Matthew James Global Relocations Ltd Reviews

4.89 Rating 233 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend Matthew James Global Relocations Ltd
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
On-time Delivery
96%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 81%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Matthew James Global Relocations Ltd Reviews

About Matthew James Global Relocations Ltd:

Matthew James is a family business that prides itself on providing excellent service for its customers. Whether you are moving a whole house or just a few precious things, whether they are going across the street or around the world, we’ll take the same care, door to door. If you are not used to moving house, and most people are not, the whole thing can seem a bit daunting. There is so much to do and never enough time in which to do it. That’s where we come in.

Visit Website

Phone:

+44 1322 251 000

Email:

matthew.de-machen@mjr.global

Location:

Unit 10, Capstan Court, Crossways Business Park, Dartford

Matthew James Global Relocations Ltd 5 star review on 9th January 2020
Baskerville-Olivier
Matthew James Global Relocations Ltd 5 star review on 14th October 2019
Ward
Matthew James Global Relocations Ltd 5 star review on 25th June 2019
Coning
Matthew James Global Relocations Ltd 5 star review on 24th March 2017
Mrs E Portas
Matthew James Global Relocations Ltd 5 star review on 6th March 2017
Mrs W Coles
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
It took 50! days (yes, 50 days!) to bring my stuff from Liverpool to Northwest Spain. On top of that some of the things arrived damaged. Furthermore, the driver who got to Spain was reluctant to go through a road where allegedly the electrical cables were lower than the truck (they were not!) and was not helpful at all. Definitely, taking 7 weeks for a move is not something I would recommend, especially if you are moving to a new place and need your stuff with you asap. Never again with MJR.
Posted 1 year ago
We moved 2 weeks ago from Kent to Teeside which was a 2 day job. Reece and Martin arrived promptly on day 1 and took care of loading our possessions in a friendly and professional manner. On day 2, again they arrived promptly and unloaded. We were extremely happy with the service we received and now we are almost unpacked, we have not come across any breakages. I would highly recommend Matthew James Global Relocations Ltd for removals. A special thanks to Reece and Martin for making the move go smoothly and stress-free.
Posted 1 year ago
Exceptional service from first contact to delivery. Everyone was efficient, courteous, patient, speedy and kind. Moving is an anxious time. Your people work hard to make things easy for the customer.
Posted 2 years ago
They are brilliant, expert packing, documenting all shipment making light heart of such a stressful time, easing the stress totally in control making me feel at ease. Then when delivered in the uk same professionalism from completely different team but caring in checking everything correct from the inventory and placing in correct places. Then setting up the bed that was dismantled at the other end. Everything you hope from a removal company and more!! Would never use anyone else.
Matthew James Global Relocations Ltd 5 star review on 6th March 2017
Posted 3 years ago
Your kind words will be passed to the crew, we wish you all the best in your new home
Posted 3 years ago
A professional and thorough service in total. Not the cheapest but I believe quality costs money. I would have liked a little bit more information on the status of delivery which I had to ask several times rather than getting a link (as Royal Mail do to track delivery status). Packing and loading and unloading was very thorough, quick and professional.
Posted 4 years ago
I have nothing but praise for the wonderful way the staff from Mathew James handled my move , from the initial consultation, quote and packing to delivery.

The staff handled my move to Portugal with the upmost professionalism, which eliminated the anxiety.
The timing of the delivery was ace. I would recommend them to anyone and to all of my friends ???????? Thank you again.
Posted 4 years ago
Excellent company to deal with all round. They were professional and also friendly from start to finish and very courteous and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Even though I was recommended to them by an expat who could not give them enough praises, I still decided to get a few other quotes anyway. It was not the absolute cheapest quote (but far from the most expensive quote either) but my gut feeling is never to go with the cheapest and go with a recommendation, and I'm so glad I went with them as it was very good value overall considering I did not have to lift a finger and they gave me the best service I have ever EVER had from any removal people with my stuff getting to Marbella in a matter of days. I've used another couple of companies before (including Pickfords) for various removals over the years but the difference was night and day in service and professional attitude as Matthew James Removals actually seemed to really care about my possessions (some of it is very expensive bespoke furniture and chinaware and a one of a kind bespoke crystal chandelier), but from the very careful and professional way they helped with my packing and loading and when I get everything delivered at the other side Spain I was not worried, as could see the care they took at every stage. No damage whatsoever and everything perfect and stress free and moves are usually quite stressful. Could not be happier with Matthew James Removals. Highly recommended and thank you. Don
Posted 4 years ago
The pick-up was done efficiently and courteously despite some initial misunderstandings about which level of service I had contracted and paid for. this was resolved after a flurry of emails (to which I never received an acknowledgment or reply). I also had to refuse an attempted rescheduling of pickup which would, had I agreed to the request, have meant me missing my flights.
The arrival was satisfactory, although the drivers arrived without any warning, and to the wrong house, and a day later than scheduled. They had no valid phone numbers despite my having phoned the headquarters the previous day on my UK mobile. The unloading was OK. However, boot-marks left on the carpets was not appreciated; no unwrapping of furniture was attempted and this later took many days to achieve and many trips to the recycling centre. Breakages were minimal but included several (4 or 5) glass objects (wine glasses) and in addition the microwave arrived so damaged it wouldn't operate and had to be scrapped. But these are really small quibbles, as the care over packing seemed really very good. Well over a hundred boxes had to be unwrapped, emptied and then disposed of, a task which is still ongoing eight working days later.
Posted 1 year ago
Excellent service from start to finish ... thank you
Posted 1 year ago
I needed to move two dozens of boxes from France to the UK. Matthew James have responded extremely quickly to my request with a very reasonable quote. From the collection point to the delivery, the services of Matthew James Global Relocation have been outstanding, with great communication, very friendly and professional removal teams. I'm happy to have finally been able to sort this out thanks to Matthew James Global Relocations and can't recommend them enough.
Posted 1 year ago
I have mixed feelings about my experience with Matthew James.
While they were generally very nice and that things went generally ok, the staff didn't strike me as particularly careful with our things, quite the contrary actually, and not surprisingly some damage was done, that I believe could have been avoided. On the pick up side, they totally ruined our stairs with chipped paint and black smears all over them and dents in the walls. One of the guys let a huge box slide on the stairs scrapping all the paint back to bare wood and I had to spend time painting it all over again while I had to deal with the move. While I had taken time to label properly fragile boxes with extra instructions like "this side up", this was ignored and boxes where picked up upside down (I'll come back to that). I had left the picture frames to be packed by them as instructed and here again, a vintage frame was badly handled, fell on the floor and broke.  Some of the furniture was left unwrapped in the street, one of the guy sat in my expensive office chair in the street while waiting to lift it up in the truck and an other sat on my scooter. While this isn't terrible things, it just demonstrates the general carelessness for clients property.  It was also quite painful to see our Imac boxes being thrown carelessly onto the truck... When my partner asked one of the guys to be more careful with her plants, she was met with quite an agressive reaction from one of the guys.
Upon delivery, it was better, the guys were nice and careful, but a lot of hassle occurred because of the company's poor planning. Our house was a bit hard to get to, so I had pay an extra £540 pounds (a lot more than if I had booked it myself) to book a shuttle so the huge truck wouldn't have to come on the small country roads and could park down the village 5 minutes away. The day before I receive a call from the driver explaining me that they had to hire a van 40 minutes away and that only one of them could drive! So he asked if I could come pick them up and do the taxi so the truck could be brought closer meaning I would have had to drive back and forth eight times that day while I had to deal with receiving my things, checking them, etc. Not counting the price of gas... When I complained to the company about it saying I paid for the shuttle and asked why they would send a guy who could not drive, they told me I shouldn't worry about it and that it would be sorted out. The next day, I realized it wasn't and the poor guys had to do four loads with two hours drive in between them! I felt so bad for them and it took them all day to deliver our things. Just because the company couldn't sort it out properly. My scooter's mirrors were removed and the drivers were not told where they had been left. The next day we have to drive an hour away to collect them as they were left in the truck without them knowing. Again, bad organisation and bad communication that impacted their staff...and us.Upon inspection a lot of our things had few marks or dents on them which wasn't surprising after seeing how they were handled. For the money paid, which isn't cheap, I was expecting a better level of service, to be honest.
When I complained about it all, I was refunded £200 which, to their credit, they didn't have to.  But at some point the boss sort of argued that my international move was complicated, hence all these problems. While I totally agree that an international move is complicated, this is also why we pay a lot of money to hire a company that specializes in these and I found this very strange to give me this as an excuse. Once the refund had been settled, the boss then bluntly asked me for a positive review and it really felt like he was buying his review. Reviews are important to me as a customer and I will chose a company based on them and real experiences, so I believe I have to leave in turn reviews based on my actual experience, which is what I'm doing right now. Two days later, I finally unpack the box with my vintage turntable in it, the one that had been handled the wrong way despite the written instructions. And sure enough, the lid, that had been replaced two month earlier, was broken. When I raised it, this was simply ignored which they were within their right to do. And I am now using my right to write an honest and detailed review and I'm afraid that, based on my experience, I can not recommend Matthew James, nor will I use this company ever again.  
Posted 1 year ago
Smooth move cross country for a family of 5 from London to Paris; great service and I have already recommended to friends! Well done team !!!
Posted 1 year ago
A good service provided. Very helpful and competent people. Removal costs were quite high but a service to go with it.
My only qualm would be a lack of communication of arrangements once items collected in UK.
Posted 1 year ago
Pre used boxes with wrong labels causing confusion in trying to locate items. More men needed on day of move. Things got left behind which we had to pick up. Furniture could have been covered up more as some scuffs on some items. Glass broken on picture which you are repairing.
Posted 1 year ago
I had a small consignment to move from The south of France to the south of England. Apart from some uncertainty about the date of collection, the rest of the process went very smoothly. The packing was done extremely well and no item was damaged on arrival. I would recommend Matthew James Global Relocations and would use their services again if the opportunity arises.
Posted 1 year ago
Kieren and the other gentleman did a great job in delivering our possessions to our address in the Algarve yesterday. Very personable and helpful.
Posted 1 year ago
From the home survey to the actual move, I was impressed with Matthew James. Ours was a complex move with items being put into store, moved internally and moved to our temporary new home. This was all done with professionalism and humour. I have requested the same team when we move again in 6 months.
Posted 2 years ago
Very efficient
Posted 2 years ago
We have recently moved from central France to the East Midlands (UK). We received a number of quotes before deciding upon Matthew James (MJ), some much lower and some much higher. We decided to accept MJ as they had good reviews and it seemed a reasonable and realistic quote. It was always east to get hold of office staff which is very important.

In France the guys did an amazing job of packing and took great care of every item....even though we don't own any priceless heirlooms or fine furniture! The men were very friendly and took time to ensure the lorry was loaded correctly and safely.

Our belongings then went to Matthew James' store in England before onward delivery to the Midlands.

On delivery day the men arrived exactly on time and were excellent as, again, they were friendly and efficient and took time to ensure everything was put into the correct rooms. Nothing was hurried or rushed, on collection in France or on the delivery day in England.

I would be happy to recommend MJ as they collection and delivery men are a credit to the company.
Posted 3 years ago
Matthew James were extremely professional and helpful throughout my move to Spain from the UK. Any concerns or questions I had at this stressful time were dealt with by the amazing Lydia who put my mind at rest on numerous occasions. The delivery drivers were extremely helpful and professional and packed all my goods to a very high standard and at the other end they had no issues in helping me unpack and set up furniture.
Matthew James exceeded all my expectations and I cannot thank them enough for ensuring my Family's life in Spain started very well.
I would recommend Matthew James very very highly !
Posted 3 years ago
Matthew James Global Relocations Ltd is rated 4.89 based on 233 reviews