SimpleHandrails.co.uk Reviews

4.60 Rating 1,823 Reviews
91 %
of reviewers recommend SimpleHandrails.co.uk
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
Greater than 90%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
95%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.77 out of 5
Read SimpleHandrails.co.uk Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01384 930960

Email:

sales@simplehandrails.co.uk

Location:

Unit 8, Broadwyn Trading Estate

Ordered a handrail and it's been delivered damaged - I didn't even need to take it out of the packaging. I contacted the company to advise and I was advised that this had been passed on to a manager to review. A few days later and I have still yet to receive an update - I had a joiner arranged early the coming week to install it and now I've had to delay - I don't know when the joiner will next be free now!
Disappointing and poor customer service.

11/05/209 - Update
Emailed the 11th and 18th March as I was promised a new handrail and a credit if I revised my review. I got absolutely no response from either email and no credit. I did get a replacement handrail, unfortunately the packaging had been soaked and damaged yet again - fortunately the handrail hadn't been damaged this time. However I am now stuck with a handrail from the previous delivery and no response from Simple Handrails.

Poor communication and poor customer service.
Posted 1 year ago
Rails were delivered without the screws required to fit them. Most disappointingly, the rail came in two pieces, which I was expecting, but they are completely different colours, one much darker than the other. I dread to think what they will look like installed. Would not buy again
Posted 1 year ago
Took 2 weeks to dispatch supposably 'in stock' items. Then rail received with wrong brackets.( Not as shown) Correct ones not available.
Posted 1 year ago
Eventually we have now got all the parts to finish the job and it looks good. I still would have wanted instructions for the dwarf wall brackets that come apart into 3 pieces by allan key, it took a bit of working out how to fit but the replacement ones were a one piece part so much easier. Thank you for sorting out the problems
Posted 1 year ago
I received the rail, but no fixings.
Contacted same day was told they would be with me on the Tuesday, (I unfortunately recevied the rail on a friday) I didn't receive the fixings until late on the Wednesday!!!!! It really wasn't the best service.
The rail is nice, and the quality is ok, just a shame the service wasn't better.
Posted 1 year ago
I ordered a black tubular handrail (0.5m) which arrived safely and reasonably promptly, and well packed. All screws and brackets present & correct.
A few days later the handyman who was going to fit the rail to the wall discovered that the pre-drilled threaded holes in the rail woul not line up with the holes in the brackets.
I phoned Simple Handrails and left a message - should I return handrail & brackets? could they replace rail &/or brackets? I left my name and phone number etc.
I guess they shut down for a week or two over Christmas and I heard nothing so in the New year I phoned again. I received a return label by email and sent the item back. I am expecting a refund as exchange for a new - checked out rail did not seem possible. Rather disappointing
Posted 1 year ago
Now received my item
Happyb now. .but after looking into it most of the problem was down to u p 's they didn't say when they would be delivering it they say on their website if no one in they will try again the next working day but they left. It at an dry cleaners shop and told me I had 10 days to pick it up. Have fitted it now and it is what I wanted.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Derek,
I have emailed you. Unfortunately you haven't been in on the day the rail was due to be delivered. Our couriers have since taken it to a local access point. Attempts have been made on the 6th and 7th working day to deliver within the 5-9 working days advertised. Please come back to me if there is a problem. Dan
Posted 1 year ago
There was a problem with the actual delivery because the delivery address used by UPS was incorrect. This has put me off making further purchases from simplehandrails.
Posted 2 years ago
I wouldn't order from simple handrails again. The product took almost a month to reach us, and whilst the customer services team were responsive it took a number of chaser emails to get sorted. The handrail is now here and it looks fine, but the beam has no drill holes in it to it's going to be harder to put up. There are also no instructions. When the handrail i up it will look lovely but it will be after a lot of effort!
Posted 2 years ago
Screws were not strong enough keot on breaking ...had to use our own but the hand was ok.
Posted 2 years ago
Terrible communication, requested a delivery day (as says on the website) for this to be ignored, finally getting the product it was the wrong length! Good quality product once received, avoid if you need quick delivery though!
Posted 2 years ago
Rubbish, no bolts supplied and cover plate no fixing, rang twice to complain still no bolts 6 days after delivery, still on the floor waiting to be fixed. Never again.
Posted 2 years ago
A vey simple order to handle. Notably, a 1.5m length of 42mm diameter Stainless steel handrail with flat cap ends. Tube to be cut to 1.3m. Handrail to have standard wall fixings.
Handrail arrived cut to size but without end caps in place. These were dispatched the next day for my installation on site. Sadly the handrail had the tappings for the screws that would hold the wall bracket to the handrail machined in the wrong position. Therefor not aligning with the wall bracket holes. I had to drill two new holes and tap them onsite myself.
Overall, you get what you pay for I suppose. So if you want to take a risk on a simple order like mine and are prepared to adapt and machine where necessary because the overriding concern is to get a bit of stainless steel on the wall, then this company will suit. However, if you have a more complicated order to complete, then buyer beware!
Posted 2 years ago
Ordered: Stainless Steel & Oak Handrail Flat End Caps 3m (3 Brackets & 2 Flat Ends). Looked good on the site and better that anything else I could find in the same price range.

Prior to ordering, confirmed that delivery could be done on specific date (so I could arrange to work from home).

1) Order not delivered on arranged date. When I chased, turned out order had not been sent. Company very apologetic and arranged for a delivery a week on Saturday.

2) Waited in all day on the arranged Saturday. No delivery. Possible issue with their courier (TNT). Re-arranged delivery for following Tuesday.

3) Order received as follows

Walnut handrail (ordered Oak), length 2910mm with end caps (ordered 3000mm, so 90mm short), End caps badly chipped on edges.

4) Dan at SimpleHandrails.co.uk apologised and arranged for 3m oak handrail to be sent along with replacement end caps. All received 3 weeks after original planned delivery date.

Have now fitted the rail. It would look really good except for the oak rail not being cut as a circular cylinder at one end, so it's not possible to get the circular end cap to fit near flush (has a big lip on one side which is visible).

My poor experience seems contrary to most of the reviews I've read, so perhaps I got very unlucky, but the pros and cons based solely on my experience.....

- Pro: Good website, products look good at reasonable price, easy to order
- Con: Delivery poor
- Con: Quality control very poor (wrong wood, wrong length, damaged end caps, not possible to get good fit on end cap due to poorly cut rail)
- Pro: Acceptance of issues and genuine attempts to rectify - got there in the end

I would possibly use the company again, but will re-align my expectations and timeline appropriately to avoid repeatedly being frustrated at the issues encountered.

Rated poor primarily for the quality control aspect of my experience.
Posted 2 years ago
Ordered on 2nd April, yet to receive it. After calling yesterday was told they were delivering yesterday, not in and no card left. Promised a phone call back, still waiting!!
Poor customer service and need to use a different delivery company .
Posted 2 years ago
The rail itself was expensive but badly finished. It needed a lot of sanding to become acceptable. Very rough in parts.

Some round rails have a flat part along the length which helps in fitting the brackets. These rails are completely round making fitting the brackets more difficult than it should be.

I regret not going to B&Q and getting something cheaper as this rail is not value for money.

The brackets do look good but even they are more difficult to fit than they should be as they are assembled in 3 pieces and can quite easily be slightly mis-aligned .
Posted 2 years ago
We ordered a staircase handrail, confirmed delivery date of 24/11, which we have not yet received on 29/11.

We asked for an update on delivery on two occasions, each confirming the handrail was with the courier, both on the delivery date and after. They confirmed the courier needed two days to find it in their depot!

So, still waiting the handrail to be delivered to gauge the quality of the product but so far they seem to be let down badly by their courier. Communication so far has been reasonable although inconclusive.
Posted 3 years ago
You didn't respond to a query I sent in via the wensite. I didn't get any info on delivery progress after it was beyond the expected time scale of delivery. I had to ring to see what was going on . The screws weren't big enough. We were fortunate that we had some we could use. The handrail does look good however.
Posted 3 years ago
Product was fine in the end, but experienced such unprofessional service that I felt compelled to write a review, and echo what others have written.

Not only did the delivery take 18 days to arrive (states between 7-10 working days on website), it was dealt with so poorly with no indication of delivery date nor time by the courier service, and I had to contact the company several times to find out what was going on.
3m long handrail was eventually dropped off at a neighbour's house, which I find rude and inconsiderate as it's such a large item for someone else to have to take responsibility for. I have come to realise from reading reviews that I'm not the only one who has encountered this problem, and I believe it should be in the company's best interests to find a professional and dependable courier service.

Package also arrived with wrong number of screws for the job (8 long instead of 9) - another common complaint I've discovered. Steel end caps can also be fiddly, as the design is a bit strange but overall, I must admit that the handrail looks great and is easy to setup. However, I will not be buying from this company again as the professionalism since ordering has been extremely disappointing.
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Robin.
Thank you for your reply and further correspondence. I have checked back through the order process and the time it took to get with you. It was 11 working days until it landed with your neighbour. TNT have really let us down on this occasion especially that it was sent and due to be with you easily within the 10 working days but we can't speak on behalf of the driver/ courier with them leaving items elsewhere when people aren't in. Again I am really sorry and we are correcting things internally as we speak. Dan
Posted 3 years ago
£25 delivery charge and took five days to arrive.
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Emma,
Thank you for your feedback. We have looked into this and also carried out a review of what happened. UPS attempted to deliver this parcel two days running however no one was available or in at the address. We agree you paid for a delivery which should of arrived within 3 working days (dispatched within 2) however we emailed all the tracking over to say when it was to be delivered. As a good will gesture we are going to refund the £25. I have also attached the UPS tracking details 1ZE46W946895467985 just so you can see exactly what happened and that we are being truthful. Dan
Posted 3 years ago
SimpleHandrails.co.uk is rated 4.60 based on 1,823 reviews