Npower Reviews

1.12 Rating 215 Reviews
2% of reviewers recommend Npower

How would you rate Npower?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

215 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
Anonymous
I would rate a zero but that isn't a option Mishandled death process Long call delays

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about Npower in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
"I would rate a zero but that isn't a option Mishandled death process Long call delays"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
"Absolutely shocking company. You can't get through to them on the phone. Every time I tried to get through it was a minimum of a 45 - 60 minute wait. I wanted to set up a manageable payment plan but couldn't get hold of anyone meanwhile I keep on receiving threatening letters telling me they would take me to court. I also wanted to question the amount they were charging me as it didn't seem correct but couldn't get hold of anyone. Please do not go with Npower."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
"Npower has the worst customer service. Each time you call them you have to wait at least 50 minutes on the phone before you can speak to a human being. I will never go back to them. I called them 4 times in the last 2 weeks and each time the standard recorded message says that there is a wait of 40 minutes.....but you never get them before 50 minutes!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
"I wish I could leave 0 🌟 but I can’t never use them -I have small barber shop the send me billing for 6week 757.10"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
"AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE, I MADE A VERY COSTLY MISTAKE BY TAKING OUT A 1 YR CONTRACT AT RIP OF RATES, COULD HAVE GOT NEAR HALF THE PRICE IF I'D WENT THROUGH A COMPARISON SITE THROUGH N POWER, THEY REFUSE TO OFFER A BETTER RATE AND I'M STUCK PAYING TWICE AS MUCH AS I SHOULD BE, PLEASE DON'T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE, 1 STAR IS TOO MUCH!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Elderly mother now resides in dementia care home. I closed her acct on the sale of her house on 1st December 2017. 3 Months and 4 separate complaints later and we are still waiting for her refund. It is less than £200. How can it take 13 weeks ? Ofgem have been useless. I will persist"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Received an email my statement was available to view and I was £495 in credit. I requested this money be returned to me and the "wrath of the utility company was unleashed"! If they did this my direct debit would increase from £102 to £150?#%^**. Today received a statement showing up to date usage of £408 which when deducted from £495 credit leaves £109 debit. #%^**#? Sorry but when I went to school the figure should be £87 credit. Went on their chat line which was a complete farce and they started quoting completely different figures so if they can't sing from the same hymn sheet how do we know we're not being duped. I requested a hard copy of my statement showing how they've lost my credit balance and to see for myself where my money has gone."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Npower had over £675 in credit which I asked to be refunded. After being told 3 times it would be refunded they didnt because the gas meter had been fauklty and not giving a reading. Npower knew that it was faulty and did nothing about it until they were asked to fit smart meters. They then refused to rrefund the credit because they were going to average usage and charge first. They knew the meter was faulty for a few months so in my opinion its their problem and should have moved to correct it as a matter of urgency not held onto my money so they could take a cut to cover unmetered usage. Distugting."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Stephen Lawson
Unverified Reviewer
"Moved into a new property and to try and get an old economy 7 meter changed to a regular meter has been an absolute joke. Been on the phone for an accumulative time of more 5 hours (and still on hold). First they told me I need my own electrician to get rid of the old meter (so illegally snip off the security tag on the old meter) then has taken a ridiculous amount of time to just book the appointment for their own team to change the meter. p.s still on hold due to a problem with their diary system...."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I wrote this to npower.... I am writing to advise that I will be telling all of the people I know in my business breakfast networking groups ( total of 30 people in one and 22 in the other) NOT to ever use NPower because you are holding me hostage for the next 3 yrs. I am just starting a brand new business, I have not moved into the shop premises yet, I have no move in date, and I do not even have the keys, but because I signed a contract over the phone ( yes, I am nieve, this is my first time starting a new company and never realised that there is no cooling off period, plus I was told that there are no cancellation fees) I have an official complaint number 600601868. I am stuck with you for 3 yrs, I will be writing to my local newspaper, and telling everyone i know what you have done. All I want to do is get out of this contract. I am a small one owner shop, well, its not even a shop yet, but you are stuck around my neck for 3 yrs, so I will tell my story for the next 3 years. Just let me go!!! Yvonne Lehman – Just Bears"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Please contact me if you have issues with Npower: legal@danemarkspubcompany.co.uk I think enough is enough with this company and we need to stop them making peoples lives miserable. my issue: On Monday the 22nd of January 2018, Npower instructed bailiffs to cut power off in Popular bar, Face 11, Cathays Terrace, Cardiff. This was because of an outstanding debt from a previous tenant. Although they knew this and new the new tenants had previous contacted them to transfer the energy, they never transferred it over to the new tenants and never notified them of this. The new tenants even showed and sent them the lease agreement and other documentation to prove we were new occupants. They first tried to make me pay the debt of the previous customer, when I refused, they then proceeded to disconnect the energy supply. After disconnected them causing me and my partner multiple losses both direct and indirect, they then sent them the following email requesting thousands of pounds to reinstate the energy (Email): As per my email attached and our conversations this morning. We needed to carry out a credit check to determine whether we would need the new occupier, All Lyn Ltd, to pay a security deposit. Following on from this check it was necessary for us to request a security deposit. As discussed this would amount to £1,819 also we require a re-connection fee of £115, so therefore the total amount to pay would be £1,934. The security deposit does not include the bills, we ask customers to pay 4 months' worth of consumption up front. This calculation as I advised earlier is based upon the estimated annual consumption (EAC) for the property (the EAC is 19,042 so 4 months or a third of this is 6347) and our deemed rates which is currently 28.66p per KW/h. I have yet to make the necessary changes to the account and bill up the 2 parties that we discussed earlier. However we will require payment of the accounts prior to us allowing the supply to leave. Also as I advised earlier I have provisionally booked a job for 1 February 2018 between 8:00 am and 12:00 pm to reconnect the supply. However should payment of the above security and re-connection fee not be received by 4:00 pm on 31 January 2018 I will cancel the appointment. You advised me that you were to get another supplier to take over the supply from us and ask that they re-connect the supply for you. Can you please advise me if this is the case as I will need to cancel the appointment that I have booked? Just for clarification I am willing to allow the supply to leave as things stand now, i.e. no payment of the security deposit and no payment of the bills, however we will not re-connect the supply. If you require us to re-connect the supply and then leave we need you to pay £1,934 prior to re-connection and then to pay the bills in full prior to transferring to another supplier. The reason we were keen on using Npower was because of the commitment of the CEO Paul Coffey released on the first page of website in attached PDF Treating Business Customers Fairly otherwise, we would have changed suppliers. “It’s vitally important to me that we don’t just follow the Standards of Conduct for business energy suppliers set out by the regulator, but that we keep to the standards you, our customers, would expect. That’s why throughout the year we have been looking at how we can improve and do better, making sure we invest in the systems that will provide the service you expect from your energy supplier. And also, that our people are able to give really good service day in day out. Getting it right doesn’t happen automatically. That’s why as my executive colleagues and I spend time with the people across npower who serve our business customers, we are keen to make sure they have the procedures and policies in place to not only deliver the service that Ofgem requires from us, but also that best supports your business. This is a constant focus, so let’s take a look at what we’ve been doing in 2016 to deliver even better service and show you how we’ve delivered on our promises. Setting our standards Paul Coffey, npower CEO” The owners cannot trade without energy and believe the knowing that there were new tenants in the premises, rejected them to hold their business to ransom for nothing other than greed."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Overview; We took over the supply at a property after evicting a tenant. We needed gas and electric in order to complete repair and refurbishment works. NPower sent out or sent us to collect FIVE cards over the period of one month. NONE of which reset the meter. Looks like they were trying to get us to pay off the tenant's debt. For every £1 we put in the meter we got approximately 30p in gas. £46.00 for 5 units of gas at the coldest time of the year. They REFUSED to send anyone out to the property to check or reset the meter. We eventually signed up with a new supplier after we lost a proposed tenant for the property. Absolutely USELESS ! Dealing with Npower's telephone team - when you can get through! Background 14 December 2017 Rang and registered with Npower. The customer services contact advised me to pick up a gas prepayment card [note: Card#1] from the local NISA shop, give them a code, get the shopkeeper to remove the card from the machine, then to purchase at least ₤1.00 credit [note: I put ₤5.00], then go to the property and put the card in the meter. This would reset the meter ready for us to use whilst working on the property. I followed the above instructions to the letter. The meter did not reset. I returned to my office and called Npower again. They said they would send out a card with the reset information on it and to put it in to the meter and leave it for a few minutes to transfer the information and reset the meter. 19 December 2017 Card arrives [note: Card#2]. I go to the property and put the card in the meter, nothing happens. Debt remains. I ring Npower again. Another card will be sent. The letter which arrived with Card#2 has a prepaid envelope and the letter says to return any old cards, so I return Card#1. 20 December 2017 Another card arrives. [note: Card#3]. I go to the property and put the card in the meter, nothing happens. Debt remains. I have other jobs to deal with and the contractor is not starting until 01 January, so I don't follow it up again until the beginning of the new year. 04 January 2018 I put ₤20.00 on the card. I put it in the meter. It said ₤6.00 for gas, ₤14.00 for debt. 09 January 2018 I put another ₤20.00 on the card. I put it in the meter. It said ₤6.00 for gas, ₤14.00 for debt. I speak to Npower customer services. They send me to NISA shop with a code to pick up a new card [note: Card#4]. Same routine, new card, input code, remove card, reinsert card, put on ₤1.00 credit, go to property, insert card in meter. Lo and behold the meter credits with the ₤1.00..... debt remains. Meter gives me ₤0.30 for gas and takes ₤0.70 for debt. .... over to Npower's social media team.... 11 January 18:38 Me Hi. I am currently having a big problem with Npower and seem to be wasting my time running around in circles due to your incompetent staff. In December [note: 14th] I contacted Npower to take over the gas and electricity at one of the properties we manage. It had become vacant and it needs work before it can be relet. I was advised to go to a local shop, pick up a gas card, give the shopkeeper a reference number for them to put it to set the card, get the shopkeeper to remove the card, then request at least ₤1.00 credit, I put ₤5.00 on it. I did everything in the order I was advised. I then drove back to the property, put the card in to the meter and left it for about 5 minutes. I was told it would reset the meter so that I was not paying the previous users debt. Fine, or so I thought. I then put ₤20.00 on the card at the beginning of the month. I put it in the meter. It said ₤6.00 for gas, ₤14.00 for debt. The same a couple of days later. ₤45.00 so far and only been able to use a couple of units of gas! I rang Npower again late on Tuesday afternoon. I was advised to return to the shop again, in at least two hours time. I said that I would probably return to the shop the following day as it was late now and I finish work before the two hours is up. This morning I went to the shop. I did exactly as I was asked. I put ₤1.00 on the card. I then took the card to the property and put it in the meter. ₤0.70 debt. ₤0.30 gas. It didn’t reset the meter. So now I have paid out ₤46.00 and spent three or four hours either on the phone or running between various shops and the property. The contractors have been delayed in starting their work as the property is too cold for the paint to dry. I want this matter sorting out. Npower service is dire. How much gas have I got for ₤46.00? Less than 5 units! Npower We're sorry to hear of your experience, Symon :-( Please send us the address details in a private message and we'll be happy to help. ^Vicky 11 January 18:38 Me Hi Vicky. Account number #account number# address #address# (I think its ###) Account name #account name# (my business name as I am employed to oversee the works) Npower Hi Simon, thanks for your message. For security, please confirm the email address, which fuels are supplied by Npower and if your authorised to discuss the account? ^Vicky Me Hmm not sure I gave you an email address, if I did it was either #@#.com or #@#.com. You supply both gas and electric. We haven't had any problems with the electric so far. I am the sole person with authorisation. Npower Thanks, Symon First of all, I would like to take this opportunity to apologise to you for the shortfalls in customer service you've experienced from Npower. Would you like me to arrange for a new command to be sent to your local shop or for a new card to be sent through the post? Also, please confirm the total amount of debt remaining on the meter and the amount of credit lost in the meter? ^Vicky Me is that the "27 GD Remaining" setting? If so it says ₤#debt amount# ! Other settings on the meter include "24 GD Rec Rate 70%" "23 GAR 30%" "7 Standing chg 0.2750" "10 tariff cost 3.335" I wrote all these down when I was at the property earlier Please send me a card. I'm getting nowhere with returning to the shop over and over. Although I've already picked one card up and been sent two others, so I remain sceptical that this is going to work! I believe I gave you my office address for correspondence when I spoke to the woman on Tuesday Npower I'll call our Prepayment Team tomorrow to arrange for a new card to be sent to you and let you know when this has been completed. ^Vicky Me thank you Npower You're very welcome, Symon and I'll speak to you again tomorrow. ^Vicky 12 January 10:37 Npower Morning Symon, hope you're well. I've called our Prepayment Team who have arranged for a new Gas card to be sent to you by special delivery to #address## and this will arrive by 1pm tomorrow. [note: Card#X] I can confirm the new card will clear the previous occupier's debt from the meter, however this will not will give you the credit back which you have paid. Please send me a message when the new card arrives and I'll be happy to work out of the extra you've paid and arrange for this amount to be sent to the meter. ^Vicky Me Ok. Thank you. I worked out that with standing charge from inception to now and the use of 5 (five) units of gas it should have cost about ₤7-₤8. Does that sound about right? Npower I'll arrange for your bill to be produced to show your actual usage once the new card has cleared the balance. ^Vicky 15 January 10:09 Npower Morning Symon, hope you've had a good weekend. Please confirm if you've received the new Gas card and if this has cleared the balance on the meter? ^Vicky 15 January 12:43 Me I went the office at #office address# on Saturday. I also popped to the property. No card. Also been to both this morning. Still no card. So much for the special delivery by 1pm! 15 January 14:42 Npower I'm sorry to hear the card has not arrived, Symon I've contacted our Prepayment Team who have advised the card has been sent, however there has been a delay and this will arrive by Wednesday. [note: Is she saying Card#X was never sent or are Npower sending out another card? Card#Y] Please send me a message when the key arrives to let me know the meter has been reset. ^Vicky 17 January 12:11 Npower Hi Symon, hope you're well. Please confirm if you've received the new Gas card? ^Vicky Me No card..... running out of patience here. Lost over a week with contractor already. Npower I'm sorry to hear this, Symon Please confirm if the post has arrived today? ^Vicky Me My post arrived at 9.15am as normal. Nothing from Npower. I think you need to send someone out pretty sharpish 17 January 14:06 Npower I'm sorry I'm unable to send an engineer to the property I've called our Prepayment Team who has advised there is still a delay in sending the Npower Gas cards. You can wait for the new card to arrive through the post or you can pick up a new card after 2 hours at: Nisa, 306 Broad Lane, LS13 2NN using reference number: ######. Which option is best for you? ^Vicky Me The card at the Nisa shop is preferred but the last two you have sent me to collect havent worked so i have no confidence that this will. If this card does not work i will be terminating with Npower and registering with a reliable supplier 18 January 10:01 Npower Morning Symon, did you manage to pick up the new card at the shop and is this working ok? ^Vicky Me Got card [Note: Card#5]. Gave the shopkeeper. RTI declined. Card does not reset meter. I will ring #alt supplier1# or #alt supplier2# when i get back to the office as your company does not wish to sort it out. Over one month now and you wont send anyone out. Npower I'm sorry to hear you feel this way, Symon Please be advised that an engineer can not attend the property as there is no fault on the meter. I've raised a complaint for you under reference number: 101654673 and the Social Media Team will deal with your account until this matter is fully resolved. Would you like me to arrange for a new card to be sent through the post or try again with another reference number? ^Vicky Me We have had FIVE cards now. I am not prepared to waste anymore time with Npower. There obviously is a fault somewhere. I am on hold to energy ombudsman now Npower I can confirm the Energy Ombudsman will allow us 56 days to resolve this matter. ^Vicky [note: according to ombudsman the 56 days would start from my initial call regarding the first non-working card on 14th December] 19 January 12:02 Npower Hi Symon, please confirm if you would like a new card to be sent through the post or to be picked up at your local shop? ^Vicky 19 January 15:42 Me We are going to work on a different property while we move the gas and electric for this property to #supplier#. I will be taking electric and gas readings, for transfer and account end, in the morning when i am back in leeds 20 January 09:07 Npower Morning Symon, please be advised that the change of supplier process takes around 19 days which means that your new supplier will contact you to request the meter readings when the supply is due to transfer over to them. Would you like me to help to have your meter reset or are you happy to wait until your supply leaves Npower? ^Vicky Me You blatantly refused to send someone to reset the meter. We have had FIVE gas cards which have not reset the meter like you said they would. How are you proposing to reset the meter? Magic? Npower Please confirm if the 5 cards where picked up from the shop sent through the post or both? ^Vicky 20 January 10:46 Me Two in post in December. Two from shop in January. One from shop 14 December December shop pick up was first. Didnt reset so cards posted to me. They didnt work. Then the two you told me to pick up. This doesnt include the ones you said you were posting that never arrived 20 January 12:56 Npower I'll contact our Prepayment Team on Monday to ask for the best way to resolve this matter for you and let you know the outcome. ^Vicky 22 January 14:49 Npower Hi Symon, sorry for the delay. I've called our Prepayment Team who have advised that a new card is required to reset the meter and an appointment can not be booked for an engineer to visit the property. They have arranged for a new card to be sent to you and this will arrive within the next 1 to 2 days. Please send me a message when the new card has arrived and confirm if the meter has been reset. ^Vicky 24 January 09:35 Npower Morning Symon, please confirm if you've received the new Gas card? ^Vicky Me Nothing in post from Npower again Npower Has your post arrived today? ^Vicky MeYes. Mail from TSB, Makro, Toolstation, Leeds City Council.... nothing from Npower NpowerI'm sorry about this, Symon I'll call our Prepayment Team again and come back to you soon. ^Vicky NpowerI've called our Prepayment Team who have advised the new card will arrive by 1pm tomorrow. Please be advised that you need to register your new card in the meter and then go to Nisa, 306 Broad Lane, Leeds, LS13 2NW, top up the card with ₤1.00 and then put this back in the meter to clear the balance. Could you please send me a message tomorrow to confirm if the new card has arrived. ^Vicky 25 January 09:43 Me No card again. Am I surprised? No. You work for a company that does not do as they say and blatantly LIES to their customers. [note: registered both gas and electricity with OVO/Boost who advise me that the supply should be transferred within a couple of weeks. Until then Npower will get nothing more. Once the property is changed to OVO the next tenants are more likely to remain with OVO rather than return to Npower The Cards Card#1 - picked up from NISA 14th December, Broad Lane, LS13 - did not reset meter Card#2 - sent from Npower - did not reset meter Card#3 - sent from Npower - did not reset meter Card#4 - picked up from NISA 9th January - did not reset meter Card#X - card never arrived, may never have been sent Card#Y - may be Card#X or a replacement for Card#X but either way it never arrived either Card#5 - picked up from NISA 18th January - did not reset meter"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"We moved to npower last January after a disastrous time with another of the big5. All went well and we received a bill in April showing we owed some money which didn't alarm me as it was the winter quarter . However that was our only bill until I got in touch with them for the ridiculous amounts our usage against others was showing and the astronomical amount they were asking for future direct debits. I can't praise their staff in billing enough. A complaint was issued and after talking for a while it emerged they thought we had an old meter and not a new one which measures gas differently so hence the outrageous amounts we owed! Another person rang me the next day and by the end of that day; after several phone calls from our complaint overseer; our account was sorted and they actually owed us a refund which hopefully will be in our bank by the end of the week. 5 out of 5 for speed in resolving the problem 1 star deducted for the worker who failed to see our meter was measured in cubic metres when he initially surveyed them."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Since I have switched to nPower, I have got lot of issue with billings and over payment. They hardly give me refund back. I ended up switching my contract with them last year. they forcefully switched my contract early, so they can charge me more for my bills. As new contract with charging me higher tariff, which worked in their favour. Their customer service is nightmare. If I ask them about A, they answer me about Q. It is utmost greedy company, they have absolutely no respect for customer or practice any ethical / moral business practices. Its like Money is their GOD"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"They charged me extra money - £165 , which landlord was supposed to pay. When I spoken to the customer service, they do not listen and be super rude. I wasted 2 hours over phone and they did not help. Told me that money is charged now, get it back from landlord. I had left the property two months ago, There service is the worst service one can ever have!! Never choose them for any of the services. They are the worst supplier one can have!!! Customer service should be rated negative - less then zero!!! Super rude people over the phone......."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"We switched from Npower years ago and have to say it was one of our better choices. Our parents on the other hand have been loyal customers for over 15 years and are currently being treated appallingly. At the end of 2017 they were told they were in debt for over £700 even though they have yearly meter readings, have always paid by Direct Debit ("DD") and have been asked by Npower on several occasions to lower said DD. After complaining numerous times and Npower being unable to show my parents what fuel they are being charged for Npower are trying to increase the DD payments to £197 per month for a one bed bungalow. Disgusting. Much better suppliers out there. Avoid at all cost!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"customer service - useless and they pass you from pillar to post and nobody knows how to help! dealing with complaints - they have no idea what there doing! avoid at all costs! all npower do is cause stress and worry to families! then slam an extra bill in your direction! which you then feel obliged to pay for an easy life after fighting them for over a year from a problem that was originally caused by themselves 4 years ago! absolutely disgusting!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Veryunhappystudentcustomer
Unverified Reviewer
"absolute morons. do not use them. extremely expensive. never paid so much in my life"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"The worst that’s has ever existed. A citadel of Fraud and a varsity of incompetence and day light roberry. Please don’t use!!!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"‪Bulb.co.uk/refer/matthew9969‬ ‪#Bulb SAVE £s They pay your exit fees +£50FREE #environment #GoGreen #greenenergy #renewable #savemoney #money #scottishpower #scottishgas #britishgas #edf #eon #npower #sse #bigsix #noexitfees #climatechange #climate #SSEHydro #green #Switch #SolarPower‬"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Npower is rated 1.12 based on 215 reviews