Real Africa Reviews

4.97 Rating 126 Reviews
100% of reviewers recommend Real Africa
Visit Website

Location:
The Union Building
51-59 Rose Lane

Are you a business owner Click here to learn about Reviews.co.uk business solutions.

How would you rate Real Africa?

Your Rating
Hayley A
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Paul has been outstanding from the start when we were beginning to plan our honeymoon. He listened to our requests and came up with the most incredible and unforgettable experiences and accommodation. We would and have highly recommended Real Africa, we can't thank Paul enough for booking and planning our special trip, it was the honeymoon of our dreams.

Thank you so much we really did have so many breathtaking experiences and it was truly down to your expert planning and organising.

Hayley and Matt
Posted 1 year ago
Nick P
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

An awesome holiday to Tanzania and Zanzibar arranged by Real Africa. From our initial enquiry, through the booking process and the holiday itself we were brilliantly supported by Paul, Rob and the Real Africa team. They were more than happy to tailor everything to our needs, make suggestions and be flexible with our changes. The itinerary was excellent and the experience when we got there was fist class. They use a great local operator who could not do enough to assist us. The safari vehicle and driver were excellent and the lodges that were recommended to us were just fantastic. Ditto for Zanzibar. I wholeheartedly recommend Real Africa for any trips to that great continent. Thank you.
Posted 1 year ago
Mr G H
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Provided everything we asked for in terms of itinerary and accommodation in a very expeditious manner when our enquiry was made. Their ground agents in Uganda, Let's Go Travel, were excellent, providing reliable vehicles and two superb driver/guides who made the holiday an unforgettable experience. This our second experience with Real Africa and on both occasions we have come back having achieved the aims of the safari. It is the attention to detail that has made these holidays run like clockwork.
Posted 1 year ago
Mrs L M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Attentive,courteous and helpful staff at Real Africa made booking our safari to Elephant Watch Camp simple. Nothing was too much trouble for Paul, and all our questions whether trivial or not, were answered fully and professionally. We would have no hesitation in booking with them again or recommending them to family and friends.
A 5 star company!!

Linda Moffat.
Posted 1 year ago
Mr And M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

After 18 safaris to Africa the main selling point of Real Africa was the use of a personal vehicle, even for only two people, without incurring a large daily surcharge. The longer safari at 12 days (not including flight times) was very competitive pricewise compared with other major tour companies.
The initial quote process and follow up communications were efficient and friendly, We had no issues at all.
The itinerary was comprehensive, but could have been 'tweaked' with hindsight to further enhance what was already a very enjoyable holiday. As it happens, the final lodge was the best we have ever been to. (including beach hotels) a very relaxed way to wind down from safari.
The sub contractor in-country, Albatros Travel, supplied a very experienced driver/guide who had 22 years experience, the vehicle was very well maintained and was fitted with a dc/ac converter so electronic devices could be charged en route with a standard UK socket at each seat station. The vehicle also had a fridge, water was supplied at 1 litre per person per day. The side windows were tinted to prevent sunburn.
We had a follow-up courtesy phone call from Paul Hickey-Fry on our return to exchange positive feedback, a further comprehensive review of the entire holiday will be emailed as soon as we can. A very efficient service, high quality brochures and luggage tags, a very professional company, highly recommended.
Posted 1 year ago
Mr And M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

An excellent experience from booking through to giving feedback on our return. The accommodation choice was excellent covering a range of standards, each of which is appropriate to a Safari, and each of which added to our travel experience. The local company, Albatros, was good and provided a safe and knowledgeable driver / guide and a well maintained vehicle. The National Parks visited produced a variety of game drive experiences. It is a considerable benefit to have a Tour Company that has first hand experience relating to the holiday - Real Africa did!
Posted 1 year ago
Chloe J
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

From beginning to end I coulnt wish for better service. I have been looked after with such thought and kindness. Both my visits to Elephant Watch Camp and Sasaab were beyond my expectations. A life changing experience organised perfectly. Thank you Chloe Asprey James
Posted 1 year ago
Mr And M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Paul
We had the most wonderful time so well organized, with concise fact sheets, excellent accommodation , transfers,which allowed us to enjoy our holiday without any worries.
Botswana was the jewel in the crown.The Ngoma Safari Lodge a real find Judy and Peter made us feel like VIP'S along with first class dining plus the game drives truly a bucket list time..
The river trips at both Botswana and Zimbabwe were a wonderful experience.
Thank you for all your care and attention
Gerald & Merrilyn Lee
Posted 1 year ago
Mr And M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

This is our second year with Real Africa, they have been fantastic with all our arrangements yet again. With them you can feel happy on holiday and not worry about travel to and from your resort, the lodges were of the best we have stayed in for many years. Botswana we stayed at the Ngoma Safari Lodge Chobe, the wild life is unbelievable. We must have seen most of the 129,000 elephants in the area.
So well done Real Africa.
Jo and DM
Posted 1 year ago
Gerald
Overall Rating
Unverified Reviewer

Paul
We had the most wonderful time so well organized, with concise fact sheets, excellent accommodation , transfers,which allowed us to enjoy our holiday without any worries.
Botswana was the jewel in the crown.The Ngoma Safari Lodge a real find Judy and Peter made us feel like VIP'S along with first class dining plus the game drives truly a bucket list time..
The river trips at both Botswana and Zimbabwe were a wonderful experience.
Thank you for all your care and attention
Gerald & Merrilyn Lee
.
Posted 1 year ago
Mr And M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

May was a brilliant time to visit Samburu and Laikipia. We were totally smitten with this beautiful area. We saw fabulous wildlife, including a wonderful young male leopard, a cheetah with three cubs and many different elephant families.

Visiting the Save the Elephants research centre in Samburu gave a special insight into elephant conservation and was really fascinating. A must! Thought the Samburu guides really added to our experience too (the bush supper at Saruni Samburu with all the guides was a highlight).

So pleased we were lucky enough to see rhino - 11 at once at Borana!

Nairobi National Park was an unexpected delight - the Emakoko is wonderful - food, drink and wildlife all fab - a great place to start or end your holiday.

All in all...can't wait to go back!
Posted 1 year ago
Mr And M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

What an amazing holiday. Real Africa supplied us with all the documentation we needed well in advance of our holiday. They were efficient, patient with all our questions and are always courteous and polite. Once we arrived in Botswana the Desert and Delta rep was waiting for us at the airport and greeted us warmly and efficiently. The four camps that we stayed at were outstanding. Accommodation was beautiful and every single member of the staff at all the camps were exceptional. We have never been on a holiday before where we felt so welcome and that everyone was genuinely pleased to see us. The food at the all the camps was delicious and more than plentiful. Be prepared to come back from your holiday weighing more than when you started! The guides were knowledgeable and patient. This was truly a holiday never to be forgotten. All our transfers between camps were on time and the aircraft and the pilots were also exceptional. We cannot fault one aspect of this holiday and thank Real Africa and Desert and Delta Safaris for making this a truly memorable experience that we will never forget.
Posted 1 year ago
Mrs S H
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Real Africa's arrangements, on our behalf, all worked efficiently and according to plan, and our transfers, accommodation and car hire in South Africa were excellent.

To be highly recommended is the accommodation at Carslogie House, Port Elizabeth, Belvidere Manor at Knysna , (Cape, Garden Route) and Hideaway Guest House in Swellandam, all of which provided exceptionally comfortable accommodation and excellent breakfasts, with good restaurants within walking distance for evening meals.

Thank you, Real Africa, for a thoroughly enjoyable, relaxing and completely hassle-free holiday. Our only complaint was that it was over far too quickly!
Posted 1 year ago
Mrs S H
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

On arrival at Port Elizabeth, the comfortable Carslogie House is an excellent overnight stopover worthy of its 5 stars, and excellent breakfast. We enjoyed an excellent dinner at the nearby Protea Marine Hotel Restaurant which is just walking distance away from Carslogie. Highly recommended.

Amakhala Game Reserve offers a more rustic charm and colonial feel about it. We were disappointed not to be accommodated in Leeuwenbosch House, as we expected, but in the Shearer's Lodge which is a little more basic but reasonably comfortable, although we did have trouble with no hot water on Day 2. There was no explanation for not accommodating us in Leeuwenbosch and, as far as we could tell, there were rooms available. The undulating Game Reserve is fantastic with plenty of excellent game to see, and our ranger was very knowledgeable. Our hosts ~Bill and Rose Fowlds were equally hospitable and sociable, and we were entertained in the bar every evening with plenty of drink on tap. However, although the food was of good quality it was grossly insufficient with very small portions and we and the other guests were constantly hungry. Breakfast was served after the morning game drive but there was no lunch, and only a very small tea was served just before the 16.00 game drive. The shortage of food at breakfast, for example, could easily have been solved by providing more toast and preserves, but this was not available and guests seemed to be strictly rationed to 2 slices each. My travelling companion was allergic to eggs, and despite Amakhala having been informed, she was not provided with an alternative choice, so had even less to eat as a result.

Belvidere Manor at Knysna was absolutely wonderful! Our cottage set in beautiful grounds overlooking Knysna Lagoon was really comfortable and spacious and the welcome friendly and courteous, with owner, Sue Mills, on hand to greet her guests.
Breakfasts on the sunny terrace were absolutely delicious with masses of choice. The Bell Tavern serves excellent evening meals, and we thoroughly enjoyed a very relaxing couple of days there. To be thoroughly recommended.
Posted 1 year ago
Mr And M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

We had a wonderful holiday in Botswana. The whole trip went extremely smoothly and we're grateful to Real Africa for putting together a fabulous itinerary and ensuring all the travel arrangements caused us no problems. All of the accommodation was superb, we particularly enjoyed the three Ker and Downey camps, and the people were an absolute delight. This was our fourth fantastic holiday with Real Africa.
Posted 1 year ago
Mr And M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

The Cape Town and Kariega River Lodge holiday was even better than advertised. From the booking process to issue of final holiday documents, Real Africa were excellent. Would definitely recommend this trip.
Posted 1 year ago
Mr And M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

As this was our 4th adventure with Real Africa it came as no surprise that everything ran smoothly. Our trip this time was to Botswana and started with a long overnight flight to Joburg and then onward to Maun where we were met by local staff and taken to the third flight of the day in a much small aircraft. We stayed at 3 tented lodges which were all amazing and located in beautiful position. The staff were always smiling and nothing was too much trouble. Our final camp was Lebala and inspite of the dryer than normal weather for the Okavanga Delta we had a brilliant time. Our guide, Hobby and tracker Diesel were terrific and we even managed to track down a elusive pack of wild dogs. Will we go back....just try and stop us. Huge thanks to Paul for suggesting 3 days of r&r at Victoria
Falls which are truly epic and a must see in Africa. With their service and knowledge it's easy to see why Real Africa are being so successful.
Kim & Charles, Knowle
Posted 1 year ago
Mr R N
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

The service from Paul Hickey-Fry and the Real World Travel team was second to none.
From the moment we requested assistance in planning our holiday we knew we were in good hands. A wealth of knowledge within the team meant that we were able to put forward our ideas and the they were able to shape them into an itinerary that suited our travel dates and requirements. Real World Travel truly offer a personal service for a tailor made holiday. The little touches such as the meet & greet, a quick transit through OR Tambo airport and the best hotels made a real difference. All the transfers to and from hotels, resorts and airports were seamless and on-time removing any stress involved. Thoroughly recommended!
Posted 1 year ago
Mrs C.L. P
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

A well organised trip that went extremely well and was very enjoyable, covering all the things I wanted to do.
Posted 1 year ago
Mr And M
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

This was our third time with Real Africa. Why go with anyone else when they do such a good job, helping and advising to make a holiday just perfect for you. The safari was fabulous. Our guide, Marco, who has been our guide each time managed to surpass even the quality of our last 2 safaris by showing us new things. The Lemala tented camps were superb. Zanzibar was the ideal place to relax after a busy safari. Can't wait until our next safari. Thank you Paul and Real Africa.
Posted 1 year ago
Real Africa is rated 4.97 based on 126 reviews