O2 Reviews

1.86 Rating 307 Reviews
18% of reviewers recommend O2

Write Your review

Tell us how O2 made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service, Courier
average delivery time
Next Day
Customer Service
communication channels
Live Chat, Telephone, Email
queries resolved in
Over a week
customer service
1.20 out of 5
"I have been paying full insurance for my Samsung A8 for over a year. Last night while taking my dogs out for walk i lost my phone. upon contacting O2 this morning they were happy to block the sim. But they said that my insurance was only for a year. Leaving me without a phone. After quite happily taking £162.50 of my hard earned money. My advice here is, DON'T BUY INSURANCE from O2. Go to a 3rd party company."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
"So I attempted to take an O2 contract out on 07/10/19 in the evening and I never thought I was about to go down a long road filled with lies, timewasting and just extremely poor and unacceptable customer service. So starts the evening of 07/10 where I try to purchase a mobile phone contract online. The first hurdle I came across is that it was not accepting any of my cards, I used 2 debit cards and 2 credit cards, all with funds and they all declined. I then started an online chat to see if it was their issue, which is was and I was told to use a different browser to process this. I went to do this and the payment went through with the extra delivery charge for next day delivery. I received all the confirmation emails and it seemed like everything was fine. The advisor on the live chat said my order as been “referred” and asked me to call a premium rate number to sort this. He confirmed to me that once I call this number they will be able to deal with this referral straight away and get my order cleared. So I begrudgingly rang this premium rate number only to be told that I will receive a call back within 48 hours to go through my referral and there was nothing she could do right there and then? The call ended and I went back to the online chat and explained this to the advisor and also said that I have just paid an extra delivery cost for next day delivery and now it could take another 3 working days before it’ll appear, depending on when the “referral team” bother to ring me back? He explained that was all he could and I would get a refund on my delivery if the item was not delivered on the designated slot.. So I ended the chat and just had to wait for this call. The morning of 08/10, I received a call from a number that my phone flagged up as “fraudulent” and an advisor was on the phone saying they were from O2, they didn’t ask any security questions or any normal customer service chat (how are you, how is your day etc) which I thought was weird. He then asked “Has your order gone through” of which I replied “Yes I have my confirmation email”. He replied with “Thanks, bye” and then hung up? I didn’t give out any bank details or anything but that was a really poor call, was that the referral call that I’ve been waiting for? Does that mean my phone will be dispatched and received today? Who knows?! So as I had no idea on the status of my order, I rang O2 Customer Service and spoke to an advisor who said no you’re still waiting for a call from the referral team and this will be within 72 hours. So now the time has somehow increased by a further 24hours so I might not get my phone for another 4 working days, even though it’s meant to be here today! I left the call at that as I wasn’t prepared to argue at that point. I checked my bank and I noticed that 3 payments of £28.99 (down payment and delivery fee) had been taken out of my account so again I am back on the phone to the O2 Customer Service team in the evening of 08/10. A advisor said that they will get that all refunded and two of the payments are just trial payments to make sure I have the funds in my account, well I bloody well don’t now that you’ve charge me triple what I should have paid! As I was on the phone, I thought I’d check my order status again. This time, I was told my order seemed fine and has actually been dispatched for delivery for tonight! I said I had no tracking information or anything to confirm this but she was adamant that my order was fine and my delivery will be between 6pm and 10pm on 08/10. I had a bit of hope at this point. Around 7pm on 08/10 I rang O2 Customer Service again as I wasn’t sure when my item was being delivered so was hoping for some tracking information. The guy on the phone turned around to me and said your item hasn’t been dispatched as it’s out of stock. Out of stock!?! Why let customers order items for next day delivery if it’s OUT OF STOCK!! I was put on hold for a while as he had obviously read the notes from my previous conversations and realised this order had been a mess from the get-go. When he came back, he then turned around and said that the item is now in stock and I can get it delivered by 09/10. He said that it was all fine and all he needed to do is call the warehouse first thing on 09/10 to let them know to have the delivery from 6pm to 10pm as that is what I originally wanted. So at this point I finally thought it was all sorted… Come the morning of 09/10, the advisor from last night rang me to say he is still in contact with the warehouse and will contact me within the hour. I did receive a call back from him within the hour however he told me my phone won’t be dispatched because it is in fact still out of stock… He said they’re not looking to get it back in stock for the next 7-10 working days.. Brilliant! He then says well I can go and collect it in store, but it won’t be my local store, it’ll be 16 miles away so a 32 mile round trip then.. He advised me all I needed was my order number that he supplied me and I can go and collect it and he will put it through as a click and collect order, but they don’t have the colour I want as it’s out of stock. At this point I didn’t care, I just wanted my item so off I went to the O2 store 16 miles away.. When I got there, I explained the situation to the advisor and he said he hadn’t received any click and collect order so they will need to set me up a whole new order and then cancel my other order. So we went through all my details again that I had already input online, he had to read me all the legal stuff that I had already read when I purchased online on 07/10.. After all that, he then took my bank details to sort out the contract and now I’ve been declined due to my credit. Most likely because I only just took a phone contract out 2 days ago.. I would be suspicious too but the fact is it’s their bloody contract I took out! So he called O2 Customer Service but he didn’t seem to have any direct number so we were sat on hold for around 8 minutes, got through to someone and then got cut off. So the advisor rang again and this time we were on hold for nearly 20 minutes before getting through to someone. He spoke to advisor on the phone about the situation and after discussing it with him, I was then advised there is nothing further they can do unless I buy the phone outright and have a sim only contract. As you can imagine, I was pretty fuming at this point as I was told by the guy this morning that it would be fine so I just walked out of the store. So after driving another 16 miles back home, I am currently without a phone, out of pocket by £86.97 and I’ve wasted a good few hours of my time talking to these useless people, being lied to and then being told to drive to go pick up a phone that hasn’t actually been ordered for me. I have put in a complaint but I’ve been advised this can take a week to deal with.. of course it’s on their own time. All in all, O2 are shocking and I will never use them again and I will tell everyone I know about this but god help anyone who has to go through the same situation that I have had to!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Be careful people especially businesses 02 and there partners are conning people into 3 year contracts by promising yearly upgrades and not giving them to you, they also promise to beat your previous network provider by 50% on price and actually charge you more. Then when you call 02 to complain they say it’s nothing to do with them and that you signed up with there sister\ partner company which is owed by 02. All invoicing comes from 02 and O2 are the ones that take the money out of your account. O2 do not care about you there are just taking your money and ripping you off. They are the worst phone company I have been with in 20 years and I’ve been with them all. Please share people!!! I don’t want anyone else to get ripped off"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Bundle Call, WTF is that all about, Absolutely pathetic and annoying, Never again will i go with o2"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"If I could leave a 0 for stars I would. Worst mobile company ever! Absolutely devastated I moved my contract from vodafone. I pay a decent amount a month, mainly for data. Doesn’t work anywhere and whenever I phone they say the same thing every time ‘there is work going on in the area’ which is apparently affecting the signal. Why am I paying all this money for a phone that doesn’t work wherever I go? They’re always adding money onto my monthly bill for absolutely no reason. Customer service team don’t have a clue what they’re doing, and rude. STAY AWAY is the only advice I can give. I have no idea how they’re still running."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"WARNING!!! Please stay away do not start any contract with O2 or there business partners they are working as a team where they scam there customers with a very tempting sim deal for 3 years I should be paying £18 a month but instead O2 debit £65 a month I have called O2 many times over the last 3 months and they don’t want to help O2 customer service team always say the same thing every week try this number which no one will answer and our partner team have a lot of backlog so give them 48hours for a call back and I have not received a call back for the last few months if you ask for the O2 manager O2 response will be the manager has just stepped out absolute disgrace I have never experienced customer service like this before in my life and I’m a 40 year old I asked for my pack code so I can cancel the direct debit and go else where and O2 said you will have to pay a termination fee of £1,250 to O2 when they are the ones who have breeched the contract so in the mean time O2 continue robbing me every month so far costing me £260 for just 4months for a sim with 4gig data Unfortunately for me to exit this scam I will probably have to loose my established business number which I have used for 15years I realised O2 business partners are liars and cheat and i thought I could get help from O2 but I now understand O2 are actually behind the scam and will happily let you suffer while they take your money every month Once again I’m WARNING everyone stay away from O2 they are liars and cheat they should not be allowed to do this"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"To be honest I have nothing negative to say..the call centre people helped me out instantly and very satisfactory.i only have had good experiences with O2."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"After years of loyal custom, I feel very let down by o2. have my phone stolen. and it is going to take at least 5 days to get a replacement I am told."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"100% happy..spoke to a guy called Ashley..got my problem solved immediately. Nice friendly chap.also O2 are on the ball..10/10 review from me."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Worst service I have ever had in my life. Misleading, no way of cancelling, no technical support, terrifyingly bad customer service. The only thing that actually works is, of course, the payment: taking money out of my account. I'm not even going into details because it makes me incredibly frustrated, I can only highly advise anyone: never use their services. Never."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Changed my life..might sound silly but I didn't think I would qualify for my dream phone but O2 has helped me out..I am so grateful and so far everything is brilliant..thank you O2"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Absolutely terrible service. My internet keeps cutting off after a week every month since June. I've called them probably twice a week, either called, messaged, went in to see their 'gurus' and nobody can seem to find a fix for this. I have had countless staff members telling me the whole of the UK's internet is down - which it obviously isn't. If I wasn't in a contract I would have cancelled my phone with them. I have been with O2 for 10 years' and never had so many issues. Absolutely pathetic customer service, with no resolution in site. I just keep being redirected to different teams and constantly having to call up and chase this when your staff do not actually log the issues. Honestly if you don't have an account with O2 I can only advise you avoid them like the plague. Such a big company that doesn't care at all about your issues/ finding a resolution to them. These issues have been ongoing since June and I have been unable to get any refunds for all the money I am paying for internet that I can't even use."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I have been a 02 customer for around 20 years. My family have 4 phones through them. I have 2 phones on business contracts. In recent years the service has been getting worse but I stuck by them out of misguided loyalty, even though I could have saved money going with a different network. The final straw for me was when I tried to log in on line and system wouldn’t let me. I had to contact customer service 4 times over 2 days and was still unable to reset password to be able to log in, despite having numerous links sent to me. Having wasted so much time in the effort I was left frustrated and angry. I was even told not to worry as the representative never bothered logging into to there account, which I felt was beside the point. I believe that be able to log into an account is a minimum requirement of a contract or membership. I am able to cancel 1 account straight away but will have to wait up to 7 months to be rid of the others. I do not feel 02 is now fit for purpose and would recommend to people not to join them."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Would give less than 1 star! Level of service is bad, try and con their customers. Beware! Been with them for more than 10 years. They wrongly taken another account under my name. Didn't give me any info on it until I went to the bank. Called many times to rectify, only to never get an update. Made out it was my mistake. The other account never been used. They had the audacity to say it to make it sound like it was me. Will close my O2 account since they treat their customers like fools! Check all tour accounts to make sure you only have one, as they are very sneaky. Didn't want to offer compensation for stress caused."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Would give less than 1 star! Level of service is bad, try and con their customers. Beware! Been with them for more than 10 years. They wrongly taken another account under my name. Didn't give me any info on it until I went to the bank. Called many times to rectify, only to never get an update. Made out it was my mistake. The other account never been used. They had the audacity to say it to make it sound like it was me. Will close my O2 account since they treat their customers like fools! Check all tour accounts to make sure you only have one, as they are very sneaky."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Shocking service, blatantly lied to sign me into a contract telling me I could use my phone worldwide with no extra charges, when I started receiving charges I contacted the customer service team who quite frankly were useless, uncaring and unhelpful. They made no attempts to resolve the problem and we kept going round in circles. I opened formal complaints to which I was offered to leave O2, I asked about what to do with my number as my personal and business banking and email are attached. I of course received no such contact and 2 months later they blocked my account. I have tried contacting several times and when they put me through a supervisor they literally ignore me. How are they allowed to do this? I am out of the country (hence the travel sim) so unable to contact them. Its disgusting. Avoid at all costs."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Poor service from start to finish. Appalling to say it the least"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"2 weeks overdue on a bill, and o2 have constantly harrassed and threatened me with bailiffs and cutting off and losing my number completely, 2 weeks!!! Been in a contract and always made payments on time for nearly a year. They have caused me so much stress. The funny thing is, the reason I am overdue is because I moved house and had no broadband which I require for work, I spoke to o2 and they denied me any type of data deal, which led to me having a £150 bill on my last payment (which I paid). This isn't the first problem I've had with them either. Despicable company. Avoid"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Utter waste of time contacting these non-English speakers who just contradict themselves. I hope O2 make charitable donations to counter the amount of stress they cause to people. We ring with a problem and end up frustrated and no further on. People don't have time for this. Appalling service for a complaint of reduced /no coverage. Disgusted. Funny enough they no longer send texts asking you to rate their customer services 🤔 I wonder why!?!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Awful company, frequently hang up on you when trying to cancel, pass you round to loads of departments without explaining whats going on to other staff member, refuse to refund money owed when in credit by making you complete another laborious process to get your own money back - i imagine that a lot of people forget or give up so they get to keep your money!!! the ombudsman really should investigate these guys as they are a truly terrible company...... avoid or you will regret it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
O2 is rated 1.86 based on 307 reviews