Motorhog Reviews

1.27 Rating 30 Reviews
3% of reviewers recommend Motorhog

How would you rate Motorhog?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need a working email address to verify that your review is genuine.

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

30 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
DAVID
MOTORHOG SALFORD BYE FROM OTHER SALVAGE SITES THEN FIX THEM TO LOOK OK BUT WHEN YOU FIND OUT WHERE THEY GET THERE CARS FROM AND THEY SHOW PICTURE OF THE CAR YOU BOUGHT THEY ARE COMPLETELY DIFFERENT TO THE MOTORHOG PICTURES THEY SITCH THE SEATS UP AND TAKE THE ROOF AIRBAGS OUT AND WRITE THAT THE CAR HAS NO AIRBAG TROUBLE SO REALLY YOU ARE NOT BYEING DIRECT FROM THE INSURANCE COMPANY WHEN YOU COMPLAIN ALL YOU GET IS LIES

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about Motorhog in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
"MOTORHOG SALFORD BYE FROM OTHER SALVAGE SITES THEN FIX THEM TO LOOK OK BUT WHEN YOU FIND OUT WHERE THEY GET THERE CARS FROM AND THEY SHOW PICTURE OF THE CAR YOU BOUGHT THEY ARE COMPLETELY DIFFERENT TO THE MOTORHOG PICTURES THEY SITCH THE SEATS UP AND TAKE THE ROOF AIRBAGS OUT AND WRITE THAT THE CAR HAS NO AIRBAG TROUBLE SO REALLY YOU ARE NOT BYEING DIRECT FROM THE INSURANCE COMPANY WHEN YOU COMPLAIN ALL YOU GET IS LIES"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Paul Barlow
"Great price for the part I needed and really fast delivery. Highly recommended."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Motor hog is the biggest full of diarrhea chatting company, full of lies and deception scammers. Sell cars which are worst off then described will never take responsibility for thier mistakes. If you complain your account will get blocked. Crooked low life imbeciles. Arrogant and rude staff."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Martin Bundi
"The confirmation for the availability of spares was not good but I received my refund."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Recently bought a small car parts from them paying nearly £10 on delivery, unfortunately I wasn't in to collect and when I called to have it redelivered they said I would have to pay postage again. Customer service was absolutely terrible very abrupt and not very helpful at all. Luckily I have a motorhog close by so I can now get it delivered their so I can collect it myself."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Az Iqbal . Manchester
Unverified Reviewer
"Staff are very rude , And sell you a vehicle with lots off hidden damage and don't write it in description . Also says with v5 and when go to collect no v5 and tell you to read in terms and conditions .they are in there right to mislead you . It's not the 1st time I have had issues with false representation . And how come they state starts and drives when the rear axle is damage nothing mentioned and also front suspension broken and nothing mentioned no way was vehicle driving Please take my advice and stay away from motorhog Oldham and Doncaster"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"One side at a time, I jacked up my car, started the engine and popped it in gear to see the wheel spin and observed each rim shaking like a shitting dog - really out of true. Phoned Motorhog and asked if they had two rims? "Sure we do" came the reply. "Are they running true?" I asked. "We will check them for you first, they will be true" came the reply. Paid the £50 collected them and then tested each to see them shaking as much as those I hoped to replace! Phoned up to ask what I can do and the guy said, "they were fine when they left here mate!" Don't think a ride in a car boot is going to cause that level of damage. Took them straight to the recycling centre scrap metal bin and purchased new. Can't be arsed to argue for £50. If you value low blood pressure, recommend that you shop elsewhere. Bunch of clueless cowboys."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"I registered my new account . And ther refund my money and told me i can't registered due to double account of other person. But i send my driving licence and ther still didn't activate.....and is hang up tel. On me.... really upset."
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Lloyd Tyson
Verified Buyer
"I am a police recovery driver and I heard about MotorHog and Hills Salvage so I joined their website costing £60 and was totally disappointed and felt totally ripped off when challenging them over various things they just didn't bother getting back to me at all but what people don't really know is if you have a police contract you are governed by the police and the independent Police Complaints department these are who you need to be contacted and making a complaint with our thay Will just ignore you until the cows come home!..."
3 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"WHAT A TOTAL LOAD OF BULLS***** COMPANY TRULY DODGY AND SHILL BIDDING IN PROCESS, DESCRIPTION IS TOTAL UNTRUE THE DEALER DISPOSAL AND POLICE RECOVERY LINE IS SO LAME AND FULL OF S****, BOUGHT A GOLF GTI LAST WEEK SO CALLED NO KEYS POLICE RECOVERY GOT THE CAR HERE HAD A NEW KEY MADE AND THE ENGINE WAS DEAD SMOKING AS IF ITS GOT A VAPO PEN STUCK UP THE EXHAUST, AND TODAY I HAD A X3 PICKED UP FUEL WAS SUCKED OUT TO ZERO AND THE JAMMY GITS ROBBED THE HANDSFREE STUFF OUT OF IT!!!!!! I MEAN WE PAYED FOR THE CAR SO EVERYTHING INSIDE THE CAR BELONGS TO US, IF YOU CALL THEM UP TO CHALLENGE THEM YOU GET SUSPENDED I MEAN WTF WE CANT GO WITH THE RECOVERY DRIVERS TO CHECK THE CARS OUT ON PICK UP, THIS COMPANY IS TOTALLY DODGY AND UNTRUSTWORTHY, STICK TO COPART ALOT BETTER IN MY VIEW..."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Bought A car at auction. Advert says cars is dealer disposal, starts and drives but when i received the car. It didn't start and so many sign on the dashboard showing oil pressure low. they cheated me on the advert. the violated the trading standard. had to buy new battery to start the engine, that'ts not the end. Later when I took it to garage found the oil pumped need to be changed. Total rip off. I bought two cars from them. both same situation. avoid them."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Biggest Bull$hitters ever - avoid at all costs. their description of cars is rubbish. bought a mazda 3 and when got to Car transplants the air bags were deployed. no mention of this and no pictures of the defects, a$$ holes"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I bid the maximum the notice someone else out bid me so as its finished they email me and said i won the car. I THINK IT WAS FRAUD AND THEY WANT TO KNOW I WAS GOING TO PUT ANY MORE MONEY ON THAT BID ????"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"AVOID,AVOID, AVOID DONT BUY CARS FROM THESE CON-ARTISTS So I've bought a couple of cars from motorhog Doncaster, neither was as described in the auction listings and I'm pretty sure they shill bidder up the prices, as funny how I set highest bids and low and behold both cars ended within £10 of my highest bid........ 1st car Audi A3 tdi described as running and driving cat x dealer disposal , yeah right, all fuel sucked out of tank for a start, broken throttle pedal dents scratches and to top it all off a knackered gearbox! 2nd car a seat Leon again stated as running and driving, ok so car started but my god engine knocking very obviously!! They didn't want to know I asked for a full refund, not given, basically once they've your money they couldn't care less! 3rd car I bought and went to view, nope no looky until pay this was at winsford chester car transplants, told em to keep the car, now they've blocked my account! oh well I've been in the motor trade over 25 years and have never dealt with such liers,fraudsters"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I am just so pleased after reading feedback of some of your Very angry customers that you only wasted my time. It's got to be the worst feedback I've seen in about q12years of trading on the Web."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"TOLTAL RIP OFF PLEASE READ TERMS BEFORE BIDDING SEE SECTION 8 ,, KEEP CLEAR OF CAR TRANSPLANTS ,, if you wont to buy salvage and NOT get ripped off go to COPART ,, I bought a bmw sent recovery company 100 miles to collect I payed and was told there was no keys ? in the add it sayed keys ? all I got is hard lines read section 8 of are terms ,, they refused refund after an hour of arguing finally a refund minus the cash handling fee of 1% I was then told that because I have had a refund my account has been suspended due to none payment ??? and the only way to get it back is to pay to relist the car surly this is not legal ,, I have tried to talk to some one higher than a guy called Mathew but they block this ,, these guys are CROOCKS KEEP AWAY"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"BIGGEST RIP OFF MERCHANTS MOTORHOG/CARTRANSPLANT.CO.UK AUCTION SITE- 100% DO NOT TRUST - VERY RUDE STAFF! UNDER THE NEW SHORT TERM RIGHT TO REJECT ACT YOUR MONEY IS 100% GUARENTEED. YOU CAN GO BACK 6 MONTHS TO CLAIM YOUR MONEY AND ALL EXPENSES. I bought a car from Motorhog through cartransplant.co.uk online auction site. I bought the car on Saturday morning before 12` o`clock and called them, they said I have 7 days to collect the car. On the following Wednesday I went to collect the car at around 11 o`clock. Straight away I was told in a harsh way that I would have to pay a 1% late payment fee. If you take out the Sunday then I was 1 and half hours short of the time limit of 3 days that they give you to make payment. I was told I should have read the small print of the terms and conditions and I had agreed to them when I clicked on them. Then I was told of all the other hidden charges, 1% for paying cash and 2% for Debit cards and 3% for credit cards. I asked to see the car and was told I had to make payment first and then could see and collect the car. So I made payment. Then the car was bought out on a fork lift for me. When it was put down I saw that the passenger side had damage to it. There was a dent approximately 8-10 inch long on the passenger front wing. Like it had been kicked in. The passenger doors had 2 scrapes on them. 1 scrape was about 30 inches long on the front door with several scratches above it. This had been filled in with polish or some sort of white compound. You could see the white powder in the scrape and scratches. You could only see the original colour of the car and not any other colours around the scrape and scratches like it had been thoroughly polished. The other scrape went from about half way of the front door to about half way through the back door. This was deeper than the first dent. This had dug in so there was a small cut in the skin of the back door and caused a large dent and ripples in the doors. So now the doors and wing would need to be replaced. The damage to the front wing and the doors would have been clearly visible if a picture was taken directly from even about 2 meters away. The passenger side of the car was polished up. As for the pictures that were shown by the online auction site, they were taken in such a clever angle so that the damage on the passenger side could not be seen. The car was parked next to another car. You could see the reflection of this car more than the actual car in the pictures. The colour of the car is champagne pearlcent so really shines up. When polished. The description states: Dealer disposal. HPI shows not recorded when checked. Viewing is recommended as description is a guide only starts and drives log book available, M.O.T till 8.9.16, no certificate present. I viewed the car within 10 minutes of making payment. So I went back inside and told them that the car must have got damaged by a forklift or something. A yard worker bought up pictures of the car on the auction side and said it is not damaged, So I showed him pictures taken on my mobile. He then went into the back end of his system and zoomed into the pictures and said look you can see the scrapes. So I told him that on my phone and my PC back home you cannot zoom into the pictures. You can just see the pictures as normal half screen so this damage is not clear. As reading the feedback on reviews on Motorhog they have a special photographer with a hidden talent to take photos to trick the naked eye. You need to zoom in with a magnifying glass then you might be lucky to see what your not looking for. I would say that if you know the damage is there then you will be able to pin point it but if you did not know of the damage then you will not be able to see it. So I told them that I do not want the car and demanded my money back as the repair cost is more than the value of the car. They refused saying I should have come to view the car and as per their terms and condition’s I have agreed to everything. motorhog tries to rely on and hide behind its shaky terms and conditions to get out of everything which they are serious mistaken will protect them. A manager then walked in I told him what had happened. He was so large that he was intimidating. He only asked the worker can you see the damage in the pictures. The worker said yes. So he told me he would charge me £100 and put the car back in the auction or I could go to trading standards and that he will give me their number or a solicitor’s number and that is the way I have to go now. I recorded all the conversation I had with the manager and staff or motorhog. SO I CONTACTED TRADING STANDARDS AND THEY HAVE ADVISED THAT UNDER THE NEW SHORT TERM RIGHT TO REJECT ACT WHICH CAME OUT IN OCTOBER I CAN GET ALL MY MONEY BACK AND CANNOT BE CHARGED ANY FEES. I WILL BE TAKING THIS TO THE SMALL CLAIMS COURT AND WILL PURSUE MOTORHOG FOR ALL MY MONEY AND COSTS INCURRED LIKE TIME AND MONEY GOING TO DONCASTER AS ADVISED BY TRADING STANDARDS. UNDER THE NEW SHORT TERM RIGHT TO REJECT ACT YOUR FULL MONEY IS 100% GUARANTEED. SO DO NOT GIVE UP IN THESE SITUATIONS. I WOULD SAY THAT YOU SCREEN SHOT THE PICTURES AND DESCRIPTION OF THE AUCTION SITE AS MOTORHOG/CARTRANSPLANT.CO.UK PLATFORM SITE WILL CLOSE DOWN YOUR ACCOUNT. I CONTACTED CARTRANSPLANT AND WAS JUST FOBBED OFF. THEY SAID GO TALK TO MOTORHOG. THE OLDEST REVIEW I CAN FIND ON TRUST PILOT IS FROM 2011. WHY HAVE CARTRANSPLANT GOT CON ARTISTS USING THEIR PLATFORM TO RIP OFF CONSUMERS."
5 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"2 cars bought-Discovery 58 PLATE bought at salvage auction -said starts drives in description (but tubo was disconected)- i paid for car,= blown turbo, £2,000 to remove body to sort it- told should have test driven it (they do not allow this). 2nd car said in advert, does not start (could be battery or fuel etc) bought car/deliverd to me written on screen in big words was 'engine problem'-complained,told this was added after the pics were taken?? very rude woman at hills salvage.should have been written on when pics were taken and in description-but would have halved it vale. AVOID AVIOD AVOID"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
JAMIE CAPUANO
Verified Reviewer
"I WILL NEVER USE MOTORHOG AGAIN, TAKES 30 MINUTES TO GET THROUGH, POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE, GOT SPOKEN TO LIKE A CHILD, MY PART WAS FAULTY FAILED TO RESOLVE THE PROBLEM, WAS TOLD AFTER I HAD THE PART FITTED THAT IT WAS NOT TESTED!!!!! WHY WOULD I RISK 5 HOURS OF PAYING LABOUR TO A GARAGE FOR A UNTESTED PART!!!!!! I THEN USED 24-7 SPARES, WHERE PARTS ARE TESTED AND GUARANTEED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AVOID MOTORHOG"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Drove from Mansfield to Motorhog Doncaster to collect a Door card. Was told at 'Online order counter' "Nothing on my system, mate". Shown the guy on the desk my text messages with reference numbers and text replies. He then spoke to the 'Online' office lady who then spoke the guy, who apparently had sorted it out the day before, to be told er..sorry mate my mistake!! The guy on the desk DID actually try to help me by fetching a door card out himself, which was not very good. Drove back to Mansfield, no door card. Conclusion: VERY impressive website NOT very impressive system."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Motorhog is rated 1.27 based on 30 reviews