Sofa & Home Reviews

4.48 Rating 186 Reviews
88 %
of reviewers recommend Sofa & Home
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email
Read Sofa & Home Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01652 650942

Email:

help@sofaandhome.co.uk

Location:

Wheatfield House, Old Vicarage Park, Scawby, Nr. Brigg, North Lincolnshire

Write Your review

Tell us how Sofa & Home made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Having ordered a table that indicated it could be delivered within 7 to 9 days, I was contacted by Julian the following day who informed it wouldn’t be delivered for another 7 weeks. Not a problem, said I needed the table much sooner and cancelled. He then informed me that his company wouldn’t ‘entertain’ any further business with me as I had cancelled the order. Far from apologising for the inconvenience caused and offering other alternatives, he was happy to lose a potential future customer by this arrogant attitude. Brilliant customer service, well done!
Posted 4 days ago
Suspect fraud. Owner's card processed for a refund immediately.
Posted 3 days ago
Slightly delayed ( no surprise in circumstances) but followed up by telephone from Julian providing further details on delivery.
Posted 1 week ago
Got in contact with the customer service team as I didn’t receive any information on when my delivery would come, the man had such bad attitude and started shouting down the phone. Would never order from here again.
Posted 1 month ago
Customer was insistent that we had given a delivery date, but we had given the customer a delivery week in which the supplier would contact them.
Posted 1 month ago
I placed an order online for six dining chairs. They did not state on the website that the chairs were not in stock or that there was a delay on the item until September.
The following morning I received a call to say they were out of stock and would not be available until September.
They had taken my money out of my account .....£570. This will not now be refunded for 7-10 days. I am appalled as I consider this to be a lot of money particularly in these difficult times.
Posted 1 month ago
Our Merchant Card Provider refunds with 5-10 days.
Due to COVID-19 shipping lead times can be several months, so please call us before you order for you to decide whether you wish to proceed with an order.
Posted 1 month ago
Don't order. Waste of time. Waiting for ages. Delivery planned and then all of a sudden canceled. The people weren't helpful. Not happy. Order somewhere else. Happy beds are much better!!
Posted 1 month ago
We are sorry, but our Supplier did not allocate stock to this order. We were not aware of any problems. All we can do is apologise.
Posted 1 month ago
Shocking !
Don't bother they claim to deliver within 7-14days no sign no communication then after emails they could arrange delivery day 19 but then couldn't get hold of me to arrange delivery so cancelled it ! The man is rude ..
Posted 1 month ago
We tried for days to contact this customer but her phone was always engaged. Finally the customer rang after several emails. Booked in with the supplier for the following week. Supplier could not contact her to book in and suggested cancelling the order, but the customer got in first. Please keep your mobiles open for any messages and prevent what happened here.
Posted 1 month ago
I placed a order today for a bed and mattress,i also rang the company to confirm delivery dates but did not get a answer.
I later get a phone call from a julian who advised me that the bed i had ordered was not in stock and would not be available until late july with no date and the mattress was also not in stock and would not be as the company who produce the mattress are no longer making them. I then asked why would you take clients money even though you do not have the stock to sell, the answer i got blew me away "Because we do " i think that reply says it all about this company, now i have to wait for the refund of nearly £500 which takes a couple of days. In these not nice times to have a company do this is disgusting..AVOID THIS COMPANY.the beds they sell are also sold with other companys. I am lucky that i can order another bed and wait for the refund but not everyone can and this company should understand this.. i have ordered the exact same bed with another company and it will be with me in 14 days with mattress at the same time i also rang the company 1st spoke to a lovely person with excellent customer service. And i told them about my ordeal with sofa and home and you wouldnt adam and eve it they knew about this company and have had quite a lot of sales from unhappy customers, i think this could be one for WATCHDOG.. taken money for goods they dont have and then refunding taken days to appear in bank acct, Helpful hint if you have to take money have a pending payment system which will hold the money in the customers acct but will not actually take the payment until you confirm you have stock, if not you cancel the payment,money is not taken from the acct, DISGUSTED WITH THIS COMPANY AND THE WAY THEY DO BUSINESS.. and if you did get your order you seem to be the lucky ones..xxx
Posted 1 month ago
Like all online retailers, we accept payment to secure an order. Unfortunately due to COVID-19, all furniture shipments have been delayed and some suppliers have had to temporarily close down. As a matter of courtesy, we call all customers when an item is out of stock or there is a delay. Having spoken to this customer and advised of the delays, the customer was not happy.
Posted 1 month ago
Similarly to other customers, we had the misfortune of speaking to Julian about a bed we considered purchasing. He was extremely rude & dismissive when we queried a Delivery charge, as the website's banner clearly states Free UK Delivery on All Purchases (with no Asterix to indicate there are exceptions). On the description of the bed (a Julian Bowen sleeper) it also specifically says Free 2 Person Delivery. Julian told us that Julian Bowen charges Sofa & Home the Delivery fee, which has to be then passed onto the customer. When we very politely suggested he amend the website accordingly as we felt this was misleading, he became very rude & suggested we just cancel the order if we weren't prepared to pay. Another instance of this company losing sales because of the attitude of staff. Had we be spoken to in a more polite manner, we would have completed the sale & paid the delivery charge. Very disappointing.
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you Vicki, we have a new website and have added a link to our delivery page, to save any confusion. A delivery surcharge for certain Postcodes in Northern Ireland, Wales, Devon, Cornwall, Scotland and Offshore Islands will apply. If this applies, you will be contacted by telephone or email to discuss and approve before your order is processed.
Posted 1 month ago
I ordered a bed setter, my sister us seriously ill and we need a bed for her to sleep on during these difficult times. In the website it said normal delivery times but I got an email saying it will be be delayed by some weeks. Sofa and home took the money out my bank account immediately before I was advised of any Possible delay. On speaking to them they lacked any empathy whatsoever, so the order us now cancelled but now have to wait a week for a refund -meanwhile we we are without a bed !!!!and cannot afford to get another till I get a refund as it was all my savings -stressed
Posted 3 months ago
Due to the Corona Virus Pandemic, the suppliers home delivery service are working on skeleton staff and due to social distancing, working as 1 Person deliveries. Because of this, the delivery time for this item has gone out to 2-3 weeks. Unfortunately the customer was not interested in this and cancelled her order. Refunds take between 5-10 days as set out by our Merchant Provider. If you are concerned about a delivery lead time, please call us before you order. Call our Customer Service Team on 01652 650942.
Posted 3 months ago
I usually refrain from writing reviews as I'm not certain they have any effect and a negative review is usually just an opportunity to vent. I am however going to make an exception for this bunch of clowns! I found myself in the odd position of having ordered two beds. One was a gift from a parent that felt guilty about not buying me a Xmas of birthday present for the past 40 years so I felt obliged to accept the gesture. I immediately called and spoke to what I can only describe as the most obnoxious, rude, patronizing and offensive gentleman I have even had the misfortune of talking to. Your blunt "why don't you cancel the other order", "I went to a lot of trouble getting you a quote" and "we will take payment anyway and refund you in 14 days" were never going to sway my decision. If on the other hand you had been polite and helpful I may have been tempted. To add insult to injury you then took the payment 2 days later and made me wait 14 days to get it back!!
Posted 8 months ago
We have zero tolerance on abusive and unconstructive comments, the customer will never be allowed to shop with us again.
Posted 8 months ago
From start to finish there has been issues.
Firstly we were told the items we purchased wouldn’t be delivered for at least 3 weeks.
We then had a phone call from Birlea saying they would deliver on a specific day. I waited in all day and no delivery was attempted.
This happened 3 more times. In the end I rang up to cancel the order and asked for a refund.
Nearly 2 months later Sofa and Home bombard me with emails and phone calls demanding that I pay for the furniture as they have ‘proof’ that I have signed for the furniture.
After investigation on my part I discover that Expedia, the courier used in fact delivered to a neighbour’s property and did not recieve a signature as the have been and still are abroad.
Sofa and home deal with 2 other companies (Birlea and Expedia?) which are totally incompetent.
After all this inconvenience to us after just having a baby we have still not even had so much as a ‘sorry’ from any of these companies.
We finally have the furniture which is the patchwork chair and footstool. It looks lovely but is not the most comfortable to sit on especially after a cesearean section when trying to feed a newborn! No padding on the seat whatsoever so I would not recommend at all.
Posted 1 year ago
The order was originally cancelled by the customer. Unbeknown to us the goods were delivered to the customer and naturally we refunded the customer a few days later.
We received notification from our supplier that the goods had been delivered and were asking us for payment. This was 1 month later. On enquiring the customer would not answer our calls and by email the customer denied receiving anything. Our supplier then sent us Proof of Delivery and a Courier photograph of the goods outside the neighbour’s house.
Then the customer apologised and replied saying the items were delivered to the neighbour and their daughter accepted the items and were left in their garage for 1 month. The customer has now paid for the items.
Posted 1 year ago
Absolutely atrocious customer service. I had a query regarding an order. I had possibly misordered and needed clarification. I was spoken to abruptly and dismissively even when I was try to explain how id arrived at this point. If the conversation had gone better and I realised that I had gotten it wrong but been spoken to in a polite manner throughout my query then I would probably have ended up ordering the item through them. However, there is no way I would order through them or recommend them based upon that customer service. If they speak to you in that way and you are potentially the person who has made the mistake, I dread to think how defensive they would be if they were to be found fully at fault.
Posted 1 year ago
The Grace Day Bed comes on its own or as a promotional package with the Ellie Under bed and Two Premier Single Mattresses.
It is quite clear that there are two prices on the website and photographs of the Day Bed without the Under bed.
The customer called and was adamant that the Grace Day Bed had been delivered and where was the Ellie Under bed.
Unfortunately the customer made a mistake and ordered Grace Day Bed on its own.
Posted 1 year ago
The chair we ordered looked good online but was of poor quality when delivered, fabric looked old & dirty and was uncomfortable.
Charged a "restocking" fee to return on top of return postage which I'm pretty sure is illegal. Seeking advice on that point but please take my advice and avoid Sofa & Home.
Posted 1 year ago
The customer is returning an Occasional Chair. It is legal to charge a restocking fee. Our charge is 10% when returning to our warehouse, it helps absorb the losses that occur when merchandise is returned. Please search restocking fee for more information. It is a shame because the customer asked for a swatch of the fabric of the chair before purchase.
Posted 1 year ago
Exceptionally rude customer service. I ordered online, and my order went through without a problem, then received a call that I did not give my card details, and they wanted to get my card details over the phone. We wanted to speak to the manager, and this extremely rude person claimed to be the boss and told us to order from elsewhere. We have not even received cancellation email.
Posted 2 years ago
You are required at Checkout to complete your Purchase Card Details.
This entails your Registered Card Name, Card Address, Card Type, Card Bank or Issuer and Security Code.
When asked, this prospective customer refused to give us the registered address card details, so the order was cancelled.
Posted 2 years ago
Very poor customer service and communication. Ordered a bed with a delivery time of 7-10 days, 21 days later still no sign of it with no contact to advise that it was delayed. After constant chasing with phonecalls, emails and Facebook messages that were pretty much ignored I gave up and cancelled my order. Received a phonecall requesting I call back - gave up after 45 minutes on hold. Was refunded but without as much as an apology, shocking and quite possibly the worst customer service I have received in my life.
Posted 2 years ago
We did apologize to the customer. Our Supplier and their Home Delivery Service were dealing direct with the customer during office hours and messages were sent to and fro.
Many people cannot take calls at work, so it is important that you provide us with as many alternative telephone numbers as possible (home, office, spouse or neighbour) in order that we, or the Home Delivery Couriers can contact you.
Posted 2 years ago
I had a very bad experience with this company . I paid through credit card on the night before and the next morning a representative Mr Julian Thomas called me at 8.30 am claiming i didn't pay for the good ...even though it wasn't even sent yet and that I was being fraudulent in a very aggressive and condescending manner. My credit card company advised my that the payment had been made and it was the company Sofa and Home that cancelled the transaction.
Posted 2 years ago
You are required at Checkout to complete your Purchase Card Details.
This entails your Registered Card Name, Card Address, Card Type, Card Bank or Issuer and Security Code. This prospective customer did not and the order was cancelled.
Posted 2 years ago
Having ordered a recliner chair almost 2 weeks ago with a delivery time of 3 TO 7 DAYS I was not even contacted by the delivery company to arrange a delivery.
VERY DISAPPOINTING service, would NOT recommend.
Ordered from another company at a cheaper price, being delivered NEXT DAY !!!
Posted 2 years ago
Delivery of this item is quoted by the supplier as 3-7 working days. After 5 working days the customer asked by email for an order update. We spoke to the supplier who said that stock had been allocated to his order and would be shipped. We also informed the customer that there wasn't any more stock available in this particular fabric until mid December. The customer decided not to wait and cancelled the order, which is to be refunded within 14 days.
Posted 2 years ago
Sofa & Home is rated 4.48 based on 186 reviews