Npower Reviews

1.15 Rating 273 Reviews
3% of reviewers recommend Npower
594 Review Views (past 24 hours)
00AM - 2AM
21 Review Views
2AM - 4AM
43 Review Views
4AM - 6AM
63 Review Views
6AM - 8AM
79 Review Views
8AM - 10AM
96 Review Views
10AM - 12PM
41 Review Views
12PM - 2PM
41 Review Views
2PM - 4PM
43 Review Views
4PM - 6PM
44 Review Views
6PM - 8PM
43 Review Views
8PM - 10PM
44 Review Views
10PM - 12AM
36 Review Views
00AM
12AM

About Npower: npower is one of the UKs leading energy companies providing gas and electricity to over 6 million customers.

Visit Website

Category:
Business & Office

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Npower made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Own Driver
delivery methods
Customer Service
Live Chat, Telephone, Email
communication channels
Over a week
queries resolved in
2 minutes
Avg Email Response Time
"Talked into a 3 year contract , took several months to get out of the business tariff and onto there domestic tariff, I am in credit by over a £1000.00 and still chasing a refund, poor service, kept on the phone for ages , they never seem to get my name right, overall the worst energy supplier I’ve ever had to deal with. Promised a credit off £50.00 and an apology letter, guess what never got either."
Posted 1 week ago
Are you Npower? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"Worst electricity company I have ever experienced!It took them almost a year to generate a bill which I had to ask them several times to do.I had to send meter readings any times and still they were unable to generate the bill!In the end when I got the first bill it was so much to pay that caused me such stress and inconvenience.Wasted so much time and energy. Not with them now and not ever again! Avoid Npower!"
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Appalling customer service and never got anything correct plus no communication between different departments overall please don't go with n power avoid at all cists"
Posted 1 month ago
"They keep charging me even though I left and have to wait a month for a refund"
Posted 1 month ago
"Smart meters are supposed to make life easier, no more providing meter readings - what a joke! I've had mine for a month & already npower want me to phone them with readings!! Also they still havnt changed my tariff that was arranged before the meters were even installed!"
Posted 1 month ago
"The ombudsman, ICO and ofgem must be absolutely swamped with complaints about Npower I cannot understand why anyone would stay with them , they are totally incompetent. My complaint is far too long to list and TBH just relieved I have switched . You couldn't pay me to be their customer again .How do they get away with their behaviour . My final bill was paid I switched and then another month later I had another final bill it's laughable at how incompetent they are ."
Posted 1 month ago
"Miss leading on how they work out your electric and gas bill, very low on keeping you I the loop! Not a good company"
Posted 1 month ago
"Absolutely appalling customer service, been waiting 6 weeks for their complaints person to contact me despite numerous phone calls and emails from. Just disgusting service, would never recommend or use again. Please avoid if you are looking to sign up with NPOWER!!"
Posted 2 months ago
"Worst service ever, moved onto a property serviced by them and ended up paying the dept of of previous owner took so long to sort ended up unable to heat my house. Not good when your disabled"
Posted 2 months ago
"Do not use N power. Move to them as they offered the lowest deal. I provided them with invoice from previous energy supplier. They set the direct debit at £75 month. A year on receive a final reminder to pay £550 why estimate at £75 when it should be £120 a month be careful signing up. Seems these companies lure you in with low monthly DD then invoice large bill."
Posted 2 months ago
"I have never had a problem with Npower n relation to their delivery of fuel or with meters or meter readings. However, I have recently had two issues with them which I've complained about and have to say I find their customer service and the way they deal with complaints is very poor. The first complaint was about an agreement they made about the issuing of bills to my wife who has authority to manage my account. As regards this, several shortfalls in customer service occurred - 1 In error they stopped issuing bills to my wife 2 After correcting the error, they again stopped issuing bills to my wife without my consent. 3 After receiving an acknowledgment of my complaint sayig they would respond within 7 days, they did not respond. I only received a response 7 days after submitting a further 2 complaints. 4 The responding complaints handler claimed no bills had ever been issued to my wife and closed the complaint without my agreement. 5 After complaining yet again Npower stated they HAD restored their agreement about the issuing of bills, but they hadn't. These shortfalls were actually identified by the energy ombudsman after I referred the issue to them. The second complaint was in relation to direct debit payments. when renewing my tariff with them. The following shirtfalls I belive happened are - 1 Based on meter readings, they quoted me a monthly payment £1 less than I had been paying which persuaded me to sdtay woth them. 2 Two months later they invreased my payments by 30% saying that my current level of payment would not cover increased usage during the winter months. 3 Three months later, without my consent they gave me a refund as I was in credit, presumably therefore, paying too much. They did not reduce the payments. 4 I response to my complaint about this they stated thst the monthly payments WOULD remain as they were otherwise I would fall into "debt" over the winter months. Ths complaint was again closed without my consent. 5 Some time later I complained again about this and have never received a response to this complaint. 6 When asking if I could pay by standing order rather than direct debit so that I could have some control over my payments I was told that I could do so if I wished. However, a £90 per year discount is given for paying by direct debit, but not for standing order. Overall Npower conducts some aspects of its business according to its own rules. They refuse to change these as per customer;s preferences, stating that they are a matter of policy or "business decisions". They refuse to give access to these and they are not stated in their terms or conditions. They offer no explanation of the errors they make and offer no assurances about the likelihood of errors recurring. The energy ombudsman service, Ofgem actually supports them in this."
Posted 2 months ago
"Took over a business. Meter seemed like it had been tampered with so i informed npower to who said they will investigate. Ignored my emails and calls and sent the account to pastdyecredit. Both companies are terirble to deal with."
Posted 3 months ago
"anyone else stuck with no meter to read with only estimated bills for the future because a meter was installed to a non compatible electric supply and they don't want to rectify it ?"
Posted 3 months ago
"Disrespectful, department blaming, rotten company If I could put 0 stars I would, terrible company with terrible customer service. Would discourage anyone from using. Had two meter changes booked and no one turned up and was never notified. 2 days off work and not so much as a phone call to tell me that an engineer would not be arriving. Sat in a freezing house until 8pm after calling three times throughout the day to check if the engineer was coming only to be told each time ‘it’s booked and he would arrive’. Utterly terrible service especially in both instances, and the fact that NO ONE would have told me that an engineer was not arriving is just disrespectful and terrible beyond customer service. This company is rotten at the core and I hope customers stand up for being treated like this. All this while this my account is being handled by a complaint manager after previous issues. Never ever will I use npower again."
Posted 3 months ago
"The worst electric company in the world. There back bill policy is a shambles. someone i knew got £800.00 refund and my situation was worse. If your supplied by them ask about backbill on your account. The chances are you are entitled to it. There systems do not work and bills are wrong hence back bill."
Posted 3 months ago
"Stay away from Npower. They are trying to bill me for electric at a time I was not living in the house - 3 months earlier from date of move in. As you all know this is fraud to do this. This now has gone to Ombudsman to deal with and believe it or not just had a debt collector at door even though the ombudsman is dealing with the situation. This is what Npower is like - SO STAY WELL AWAY you have been warned."
Posted 3 months ago
"Terrible - gouge direct debits ever-higher (despite my regular meter readings showing a growing gulf between my actual energy readings and their fantasy), assuring me that everything would be squared when I changed supplier. More than two months later, they are holding several hundred pounds and no reply at all to my multiple attempts to get clarification. Don't forget, they confirm they owe me this money ACCORDING TO THEIR OWN SYSTEM! Spent an hour waiting to speak to a lobotomised call centre moron, who said (and I quote), "I don't know anything" and "We can't change our system". A bizarre mix of incomprehensible doublespeak and complacent incompetence. Avoid like the plague, no matter how cheap they are."
Posted 4 months ago
"Don't touch them with a bargepole. I had a prepayment meter, moved out of a property with money still on the meter, and received a bill after one month because supposedly I hadn't send the meter reading, and the outstanding balance on the prepayment meter doesn't count! Thankfully I now live in a property without prepayment meter and supplied by another supplier."
Posted 4 months ago
"AVOID AVOID AVOID!!! Staff agreed things in telephone conversations which were later denied so decided I would do everything via their online chat to which on one occassion after outlining why I was contacting them their advisor ended the chat without any warning or comment! Trying to put my payments up by £99 a month despite having agreed a lower fixed rate than what I was on. Complaints department won't listen to me anymore and despite emailing their CEO Paul Coffey (who doesn't reply except via his PA to say email passed to complaints department who have already said they wont enter into further communications on the matter!) I am not getting a response anymore. 14 years with them, no customer loyalty, would probably get listened to if I was a new customer! Time to change!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Posted 4 months ago
"avoid this company in all costs, I moved to my new property and the previous owner was using Npower. I was out of gas for 2 months because I didn't have top up card for pre-paid gas meter. I rung Npower more than 10 times with request to send me new card. First they said I can pick up the card from given address of the shops when i went there they didn't have any and it was waste of journey. Than I asked Npower to send me the new card but they never send me. Eventually I had enough of them and switched to British Gas. When I switched to British Gas, Npower started to harass me by sending letter and calling me and asked to pay the previous owner debts. I made complains 5 times over the phone, each time they denied saying they never received any calls from. It's very badly managed company and in total mess!"
Posted 4 months ago
Npower is rated 1.15 based on 273 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support