National Express Reviews

1.67 Rating 91 Reviews
14% of reviewers recommend National Express
718 Review Views (past 24 hours)
09AM - 11AM
17 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
86 Review Views
1PM - 3PM
58 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
39 Review Views
5PM - 7PM
42 Review Views
7PM - 9PM
94 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
36 Review Views
11PM - 1AM
22 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
104 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
114 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
67 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
39 Review Views
09AM
9AM

Popular Questions:

Customer Service

How can I contact National Express?

About National Express: National Express coach & bus tickets for travel to over 900 destinations throughout the UK including London airports Heathrow, Gatwick & Stansted. National Express offer Britain’s only scheduled coach network reaching around 1000 destinations in England, Scotland and Wales.

Phone:
08717 818178

Location:
National Express House, Birmingham Coach Station, Mill Lane, Digbeth

Categories:
Travel
Travel

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how National Express made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
communication channels
"No good company at all they’re profiteering, and there’s No other companies to be Competition. So we are forced to book this company"
Posted 2 days ago
Are you National Express? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"They sold me a ticket to non existent bus stop and obviously, the bus never came, because it was not on its route. So we missed the bus, had to buy another tickets to a train and lost money ane 1h of time."
Posted 3 days ago
"Sent to a stop miles outside of reading ‘as they’ve changed route’. No warning or info just dumped on side of road by driver miles from anywhere with no money or assistance offered. Also been sent to wrong stop leaving Waterloo result in on me sat for 3 hours and missing my mans funeral. Oh and lost some money £300 was rang to be told it had been found when I went to collect it had disappeared. By far the worst company to do ever give any money to. Lying cheating stealing inept morons."
Posted 3 days ago
"Excellent . Well done nations express having the right personnel at Heathrow Terminal 5 . I am a regular customer. Well this morning me and my colleague wouldn’t be on the Brighton coach after having a very long flight and all tired if The lovely lady Andria (had a glance at her name badge) working in the forecourt didn’t mention that 201 Gatwick is a Brighton coach,as the coach screens weren’t displaying it as Brighton but said Gatwick . She came to us and asked where we traveling and when we said Brighton she pointed out that’s the coach and apologized for the screens not working . it was kind of her and she being very proactive rushed to the driver and held the coach for u two . Oh ,that was so good experience and actually it’s excellent to have informative staff around you . Very happy to be home and thank you national express for alwayz making our journey better."
Posted 1 week ago
"Bought my ticket well in advance. Spoke to the driver in my departure, explained my flight would now be earlier for my return. No problem he said just change your ticket when your returning. So I did that. But for that I had to pay over £21. Original return was only £25. £5 to change and over £16 for excess. That is totally unjustified especially as there is plenty of room on this coach. Misleading information and Help desk not interested."
Posted 1 month ago
"Luton Airport - Victoria Never on time. Time slot on ticket is not valid at all. Rude driver. Never again."
Posted 1 month ago
"I arrive on time at the stop and the coach never showed up after 30min of waiting, I had to take my flight, had to pay a train from Cardiff to Gatwick Airport. That was awful"
Posted 1 month ago
"The bus does not arrive at all at the London Luton Airport. The workers there refuse to provide a refund. Scam!"
Posted 2 months ago
"Monopolise certain routes and then hike the prices up to extortionate levels. Case in point: Bristol to Heathrow"
Posted 2 months ago
"I am a frequent traveller on National Express and because of the on going failures I wanted to warn others. For the last six times my wife and I have travled we both paid extra to deser e seats so we can sit together. Everytime we board we mention it to the drivers who are either not aware or don't care. When we board there has been other seated in our seats we paid extra for. The driver is not interested in movi g passengers and just go avout his business leaving us to sit elsewhere and sometimes apart. DO NOT PAY THE EXTRA FOR RESERVING SEATS, THEY DON'T DO IT!"
Posted 2 months ago
"Staff was rude,i was on time but tge bus was full. Bus stinks of toilet Awful service Before Christmas i waited 3 hours in Golders Green."
Posted 2 months ago
"The lady who worked at the National express service from Luton to Paddington on 27th December 2018,at 8.25 WAS VERY RUDE AND UNFRIENDLY..YOUNG GIRL...if she don't like her job why is working there? Very UNFRIENDLY staff."
Posted 2 months ago
"Dishonest, misleading, unreliable. Always read small print. I only ever use Nationalexpress when I have no other option. And it always turns out to be a nightmare. Horrible customer service at the stations where I get verbally abused for expecting accurate and truthful information. Dishonest and misleading information at the time of reservation (Booked a ticket to Heathrow T4 got a ticket to T1&2, despite the ticket being amendable which I had paid extra for, the extra fee for changing the journey was £40 whilst a new ticket for the same journey would be £28), poor timekeeping which results in long delays (Booked a bus from Stansted to Cardiff, only upon the purchase it became apparent that there was a coach change at Victoria. The first coach was 5 mins late so I missed the connection, I was not allowed on to the next coach to my destination which resulted in 5 hours delay) I so wish there was more competition on the market"
Posted 3 months ago
"The bus drivers were gangster ## very vigilant drivers would recommend there service"
Posted 3 months ago
"I like the bus service and the lovely drivers who work so hard but one of your staff members at the Victoria Coach station is really giving a horrible image to the company. Not sure if anyone has experienced this lady at the Coach station but she's a lady with the afro who looked African-British (I don't mean to label people but I'm honestly traumatised by this lady and someone needs to speak to her). Firstly, she swore at a customer. I understand things get stressful and abusive but that was uncalled for in front of EVERYONE. Secondly, she gave me misleading information that made me miss my coach and then took no responsibility for it and said, 'I can't watch everything'. I completely understand that but next time give me the correct information, she was literally the coldest person I've ever come across. I was lucky to come across such a lovely guy, who helped me out even though you can see he was stressed but he didn't have a cold approach. I think customers would have been nicer if your staff member had just come across nicer and caring towards others. There were a lot of delays on the day, and she approached us like she didn't care. Being sympathetic goes a long way. The way she was talking to everyone, was so horrible. I wanted to record it, that's how bad it was. There were customers who were coming up to her nicely. If she doesn't like her job, then I would advise getting rid of her because it didn't seem like she enjoyed it at all. I can't believe people like her exist within the customer service world within London."
Posted 4 months ago
"All in all good service...but tricky departure times... Stansted Airport (Nov, 10): The coach was delayed from 16.30 to 17.00. At 16.54 they announced departure and left suddenly at 16.56 and not 17.00. We were in the waiting room and didn’t have enough time to get there. Had to pay extra for the next one at 18.30 Northampton: We had to wait for the coach for more than one hour in winter time. No mail from them, no sms, no coach tracking in the app. Milton Keynes: The change coach was delayed indefinitely and we missed it because the departure announcement wasn’t clear."
Posted 4 months ago
"On 25/10/2018 I was due on the 730pm 450 coach to Nottingham Station Street from London Victoria Station. I arrived at Victoria well on time but no coach was there by the scheduled time of 730pm, come 8pm myself and other customers were told by one of the National Express staff working at Victoria that the coach was just in departures and would be with us all very soon, more time passed and it was clear that this was not the case as even though the station was clear for any coach in departures to come to our bay no coach arrived. Later on we was all told by a National Express employee at the station that the coach was stuck in traffic, eventually a coach turned up at around 9pm - which was the time of the next scheduled National Express coach to Nottingham, we was told this was the delayed 730pm, on getting on the coach though the driver said this was the scheduled 9pm coach and the fact he was not going to stop in Sherwood, Nottingham or Mansfield, Nottinghamshire did not align with the fact we were told by the station employee this was the delayed 730pm coach. To add insult to injury the coach that turned up at 9pm was not even a National Express coach, it was a Skills coach which looked unfit for purpose, we got on and the coach didn't start, after 5 minutes of trying the decision should have been made to get us on to another coach but despite myself and others already being over 90 minutes behind the time we paid for the coach to set off from Victoria, the driver and a Victoria Coach Station National Express staff member decided to continue to try to get the coach to start, no one on the coach was sure of the point of all this as even if they had got the coach to start there was never going to be any guarantee that the coach wouldn't have just broken down on the motorway, another 20 minutes passed and we was still sat in Victoria station. Eventually we was moved on to a third coach this time thankfully a National Express coach which was perfectly acceptable, and eventually left Victoria some time around 950pm so 2 hours and 20 minutes later than myself and others should have left the station. I got back to Station Street in Nottingham for around 130am, so 2 hours and 50 minutes later than what I should have done which was 1040pm. I had to get a taxi home at £13 when I should have been able to catch a bus had National Express fulfilled their obligations and had me leaving Victoria Station at 730pm and in Nottingham for 1040pm. We was told on the coach to contact National Express and they would sort out compensation for their failure, I've done this last Friday emailing their customer services department and it's been a week now and I've heard nothing back from them :-("
Posted 4 months ago
"Used them a few times and they get worse with age. First time was easy. Booked tickets and got on the coach without any delays or problems. Every other time There have been issues with he website not allowing me to enter my discount codes. Or with VERY rude staff on the customer service phone. He called me stupid for not knowing how to use the website. Now I have to get a train train home. If you hate travelling and uncomfortable journeys, DO NOT USE national express."
Posted 4 months ago
"Extremely poor value for money!! Staff has become very rude, prices went up, coaches are worse and worse every day, no more WiFi and cannot charge devices anymore as seems not to be electricity into the plugs. Now they had this genial idea of checking the booking times, so if you’re late and miss one coach they won’t let you on the next one half an hour later because they should respect the previous bookings (fair enough) so they say to wait and wait until you’ll find some driver who accepts your ticket (no one does by the way) so not the safest thing to do is to book another ticket but in the meantime you wasted more than 1 hour already (because buses ARE ALWAYS LATE) so by the time you get at the airport you eventually missed your flight already... 🤬😤👎🏻"
Posted 4 months ago
"They suddenly cancelled our bus on 21:00 Oct13, and what they do is telling us to wait at the coach station for over 10hours, the staff won’t provide any proof for the cancellation or any compensation or any apologies!! They even don’t let passengers talk to the head office or his manager, the most ridiculous customer service ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Posted 5 months ago
National Express is rated 1.67 based on 91 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support