Opodo Reviews

1.10 Rating 41 Reviews
2% of reviewers recommend Opodo

How would you rate Opodo?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need a working email address to verify that your review is genuine.

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

41 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
Volker and Doreen
"The Guardian" wrote in September 2014 "Online travel agency Opodo is the focus of this week’s column as it has triggered the wrath of a number of readers. The problems differ, but are bound by a common theme: that when those problems are reported, Opodo ignores them or fobs the customer off..." Being ignored and fobbed off, that is exactly the experience we had with opodo. We booked a multi-city flight (London - Istanbul - Dubai - Glasgow), money was taken from the credit card and all flights showed "confirmed" under "My trips" in the Opodo customer portal. According to Opodo: "The “My Trips” area is the place to go if you need to confirm your flight status". .... and opodo promises "real time" status information. When we tried to check in at the airport, we were informed by airline that no booking has been made. "My trips" showed a fake booking confirmation, fraud by Opodo, as money has been taken from the card without issuing the tickets. We had to by expensive replacement tickets. Material damage: 525 GBP plus inmaterial damage 1 lost holiday and inconvenience. The Opodo customer service refused to help, refused to take ownership, refused to process any claims. Worst customer service experience we ever had in our life.

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about Opodo in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
Volker And Doreen
Verified Reviewer
""The Guardian" wrote in September 2014 "Online travel agency Opodo is the focus of this week’s column as it has triggered the wrath of a number of readers. The problems differ, but are bound by a common theme: that when those problems are reported, Opodo ignores them or fobs the customer off..." Being ignored and fobbed off, that is exactly the experience we had with opodo. We booked a multi-city flight (London - Istanbul - Dubai - Glasgow), money was taken from the credit card and all flights showed "confirmed" under "My trips" in the Opodo customer portal. According to Opodo: "The “My Trips” area is the place to go if you need to confirm your flight status". .... and opodo promises "real time" status information. When we tried to check in at the airport, we were informed by airline that no booking has been made. "My trips" showed a fake booking confirmation, fraud by Opodo, as money has been taken from the card without issuing the tickets. We had to by expensive replacement tickets. Material damage: 525 GBP plus inmaterial damage 1 lost holiday and inconvenience. The Opodo customer service refused to help, refused to take ownership, refused to process any claims. Worst customer service experience we ever had in our life."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Krisztián
Verified Reviewer
"Failed to notice that the price contains no baggage. Adding a baggage later is a change which is possible only by phone and costs 20 Pounds. Free canceling within 14 hours is advertised during booking but it seems to be impossible to activate."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"I am still awaiting confirmation of a flight I'm meant to be on in 48 hours - Opodo is a total joke - and zero customer service. They have taken my money so a service I have not received or confirmed that I will receive it - disgrace"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Although Opodo is supposed to be famous and trustworthy company, in fact, it is not! Already for over 3 months I am waiting for my promised refund!!! As my flight (Ref: 3047270248 [29052580-1507814308]) has been cancelled 2 weeks before the due date, Opodo has contacted me and asked whether I would like to get a refund or would prefer to get another ticket. On 12 October 2017, I have replied that I would prefer to get the refund (please note, not even the full refund!!). Opodo Customer Service has informed me that the money should appear in my account within the next 30-90 days. After the 42nd day since my requested refund past, I have sent a mail to Opodo Customer Service to get an update about the status of my requested refund. Of course, nobody has contacted me from the Customer Service of Opodo and I did not get any information about my inquiry. As 90 days since my request have passed, I have tried to contact Customer Service again. All what I got as a reply was that my inquiry is being processed and the money will be returned within the next 3 months. It is already clear to me that Opodo is not going to return the money, therefore I would like to share my experience and warn others to never use Opodo if you do not wish to loose your money!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I recently booked a ticket from Toronto to London for myself and my cousin. I entered his nickname as his first name as it is what everyone knows him as. When I called to correct the error, they advised me that it would cost $229CDN to correct a name. How is this justified? the name change took a total of 2 minutes to fix on their end, yet the cost is incredibly unreasonable. How do they justify such a steep fee?"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I am having a terrible experience with opodo. I have booked a round trip flight from Vancouver to Cairo from opodo website as they offered cheapest price compared to other travel agents. I would advice anyone not to do so. I have made a call directly after my reservation (during my free cancel period) to inquire about this flight refund policy as I know that I might need to change or cancel this flight due to some personal reasons. They have provided me with misleading information during the call; They told me that if I cancel my ticked I would be refunded my money (1070 GBP) after paying (125CAD + 25GBP) cancellation fees and I have continued my booking based on this information. I have performed the cancellation later and I was refunded only 112 GBP while I was expecting to be refunded ~ 950 GBP. When I made the cancellation call I was in a hurry and didn't give much attention to the mentioned details as I thought every thing was already settled based on the information I have been provided initially. The agent mentioned the number 110 GBP and I was under the impression that this is the equivalence of the cancellation fees as it was nearly the same total amount. When I contacted the customer service they said the agent in the cancellation call informed me that 110 GBP will be refunded and I approved. When I explained for them the source of misunderstanding and the information I have been provided from them earlier they refused my request of verifying the first call and they don't think they even need to give explanation for the wrong information I have been provided !! They also refused my request of escalating my issue and just tell me there is nothing they shall do. They seem also to have a lot of problems; My account in opodo still indicates that my flight is valid and that I had a 110 GBP discount although my booking has been canceled. I have told the customer service about that but the account still view same irrelevant information. I tried to send more emails explaining what's happened but they replied saying they will not respond to my emails anymore."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"My daughter booked with OPODO on 28 November a flight with SAS from Stockholm to Manchester and paid for one piece of suitcase (23kg) total EUR 161.07. accidentally I booked on the same day direct with SAS the same flight with 2 x 23 kg included for EUR 130.00. Within 8 hours we contacted Opodo by phone and emails to cancel the flight. They refused as cancellations must made "by phone only" and by the way this ticked is not refundable. In their publicity Opodo asserted that all tickets can be refunded within 24 hours. Now our money is considered stolen by Opodo. I recommend to stay away from this company and deal with the airlines directly. Never, never again Opodo"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I'm glad you had a good experience. My experience in 2 different bookings, have not been so positive. During the booking I added all of the information requested to issue the invoice once the payment was confirmed. I need the invoices to claim the trip costs to my employer. Days later after my return flight, I have requested the invoice via the website. I received instead the bookings confirmation. Tried to call customer service and follow the instruction up to the point where I'm told to requested on the website and the call is simply terminated with the option to speak with an operator. On the next call followed instruction to clear a due payment situation (then Opodo's operators pick the call) and finally managed to speak with an operator that send me again the confirmation by email. I complained per email and finally received 1 out of 2 invoices. I learned then that although you pay to Opodo, clients need to chase airlines for the invoice for the price of the tickets. From Opodo only received the invoice for Opodo handling fees. But even that is incorrect in the case you have ordered a insurance for being able to change your flight dates/flexible dates option. It is a mess. Customer service is a joke and obviously don't know math. I'm still missing invoices several days after the trip. Tax evasion?!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"I fully agree and almost on the same level of experience as Natasha Smitter. Booked a flight with Opodo on 6th October 2017 to travel from London to Karachi on 20th December 2017. The booking was confirmed by email almost immediately, however no invoice or tickets came until today. I called them today to find out that one of the flight was not confirmed due to technical reasons hence the booking can not be confirmed. Although part of the journey was already charged to my card, he said it has been refunded and I had to wait for a couple of days for them to show up on my account.. However he said he can re-book it straightaway but wanted me to pay the ticket difference. I wasn't going to agree with that and he finally agreed to book it for the same fare. As the travelling involved multiple airlines they had already charged for part of the journey and a refund was on the way. They had also charged service charges for credit card transaction. When I asked for a confirmation of refund (before paying the full purchase amount all over again), by email they refused and mentioned that the recording of the call is a proof. I further insisted that I needed an email and he wouldn't agree. I insisted to speak to a senior member and when he put my call through to him he had a different story to tell. He told me that the card payment was declined and it made me furious. He should have atleast rewinded the conversation recording before speaking to me. I made it clear to him that you are giving me contradictory reasons and he told me that previous advisor is a new staff and he didn't give me the right reasons. Finally I made him email with refund confirmation while still on the phone. Now I am on a ticket hunt again. I am furious that so much time and effort in searching and booking has gone into waste due this utterly ignorant company."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Bunch Of Scam Artist. Do Not Book Through OPODO
Unverified Reviewer
"Absolute bunch of scam artist. Im fuming. Paid in full for flights and baggage. Looked on itinerary for our flight details which have come up but No baggage. I phoned Opodo company to explain situation to resolve this case with no satisfaction. Found the people I called on other end of call centre a disgrace and unsympathetic with no experience whats so ever. Will have to pay again for our baggage . Please do not use OPODO for any holiday. Having read the reviews on other sites its the same case. Also think that there are some false reviews posted by OPODO employees"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"I don't even want to give is rubbish company 1 star. They charge the fee to me twice, so far its taken 4 call (2 from Thailand)and countless emails and no refund. The customer service Is appalling. I receive emails entitled Dear and then get told to check my bank. (duh really) Awful company"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Opodo = Online Scam I have booked a flight for my wife through Opodo and got an email saying that the flight with BA was Confirmed, they even sent me the flight number. On the day of the flight at the airport, she got told that she was not on the flight. BA said that Opodo "reserved" the seat but then they have 24 hours to pay or the seat will go back to sale again. Looks like they "Forgot" to pay, but BA told my wife this is happening a lot with Opodo. Called costumer service and it was a waste of time, no one even apologised. Emailed them a few days ago but also, radio silence. Would not recommend using them."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Booked my ticket and final price showed up on the page (right before I hit purchase which means that includes everything) was different than what I got charged. So contacted them about the issue and here is their response (there was no alteration of any kind, I just did a purchase) : "Any alteration that is permitted on a booking (cancellation and/or modification) will be subject to handling fees. Opodo reserve the right to charge you a service fee of 23.17 EUR to cover the administration costs incurred by Opodo. These charges do not include any charges imposed directly by the Travel Supplier. Details of these charges are contained within our Terms and Conditions which customers accept prior to choosing to complete their purchase therefore, regrettably, Opodo are unable to consider a refund of the handling fee you have been charged." So replied and asked that firstly, this service/administrator charge should show up on my final payment, and secondly, send me the link to this terms and conditions of yours you are claiming, and this is their reply: " We would like to inform you that as we have already advised you regarding your payment in your previous email. However, we also advise you that we are unable to provide any page for this and for this you have to check your payment page at the time of booking that what is the charge for making the booking with the Opodo website so that you will be able to see your service fee for your booking. Moreover, in order to properly assist you regarding the subject indicated in your message, please contact us on one of the following phone numbers: UK Telephone 0800 026 5911 (toll free number) Australia: 029 1995336 ($0.07/min) International calls: +61 29 1995336 " They just trying to put you in a loop for their sloppy business."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Worst customer care ever - inexistent. They changed the return flight company without any question or warning for some unknown charter operator. Unbelievable."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"2 tickets Vienna Stockholm: OPODO 982,32 (with Austrian Airlines) The same tickets from Austrian Airlines: 757,92 The difference and OPODO profit 29,55 %. Opodo Web site is confusing."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"They get a bad press on forums because those who get a bad service are disproportionately inclined to post. I have used them for years; I can't say whether they get the best fares, but there is always a range, and presented well. Booking is easy. I have had to ring them on several occasions but always got through reasonably quickly and had problem resolved. My only grouse is that they advertise offers but the voucher code is not recognised when you book. Had to chase this with them. I recommend them."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"i was happy that they offered cheap ticket, but later realized i didn't really get cheap ticket when i received credit card bill .They used very high exchange rate. In the end, I paid about same amount with the ticket directly buy from airline"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"Would not honour their price match guarantee. The full details were not revealed until several days after booking. Do not deal with this company as they hide their costs etc until it is too late. They do not answer emails."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"Did not book luggage on the flight and then refused to refund the money paid."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Anonymous
"Opodo - A lesson on terrible customer support. Avoid at all costs. Avoid Opodo at all costs. There are 100s of better online travel agents which will save you a lot of time, stress and probably money. My company booked a flight with Opodo and requested to receive an invoice, which was promised to arrive a few days later. That never came. So we got in touch and opened a ticket with their customer service on the 28th February!!! It is now 4th May! 6 emails, 8 tweets, and 1 response from one of their 'customer support' team members and I'm no closer to getting that invoice sent over. DISGUSTING. SIMPLY DISGUSTING SERVICE!! One star does not do Opodo justice! I will make it my crusade to report you to all of the relevant authorities including ABTA, IATA and the Trading Standard Institute and Department of Transportation. A martyr for the cause if you will. Everyone should know what an awful company you are. In addition to my initial complaint, unsubscribe links in your marketing emails were not included on multiple occasions - this will be forwarded to the relevant authorities in both the US and the European Union. I question whether Opodo realises how obnoxious and poor it is to email a customer repeated marketing offers while they awaiting responses from support agents. If I wasn't already triggered, that surely set me off."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Opodo is rated 1.10 based on 41 reviews