National Express Reviews

1.69 Rating 80 Reviews
15% of reviewers recommend National Express
581 Review Views (past 24 hours)
01AM - 3AM
57 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
73 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
37 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
39 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
56 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
34 Review Views
1PM - 3PM
68 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
38 Review Views
5PM - 7PM
42 Review Views
7PM - 9PM
65 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
55 Review Views
11PM - 1AM
17 Review Views
01AM
1AM

About National Express: National Express coach & bus tickets for travel to over 900 destinations throughout the UK including London airports Heathrow, Gatwick & Stansted. National Express offer Britain’s only scheduled coach network reaching around 1000 destinations in England, Scotland and Wales.

Phone:
08717 818178

Location:
National Express House, Birmingham Coach Station, Mill Lane, Digbeth

Categories:
Travel
Travel

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how National Express made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
communication channels
"Dishonest, misleading, unreliable. Always read small print. I only ever use Nationalexpress when I have no other option. And it always turns out to be a nightmare. Horrible customer service at the stations where I get verbally abused for expecting accurate and truthful information. Dishonest and misleading information at the time of reservation (Booked a ticket to Heathrow T4 got a ticket to T1&2, despite the ticket being amendable which I had paid extra for, the extra fee for changing the journey was £40 whilst a new ticket for the same journey would be £28), poor timekeeping which results in long delays (Booked a bus from Stansted to Cardiff, only upon the purchase it became apparent that there was a coach change at Victoria. The first coach was 5 mins late so I missed the connection, I was not allowed on to the next coach to my destination which resulted in 5 hours delay) I so wish there was more competition on the market"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Are you National Express? No one is perfect. Reply to this negative review and show your potential customers that you value the feedback National Express receives and that when things do go wrong, you do your best to put things right. Reply Free
"They don't refund tickets, even months in advance. What should be a maximum of a 4 hour journey was 11 hours because of all the fucking detours"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
"The bus drivers were gangster ## very vigilant drivers would recommend there service"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"I like the bus service and the lovely drivers who work so hard but one of your staff members at the Victoria Coach station is really giving a horrible image to the company. Not sure if anyone has experienced this lady at the Coach station but she's a lady with the afro who looked African-British (I don't mean to label people but I'm honestly traumatised by this lady and someone needs to speak to her). Firstly, she swore at a customer. I understand things get stressful and abusive but that was uncalled for in front of EVERYONE. Secondly, she gave me misleading information that made me miss my coach and then took no responsibility for it and said, 'I can't watch everything'. I completely understand that but next time give me the correct information, she was literally the coldest person I've ever come across. I was lucky to come across such a lovely guy, who helped me out even though you can see he was stressed but he didn't have a cold approach. I think customers would have been nicer if your staff member had just come across nicer and caring towards others. There were a lot of delays on the day, and she approached us like she didn't care. Being sympathetic goes a long way. The way she was talking to everyone, was so horrible. I wanted to record it, that's how bad it was. There were customers who were coming up to her nicely. If she doesn't like her job, then I would advise getting rid of her because it didn't seem like she enjoyed it at all. I can't believe people like her exist within the customer service world within London."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"All in all good service...but tricky departure times... Stansted Airport (Nov, 10): The coach was delayed from 16.30 to 17.00. At 16.54 they announced departure and left suddenly at 16.56 and not 17.00. We were in the waiting room and didn’t have enough time to get there. Had to pay extra for the next one at 18.30 Northampton: We had to wait for the coach for more than one hour in winter time. No mail from them, no sms, no coach tracking in the app. Milton Keynes: The change coach was delayed indefinitely and we missed it because the departure announcement wasn’t clear."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"On 25/10/2018 I was due on the 730pm 450 coach to Nottingham Station Street from London Victoria Station. I arrived at Victoria well on time but no coach was there by the scheduled time of 730pm, come 8pm myself and other customers were told by one of the National Express staff working at Victoria that the coach was just in departures and would be with us all very soon, more time passed and it was clear that this was not the case as even though the station was clear for any coach in departures to come to our bay no coach arrived. Later on we was all told by a National Express employee at the station that the coach was stuck in traffic, eventually a coach turned up at around 9pm - which was the time of the next scheduled National Express coach to Nottingham, we was told this was the delayed 730pm, on getting on the coach though the driver said this was the scheduled 9pm coach and the fact he was not going to stop in Sherwood, Nottingham or Mansfield, Nottinghamshire did not align with the fact we were told by the station employee this was the delayed 730pm coach. To add insult to injury the coach that turned up at 9pm was not even a National Express coach, it was a Skills coach which looked unfit for purpose, we got on and the coach didn't start, after 5 minutes of trying the decision should have been made to get us on to another coach but despite myself and others already being over 90 minutes behind the time we paid for the coach to set off from Victoria, the driver and a Victoria Coach Station National Express staff member decided to continue to try to get the coach to start, no one on the coach was sure of the point of all this as even if they had got the coach to start there was never going to be any guarantee that the coach wouldn't have just broken down on the motorway, another 20 minutes passed and we was still sat in Victoria station. Eventually we was moved on to a third coach this time thankfully a National Express coach which was perfectly acceptable, and eventually left Victoria some time around 950pm so 2 hours and 20 minutes later than myself and others should have left the station. I got back to Station Street in Nottingham for around 130am, so 2 hours and 50 minutes later than what I should have done which was 1040pm. I had to get a taxi home at £13 when I should have been able to catch a bus had National Express fulfilled their obligations and had me leaving Victoria Station at 730pm and in Nottingham for 1040pm. We was told on the coach to contact National Express and they would sort out compensation for their failure, I've done this last Friday emailing their customer services department and it's been a week now and I've heard nothing back from them :-("
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Used them a few times and they get worse with age. First time was easy. Booked tickets and got on the coach without any delays or problems. Every other time There have been issues with he website not allowing me to enter my discount codes. Or with VERY rude staff on the customer service phone. He called me stupid for not knowing how to use the website. Now I have to get a train train home. If you hate travelling and uncomfortable journeys, DO NOT USE national express."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Extremely poor value for money!! Staff has become very rude, prices went up, coaches are worse and worse every day, no more WiFi and cannot charge devices anymore as seems not to be electricity into the plugs. Now they had this genial idea of checking the booking times, so if you’re late and miss one coach they won’t let you on the next one half an hour later because they should respect the previous bookings (fair enough) so they say to wait and wait until you’ll find some driver who accepts your ticket (no one does by the way) so not the safest thing to do is to book another ticket but in the meantime you wasted more than 1 hour already (because buses ARE ALWAYS LATE) so by the time you get at the airport you eventually missed your flight already... 🤬😤👎🏻"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"They suddenly cancelled our bus on 21:00 Oct13, and what they do is telling us to wait at the coach station for over 10hours, the staff won’t provide any proof for the cancellation or any compensation or any apologies!! They even don’t let passengers talk to the head office or his manager, the most ridiculous customer service ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Me and my family booked a ticket to Stansted airport, the bus was cancelled without any notice while we have to catch our flight. I called the customer service, and the manager agreed to refund any cost of taxi for me to Stansted airport. Now it’s very complicated for me to claim the refund! Already 2 times their advisors said that the refund has been processed and will be in my account in a couple of days, but then another advisors cancel it and make it more complicated again, again and again! If someone from national express read this please take this seriously and please solve this ASAP!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Complete rip off! And not flexible. That is what a monopoly does."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Ordered smartcard 12 days ago. Not arrived, no response to emails or phone. Awful service."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"The coach was 30 mins late from our trip from Stansted to Victoria Coach station. They're was a queue of at least 200 m's of people. No update, no traffic information, no communication. The driver announced that (surprise, surprise) we're running late. At the departure when handed over and checked in my suitcase I was asked by the driver what my destination was and as I said it was Victoria station, it was put on one side. As the coach was running effects further late, I tried to replan my route, but when got off the bus and was asked which suitcase was mine and pointed to it, the driver said, you've got to go to Victoria as you stated. She than got back to her seat and closed the boot. Practically blocking me from my suitcase and limiting me in my freedom as my suitcase was going to Victoria anyway. I felt humiliated as she shouted at me and was not helpful at all. I don't understand this attitude at all, but all I can see is the rudeness and the lack of flexibility. National Express is a headache. Unreliable. Never use them if you don't like pain."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"THEY SOLD SEATS TO SOMEONE ELSE!! Travelled as 6 people on 21/09. Stuck at stansted airport even when we booked and paid 3 weeks in advance, the national express sold our seat to someone else who paid in cash! We were already in the queue waiting before the coach arrived. They did not take the register and just sold tickets on the spot, first come first serve basis. We were just left at the front of the queue. As a result of their fault in the delay, we missed our connecting train and had to pay expensive tickets home. No apology from the staff who was selling the tickets. Big disappointment! Will not recommend!! Clearly the staff was too keen to finish her shift and didnt even bother to check with who has already booked in advance on online before selling these seats. On their website, they said they will release any seats one minute prior to departure, but we were already in the queue 15 minutes earlier!! Strongly advise you to beware that even through you have booked and paid in advance with national express, arrived on time or earlier, they may still sell your seats to someone else"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Hi I travel regularly by National Express its Reliable/ Comfortable and i get great savings by using my Coachcard .I have just returned from a long 7hr journey on the 206/707 service only a short delay due to excessive heavy traffic but thanks to our driver Keith on coach CD5 the journey was enjoyable SUE"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"the travel i was sick"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Ridiculous! Currently on a bus from London to Leeds and it's red hot but the HEATING IS ON!!! They can't even figure out to turn the aircon on!! I can't breathe! I'm about 3hout into this HELL BUS Fyi it's the 561 bus. Not that your company cares about their passengers."
3 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Last time I travelled with them the coach was absolutely filthy!!! As soon as we got on the coach and for 4 hours putting up with a toilet sewerage smell is just not acceptable especially when I paid over 40 pounds to travel with them, outrageous!!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Coach driver was very kind, welcoming and helpful. I had got a coach from rosehill london to gatwick 16th Aug at 2:40 am. Was very pleased very helpful driver!! Thank ypu"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I took the bus for Newport from London Victoria, 1230pm, 10 Aug 2018. Bus ref code is ED 54. The bus driver keeps on chatting to passengers behind her all throughout the trip without concentrating on her driving. Keeps on waving to someone who I cannot see anyone. I understand that drivers should not be talking to someone, unless necessary, while the bus is in motion. She keeps on blowing her horn when a vehicle in front of the bus is moving slow, then apologizes to the passengers for her "road rage," but keeps on repeating it. So, what's the point of apologizing when she kept on repeating it? She then overtakes the slow-moving vehicle, and shouts at the driver! You can review the CCTV how this driver behaves. Likewise, no "reserved" note was placed on the seat when there were passengers who have seat numbers."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
National Express is rated 1.69 based on 80 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support