Mayfair Autos Ltd Reviews

4.6 Rating 134 Reviews
90 %
of reviewers recommend Mayfair Autos Ltd
Visit Website

Phone:

01753569442

Write Your review

Tell us how Mayfair Autos Ltd made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Editing my initial reveiw. What can I say, I bought a car here 2 months ago broke down within the first month of having it. They say it comes with a 3 month warranty which I've paid for everything at this point the tow to the garage. The mechanics to get it fixed and the egr valve. Every time I send a quote or tell them the price to get something fixed it's always to expensive to which I said well give me half because you know I thought I was being nice here, they sill have yet to give me anything for this. BTW they still have my car and left me without one for so far 2 months. The picture phone conversations I have do no justice in the lack of care and due diligence they give you once you leave the plot. Mechanic also pointed out that the car was incredibly dangerous and even though had a mot 3 mechanics that had a look at it said it would fail. I trusted this place as I wanted to belive they where nice. My advice is save every conversation every text and oh get an invoice of them which they can't find now and never gave one to me. Save yourself the headache and stress and avoid this place. Update Just going to respond to the owners response here. I paid for the tow to the garage or would you like me to upload that recipt too, as you weren't far away you where 30 mins away not that far considering you do drop offs.I offerd to pay half of any repair bill which you didnt do or like i said previous was too expensive.And you actually contested the refund when i went trough my card to get it back. Would you like me to upload that here too. I have the receipts all the responses. I would take this on the chin as its making you look worse not better.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Appalling company! Nothing but common thieves! Sell cars that are not fit for purpose. Ignore calls, emails and texts then when they do pick up the phone they lie and try to tell you the car you paid for was ‘spares and repairs’ avoid at all costs!!! I now have a car that is going to cost me hundreds of pounds in repairs. I look after covid patients but no car means I can’t get to work to do my job! This company should be ashamed of themselves!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
TERRIBLE AVOID THESE I purchased a car from these a couple of weeks ago, thinking I was purchasing a good car when in fact we have found faults. I took the car back to which they refused me a refund due to paint missing on the bonnet which was there on viewing the car (they are denying this) I have now had to take this further in the hope to get my money back. I would not buy a car from these people
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
DANGEROUS CAR WAS SOLD, injectors were leaking hence cockpit was englfed in diesel fumes coming through air con, AA complaint report at hand on the day. Would not recommend them to anyone. And i shall see you at court.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
( Some sites will not let me attach photos ) I went with my friend to Purchase a 2006 bmw 325I (10/11/21), and it’s been an appalling service from the moment we stepped into Mayfair motors. We ended up purchasing the car, as that was the reason we were there, regardless of the service. The car was cosmetically not great, but we expected that, however the engine seemed okay during start up and during the test drive that we weren’t allowed to do! Apparently their insurance does not cover us to test drive the car?! - nevertheless we were told prior to the test drive, ‘ don’t worry, I’ll drive the car the way you want it to be driven ‘ which seemed very absurd, as all we wanted to do was test the car, the same as everyone else who wants to purchase a car! - We liked the car, and we negotiated on the price and we were told, ‘ if you want a discount, there will be no warranty ‘ we took a while to think, however we agreed to it. We placed a deposit ! We were given a receipt ( first photo attached ) -  2 days later we travelled up again (12/11/21), roughly 85 miles to collect the car. As we came back we had to wait 15 minutes outside as the salesperson was on the phone inside and did not acknowledge or attend to us until we walked inside and made it very clear that we are waiting. During the wait, another set of customers were waiting, surprisingly, there was only one person on site!  Anyhow, we were doing a part exchange, so he came outside and said let’s go for a drive to test my friend’s car out, which was an  2011 Astra. There was a coolant light on the dash, which did not work in our favour but we were aware of that. The salesperson was going beyond the speed limit, and undertaking on a main road. He also received a call and picked up the phone, mobile to ear while driving and ended up texting after the phone call too! The car was driven to its limits, revving the engine in the first 3 gears. — We got back to Mayfair Motors, where the customers were still waiting, becoming impatient.  We went inside the office and discussed the paperwork & payment. We got into an argument because on the receipt we were given , it stated there was £**00.00 to pay however the salesperson said there was £85 extra to pay, therefore making it £**85.00But… it did not state that on the receipt as you can see ( first picture attached ) The salesperson was raising his voice and getting annoyed, at something that was not our mistake. After 10 min of constant arguing, my friend and I walked out of the office to discuss things. We were going agree with the extra £85.00 demanded from us, but before we could even have a think; we were shouted at, from the same sales person, demanding we come back in, we were 20m away from the office, there was no need to shout!! We walked back in, and he stated 'I do not have time, I need to go pray so lets just get on with this.' As we did not want to take too much of his time, eventhough we felt uncomfortable and really not happy with the way things were going, we just decided to speed things up and go ahead! the £85 was dismissed, even though we would have been willing to pay it, and we began the V5 exchange and change of paperwork, so forth and so on. -- 10 min later we were ready to go ! However.. Yet, another issue, the bmw comes with a key fob ( second picture attached ) however it did not have the key inside the fob, so we had to ask, as it was not given,and he did not know where it was.. By this point, another sales person ( it seemed ) had turned up, to assist I guess ! They took 15 min more of our time, just searching around,while we waited outside near the car, getting impatient, as this whole process has taken a whole chunk out of our day and it was not very pleasant either. - They said they have lost the key, and we will need to go to BMW, to get a quote for the cost of a new key,and they will reimburse us, which at this point, was very annoyed, as it was a safety hazard for us, and if the battery dies, No one can get into the car, using the normal means! - However we agreed, as we were going to put the car in our garage for a few days until the key arrived. The disheartening experience did not end there - We drove back, within 30 min of being on the motorway, we had to refuel and stop off at the services.. As we put the ignition back on, the Service light came on in RED, followed by engine oil being low as well ! The car was not driven hard, as firstly we do not treat cars as race cars, there was lots of traffic as we left in rush hour & we had to get used to the car as well... Anyhow, the engine oil was not urgent, we read the manual and did some google research which informed us it's not urgent right now, but as soon as we get home, or to a garage we would get engine oil.  As we were driving, the car randomly went into 'limp mode' and the gearbox light came on in RED, which was a huge shock to us, and we immediately pulled over to the hard shoulder, as soon as it was safe to do so. We contacted a registered garage, who advised us how to deal with it.. 5 min later we were on our way again, to only find the light coming on again, within 15 min of driving.. and this went on for a third time until we got home. All of which was advised how to deal with, from a garage who were very kind to assist us over the phone, out of normal working hours. --My friend, after a long stressful drive back, a stressful evening for all of us, decided that he will be returning the car. - We contacted Mayfair Motors on Saturday 15/11/2021 in the afternoon to discuss the refund, we were told immediately to email them with our request. So we did that. ( Third picture attached )Mayfair Motors, received another call from us, to understand when we could return the car, and then we received a rushed,unwelcoming, cold reply. We were told, over the phone, that he is rushed, and is with another customer, and does not have time. He declared at the time of discussing the discount, there would be no warranty ( True ) and there will be no refunds ( False ! ), apparently so, he wrote on the receipt there would be no refunds. We checked our receipt, which did not state any of that ( Fourth picture attached ). - The cold person over the phone, then said 'No warranty & no refunds mean the same thing' ...( what?! ) We were gobsmacked. We demanded a refund and declared we will be getting other parties involved, reply being ' Do whatever you want'.. -- We are currently in discussion with Consumer advice & trading standards. Would not recommend purchasing your cars from here, or getting any work done from here, very tragic what has happened with us.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Zam was very pleasant and helpful in selling us a car that broke down 1 mile after leaving the site. I rang to say I was bringing the car back and his advice was 'you'd be better to ring the AA to take you to a garage.' I managed to get the car back accompanied by thick white smoke. He said he'd get someone to look at in the morning. However, the sales advert has since been reworded to include 'oil light on, sold for spares or repair' (i can only presume trying to cover their backs in previously advertising a car that was fit to drive). Do not even think of using this place.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Baught a car, within a few weeks it fell apart while driving 15mph. Causing expensive damage. The dealership offered no assistance and was extremely aggressive and rude. Mechanic's who inspected the vehicle have all pointed to the dealer but the dealer isn't interested now he's got his money. I will escalate to legal action and contract trading standards.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
DO NOT BUY FROM THIS PLACE. Paid a £300 deposit and was told it would be refunded if I decided not to buy the car. From awful and slow customer service to not receiving a video of the car (They said they would send a video) I was going to buy, I decided to read the reviews. The 1 star reviews were very similar to my situation. Looked up on Gov.co.uk for the MOT and it actually expires 6 months!! before they say it does on Mayfair Autos website. I decided on not getting the car and now they refuse to give me back my deposit. The good reviews are definitely fake, save your money and time and stay away from this place.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Do not touch this company with a barge poll,completely ripped off Dangerous unroadworthy car supplied,bought down refused to take it back and refused refund Don't go near them
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
DO NOT BUY! I bought a car from them a couple months ago where I was told it had a brand new MOT and service. However, once checked by a mechanic there was no service done. Once in contact, they said they was happy to pay for a service done locally to me. However, this phone call was massively rude and the staff have no manners. 2 months later and no response since. Called back and have now been told they will not pay for a service and have been aggressive on the phone, telling us to go to their show room and 'bring our friends'. Their attitude is disgusting and this is not the first review I have seen saying the same things. When buying the car I was also made to wait over an hour to get the car cleaned and it never actually was which was a huge waste of time. My worst decision to choose this company avoid at all costs. VILE.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Shocking company - I paid a holding deposit which I was told was refundable - after deciding not to buy the car they have refused to return the deposit. Told me the car would have a new MOT - but it didn't at all. Total liars. Stories change every time you communicate with them. GIVE THEM A WIDE BERTH
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Bought a second hand car from Mayfair autos worst decision ever I would avoid and look for a dealership with moral values. The car they sold me has so many problems with it. I’m a new driver with a newborn baby and it’s very dangerous for me to drive. I had to pay for so many things to make it road worthy. I contacted Mayfair autos as before purchasing the car they told me they would service the car for me they never they put dirty oil on top of the old oil already in the car. They apologised for the problem and offered £100 refund that refund never arrived. They don’t give you a warranty on the car either only the engine. I would avoid and go somewhere where you can trust the reliability of the car.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Mayfair Autos Ltd is rated 4.57 based on 134 reviews