O2 Reviews

1.87 Rating 292 Reviews
18% of reviewers recommend O2

Write Your review

Tell us how O2 made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service, Courier
Customer Service
communication channels
Live Chat, Telephone, Email
queries resolved in
Over a week
"Shocking service, blatantly lied to sign me into a contract telling me I could use my phone worldwide with no extra charges, when I started receiving charges I contacted the customer service team who quite frankly were useless, uncaring and unhelpful. They made no attempts to resolve the problem and we kept going round in circles. I opened formal complaints to which I was offered to leave O2, I asked about what to do with my number as my personal and business banking and email are attached. I of course received no such contact and 2 months later they blocked my account. I have tried contacting several times and when they put me through a supervisor they literally ignore me. How are they allowed to do this? I am out of the country (hence the travel sim) so unable to contact them. Its disgusting. Avoid at all costs."
Posted 9 hours ago
"Poor service from start to finish. Appalling to say it the least"
Posted 14 hours ago
"2 weeks overdue on a bill, and o2 have constantly harrassed and threatened me with bailiffs and cutting off and losing my number completely, 2 weeks!!! Been in a contract and always made payments on time for nearly a year. They have caused me so much stress. The funny thing is, the reason I am overdue is because I moved house and had no broadband which I require for work, I spoke to o2 and they denied me any type of data deal, which led to me having a £150 bill on my last payment (which I paid). This isn't the first problem I've had with them either. Despicable company. Avoid"
Posted 6 days ago
"Utter waste of time contacting these non-English speakers who just contradict themselves. I hope O2 make charitable donations to counter the amount of stress they cause to people. We ring with a problem and end up frustrated and no further on. People don't have time for this. Appalling service for a complaint of reduced /no coverage. Disgusted. Funny enough they no longer send texts asking you to rate their customer services 🤔 I wonder why!?!"
Posted 1 week ago
"Awful company, frequently hang up on you when trying to cancel, pass you round to loads of departments without explaining whats going on to other staff member, refuse to refund money owed when in credit by making you complete another laborious process to get your own money back - i imagine that a lot of people forget or give up so they get to keep your money!!! the ombudsman really should investigate these guys as they are a truly terrible company...... avoid or you will regret it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Knowing little about mobiles, I went ionto an O2 store (Fosse Park Leicester) and explained I was looking for a very basic package on a cheap phone - just phone calls and texts - I was told the cheapest option was a 'Business User' deal. I stupidly signed up for this and was subsequently tied into an overpriced contract. When I phoned to explain I was quoted Ts & Cs. I also discoveredd tghe contract was not with O2 but with 'Think Comms'. Needless to say, I got nothing out of either company. Clear message: PROFIT BEFORE CUSTOMERS."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Paid to come out of my contract, so that I could get a new phone. Ordered a Samsung. Approx. five minutes after ordering I spotted a Huwawei that would suit me better. Phoned O2 immediately to cancel the Samsung. Was advised that was fine, and would take 24 hours to appear on my account, at which point I could order the new phone. I received text updates to say that my new phone (the Samsung) would be dispatched the following day. Called again. Spoke to a different colleague. Asked if it was definitely cancelled, which he confirmed. I asked to confirm that the phone would NOT be sent out, which was also confirmed. The following day I received a text message from DPD saying that my phone would be delivered. Called O2 again, who said that it WILL be delivered, but to simply refuse delivery. DPD driver arrived with the new phone. Refused to accept delivery. Called the following day, saying that I had refused delivery, and asked when I could order the new (Huwawei) phone. They said that they need to have the Samsung delivered back to them, before they're able to process this. One week later and there is still no word back from O2. Have checked my account, and it's still not been updated. Absolutely terrible service!."
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Any other company is better than this one. During my year of the contract, I was meant to pay £18 under contract, but my bill was always between £20 and £40. I was charged for games I have never used, and multimedia messages I have never sent, and when I have called customer service to get help or a refund, it was the hardest time in my life! Customer service staff is just not helpful at all and they seem they have better things to do than attending you. Even when I wanted to upgrade my bill to £20, (as I was always paying £30 ish...) they will not provide you with info, they will direct you to the website. This was a very bad experience, I just wanted to upgrade my bill today and thanks to the staff I had today, 26/07 at 14:00 Pauline, I am just leaving 02 company. Any other recommendations? Thanks"
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Lost my phone and got o2 to block it. Phone unexpectedly recovered and the trouble I then had with o2 "live chat" and customer services (where staff gave out one lot of wrong information after another and where proper levels of training must be virtually non-existent) is not something I'd wish on anybody. I see o2 are getting hammered on customer service review pages and Trust Pilot and o2 management deserve all the criticism they get."
Posted 1 month ago
"I was miss sold a phone contract by an… I was miss sold a phone contract by an o2 partner company. lied to and not given access to the call recording. complained to o2 who mad me try and resolve the issue with the company future comms. The wouldn't even contact me when o2 tried to get me a call back. They then said they would deal with it. They never got back to me but sent me a letter telling me to contact ofcom as they never managed to help within a 10 week time frame.The thing is this company has been slated by hundreds of people with the same issues but o2 just let it go as they don't care how many lies are told to get the contract."
Posted 1 month ago
"Absolutely poor customer service. Not recommended to anybody."
Posted 1 month ago
"Moving from Virgin/EE i was expecting O2 to be a little slower but they are simply unacceptable. I mainly want to use my data to stream you tube and music when on the move, not talking 4k video but I regularly get awful buffering and time out errors on the most basic apps. If you looking at their coverage and think it looks fine for your area, think again, it's the bandwidth that's the issue, their connection ratio is so appalling that I cannot use my phone in Manchester city centre. Save yourself 2 years of misery and pay a little more for a better supplier."
Posted 1 month ago
"This refund process has been the most exhausting process I have ever had to deal with. This has been an incredible long and annoying service. It should not take this long to issue a simple refund. Its now going to be over a month for a refund. I am disappointed on how o2 customer service and live chat has spoken to me about it and I wish to write a formal complaint. I returned the faulty product on the 31st May 2019. I was told the refund was in process. I received an email from o2 on the 10th June unable to refund my money because they needed my card detail. I rang o2 customer service and instead of giving me an option they told me they can only give me credit onto my o2 account. Because its past the 30 days. I bought the product on the 5th May 2019 and returned the item within 30 days with a tracked postage no - JS08**********. The person I spoke to was hard to hear and wasn’t dealing with my request properly. I am unhappy with the level of customer service as the person felt like he was reading a script rather than dealing with my request. I messaged o2 again that you they will send the refund by cheque as my account was officially closed and should take 10 – 14 days. I rang o2 about the refund again and it now seems that o2 finance needed to wait for a final bill and then need to generate a refund. I was not told that this was needed in the first place. This is when I contact o2 complaint and the whole process starts again. This time an email was sent about it and that the refund will take 7-10 working days from the 19th June 2019. I messaged a week later only to find out that o2 still waiting for final bill to generated before they actually do anything to send a refund. STILL HAVE NOT RECIEVED THE REFUND!"
Posted 1 month ago
"This refund process has been the most exhausting process I have ever had to deal with. This has been an incredibly long and annoying service. It should not take this long to issue a simple refund. It's now going to be over a month for a refund. I am disappointed on how o2 customer service and live chat has spoken to me about it and I wish to write a formal complaint. I returned the faulty product on the 31st of May 2019. I was told the refund was in process. I received an email from o2 on the 10th June unable to refund my money because they needed my card detail. I rang o2 customer service and instead of giving me an option they told me they can only give me credit onto my o2 account. Because its past the 30 days. I bought the product on the 5th May 2019 and returned the item within 30 days with a tracked postage no - JS0**************. The person I spoke to was hard to hear and wasn’t dealing with my request properly. I am unhappy with the level of customer service as the person felt like he was reading a script rather than dealing with my request. I messaged o2 again that you they will send the refund by cheque as my account was officially closed and should take 10 – 14 days. I rang o2 about the refund again and it now seems that o2 finance needed to wait for a final bill and then need to generate a refund. I was not told that this was needed in the first place. This is when I contact o2 complaint and the whole process starts again. This time an email was sent about it and that the refund will take 7-10 working days from the 19th June 2019. I messaged a week later only to find out that o2 still waiting for the final bill to generated before they actually do anything to send a refund."
Posted 1 month ago
"This refund process has been the most exhausting process I have ever had to deal with. This has been an incredibly long and annoying service. It should not take this long to issue a simple refund. It's now going to be over a month for a refund. I am disappointed on how o2 customer service and live chat has spoken to me about it and I wish to write a formal complaint. I returned the faulty product on the 31st of May 2019. I was told the refund was in process. I received an email from o2 on the 10th June unable to refund my money because they needed my card detail. I rang o2 customer service and instead of giving me an option they told me they can only give me credit onto my o2 account. Because its past the 30 days. I bought the product on the 5th May 2019 and returned the item within 30 days with a tracked postage no - JS0**************. The person I spoke to was hard to hear and wasn’t dealing with my request properly. I am unhappy with the level of customer service as the person felt like he was reading a script rather than dealing with my request. I messaged o2 again that you they will send the refund by cheque as my account was officially closed and should take 10 – 14 days. I rang o2 about the refund again and it now seems that o2 finance needed to wait for a final bill and then need to generate a refund. I was not told that this was needed in the first place. This is when I contact o2 complaint and the whole process starts again. This time an email was sent about it and that the refund will take 7-10 working days from the 19th June 2019. I messaged a week later only to find out that o2 still waiting for the final bill to generated before they actually do anything to send a refund."
Posted 1 month ago
"Dreadful chat function dreadful service with no cohesion between sales and service worst of all they just don't listen"
Posted 1 month ago
"There a disgrace,on holiday a 170 miles from home,wife’s phone broke and they wouldn’t give her a phone without a passport or driving license which she hasn’t got,been a customer 10 years,went straight to car phone wharhouse have her one straight away on production of a bank card....proper company"
Posted 1 month ago
"I was trying to get to O2, contract phone, i went through the online process, everything was fine, told to pay £10 up front then £30 per month for direct debit, go to checkout and i was confronted by a bold statement thatd ue to my poor credit rating i was asked to £425 up front and that it would be paid back in 3 months, !!!!, so i contacted custome service and i was asked why is that a problem, just pay the £425 and you will get your phone, !!! HELLO , if i had £425 i might as well save the hassle and buy a phone and go pay as you go, so i after venting my disgust cancelled the order and now gone back to pay as you go, no hidden fees or surprise bills, and of course who is to say that i could still be fighting to get the £425 back after 3 months, but suffice to say i will not be going through that drama, shocking customer service and hidden agendas,"
Posted 1 month ago
"Terrible service and constantly being cut off even with no bill due payed well in advance then after hours trying to get through to be told they accidentally blocked it that's not right although this can happen multiple times a week should have never joined these criminals"
Posted 1 month ago
"I have just got off the phone to O2 regarding my 90 year old Mothers phone that was taken whilst she was in hospital recently. My mother had paid over £500 in insurance over the years and was offered a replacement phone worth £30 however had to pay a £25 excess and then organize a charger for the replacement as her old phone is no longer made and they would only send a handset. O2 you are a total ripoff. Needless to say we have now cancelled and will be going to a company that cares."
Posted 1 month ago
O2 is rated 1.87 based on 292 reviews