Natwest Reviews

1.77 Rating 171 Reviews
16% of reviewers recommend Natwest

Write Your review

Tell us how Natwest made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
queries resolved in
Over a week
"Utterly disgusting. Twice I had to book appointment and on both occassions was not seen. Banks fault 1. Bank did not advice me a certain timescale of documents was required 2. Bank booked appointment with a customer advisor who was working at a branch elsewhere not to the one I had specifically requested. I was appaled at the lack of customer service by Natwest. On the second appointment due to lack of capacity within the branch I was not seen. I stressed this was second time booked I urgently needed to open an account and had also come during my break I should be prioritised But no just a little show of sorry."
Posted 5 months ago
Are you Natwest? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"I think its absolutely disgusting that my son incorrectly transferred money to a pay your contact number and natwest have said they wont be giving it back. What sort of banking is this."
Posted 5 months ago
"Very rude hanging up the phone on me. Because of NatWest bank my credit score dropped by 225 point it’s gone from good to very poor I wouldn’t recommend to anyone don’t go with NatWest. Money missing from my account for no reason, and no one can explain anything."
Posted 6 months ago
"I don’t recommend NatWest bank very rude high charges"
Posted 6 months ago
"We wanted to open a business account. We are a Turkish company and UK Government accepted our business plan after 3 months review... wE ARE IN UK now.. The girl on the phone asked us too much for the reason why we are in UK. IT IS NONE OF YOUR BUSINESS why we come to UK and why we are doing our business in UK instead of Turkey or in USA.. We tried to tell about our business patiently but the officer has stolen our 1 hour. she could even can't get anything about our business type althoug she saw our website and products.. They are not spaceships... even 10 years kid would understood what we do... AFTER ALL IT SOUNDED LIKE RACISM!!! WHO ARE YOU? Your branch is just 1 min walk to my home unfortunately... i have to see your branch every single day!"
Posted 6 months ago
"I have banked with newest for nearly 40years. They have closed three small banks near us and now we have to go into the city centre to pay cheques in. Considering NatWest are one of the biggest banks why can you not take a copy of a cheque and pay it in using your mobile app...other banks can. Man up NatWest and grab the bull by the horns and get into this generation."
Posted 6 months ago
"disgusting how terrible they treat customers. Unwilling to help Close my account down for no reason and told to wait 5-7 working days for a letter confirming how I can get my money from them Worst bank on the planet by far"
Posted 6 months ago
"What an awful awful awful customer service! Every time I ring them, I end up spending up to 60 minutes on the phone in endless limbo, getting directed and redirected, speaking with an endless number of people, and still not getting anywhere. The staff keep giving me contradictory directions, keep directing me to the wrong teams and no-one was being able to solve the simple task I called about! I don’t think it’s the staff per se, it’s the whole system that’s not designed to give you a smooth customer experience. We’ve been with the bank for quite a while, and it’s always been this bad. As a company we don’t think we can afford wasting our precious time this way any more - we are taking my business elsewhere."
Posted 6 months ago
"Wonderful customer service, so friendly and helpful and easily resolved my issue. Thank you, I think your name was Andrea!"
Posted 7 months ago
"Thankfully I have never had to deal with such awful customer service before. As soon as I possibly can, I will be going else where. It appears I'm not the only person who has had countless issues with them either. Trust Pilot has given them a 1* as well. In my personal experience they have absolutely no compassion what so ever, and are incredibly unhelpful when trying to explain a situation to them. The standard response is, terms and conditions, what do you want us to do about it? You try to explain that your circumstances have changed and you want to ensure you pay them back what you owe them, they fob you off."
Posted 7 months ago
"The worst customer services. I just wanted to speak with the fraud department, they keep me 56 minutes on the phone and finally I couldn’t speak with this department. Poor customer services and definitely NatWest is unsafe bank account in the UK."
Posted 7 months ago
"Customer service esp management what is customer care !! They won’t accept personal cheques over the counter financial authority and BBtv watchdog have Been informed and my local newspaper a day I walked in with one chq to put into my account not allowed and today a elderly chap tried to use the machine as they would not accept a 80 year old mans chq over the counter so the guy spent 10 mins working it all out . Close this branch down or sack management looking into starting a petition when I spoke to Nat eat head office on 3 occasions they where not aware of this the area manager is what she doing about it nothing"
Posted 7 months ago
"I’ve been banking with them for years and I am truly disgusted and dissatisfied with their service . I’ve been the victim of fraud on various occasions with them but still remained a loyal customer with them. I was recently the victim of another scam this time via telephone and no one seemed to take responsibility for the poor security measures in place or acknowledge the fact that I’ve been subjected to fraud on many occasions . Instead I was told that they would not be refunding my money as it was my fault this happened and was even hung up on by one of their employees . I have not been able to have any form of access to my account nor have I been advised as to how I can access it and have instead been told that I have to wait to receive a new card as my old card has been cancelled so have had to rely on the financial support of others. When informing them that I would be taking my services elsewhere I was more or less told to go ahead . It’s disgraceful that I cannot even rely/ trust my my own bank to take care of my hard earned money . Do not bank with these people !"
Posted 7 months ago
"I think the Question "what went wrong" is a wrong question. It should be asked " How can we disappoint you more" The bank should send a survey to its customers and ask if there was anything they did right, if so they will do their utmost to ensure that next time they will ensure that the customer is provided the usual poor service."
Posted 7 months ago
"Since May 2017 (it is now December 2019) I have been harassed over my tax residency status. I keep filling in forms telling them that I left Republic of Ireland in 2001 after only having been there a year, and have been back in the UK since then. Eventually, with no satisfaction, I went into a branch. The assistant made a phone call and said that it was due to the bank still having a phone number on my records relating to Ireland. We duly changed this - I had my passport id with me, so that it was possible. We then completed the forms FOR THE UMPTEENTH TIME, and ALL of the forms were taken by the bank to be posted using the bank post. I expected to hear NOTHING more on this issue. But today, 20th December, I have had YET FURTHER HARRASSMENT, telling me that if I don't reply and complete the forms within 10 days, my details will be passed on to the tax body. NATWEST HAS NO RIGHT TO PASS ON MY DETAILS, AND THIS COULD CAUSE ME NO END OF GRIEF FROM AN OVERSEAS TAX OFFICE. How DARE YOU NATWEST? I have tried phoning the 'Helpline' on the letter - after 20 minutes STILL NO ANSWER, and I am being charged because it is not a free phone number! What a truly disgusting bank! I have banked with the NatWest for years. Once I have my pound of flesh with this bank - I'm off. You disgusting shower!"
Posted 7 months ago
"Utterly, utterly disgusting customer experience. Organised a friends holiday meaning a lot of people transferring me money to pay for the trip. Some gave me cash. The bank fraud 'experts' froze my accounts, asked endless amounts of question, during which time I could not access money in my account. When visiting various branches I was laughed out of the bank who simply said "we will contact you vis letter". Letter comes and tells me that all of my accounts are CLOSED PERMANENTLY. So I have been a customer for over 15 years, and now I have been kicked out of my own bank account for "unusual activity" on my account. The bank will not communicate with me to explain why this decision was made and simply gave me 60 days to find somewhere else to bank! I warn anyone that is thinking of joining this laughable transaction to think again and go elsewhere. Unless of course you enjoy being treated like that piece of you know what on the bottom of your shoe."
Posted 7 months ago
"I visited India and notified Natwest of my travel dates. I tried to purchase a piece of jewellery. The payee was already in my contacts from a previous visit but my payment was not allowed. When I returned home, I had an answerphone message on my mobile to phone the fraud department. I called immediately and they said a letter had been sent out to me. I asked for a Manager to call me but so far nobody has bothered. I have since called back twice and still nobody has called me. I will not only be taking my current account elsewhere, I will also be moving my business elsewhere. Every time I have a problem at Natwest, nobody calls me back. The level of service is worse than useless. AVOID THIS BANK OR RISK CONSTANT FRUSTRATION, OR WORSE STILL, BLOOD PRESSURE"
Posted 7 months ago
"I have been treated like dirt today. I am switching banks first thing in the morning! From birth i have been banking. with you Today being transfered from phone to phone 50mins on hold you are joking!. I am speechless"
Posted 8 months ago
"Tried to make a simple transfer of £2000 from my select account to my instant saver. Answered all the security questions correctly but then got transferred to the fraud department! Got bombarded with stupid irrelevant questions and got one wrong which I then tried to correct. No chance, they have blocked my account and I have to go into my branch to identify myself to get it unblocked. I'm 75 and been with them for years, disgraceful and wrong is my opinion. I am referring this to the Ombudsman and switching banks in any event,"
Posted 8 months ago
"Ever since I started banking with Natwest, there is money keeping disappearing from my account. This money cannOT be accounted for on the statement ut will completely vanish. My son is 19, he is also a customer with Natwest and is facing same experience. I went to two different Natwest branches. The response I got was shocking, the staff were rude and arrogant, they blamed me for miscalculation when I tried to show the proof of my explanation they didn’t want to know. The staff must be aware of what is happening, why getting the same response to such an important issue. There is no customer care with This bank. Can we have our money back please. By talking to other people, there a number of people facing the same experience with this bank."
Posted 8 months ago
Natwest is rated 1.77 based on 171 reviews