National Express Reviews

1.53 Rating 43 Reviews
9% of reviewers recommend National Express

Phone:
08717 818178

Location:
National Express House, Birmingham Coach Station, Mill Lane, Digbeth

Categories:
Travel
Travel

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

How would you rate National Express?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

43 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
Jon B
For our return journey from London Victoria on Sunday National Express decided to lay on a bus from an outsourced Coach Company. The Coach was extremely shabby and dirty inside. The toilet, in the middle of the coach stank. Not nice when you have to sit by it for three and a half hours. The driver had to stop in the Services for half an hour as he said that he had run out of hours. Hopefully, this was a one off and normally receive a good standard of service from National Express.

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about National Express in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
"For our return journey from London Victoria on Sunday National Express decided to lay on a bus from an outsourced Coach Company. The Coach was extremely shabby and dirty inside. The toilet, in the middle of the coach stank. Not nice when you have to sit by it for three and a half hours. The driver had to stop in the Services for half an hour as he said that he had run out of hours. Hopefully, this was a one off and normally receive a good standard of service from National Express."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"The bus broke down on the way - got flat tire. One of the other travelers said it was second bus in the same day that had this issue for him. This only points to horrible technical staff of the vehicles. Your buses should be regularly checked for technical state. We didn't get alternative means of transportation to the airport in reasonable time (not even over an hour after the accident), resulting in most of people being forced to take taxi and pay much more additional money for the transport to the airport and several even missing the flight. Communication from the driver was horrible. We were stuck at the side of highway which felt like endangering the safety of the passenger. I filed the refund request and I really hope it will at least be processed. Overall the transportation to the airport is not reliable and I will not ever take it again or recommend it to anyone."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I had to to wait an extra 40 mins of my expected departure. I was told it was going to be late fair enough, but no explanation as to why that was the case. Absolute disgrace!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Just don’t bother contacting the customer don’t care service,and to claim your refund you have to call them and by the time they answer you have paid for your ticket again shameful,get an automated refund service,useless never again."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"My experience was horrible. My coach was meant to leave at 17.00 h. and I was there punctually at 16.45 h. However, in the middle of the boarding process, we were forced to go back inside in order not to block the way out for some departing coaches. The employee assured us it would be a couple of seconds, but shortly after the coach departed, half-empty. When we complained, we were told that the coach had to pick other passengers on the way and that there was another coach right behind. This turned out to be a lie, as the next coach did not arrive until 17.35 h., and departed even later, which meant that I had to wait for a full hour since I arrived and I almost ended up missing my flight, as the coach had many stops on the way to the airport. I feel really hard done by and I think they did a terrible job. How on earth is it possible that a coach departs the station half-empty while passengers with tickets are refused to board??? The explanation by staff that other passengers had to board at other stations is simply pathetic, it means that they sold more tickets than seats available, which is really aggravating. Just to make things worse, staff was particularly unfriendly, did not keep us updated and felt outraged that we even dared to voice our discontent. Never again..."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Michael & Margaret Cutajar From MALTA.
Verified Reviewer
"We must name Mr Russell who was our coach driver from the London Victoria Coach Station to London Gatwick North terminal on 24/02 Saturday 09:00 departure time. He is a great asset to the company and a lively person making you feel immediately welcome. He is a very professional person at his work. When we arrived at the terminal, we asked for his name to write this review for his excellent and professional service."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Seats are so painful for anyone above 6 ft. Lower back pain an hour into my 3 hour journey and after another 30 mins the pain was unbearable. Would've stood up of I didn't have to fight the seat belt every inch of movement ."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Bus not there No information on the board No one available to ask Tracking facility didn't work Be aware of that as no refund available -Called customer service and no refund Terrible and awful experience"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"My bus (the 707, 12:10) didn't show up. While I was waiting I called National Express three times (at a cost of 13p per minute). Each time, I was told a completely different story about the bus. The first 'advisor' told me the bus was stuck on the M25 and would be at my stop 'in 15 minutes'. One hour later I called again and was told that my bus had broken down and a replacement would be sent. Another hour later, I called a third time and was told that my bus never existed and I should wait for the late-running 14:10! When another National Express bus arrived I asked the drivers for information, he turned his back to me, threw both hands in the air and said 'I don't know, I'm not driving that bus'. THREE HOURS stood at a freezing cold bus stop with no information whatsoever. I finally got on a 707. The driver could barely speak English and we couldn't understand a word he was shouting at each of the stops. Luckily, our stop was the last stop so we didn't have to try to understand. Luckily we had the rest of the day free, but if we had a connecting bus or a flight we would have been screwed. This is the second time I've used National Express and both times my bus didn't show up. Also, both times the customer service was terrible. I'll never ever rely on them again. Such a stressful, horrible experience."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Okay so I've been using National Express coach services for 4 years and never before have I had a problem with them, until now. A problem that caused me to lose my flight. A problem that in my opinion should be illegal, perhaps, it might actually be. Here's what happened. I bought my coach ticket online a few hours before its departure, 3:18pm, and everyone that have used their services before, should know that the seat is guaranteed for the respective coach reservation. Anyway, I'm not much of a queue type of guy, because it simply makes me anxious to be there waiting and waiting, so as usual, I sit in a cafe shop not more than 20 meters away and from which I have total visibility to the coach stop. And there I was again today. I saw the coach arrive and obviously everyone started queuing up, approximately around 25 people. So I let majority get onboard and then finally I make my way to the coach while there was still people getting onboard and queuing. Some of these people were buying tickets in the moment, but never I would imagine that National Express would sell my seat, which by terms and conditions is reserved and guaranteed to me, to other people buying at the coach door. I realised when for my surprise the driver goes "we are full", I was like whaaat???!!! So I tell the driver that I had done my reservation hours before and it is not fair that other people who didn't, got priority to board before me, but he said, it's "too late now bus is full", I insisted and he gave me attitude, oh well. What else could I do? I felt like punching him in the face, because what happened to me should be sincerely illegal, you pay for your seat and then they go and re sell it to someone else? I mean wtf?? I couldn't believe it. The coach departed, and then I ran to their shop across the road to ask information about the next coach and to make a complaint, but unfortunately it wouldn't arrive on time for my flight. I called a cab. In the meantime they offered me refund but I refused because being denied boarding could costed me a flight, which turned out to be the case, because next taxi available was 30 mins wait. So I logged a complaint and I will take matters legally if I have to, I feel that I was treated wrongfully and caused me much financial and moral damage to me and my family that I haven't seen for long time. I got to the airport and managed to get another flight for 100£ in two days, but to another city in same country. So yeah I'm really pissed off and hopefully it won't happen to anyone else. Make sure to stop people from buying tickets in front of you if you already have your ticket, because in the end you might just lose your seat like I did."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
The Service I Received From National Express Is So Far Dreadful. We Are Currently Sat In A Service
Unverified Reviewer
"Now you want me to write the whole thing again?"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Quite frankly, I am utterly appalled by the service I received yesterday on board the 737 service from High Wycombe to Hatfield and on the return leg from Hatfield to High Wycombe. The fact that there is no clear location to lodge complaints on the website either, just shows how poor National Express is in dealing with complaints. As a customer who has been using the service for the fifth consecutive year, I have totally lost all confidence in this company. Let's start with the outbound journey (High Wycombe Town centre to Hatfield- 07:30-09:40). We got to Luton Airport and were told that the coach had a flat tyre so wouldn't be able to continue the journey to Hatfield with the coach. We were told that alternative arrangements were being made, but that was the only update we received. Instead of being allowed to stay on the bus, we were asked to disembark and wait in the cold for over 30 mins, only to be told that I would be sharing a taxi with two other people. Whilst most other passengers got on the 787 service to continue the journey to Stanstead, I was the only one on my coach who was told that I would have to get a taxi; although would need to drop off two other passengers to two completely different locations, none of which were close by. So whilst waiting for the taxi, we were thrown about from person to person at Luton, as not even the rude staff knew what taxi was taking us to our destinations and when it would be coming....even animals are treated better than we were. Even though I got to my destination, albeit late for an important meeting, I thought this was a one off and allowed myself to excuse the matter as I understand breakdowns can happen. However, I was utterly disgusted as to how I was treated on the return leg of my journey (as if my journey with NE couldn't have got any worse!). On the return leg, (737 Hatfield to High Wycombe Town centre- 12:50-14:45), my journey was nothing short of a nightmare. I arrived at the coach stop outside the Galleria at 12:25, so well in time of the suggested 10 minutes before scheduled time of departure (which is both clearly stated on the ticket and on the company's website). By company policy, the coach is not allowed to leave before the scheduled time of departure, if all passengers booked onto that service are not there....(otherwise someone please explain to me what the point of booking a ticket is?!). So I continued to wait for the coach to arrive at 12:50. Now obviously because I was aware of what happened earlier that day, I was expecting some delays with the coach service. Bear in mind, I had not moved from the coach stop, and neither had the two other passengers waiting for the service. It got to half 1, still standing outside on one of the coldest days of the year so far, and still no sign of the coach. I then decided to ring the National Express customer service line and spoke to a middle aged woman, asking if the service had been cancelled or whether a replacement service was in use. She advised me that (in her own words) 'No we will never cancel a service and instead put out a replacement minibus. The driver is running slightly late but will definitely stop at all the stops published for this route. He will also get out of the minibus and shout for any passengers for the National Express service, so please keep an eye out for that.' So then I waited for this replacement coach service to arrive. An hour and half passed, and still no sign of this replacement service. So i re-rung the helpline, where I spoke to a lady called Sarah. Sarah informed me that after checking the system, the taxi, not minibus, had definitely passed from there and had picked up all passengers. So I was transferred onto the next service. Clearly, what I had been told was a blatant lie, as neither a replacement coach service had turned up and the coach service for 12:50 had been cancelled. If I had been standing there since 12:30, clearly I wouldnt have missed the taxi. Either that or the company did not follow its own policies about leaving only at scheduled times. Why can I say this? Because I was not on my way home until the next coach service at 14:50 ( exactly two hours later). In these two hours, I was told to wait outside, with no information screens about when the replacement minibus/next coach was expected, no sign of a replacement service and clearly the people on the other end of the phone were just covering the companies back. I am utterly disgusted by the service, and will not be using the service again in the future. I have completely lost my trust in the business and will be using other companies who will profit from years of service in the future. I expect a full refund for the disruption that was caused to my journey; I can understand if its just the one journey, as this has happened several times before where we have been stuck in traffic for hours, but when two journeys are severely disrupted in the way they were, this is completely unacceptable. The way I was treated with on the phone was completely undermining and Sarah who put me on the next service sounded like she was doing me a favour; no you were not doing me a favour, instead this is my statutory right as a passenger who has been disrupted for reasons that are not my problem. I have never felt so undermined as a commuter in my life and demand this to be looked into immediately. If this is not resolved, I am most certainly ready to take this up to a higher level."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"i've been charged from my card 19 pounds for a ticket i never got confirmation for, so I had to buy another ticket from the bus ticket checker"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Rude staff, ridiculous prices and coaches have a tendency to not even turn up."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"I had booked a national express coach ticket online late last night whilst at the coach stop with 10-15 before the coach arrived. I did not receive my e ticket for the coach in time which I was annoyed about as e-tickets normally come with in minutes. Even though I was annoyed i understood that there was nothing to be done but amend my tickets which I paid the fees for and I was given a four letter code. My admendment was for the first coach for that route. The coach driver refused to let me on the coach, rasing his voice at me telling me the code is not enough even though I had shown him last night ticket along with the code as instructed by customers service advisor. After he insulted me explained the breaking down the ticket system(I have been traveling this service on and off for 3 and half years)this all happened as I stood at the top of the coach stairs as everyone stared at me. He then shouted at me to put my suitcase on the coach and when I got on the coach he continued to shout orders “sit down, take your bag” I hadn’t even got to the second step as if I need to reply “yes master”. I really needed to get on this coach so I was not going to give this driver any other reason to not let me on this coach. I believe that there was a discriminatory under tone to this situation which happened less than an hour ago. It’s just a sad situation. I have call national express to make a complaint they apologised for having a bad experience but did not seem to care. I should be heading back from them within 14 days."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"The value for riding the bus is fine the drivers are the issue I had. I had food that I hadn't finished and the driver told me to throw it away before coming onto the bus. I think that's a dumb rule but I get it so I got rid of it and came back. The entire rest of my trip he gave me a hardtime. I needed my charger from my bag and he would not let me touch it because he was suspicious of me. He started insulting me to the other driver that took over for him and started to tamper with my bag cause he thought I still had food in it. Completely unprofessional and undeserved. I don't think I would use this service again unless I truly had to."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Thomas Shepherd
Verified Reviewer
"I was waiting for 2 hours for my national express bus from York Road, Waterloo yesterday to get to Stansted. There were no buses and I missed my flight. The explanation that was given was that York Road was closed which was simply not true. London Buses and the London Bus company were passing throughout the whole time I was waiting there. I have since contacted their customer service department and they have apologised many times, which is a start, but it costs them nothing to apologise. It cost me a lot in missed flights, hotels etc. The duty of care to their customers is appalling and the worst thing is dealing with their brittle and clueless customer service after. No one is accountable for anything these days, least of all National Express. Choose another company!"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Waiting in the cold for 1 hour and I am about to miss my flight because National Express decided to skip one of the services"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Booked a ticket from Portsmouth to Bournemouth at 7`15am on 3rd Nov. The driver is clearly not a morning person! He was rude in his manner and when I disembarked at Bournemouth he quite literally threw my case onto the ground when he was unloading it, no please thankyou hello or have a nice day from him either. The coach arrived on time and was clean and comfortable, normally I cant fault national express but this driver needs to attend some customer service training."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"I booked a ticket on line from East Midlands airport to Leeds, the coach was supposed to leave at 18-55. It was very cold, I waited for 1-30 h. I decided to go to spend the night in an hotel, the number showing did answered, I really didn’t know what to do to go to Leeds. Eventually the coach arrived 20-27h. All the staff I asked in the airport told me that it was hallways like that! Two days after I needed to go from Leeds to York, I looked on the time tables on the site à coach was supposed to leaving at 11-15.... appart from the fact that in reality he left 1-30h after....is this company a joke?"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
National Express is rated 1.53 based on 43 reviews