Mothercare Reviews

3.46 Rating 74 Reviews
61% of reviewers recommend Mothercare

How would you rate Mothercare?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need a working email address to verify that your review is genuine.

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

74 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
Mr Minaz
Was sold a car seat with isofix base. When I went to collect there was no base, I was told the sales assistant made a mistake. I found the same product online with a base cheaper and they refused to price match. Therefore causing a lot of inconvenience and wasted journies to the store. They did refund the amout over the phone so I had my money back to get the same product online and cheaper!

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about Mothercare in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
Mr Minaz Shaffi
"Was sold a car seat with isofix base. When I went to collect there was no base, I was told the sales assistant made a mistake. I found the same product online with a base cheaper and they refused to price match. Therefore causing a lot of inconvenience and wasted journies to the store. They did refund the amout over the phone so I had my money back to get the same product online and cheaper!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Margaret Dolan
"Had a bit of an issue with a money off voucher, it didn't come off , after 11 emails someone did finally honour it ."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Nicola Rigbyt
"Being made aware of discounts so I can purchase at the right time"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Anonymous
"Fantastic, speedy service. Had to order in a large item (wooden castle) for my son. Made payment on the day and was advised it was in the shop the very next day. The staff were great and had my purchase ready and waiting for me at the till and even offered to help me with the large package."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Anonymous
"Fantastic, speedy service. Had to order in a large item (wooden castle) for my son. Made payment on the day and was advised it was in the shop the very next day. The staff were great and had my purchase ready and waiting for me at the till and even offered to help me with the large package."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"If you're considering making a gift registry with Mothercare, don't!!! Save yourself and your baby shower guests the hassle! Their website is very buggy and not only did it not update the quantities that my guests purchased off the registry (i ended up with multiple of the same product, which defies having a registry in the first place, also my guests purchased all the products off the link i shared, so it's definitely the website) but it also never updated my delivery address, so my guests had to input that manually as well, despite saying on their website that this part should be automatic. Finally, nobody was picking up the customer care lines for ages (it was at least 40min until someone picked up), they couldn't help or do anything about it. It sounded like someone working in one of the shops picked up who had no clue about customer service. Very poor experience, would not recommend."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Mr A Khan
"One of the best shopping experiences. A lot of help and support when we purchased baby clothes."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Abu Bakar
"Good value for money, awsum baby clothes and shoes"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Yvonne Sims
"Was unhappy with not received mybwhole order and one item was cancelled even though been on order for a week befor I was told."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Came to pick up a parcel from the Mothercare Store in Colliers Wood; waiting already 30 minutes; I was sent to look for a WC in the shops around as no one can tell me how long it will take to find the parcel; not very convenient when you are 7 months pregnant; while in the store had a look at the sales - lots of baby clothes on the floor; don't think that I will ever shop from here again!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Dr Emma
"Mothercare's stores are geared up for parents, with excellent facilities available for customer use. I needed to take my toddler shopping in the middle of a week of intensive toilet training and their store made it easy. Some of their stock is a little bit pricey, which is why I only gave 4 stars, but otherwise they have a nice range of quality products and staff are generally friendly and helpful."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Sarim Qamar
"My item did not arrive after 3 weeks of ordering. A month after cancelling the order, I have still not received my money."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Anonymous
"Good prices and amazing service. Click and collect quick and efficient."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Clifford Wright
"Mothercar always go above and beyond to ensure they have have just what my Baby needs. My order is dispatched and delivered, whilst keeping me in the loop with their own schedule. I am even able to take advantage of any sales and promotions that are newly announced with free alerts. Furthermore by buying online I can get my Items delivered to my door when it please me.. and still have time to wash up! Thanks Guys."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"We ordered a baby crib from Mothercare and let me tell you, if time is money and you value your time do not order anything from Mothercare. This has to be the worst co. I have ever dealt with. So the crib was scheduled to be delivered on Friday 8th of December by Yodel. I received a text telling me the package was on route. A few hours later I receive a text to say package was delivered to no. 53. This is what happened thereafter.... Yodel rang the buzzer, my wife answers the intercom and the driver confirms he is from Yodel here to deliver a package. She buzzes him in and waits with the front door open. 5 minutes have passed and no delivery she’s 8 months pregnant and decides to back into the lounge. I return home from work a few hours later to learn no delivery and according to Yodel the package delivered to no. 53. That’s strange as 53 is a vacant flat. So I decide to investigate and to my surprise I find the package outside the building in the rain. I rang both Yodel and Mothercare and to date I am waiting for a refund. Poor service from both companies. I was promised a call back from Mothercare within 24hours it has been 72 hours and no response."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"We ordered a baby crib from Mothercare and let me tell you, if time is money and you value your time do not order anything from Mothercare. This has to be the worst co. I have ever dealt with. So the crib was scheduled to be delivered on Friday 8th of December by Yodel. I received a text telling me the package was on route. A few hours later I receive a text to say package was delivered to no. 53. This is what happened thereafter.... Yodel rang the buzzer, my wife answers the intercom and the driver confirms he is from Yodel here to deliver a package. She buzzes him in and waits with the front door open. 5 minutes have passed and no delivery she’s 8 months pregnant and decides to back into the lounge. I return home from work a few hours later to learn no delivery and according to Yodel the package delivered to no. 53. That’s strange as 53 is a vacant flat. So I decide to investigate and to my surprise I find the package outside the building in the rain. I rang both Yodel and Mothercare and to date I am waiting for a refund. Poor service from both companies. I was promised a call back from Mothercare within 24hours it has been 72 hours and no response."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Appalling customer service. i placed an order. That was supposed to arrive in 7-10 days, over a week later was contacted by a courier saying they would deliver in 2 weeks so a 3 week wait ! Emailed to cancel my order, 8 dayd later I have yet to receive a refund !"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Zeina Wright
Verified Reviewer
"Complaint about Mothercare UK My husband and I spent in excess of £700 on a number of essential baby items including a cotbed, mattress, changing station with drawers, car seat and pram in a baby and parent event in June during a personal shopper experience at the Bluewater store. We opted for a personal shopper so that we could take advice on choosing some of these larger items. We chose the Lulworth cotbed which we had seen in store, in part, because there was a pull out drawer underneath which we required to save space in the nursery. We specifically enquired about this before purchasing and the personal shopper told us that it came with the cotbed. When we attempted to assemble the item in August a few weeks before our baby was due, we found that the drawer was missing.I then went into the Bluewater store where we had purchased the items a few days later to find out why the we had not received this and was informed by a member of staff that the drawer was not included with the cotbed and that we could not even purchase the drawer separately as it had been discontinued. I explained that this was the reason we had purchased the particular item and was told that I should not have been told that it was included when the member of staff i spoke to consulted a senior member of staff. At this time I also enquired about the car seat we had purchased as my husband was considering changing his car and we wanted to be sure that the seat we had bought would be compatible with it. I had tried to ask about this through the online chat and after waiting 20 minutes to speak with someone I was told this was something they could help with and that i needed to enquire about in store!! The car sear we purchased in June was a Mothercare Boston Combination car seat and at the time of buying the personal shopper had looked up on her ipad and confirmed to us that the seat would be suitable for both my 2013 Corsa and my husbands 2003 Astra. The senior member of staff then informed me that we had also been given false information regarding the suitability of car seats as there was no information about whether or not the car seat would fit either of the cars which we had as the seat was made by Joie and they did not even exist in 2003! They then suggested that another car seat would have the same information about compatibility and so they looked this one up on the ipad and again were unable to tell me if it would be compatible with my husband's car as it was older and no data was held about whether the car seat would be safe in car's of that age. I said that we had asked at the time of purchase and were assured by the personal shopper that it would be ok and that this was the information we relied upon when buying the item. I was offered no other help and simply told that I should not have been given that information and the only way to find out if it would fit would be to book it into for a fitting at a Mothercare store which offered this service. The Bluewater does not offer this service. As a result we had to urgently make an appointment at a store which could fit the car seat and were unable to get one until the Saturday before my baby was due on the Monday!! The appointment was made at the Bexleyheath store as this was nearer to my husband's work. When we arrived we were informed that we should have taken both cars to ensure that the seat was compatible- this was something we had not been told either time by the staff in the Bluewater store nor upon booking the appointment to have the seat fitted in Bexleyheath- and we had only taken my husband's car. The Boston car seat and none of the other car seats they had in store were compatible with my husband's car. We even resorted to trying the carriers which would only last about 12 months, despite this not being the type of car seat we had wanted (or needed as we already have a car seat for 4 years and up) and still none of them would fit safely. The staff informed us that we should not have been advised that any car seat would be compatible as even if the data on the system suggested it would likely fit, this was always subject to fitting in the actual car. yet again we had been given completely inaccurate information by Mothercare staff! It was also suggested that due to the shape of the seats in my husband's car, it would be likely very hard to find a seat that would fit his car safely! The store manager also refused to give us a refund and insisted that this could only be done by the Bluewater store as it was their error. Therefore we could not even get out money back and go elsewhere to find and buy a car seat and we had very little time before baby arrived in any case. This whole experience was extremely distressing and upsetting as we had thought that we had a car seat several months before and now were at a point where my baby could arrive at any moment and we were being told that the car seat we had purchased on the advice of Mothercare staff was not appropriate, and it was unlikely that we would find another suitable one and not the same day. I was 9 months pregnant and in floods of tears in the store's car park- something that was completely unnecessary and avoidable if we have been properly advised!!! They suggested we returned on the following day when a very experienced member of staff might be able to advise us better even though they did not have any suitable seats in stock. So on the Sunday we drove back to Bexleyheath when the stored opened and she tried a few seats again, which were not appropriate and suggested a few models which she thought might work and which we could try at another store. We then had to drive, with both of our cars, to the Orpington store to try the 2 she suggested! After 2 hours of trying various seats in both cars we found one which was suitable but required a non-slip seat cover to ensure it was fitted safely. However the store did not have any of these seats in stock! So we then had to drive all the way to Bluewater, with both cars, to exchange the car seats!! The whole experience and service we received from Mothercare, the staff at the Bluewater store in particular, was simply terrible! We spent a significant amount of money in the store and chose the personal shopper experience to ensure we were properly advised and prepared for the arrival of our baby. Not only was it stressful and unnecessary given we had purchased the car seat several months before the baby was due, but it was completely irresponsible to give advice to customers about compatibility of the car seats. Not only was it wrong, caused additional stress and cost but it could have put the safety of a baby at risk! Mothercare is supposed to be a store and brand which specialises in products for babies and children and yet it cannot be trusted to offer the most basic advice on its own products and in its apparent area of expertise!! The fact that all of this happened a couple of days before our baby arrived made the last few days of my pregnancy extremely stressful and upsetting. As this is an essential item required in order to bring a newborn home from hospital and was something we had tried to be conscientious and prepared for well in advance but were severely let down by Mothercare staff's incompetence and the extremely poor customer service we received. I have only just been able to take the time to complain as our baby arrived 2 days after this series of events and, as you can imagine, it is a very busy and stressful few months caring for a newborn, but our experience of Mothercare customer service was so poor that I have been left with no choice but to write this complaint and really hope that other customers do not experience the same! I made a complaint through the mothercare UK website and I have just received a reply to inform me that nothing will be done regarding my complaint as I should have made this within 30 days!!! Absolutely disgusting!!! The issue occurred 2 days before going into labour and noone informed me of this at the time of my issues when staff at nothing the Bexleyheath and Orpington stores suggested I put forward a complaint! Mothercare again have failed horrendously in their customer service and have zero understanding of their customers and market as it has been impossible to find the time and energy to write my complaint with a crying newborn, recovering myself from labour and adjusting to life as a new parent!! Absolutely appalling!! 😡 😡 😡"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I was given a gift of an imprints voucher from mothercare. When I received a second one I asked if I could exchange for store credit but was informed there is no exchange or refunds on these vouchers. Staff were very rude in the shop when I asked also. I rang head office and I was disappointed with their approach also. Very unfriendly and disorganised. Apart from this I have tried to order a part for my buggy and have been waiting over two months for the both managers of the store to call me. I’ve called into the store numerous times in order to inquire about it and they keep saying they will call but don’t. Rather unprofessional company if you ask me."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Sheila Henderson
"Ordered item in pre friday sale. Was notified 3 days earlier than expected to say item ready for pickup I"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Mothercare is rated 3.46 based on 74 reviews