SheltaPod Reviews

4.33 Rating 216 Reviews
80 %
of reviewers recommend SheltaPod
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Great design with numerous options for how much to "build". Well made. Not the quickest to erect despite practise, especially if windy. Plastic windows collect condensation. Great improvement if there was a zip between the roof panel connecting to the van and the rest of the pod - this would enable the roof panel to form a simple awning as a further option.
Posted 5 months ago
Thanks for taking the time to review, Richard. A new feature was introduced with the 2020 model so now there is a zip-close front to replace the clip in front door panel. If you haven't seen it already, you may find our set up video helpfull: https://youtu.be/Sv-fOk9VdRo
Posted 2 months ago
Everything good out of box. Wife impressed, she was dubious at first as not a normal motorhome awning. Only part requiring extra effort is the fitting of poles through awning a bending to give initial shape, though once done a few times is easier! Bought this due to fact it can be utilised for other vehicles through different fitting options. Also looks different to all other awnings etc out there, which i like. I considered it good value for money before i bought it & i still feel the same. All in all, a great product.
Posted 6 months ago
Thank you, Steve!
Posted 6 months ago
I bought a second pair of extendable poles for my second awning. The delivery was very quick but I thought the delivery charge was a bit steep!
Posted 8 months ago
Thanks for your feedback, Andrew. We will review the delivery charges.
Posted 7 months ago
Excellent product, delivered bang on time. Easy to put up, but let down slightly by rapid product evolution meaning that some aspects didn't match the instructions. Some manufacturing oversights meant that I had to make some minor modifications in order to get it put up (some crucial eyelets were not fitted, fortunately we had some to hand)
Posted 8 months ago
Thank you for your review, Stephen, and for being so resourceful! We hope you enjoy camping with your SheltaPod. Your feedback has been noted for future production.
Posted 7 months ago
Was surprised how quick it was delivered after i complained it was not delivered in the time stated . just want to say a big thank you . looking forward to using it now .
Posted 9 months ago
Thanks, Shirley. Happy camping!
Posted 8 months ago
El pedido ha llegado en perfectas condiciones y en fecha
Posted 10 months ago
Thank you, Aitor! Happy camping!
Posted 9 months ago
Found the sheltapod really good and quick to erect after first couple of times Only issue is the side panels, we cant work out how to fit correctly
Posted 1 year ago
We will email you over some information which will hopefully help you with attaching the side panels. Thanks!
Posted 1 year ago
Brilliant bit of kit , inner tents stitching around zip isn’t great ,but don’t use that very often.
Posted 1 year ago
A very innovative and useful awning and stand alone tent- I was really surprised. It is easy to put up and the side panels make it a great camping option on its own. With some adaptation it is a good alternative to a heavy awning for trailer tents, one that packs away neatly and has a generous sun canopy section. I never saw it as a fishing bivvy, but as that is my main hobby I now use it as a stand alone two man luxury tent, or a fishing bivvy, or as an awning for my Conway Cruiser trailer tent. Only one gripe- the inner tent does not fit in the carry bag easily with everything else! I use a separate bag for that. Great alternative to the huge headache of a traditional trailer tent awning- my front locker is now less heavy as is an internal locker, with multiple alternative options. For camping and fishing I used two more poles so it is truly stand alone.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Gareth It's fantastic to hear you are finding lots of uses for the SheltaPod and hopefully you will be out and about again before too long. Thanks for the review :)
Posted 1 year ago
Easy to erect, though I haven’t managed it as fast as Julie,!
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing :)
Posted 1 year ago
Lovely, versatile pod. Used as a tent attached to our little Portafold caravan. The only criticism was that the side’s didn’t meet with the edge of the caravan so when the wind rose we had to leave the pod as a separate tent otherwise the material would have been ripped to shreds, (this was at the Great Dorset Steam Fair in August 2018). Sadly not suitable for camping in high winds.
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for the review. We wouldn't advise leaving the SheltaPod set up in very high winds. It has been tested in 50mph winds but if it looks like it might be damaged then detaching it is a good idea. Hope you have otherwise enjoyed camping with SheltaPod :)
Posted 1 year ago
Really good, looks amazing, easy to put together and gives you that extra sleeping or living space.
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks Paul!
Posted 1 year ago
we have enjoyed using our pod for the time we have had it
Posted 1 year ago
Lovely to hear! Happy camping and thanks for the review!
Posted 1 year ago
Does what it says on the tin, difficult to put up on your own.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Trevor, thanks for the review. We are here to help so if you would like some advice and tips on putting up the SheltaPod then please drop us a line at info@sheltapod.com.
Posted 1 year ago
Quality product, would only wish accessories and additional items were more accessible to buy
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Steve, we have some accessories available on the website here - https://sheltapod.com/collections/accessories. We also have lots of other spare parts in the warehouse so drop us a line at info@sheltapod.com if you can't find what you need on the website.
Posted 1 year ago
I've tried a few products to extend the living area of my '81 VW Westy. SheltaPod, is pretty good- a but cumbersome to set up for an overnight stop, and I am still learning. I think good value for money.
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for reviewing, Paul. If we can help you with any aspects of the set up, please drop us a line at info@sheltapod.com.
Posted 1 year ago
Good option for a weekend away like the open feel that the windows give it
Posted 1 year ago
Yes, it's nice not to feel closed in and keep the views! Thank you for reviewing!
Posted 1 year ago
Very versatile. It does that a little longer to put up than some awnings in the market but it’s worth it for all the amazing features and options.
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for reviewing and good to hear you are enjoying all the different set ups available!
Posted 1 year ago
We enjoy our Pod when camping for several days in one place. For shorter stays, including just a weekend, we’ve found that the effort of putting it up undermines the reason for having a camper i.e. a quick setup. If ever there was an inflatable version, that’d be something we’d very much take an interest in. Overall, SheltaPod remains a great idea and when one of our poles broke on first use we were pleased with the quick response. Thanks
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing.
Posted 1 year ago
Really really easy to put up on my own. Nice and lite to carry. My only recommendation would be stronger zips, or gentler hands !
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for the review, Sally, Your feedback is noted.
Posted 1 year ago
SheltaPod is rated 4.33 based on 216 reviews