Gadget Monocle Reviews

1.46 Rating 67 Reviews
0% of reviewers recommend Gadget Monocle

Write Your review

Tell us how Gadget Monocle made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"Comapny made a good first impression on delivery etc, but no mention anywhere in the paperwork or websiite that the supplied phone (S6 edge) wasn't an EU phone. Tried to claim on the warranty (after 12 months) for a defective screen, but Samsung won't honour the claim as it is a grey import device.(i.e. effectively warranty free). If it had been a real EU phone, then the repair would have been done FOC. according to Samsung. I'll never (knowingly) buying an expensive grey import again!"
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Visit Website
"Dreadful company. Bought s7 edge and when it went wrong they EVENTUALLY agreed to me getting local repair and they confirmed via email they would refund £250 bill. That was three weeks ago and I've since sent them 4 unanswered mails. I've now asked PayPal to intervene. Avoid like the plague!!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I bought a Nexus 6P 32GB for £329.99. It developer a hardware problem after less than 6 months. Gadget Monocle offered to repair the phone but were unable to repair it and have refused to replace or fully refund me. They offered a partial refund of £130 which is totally unacceptable. Lesson learned. Avoid this company like the plague. Hopefully my credit card company will eventually refund the money for me."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I bought a Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge late last year, and it was all working nicely for about a month. After which it started crashing frequently, eventually getting to the point where it wouldn't turn on for long periods of time - completely unusable. After contacting customer support, they suggested I find any old local repair centre and get a quote for repair. Every place I went to (including the official Samsung Centre) told me it wasn't possible to repair due to not being a UK model, something which wasn't advertised on the site. They then suggested I send it back to them, but then it was revealed they were based out of Hong Kong (again something not clearly advertised on their site, a surprise for a .co.uk domain), and it would take 2 months for my phone back, outrageous for something which cost £500. I attempted to ask what region the device was, in an attempt to get the correct parts, but customer support completely ignored this question every time it was asked. Truly awful customer service, a faulty device, and illegal advertising. Fortunately Paypal were able to step in and get my money refunded, and the Gadget Monocle site appears to have since been shut down - GOOD! Do not use this company."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Phone developed a fault, sent phone back, and after 6 weeks they told me they were under no obligation to fix it even though within the warrantee period and returned the still faulty phone. Would avoid buying from them."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Avoid like the plague. Gadget monocle do provide cheap devices, however if anything goes wrong their so called warranty is largely worthless. My phone stopped working 2 months ago. After sending it to HK for repair they sent it back to me 6 weeks later in the same broken state claiming it was fixed. Over 50 emails later they are still avoiding the issue. Buyer beware, if you are lucky enough to get a working item then you will be fine, if not, prepare for a long drawn out process with no guarantee of repair, replacement or refund. Update: after asking me to organise a local repair (which they approved) they are now refusing to refund the charges because the local shop was unable to repair it, and they have the gall to ask me to try again with another more expensive provider with no guarantee they will repay the costs."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Delivery service is crap"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"They robbed me. The item this company sold me broke down. I sent the item back back for repairs but no one has been in touch with me from this company so far. Poor customer service. Very slow replies. The business/company is not transparent. Looks like dodgy venue. Lost £485 but dealing with them."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"I'm only giving one star as 0 is not permitted. Two things, firstly the company is based in Hong Kong and not as implied the uk. You'll find shipping takes weeks. More importantly if you want to go back to the manufacturer (Samsung in my case)they won't touch you as youll be talking to Samsung UK who offer no warranties to Samsung Asia products. Second pint is hen you're devise goes wrong you will hear nothing back from gadget M and second weeks chasing a nill response. In short do touch these guys with a barge pole"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"The order got cancelled because they were "out of stock", or put more simply, did not want to honour the sale at the agreed price. To add insult to injury, it took them then almost 2 weeks to give me my money back. I will never again use them."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Customer,

Thanks for shopping @ Gadget Monocle.
Kindly note that we have fulfilled your order in June.
Thank you for shopping @ Gadget Monocle again.
Posted 2 years ago
"Phone arrived quickly, but it was faulty, with 2 big problems. They sent it back to Singapore to be fixed (I was without it for nearly 2 months, and they later admitted that they had used a local repair shop there rather than Samsung, which may have invalidated the warranty), and when I got it back, one of the faults had not been fixed, and a new fault had been introduced. They would only offer a further return to a local repair shop in Singapore (unless I could find a local repair shop to fix it for under £70 in the UK, which of course I couldn't). They didn't even make it easy to arrange this, ignoring most of my questions and sometimes not bothering to reply to my mails at all. In short, they are probably ok if you are lucky enough to receive a phone that works perfectly well. but if there is any problem with it, you will not have an easy ride with these people. For this reason, I will avoid then in future!! If you do choose to use them - best pay with American Express (via PayPal) as they are now investigating the issue with Gadget Monocle on my behalf, which will hopefully result in a full refund."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Customer,

We are sorry for causing any inconvenience.
Kindly note that the phone comes with one year warranty through Gadget Monocle. Customer can send us back the phone and we will fix the phone.
Sometimes we may ask customers to get us the quote in the local repair shop as this is the faster way for customers to get back the phone.
Please contact us again if you have any question.
Thank you for shopping @ Gadget Monocle again.
Posted 2 years ago
"Website so OK but phone what I bought is doesn't work properly. Is switching off and When the battery is full after 2-3 h is going nearly 0%. First month has worked OK. But now... I am thinking to sell it."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Customer,

Thanks for shopping @ Gadget Monocle.
Kindly note that the phone comes with one year warranty through Gadget Monocle. If there is issue of the phone, please contact us.
Thank for shopping @ Gadget Monocle again.
Posted 2 years ago
"I ordered a Samsung Galaxy Note 5. One week later I received an email telling meveryone that the phone was no longer in stock and that they will refund me in a week or two. I said this was unacceptable as how can it take them a week to realise they don't have the phone and then another two weeks before they will decide to give me my money back. They responded immediately to say they will try and do it "this week". Something didn't seem right. I checked on their website and they have 18 in stock but the price has gone up by £40. I was originally notified that they would not fulfill my order just after samsung confirmed they were recalling the note 7. I challenged them on this but have not had a response to most of my questions although they are now stating that they were out of the "stock" I bought and the new "stock" is more expensive. Firstly they have the exact brand and model I want but refuse to honour the contract. Secondly they also won't issue an immediate refund instead which means if you buy through this company you have little or no rights and they can hold on to your money for weeks after they inform you that they won't honour a contract."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Customer,

We are sorry for causing any inconvenience. As we are updating our site, there might show some errors, the item is actually out of stock. We will update the site as soon as possible. For the refund, 7-14 days refund days is stated on our site and we have marked your case as urgent before. Thank you for shopping @ Gadget Monocle again.
Posted 2 years ago
"Giving back the money of one of the phones I did order to cancel."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Enrique Rodriguez Moscoso,

We are sorry for causing any inconvenience.
We feel sorry that we received the update from the warehouse your order has to be cancelled as it currently does not have stock.
Thanks for shopping at Gadget Monocle again.
Posted 2 years ago
"Frankly, I'm not suprised this company have a good rating here, because their deception is well disguised, and nothing short of criminal. I'd certainly be interested to hear from some of their customers a few months down the line when they discover their beloved phone isn't quite what they expected. Gadget Monocle didn't send the phone that was described. They described a popular UK version of LG G4, the H815, but sent the H818P which only supports two of the Bands for 4g here in the UK. This means it will struggle in rural areas, whereas the H815 version would be fast in the city AND rural areas. I specifically wanted the H815 for that reason. The phone i received was new and works fine for now because i live in the City. However, it will be useless for my purposes in rural areas :( They also give customers the impression that, should anything go wrong, the purchase can be sent back to their UK company, with a full refund, but that i would be responsible for postage costs. Seems reasonable, right? I opened a case with Paypal due to the fact that i was consistently lied to in emails by "Jason" and "Tracy", posing as UK employees when, infact, they operate out of Hong Kong. I won my case via Paypal, but am infuriated to learn that the phone must be sent, with a tracking number, to an address in Hong Kong and not a the UK address on the packaging (West Drayton, UB7 0LW), which is an exceedingly expensive thing to do. Worth noting here that on their website, they specify LOCAL RETURN!!! How is Hong Kong local to the UK? I will never use this fake company ever again, and feel compelled to warn others so they won't be stung as i have been."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Carol,

We are sorry for causing any inconvenience.
Our warehouse may made the mistake that sent you the wrong model.
We have taken a the instant review of the process and we will improve the service.
Kindly note that customer only need to return the parcel to our UK warehouse and we will absorb the postage for the local return and no need to send back to Hong Kong.
Thank you for shopping @ Gadget Monocle again.
Posted 2 years ago
"Fake phone from China and to get a refund I had to contact my bank otherwise GadgetMonocle wouldn't give my money back. Do not use this fake company. Trading standards needs to have a look into this! !!!!"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Ionut,

Thanks for shopping @ Gadget Monocle.
Kindly note that the phone must be genuine and
it comes with one year warranty through Gadget Monocle.
Thanks for shopping @ Gadget Monocle again.
Posted 2 years ago
""Tell us how Gadget Monocle made you happy" I wasn't pleased from the service at all. My delivery was delayed. They were not able to track the delivery at all."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Medzhnun,

We are sorry for causing any inconvenience.
Normally, we send tracking number after 24 hours of dispatching.
We will review our process and improve our service.
Thank you for shopping @ Gadget Monocle again.
Posted 2 years ago
"They were quick to answer any questions and queries I had and everything was delivered on time"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Gadget Monocle don't seem to understand the import tax requirements of importing into the UK. When I contacted them about failing to pay import taxes, they avoided the question. I had to report them to HMRC myself."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Not EU\UK stock so no proper warranty. warranty only offered by Gadget Monocle as long as you know this and are happy with this then go ahead and buy. I had to get the refund via PayPal dispute as well."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Customer,

Thanks for shopping @ Gadget Monocle.
Kindly note that the phone is international version.
The phone comes with one year warranty through Gadget Monocle.
Thank you for shopping @ Gadget Monocle again.
Posted 2 years ago
Gadget Monocle is rated 1.46 based on 67 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support