National Express Reviews

National Express have a Customer Happiness Grade of B-. Customers are happy with their customer service and refunds but are unhappy with their prices. Full Insights

1.51 Rating 68 Reviews
10% of reviewers recommend National Express
558 Review Views (past 24 hours)
1PM - 3PM
75 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
39 Review Views
5PM - 7PM
58 Review Views
7PM - 9PM
42 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
42 Review Views
11PM - 1AM
19 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
62 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
38 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
44 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
38 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
41 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
60 Review Views
1PM
1PM

Phone:
08717 818178

Location:
National Express House, Birmingham Coach Station, Mill Lane, Digbeth

Categories:
Travel
Travel

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Email, Telephone
communication channels

How would you rate National Express ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"They suddenly cancelled our bus on 21:00 Oct13, and what they do is telling us to wait at the coach station for over 10hours, the staff won’t provide any proof for the cancellation or any compensation or any apologies!! They even don’t let passengers talk to the head office or his manager, the most ridiculous customer service ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"Me and my family booked a ticket to Stansted airport, the bus was cancelled without any notice while we have to catch our flight. I called the customer service, and the manager agreed to refund any cost of taxi for me to Stansted airport. Now it’s very complicated for me to claim the refund! Already 2 times their advisors said that the refund has been processed and will be in my account in a couple of days, but then another advisors cancel it and make it more complicated again, again and again! If someone from national express read this please take this seriously and please solve this ASAP!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Complete rip off! And not flexible. That is what a monopoly does."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Ordered smartcard 12 days ago. Not arrived, no response to emails or phone. Awful service."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"The coach was 30 mins late from our trip from Stansted to Victoria Coach station. They're was a queue of at least 200 m's of people. No update, no traffic information, no communication. The driver announced that (surprise, surprise) we're running late. At the departure when handed over and checked in my suitcase I was asked by the driver what my destination was and as I said it was Victoria station, it was put on one side. As the coach was running effects further late, I tried to replan my route, but when got off the bus and was asked which suitcase was mine and pointed to it, the driver said, you've got to go to Victoria as you stated. She than got back to her seat and closed the boot. Practically blocking me from my suitcase and limiting me in my freedom as my suitcase was going to Victoria anyway. I felt humiliated as she shouted at me and was not helpful at all. I don't understand this attitude at all, but all I can see is the rudeness and the lack of flexibility. National Express is a headache. Unreliable. Never use them if you don't like pain."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"THEY SOLD SEATS TO SOMEONE ELSE!! Travelled as 6 people on 21/09. Stuck at stansted airport even when we booked and paid 3 weeks in advance, the national express sold our seat to someone else who paid in cash! We were already in the queue waiting before the coach arrived. They did not take the register and just sold tickets on the spot, first come first serve basis. We were just left at the front of the queue. As a result of their fault in the delay, we missed our connecting train and had to pay expensive tickets home. No apology from the staff who was selling the tickets. Big disappointment! Will not recommend!! Clearly the staff was too keen to finish her shift and didnt even bother to check with who has already booked in advance on online before selling these seats. On their website, they said they will release any seats one minute prior to departure, but we were already in the queue 15 minutes earlier!! Strongly advise you to beware that even through you have booked and paid in advance with national express, arrived on time or earlier, they may still sell your seats to someone else"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Hi I travel regularly by National Express its Reliable/ Comfortable and i get great savings by using my Coachcard .I have just returned from a long 7hr journey on the 206/707 service only a short delay due to excessive heavy traffic but thanks to our driver Keith on coach CD5 the journey was enjoyable SUE"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"the travel i was sick"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Ridiculous! Currently on a bus from London to Leeds and it's red hot but the HEATING IS ON!!! They can't even figure out to turn the aircon on!! I can't breathe! I'm about 3hout into this HELL BUS Fyi it's the 561 bus. Not that your company cares about their passengers."
3 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Last time I travelled with them the coach was absolutely filthy!!! As soon as we got on the coach and for 4 hours putting up with a toilet sewerage smell is just not acceptable especially when I paid over 40 pounds to travel with them, outrageous!!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Coach driver was very kind, welcoming and helpful. I had got a coach from rosehill london to gatwick 16th Aug at 2:40 am. Was very pleased very helpful driver!! Thank ypu"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I took the bus for Newport from London Victoria, 1230pm, 10 Aug 2018. Bus ref code is ED 54. The bus driver keeps on chatting to passengers behind her all throughout the trip without concentrating on her driving. Keeps on waving to someone who I cannot see anyone. I understand that drivers should not be talking to someone, unless necessary, while the bus is in motion. She keeps on blowing her horn when a vehicle in front of the bus is moving slow, then apologizes to the passengers for her "road rage," but keeps on repeating it. So, what's the point of apologizing when she kept on repeating it? She then overtakes the slow-moving vehicle, and shouts at the driver! You can review the CCTV how this driver behaves. Likewise, no "reserved" note was placed on the seat when there were passengers who have seat numbers."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"304 service from Weymouth to Birmingham. I joined this service at Ringwood and alighted at Oxford. Graham was our driver and me personally had a very pleasant journey. He introduced himself gave us full information at the services and I really enjoyed the on board camera of the road ahead. Thankyou"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"On 24th July 2018 I have purchased a Senior Card online and wanted to purchase return tickets Preston (Lancashire) to St Austell, departing on 10th August 2018 and return on 12th August 2018. Booking online was easy and straightforward, unfortunately Senior Coachcard wasn't accepted during the booking. Contacted National Express on 24th July (15 minutes call duration) and have been advised to wait 24 hours for card to be activated. Fair enough the T&C includes following line "Your Coachcard is only valid for use for travel from the next calendar day after purchase". Attempted online purchase on 25th July, same issue Senior Coachcard not recognised. Contacted customers service (18 minutes call duration), have been explained there is an issue with the system and therefore card cannot be recognised, promised call back next day, 26th July 2018, to take the payment over the phone. No phone calls from National Express received on 26th July 2018 and after 7.00pm decided to call customer services. Third call took 50 minutes. I have been told that I have purchased Senior Coachcard incorrectly and have to return the card. Have explained that I only purchased Senior Coachcard online on 24th July 2018 and haven't received it yet. Have been offered to pay over the phone with charge of £2.50 for each ticket, which I kindly refused justifying that the issue with Senior Coachcard is on National Express side and I could easy purchase tickets online if the coachcard discount recognised. Have been put few times on hold, travellers details have been taken at least 3 times along with full address. Finally the tickets have been book and paid, E-Ticket has been delivered to my email address. On the following day Senior Coachcard arrived with post, card valid from and valid to dates being incorrect, valid from 05/12/1942 - valid to 05/12/1943. To summarise the experience, booking tickets online on National Express website end up with total of 1 hour 23 minutes on the phone with National Express to complete the purchase."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Do not recommend this service to anyone, absolute joke. Saturday 14th had a bus booked for 7am to London Victoria, only for them to tell us the bus was running late and promised to be there for 7.30 didn’t arrive until 8am and told us to the bus was only going to Reading and promised there was a bus awaiting there to switch to go to London Victoria.. we arrived no bus waiting and when bus finally arrived only 10 of us out of the 30 people could get on the bus and left the rest of us waiting another 20 mins in reading for another bus! Also the journey was a disaster coming home.. for the driver to say was limited seating on the bus, we was one of the 10 people that got on and he took the bag from us didn’t handle the bag well at all no respect for people’s belongings.. the bus was late leaving AGAIN! and when we finally arrived at our destination.. or bag was missing!! Driver didn’t have a clue.. throwing people’s property around, on and off the bus and driving off within seconds not giving people time to get off the bus and get their luggage. Unfortunately because of your disgraceful staff I have lost my luggage which over £500 worth in that bag! Including concert tickets, purse.. cash, bank card etc, phone charger, clothing. I am disgusted and I’m taking this further.. you didn’t only ruin my day going to London arriving almost 2 hours late.. you’ve ruined my whole weekend and lost all my personal belongings and my tickets. I am very unhappy customer and not letting this go 😡😨"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"London Heathrow transfer service, first journey was late. The return journey was cancelled and was rescheduled for the next hour, not a reliable airport transfer service."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"First time using this service - gatwick to Heathrow. They are rude and disrespectful. Pushed me out of the way when I was asking a question (I’m a 50 yo female with a disability). Had the nerve to tell us our bags were overweight even though they meet airline guidelines. Definitely not worth saving a few bucks!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Took the night coach from London to victoria on the 406 on the 20th of June the first driver was amazing very friendly but got off at Exeter he would get out the coach to help unload luggage, the second was also very good and also got out to help unload luggage he changed with the third driver at Plymouth national express depo and the third stayed in the coach and helped no one with luggage when I got to my stop at St Erth I waited for the driver to open the door and to assist with the luggage but drove off instead, meaning I didn't get my luggage at my stop not that it mattered as I got a phone call from a guy who told me he found my luggage at newquay bus stop so I guess my luggage was taken off by another passenger at Newquay bus stop and not put back on since the driver sat in the bus not paying attention to what they were doing, now the man who phoned was taking a national express coach back to London and I still don't know where my luggage is since he has not answered any more phone calls and just overall dissatisfied with the third drivers attentiveness of the 11pm 406 service from Victoria coach station to Penzance on the 20th/21st of June, I have had a reply on trust pilot to a review i wrote there to say that the driver is at fault and have also phoned lost property to be told I will still not be compensated for my luggage even though it was the third drivers negligence, do not use national express as they only want your money and will not under any circumstances compensate you if they are at fault for your lost luggage"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I've been using National Express coaches ever since university days but more frequently when the railways were privatised and became a "privileged" mode of travel. Been rather contented with NE's service overall until my next journey booked months in advance from Brighton to Gatwick return. Just before my date of travel, got a text msg from NE stating due to timetable rescheduling, my booked and paid for journeys have been axed due to time table rescheduling, options offered to me meant; having to get to Gatwick an over an hour before check in time but worst of all, on my return journey, only giving me 45 minutes from landing to go through immigration and luggage, custom and to board the coach. I could accept the outward bound trip but not the return option as I've missed coaches before and had to repay for a new ticket etc. The only other option offered is to take a later coach which involves over an hour change over in South Terminal resulting in a total journey time of approx 2.5 hours to travel from Gatwick to Brighton! I believe, the cyclists in the London to Brighton did their trip in less time! Furthermore this will result in getting into Brighton in the little hours of the morning after midnight which means increased taxi fare too. No compensation was offered except a discount % for next journey which at the ticket price would work out to be a couple of quid! It is ridiculous for NE to expect us to believe a considerate business would suddenly reschedule their time table and axe services already filled with booked customers? It's common sense to slowly phase in a new time table by axing future services before they're populated with bookings unless of course, customer consideration is NOT in their business model. Personally we feel that NE is adopting the same "Profit before customers" attitude akin to the low cost airlines where they offer attractive discounts to entice early bookers to book in advance, to ensure their high take up of their seats BUT should there be a surge in last minute bookers who obviously pays more, the carriers dumps the early bookers in favour of the late bookers, simply for the profit. This offers the carriers a win - win situation for them at the expanse of their customers. Such carriers have no consideration for the sudden massive inconvenience and extra costs imposed onto their customers by their selfish unprofessional commercial practices. At such last minute, it's hectic enough tying up loosed ends at work and at home prior to a vacation, not having the added hassle and costs of now trying to find alternative transport! It's high time, even coach operators like airlines and railways be forced legally to pay compensation should they fail to fulfill their ticketing contract with their customers. Personally, I will from now on wards be actively seeking to use alternative coach operators first, in order to support them so that they will start to provide healthy competition against NE's unacceptable practices and attitudes."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Sunday early morning at 4.30, no traffic at all and you managed to arrive late. I lost my flight because of that. Terrible customer service as well as the driver assistant was repeatedly rude with other passengers, can't understand how you're still in business. Also on travelpilot there aren't 3 bad reviews we all wrote while we were on the bus so don't trust travelpilot reviews website."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
National Express is rated 1.51 based on 68 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This