National Express Reviews

1.47 Rating 57 Reviews
9% of reviewers recommend National Express

Phone:
08717 818178

Location:
National Express House, Birmingham Coach Station, Mill Lane, Digbeth

Categories:
Travel
Travel

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone
communication channels

How would you rate National Express ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"I took the bus for Newport from London Victoria, 1230pm, 10 Aug 2018. Bus ref code is ED 54. The bus driver keeps on chatting to passengers behind her all throughout the trip without concentrating on her driving. Keeps on waving to someone who I cannot see anyone. I understand that drivers should not be talking to someone, unless necessary, while the bus is in motion. She keeps on blowing her horn when a vehicle in front of the bus is moving slow, then apologizes to the passengers for her "road rage," but keeps on repeating it. So, what's the point of apologizing when she kept on repeating it? She then overtakes the slow-moving vehicle, and shouts at the driver! You can review the CCTV how this driver behaves. Likewise, no "reserved" note was placed on the seat when there were passengers who have seat numbers."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
"304 service from Weymouth to Birmingham. I joined this service at Ringwood and alighted at Oxford. Graham was our driver and me personally had a very pleasant journey. He introduced himself gave us full information at the services and I really enjoyed the on board camera of the road ahead. Thankyou"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
"On 24th July 2018 I have purchased a Senior Card online and wanted to purchase return tickets Preston (Lancashire) to St Austell, departing on 10th August 2018 and return on 12th August 2018. Booking online was easy and straightforward, unfortunately Senior Coachcard wasn't accepted during the booking. Contacted National Express on 24th July (15 minutes call duration) and have been advised to wait 24 hours for card to be activated. Fair enough the T&C includes following line "Your Coachcard is only valid for use for travel from the next calendar day after purchase". Attempted online purchase on 25th July, same issue Senior Coachcard not recognised. Contacted customers service (18 minutes call duration), have been explained there is an issue with the system and therefore card cannot be recognised, promised call back next day, 26th July 2018, to take the payment over the phone. No phone calls from National Express received on 26th July 2018 and after 7.00pm decided to call customer services. Third call took 50 minutes. I have been told that I have purchased Senior Coachcard incorrectly and have to return the card. Have explained that I only purchased Senior Coachcard online on 24th July 2018 and haven't received it yet. Have been offered to pay over the phone with charge of £2.50 for each ticket, which I kindly refused justifying that the issue with Senior Coachcard is on National Express side and I could easy purchase tickets online if the coachcard discount recognised. Have been put few times on hold, travellers details have been taken at least 3 times along with full address. Finally the tickets have been book and paid, E-Ticket has been delivered to my email address. On the following day Senior Coachcard arrived with post, card valid from and valid to dates being incorrect, valid from 05/12/1942 - valid to 05/12/1943. To summarise the experience, booking tickets online on National Express website end up with total of 1 hour 23 minutes on the phone with National Express to complete the purchase."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Do not recommend this service to anyone, absolute joke. Saturday 14th had a bus booked for 7am to London Victoria, only for them to tell us the bus was running late and promised to be there for 7.30 didn’t arrive until 8am and told us to the bus was only going to Reading and promised there was a bus awaiting there to switch to go to London Victoria.. we arrived no bus waiting and when bus finally arrived only 10 of us out of the 30 people could get on the bus and left the rest of us waiting another 20 mins in reading for another bus! Also the journey was a disaster coming home.. for the driver to say was limited seating on the bus, we was one of the 10 people that got on and he took the bag from us didn’t handle the bag well at all no respect for people’s belongings.. the bus was late leaving AGAIN! and when we finally arrived at our destination.. or bag was missing!! Driver didn’t have a clue.. throwing people’s property around, on and off the bus and driving off within seconds not giving people time to get off the bus and get their luggage. Unfortunately because of your disgraceful staff I have lost my luggage which over £500 worth in that bag! Including concert tickets, purse.. cash, bank card etc, phone charger, clothing. I am disgusted and I’m taking this further.. you didn’t only ruin my day going to London arriving almost 2 hours late.. you’ve ruined my whole weekend and lost all my personal belongings and my tickets. I am very unhappy customer and not letting this go 😡😨"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"London Heathrow transfer service, first journey was late. The return journey was cancelled and was rescheduled for the next hour, not a reliable airport transfer service."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"First time using this service - gatwick to Heathrow. They are rude and disrespectful. Pushed me out of the way when I was asking a question (I’m a 50 yo female with a disability). Had the nerve to tell us our bags were overweight even though they meet airline guidelines. Definitely not worth saving a few bucks!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Took the night coach from London to victoria on the 406 on the 20th of June the first driver was amazing very friendly but got off at Exeter he would get out the coach to help unload luggage, the second was also very good and also got out to help unload luggage he changed with the third driver at Plymouth national express depo and the third stayed in the coach and helped no one with luggage when I got to my stop at St Erth I waited for the driver to open the door and to assist with the luggage but drove off instead, meaning I didn't get my luggage at my stop not that it mattered as I got a phone call from a guy who told me he found my luggage at newquay bus stop so I guess my luggage was taken off by another passenger at Newquay bus stop and not put back on since the driver sat in the bus not paying attention to what they were doing, now the man who phoned was taking a national express coach back to London and I still don't know where my luggage is since he has not answered any more phone calls and just overall dissatisfied with the third drivers attentiveness of the 11pm 406 service from Victoria coach station to Penzance on the 20th/21st of June, I have had a reply on trust pilot to a review i wrote there to say that the driver is at fault and have also phoned lost property to be told I will still not be compensated for my luggage even though it was the third drivers negligence, do not use national express as they only want your money and will not under any circumstances compensate you if they are at fault for your lost luggage"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I've been using National Express coaches ever since university days but more frequently when the railways were privatised and became a "privileged" mode of travel. Been rather contented with NE's service overall until my next journey booked months in advance from Brighton to Gatwick return. Just before my date of travel, got a text msg from NE stating due to timetable rescheduling, my booked and paid for journeys have been axed due to time table rescheduling, options offered to me meant; having to get to Gatwick an over an hour before check in time but worst of all, on my return journey, only giving me 45 minutes from landing to go through immigration and luggage, custom and to board the coach. I could accept the outward bound trip but not the return option as I've missed coaches before and had to repay for a new ticket etc. The only other option offered is to take a later coach which involves over an hour change over in South Terminal resulting in a total journey time of approx 2.5 hours to travel from Gatwick to Brighton! I believe, the cyclists in the London to Brighton did their trip in less time! Furthermore this will result in getting into Brighton in the little hours of the morning after midnight which means increased taxi fare too. No compensation was offered except a discount % for next journey which at the ticket price would work out to be a couple of quid! It is ridiculous for NE to expect us to believe a considerate business would suddenly reschedule their time table and axe services already filled with booked customers? It's common sense to slowly phase in a new time table by axing future services before they're populated with bookings unless of course, customer consideration is NOT in their business model. Personally we feel that NE is adopting the same "Profit before customers" attitude akin to the low cost airlines where they offer attractive discounts to entice early bookers to book in advance, to ensure their high take up of their seats BUT should there be a surge in last minute bookers who obviously pays more, the carriers dumps the early bookers in favour of the late bookers, simply for the profit. This offers the carriers a win - win situation for them at the expanse of their customers. Such carriers have no consideration for the sudden massive inconvenience and extra costs imposed onto their customers by their selfish unprofessional commercial practices. At such last minute, it's hectic enough tying up loosed ends at work and at home prior to a vacation, not having the added hassle and costs of now trying to find alternative transport! It's high time, even coach operators like airlines and railways be forced legally to pay compensation should they fail to fulfill their ticketing contract with their customers. Personally, I will from now on wards be actively seeking to use alternative coach operators first, in order to support them so that they will start to provide healthy competition against NE's unacceptable practices and attitudes."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Sunday early morning at 4.30, no traffic at all and you managed to arrive late. I lost my flight because of that. Terrible customer service as well as the driver assistant was repeatedly rude with other passengers, can't understand how you're still in business. Also on travelpilot there aren't 3 bad reviews we all wrote while we were on the bus so don't trust travelpilot reviews website."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Worst customer servoce ever, they openly hate passengers."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I won't travel with National Express again!! We had to fly back from London, after a nice couple of days of vacation. The bus arrived at the right time, as noted on our tickets, to take us back to the airport. The bus was empty. Because this bus was the actual bus BEFORE 'ours', we couldn't get it. This bus was 40 minutes late. Without any hesitation, empathy or whatsoever... the bus driver told us that 'rules are rules' and left us standing there. With my printed tickets (allready paid in my home country, same exact price!!!) and luggage. 'Your bus will arrive shortly'. EHM, I don't think so. I can't help it that you're delayed!! Our bus was also 40 minutes late, plus 40 minutes of traffic... Result; we missed our flight!! The doors of our plane allready closed. We had to rebook tickets and I had to call my boss to tell him I won't be able to come to work. 1,1/2 hours away from the centre of London... our next flight was TWO DAYS later!! We had to pay for new tickets, plus two extra nights in a hotel. This has cost us more in total than the entire trip! I understand that bus drivers like to 'stay in control', but this was the rudest thing ever. We would've been home that evening if he'd let us in. Therefore I'd like to suggest; leave with national express 5 hours before your flight departures, or go by tube. You'll get better service there. It was absolutely ridiculous."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Overall a disappointing experience. Booked our return tickets and had more time than anticipated. Asked the driver if we could take his bus rather waiting an hour and was told to buy another ticket. Disinterested, just wanted to set off in an empty bus."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Awful company. The bus never showed up, the people who worked there had no information about the bus and the customer service is abysmal. Still trying to get my money back weeks later."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"There isn’t customers service Only interested to make money When I traveling Heathrow to Cardiff I was reach one hour early I asked staff can I catch early bus they ask me to pay extra but bus was half empty"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"For our return journey from London Victoria on Sunday National Express decided to lay on a bus from an outsourced Coach Company. The Coach was extremely shabby and dirty inside. The toilet, in the middle of the coach stank. Not nice when you have to sit by it for three and a half hours. The driver had to stop in the Services for half an hour as he said that he had run out of hours. Hopefully, this was a one off and normally receive a good standard of service from National Express."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"The bus broke down on the way - got flat tire. One of the other travelers said it was second bus in the same day that had this issue for him. This only points to horrible technical staff of the vehicles. Your buses should be regularly checked for technical state. We didn't get alternative means of transportation to the airport in reasonable time (not even over an hour after the accident), resulting in most of people being forced to take taxi and pay much more additional money for the transport to the airport and several even missing the flight. Communication from the driver was horrible. We were stuck at the side of highway which felt like endangering the safety of the passenger. I filed the refund request and I really hope it will at least be processed. Overall the transportation to the airport is not reliable and I will not ever take it again or recommend it to anyone."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"I had to to wait an extra 40 mins of my expected departure. I was told it was going to be late fair enough, but no explanation as to why that was the case. Absolute disgrace!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Just don’t bother contacting the customer don’t care service,and to claim your refund you have to call them and by the time they answer you have paid for your ticket again shameful,get an automated refund service,useless never again."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"My experience was horrible. My coach was meant to leave at 17.00 h. and I was there punctually at 16.45 h. However, in the middle of the boarding process, we were forced to go back inside in order not to block the way out for some departing coaches. The employee assured us it would be a couple of seconds, but shortly after the coach departed, half-empty. When we complained, we were told that the coach had to pick other passengers on the way and that there was another coach right behind. This turned out to be a lie, as the next coach did not arrive until 17.35 h., and departed even later, which meant that I had to wait for a full hour since I arrived and I almost ended up missing my flight, as the coach had many stops on the way to the airport. I feel really hard done by and I think they did a terrible job. How on earth is it possible that a coach departs the station half-empty while passengers with tickets are refused to board??? The explanation by staff that other passengers had to board at other stations is simply pathetic, it means that they sold more tickets than seats available, which is really aggravating. Just to make things worse, staff was particularly unfriendly, did not keep us updated and felt outraged that we even dared to voice our discontent. Never again..."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"We must name Mr Russell who was our coach driver from the London Victoria Coach Station to London Gatwick North terminal on 24/02 Saturday 09:00 departure time. He is a great asset to the company and a lively person making you feel immediately welcome. He is a very professional person at his work. When we arrived at the terminal, we asked for his name to write this review for his excellent and professional service."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
National Express is rated 1.47 based on 57 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This