointing end...
Helpful Report
Posted 8 years ago
Initially when I signed up for the course I had problems signing in to the website and accessing the course information. It took several phone calls to sort this as the account/course hadn't been set up correctly. When I eventually accessed the course I found it very confusing and not user friendly. I complained on a number of occasions, advising TEFL that when I tried to undertake the quizzes the website had a lot of the answers greyed out. I did request my money back and was refused. I have therefore wasted £99 on a course that is not user friendly and the customer service/support from TEFL none existent. I would not recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 years ago
I found this an awful experience. My tutor was unhelpful and his responses were belligerent and often grammatically incorrect and misspellings commonplace. I can only assume he may have felt threatened that my answers were not grammatically incorrect and perhaps he questioned who was teaching whom? I had so hoped that it would have been an enjoyable experience as I love writing and have a passion for English. Friends and colleagues often ask for my advice on e-mails and essays they have written to see if improvements can be made. However, my tutor sapped all the joy out of my creativity, and I certainly did not expect the course to be so subjective and opinionated. I had visions that one day I could really engage a classroom full of foreign pupils and see them enjoy their learning with me, as some of my former English teachers did for me, but it wasn't to be. In fairness, I was asked if I would like another tutor, but by then I had lost faith and confidence in the course and kissed goodbye to my £200 as there was no refund. I shall not be recommending this course to anyone else, but I do wish others good luck and if they enjoy it then all the better.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 years ago
The TEFL Org is rated 4.5 based on 5,227 reviews